Reviews For J.D. & Mollie
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2018 06:34 pm Title: "It's Too Soon"

I've read this before, more than once, yet I'm still here with tears streaming down my face! That is so clearly the sign of an amazing storyteller. To bring out that type of emotion, when one knows basically what's going to happen, and with fictional characters... you are just really awesome at telling this. I find that there are some fics out there in the medical genere, that really have far too much medical jargon in them. I bow to an author for really wanting to keep it accurate but it gets cold. Also when you read too many terms you are unfamiliar with your eyes kinda glaze a bit and I know I'll find myself starting to skim which leads to me missing important or cute moments I wouldn't have wanted to miss. On top of that to tell a very real story, keeping it relatable yet keeping the heart in the story, well, let's just say I'm ashamed I didn't review this years ago when I first read it. I don't know if you said somewhere in here that this is based on an experience of your own or if it's just something I've taken for granted but assumuing I'm right about this then I really want to applaud you. The thing is, there are some really great writers, ones that are well loved that put too much of themselves into the stories. For example, they start giving Jim or Pam so many of their own or their spouse's qualities that pretty soon they've kinda lost me because that person has pretty much become someone else. Or if it's a younger person for instance and they are writing about Jim and Pam's kids, often Jim and Pam as parent's stop being the people from the show and instead are just stand ins for that writer's parents I don't know if I'm making any sense. I just know that through the nearly decade I've been on these boards those stories that authors put too much of themselves into have really kinda lost favor with me. I think maybe my idea of who Jim and Pam are is now so strong from rewatches etc that I know when it just seems off. SO... sorry I got caught up in too much explaination (not that you'll read this anyhow as this story is quite old) I just wanted to say that I really admire how you really did a balancing act of experience/medical knowledge/general Jim/Pam. I'm going to reread your other stuff next. I remember a couple fondly, one where Jim and or Pam write letters to the kids and another where the kids kinda mirror the DM staff a bit too much. I've decided I want to try harder to review fics I'm rereading as I know that I often will read reviews first, especially if I'm on the fence about a story. This one honestly is just far too good to pass up. I'm so grateful that you shared your talent with us.

Reviewer: madmen fanatic Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2011 10:46 pm Title: "It's Too Soon"

I know pam's going to make it; she's got Carol and Abby working on her. Sigh, but no George Clooney...

Author's Response: haha this comment made my day

Reviewer: Newtruefan Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2010 08:41 pm Title: Dear J.D.

You stopped. Please don't stop. I was really enjoying it. It sounded like Jim, and felt like any parent whose child is in the hospital. Really believable, it brought back memories. Please post more soon.

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2010 04:55 pm Title: Dear J.D.

Cute update.  It brought back some nice memories of bathing my little ones for the first time.

Reviewer: andtheivy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2010 04:24 pm Title: Dear J.D.

OK, apparently I don't know how to reach you on the message board, so I'm going to post my rambling here:


I hope you won't mind if I offer a suggestion about your story.

I think you have a really touching, sweet idea, but the reason it may not be garnering as much feedback as you'd like (and believe me, I know how frustrating that is), is that the letters, while great to read, only give us a glimpse of the potential the chapters have.

A professor I had in college once told me the first rule of writing is "show, don't tell." With making an entire story of only letters, you do all the telling and none of the showing. Jim and Pam trying to bathe a wriggling baby? Jim's head exploding in Babies R Us, or where ever? Jim and Pam celebrating J.D. gaining a couple of ounces? Those sound like great scenes.

If you're inclined, I think it might be really interesting if you went back and actually wrote the scenes you're describing in each letter. Use the letters as the intro to each scene, or even break up them into pieces and use them as a sort of narration.

I think the letters are really only the tip of the iceberg of what the story could be. I know that was the concept and I don't mean to criticize it, but I think there's a lot of untapped potential there. You have these really good ideas, and I for one would like to see them come to fruition.

Please feel free to ignore this if you think I'm completely off-base, and whether you decide to take the idea or not, please know that I write, not in the spirit of criticism, but in the spirit of friendship and encouragement.

Author's Response: yeah, i see your point. however, this is meant to be a companion piece to "It's Too Soon", so those scenes have already been written.

Reviewer: andtheivy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 28, 2010 04:20 pm Title: Dear J.D.

Very cute! I sent you a PM about this story. Too much rambling for a standard review.

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2010 07:17 pm Title: Dear J.D.

1st - JKras getting married = saddest day of that month for me. :( This was really sweet, I like Jim describing the room, and how big of a deal him gaining a pound was. Even though this is AU, I think you hit on the emotions of what a parent is going through during this time when all they want to do is bring their baby home. (a friend of a friend is going through this right now, so this hits a bit close to home for me.)

