You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Identitytheftisntajokejim Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2019 11:53 pm Title: Life's No Fun Without a Good Scare

Omg I loved this. Sooo sweet and cute.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This one was so fun to write!

Reviewer: Maidenjedi Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2018 08:16 pm Title: The Schrutes of the Corn

This is extremely adorable. The tone is show-perfect and you captured each of the characters really well. Thank you for sharing!

Reviewer: Pan_cake_Cats Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2018 01:46 pm Title: Costumes

Very cute!

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 10:49 am Title: Haunting Familiarity

Very cute! College Andy is basically just Andy. :)

Author's Response:

Basically :) Thanks for reading and reviewing <3 

 

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 10:25 am Title: The Schrutes of the Corn

Adorable! There’s just something about that time when he was still pining and she was still in denial— horrible to live through, magical for fanfic! I think you caught their voices very well— including our tiny glimpses of Dwight. I enjoyed it!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 09:58 am Title: No Pain, No Gain

Brilliant concept! You captured their voices, their connection, and their humor in a way that felt entirely realistic despite the fantastical premise. And then, to add Kelly and Ryan as werewolf social media stars... I gasped out loud at how hilarious and horrifying that is. Utterly perfect.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 09:30 am Title: Costumes

So cute! It is always fun to think about the early days of their dating relationship, when it would have all seemed unreal and giddily exciting. Nice idea and execution!

Author's Response: Why thank you. I had a lot of fun writing this one. Backstories are a lot of fun since at least to me leave wider canvas to write on. Who we are now depends heavily on who we were in the past. Why Jim goes for simple costumes and Pam's joy in wearing them so often just demands some explination. It was great fun to explore that. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: TheCelticOne Signed [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 08:56 pm Title: The Haunting of Halpert House

Holy crap.

Author's Response:

This might be my favorite review I’ve ever gotten. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2018 05:49 am Title: Life's No Fun Without a Good Scare

Ah, the joys of trying to have a sex life with little kids... ha! I really like your characterizations here— you capture their voices very well. So cute, and such a lovely look at their happily ever after.

Author's Response: Aw! Thank you for that. I think these two deserve a little happy ever after (even if they have to get creative with kiddos around). :) You're so talented and I am thrilled to see you participating in this small but mighty fandom again. A review from you is so appreciated.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:14 pm Title: No Pain, No Gain

So, I got too emotional in this chapter. I'm a sucker for families doing too much for each other and this was perfection. You got the kids innocence and excitement and pride down perfectly.
And Pam, well, as Jim says, I love that girl. This is so in character and she would absolutely do this.
The Wolf!!!! I'm with Jim. PF is one of my top five movies (I know you said it first, you can tell me to suck it :)) and I love how they managed their own inside joke IN the family inside joke.

'We'll always be your pack.' Seriously, I got too emotional over this.

Why do you make me Feel too much for these fictional characters?! Oh, and thank you for it. :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:09 pm Title: No Pain, No Gain

I mean, the image of WolfJim reading SI while watching ESPN is pretty wonderful. And I literally laughed out loud to "interspecies spooning"! Fantastic.

Oh my god! Your Ryan and Kelly bit (and that WUPHF tie-in!!!) are BRILLIANT! Genius, really.

I also really love that, despite this terrible fate, Pam and Jim have made the best of it in a way that is totally in character.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:04 pm Title: No Pain, No Gain

That whole paragraph that starts with "Pam didn't fuss..." is absolute perfection. That really captures who they are here and in canon.

Your description of the transition is gripping and I'm sympathetic to it, rather than scared of it