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2010 01:36 am Title: Dear J.D.

the only thing better that jkras getting married is if he was getting married to me XD.
...or maybe a krasinski baby ;)

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: August 10, 2010 01:36 am Title: Dear J.D.

the only thing better that jkras getting married is if he was getting married to me XD.
...or maybe a krasinski baby ;)

Reviewer: Dedeen Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2010 05:22 pm Title: Dear J.D.

I liked to see this one back! I went back and read, "it's too soon," to remind myself of J.D.'s birth.... Keep'um coimin', kay?

Reviewer: andtheivy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2010 08:39 am Title: Dear J.D.

Yes, Jim, totally inappropriate. Better sell lots of paper to pay for that kid's therapy. Tsk. Tsk.
I can really get a sense of how worried Jim was but trying to appear strong. Well done!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2010 09:01 am Title: Dear J.D.

I prefer the chapters (like this one!) that are just between Jim and JD, with a touch of Pam. I think they feel more "real" than the ones that try to pull in the whole cast. This is sweet; I have a sense of Jim's keeping a stiff upper lip and a concerted effort to be optimistic.

Reviewer: Casinos and Coal Walks Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2010 04:47 am Title: Dear J.D.

Oh I Loved the summary's of each person. Creed's, was just.. well Creed:) Are the camera crew's names a tribute to our awesome office writers? Okay except for that last episode. I'm with you, it was disaponting, didn't feel like a season finale at all. But anyway, please keep writing these, I love how easily you write Jim. 5 stars from me!

Author's Response: yes indeed, the crew is named after the writers!

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2010 06:42 pm Title: Dear J.D.

Aw, this is such a sweet companion piece to "It's Too Soon" which I thoroughly enjoyed. Hope to read more of these soon, it's very lovely.

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2010 10:36 pm Title: Dear J.D.

ups..sorry flonkertonchamp. i'll pay more attention next time xd

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2010 09:42 pm Title: Dear J.D.

this reminds me a lot of "its too soon" i dont really remember who the autor is, only the title(maybe is u xd). i love how he talks to him as a baby if the letters are for a 18 year old =D

Author's Response: i'm the author of "it's too soon"

Reviewer: floppyhair Signed [Report This]
Date: May 16, 2010 09:49 pm Title: Dear J.D.

I love it so far! You do such a good job with Jim's voice!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 16, 2010 09:32 pm Title: We Just Can't Escape The Madness

oh my gosh, this happened at work????? where do you work? this is awesome. Kevin *grins stupidly* lol. I really do love your sense of humor. Keep going, and yeah, this is from 1066, but who cares!

P.S. I just love how Nan Reg's bday prompted all of these old and new authors to show their faces and come out to join the party. And then everyone else started posting again! I think it's really May... I can't wait to read every one's fic's this summer!

Author's Response: i work at babies r us. some 10-year-old boys were giggling at all the breastfeeding stuff. they were saying, "look, this says breast too!"

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: May 16, 2010 09:30 pm Title: We Just Can't Escape The Madness

lol. so sweet. sorry i forgot about this one, i've always loved it from the start! i just love your sense of humor throughout all of this, flonkerton champ!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: May 16, 2010 06:34 pm Title: Dear J.D.

Oh, I like this very much. I think you hit the right notes of a young man trying to write this type of message to his baby. Not too mushy but still very tender. I especially liked this passage:

I hate that I can't hold you right now. You keep trying to cry around your tube, but you can't. Your face scrunches up and gets red, and you open your mouth, but you can’t make a sound. You’re killing me here, buddy. I just want to pick you up and cuddle you, but all I'm allowed to do is touch your little hand.

I'm looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 15, 2010 09:55 pm Title: We Just Can't Escape The Madness

LMAO nipples, oh J.D :)

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 11:29 pm Title: The Name Game

u have used those name before right, they ring a bell.
im guessing u'r the same flonkertonchamp who leaves comments at officetally, if not, someone is usurping u.xd

Author's Response: yes, same flonkertonchamp from OT... and yes i've used the names before, they're in my other fics

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 02:36 pm Title: The Name Game

Awwww, cute! Sucks for Mollie, though.

You really like writing these baby, children fics, doncha?

Author's Response: yes. yes i do.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 20, 2010 02:19 am Title: The Name Game

That is too freaking cute for words. I

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 11:51 pm Title: Labor Of Love

ohh i can totally imagine this on march 4th ..well without jd.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans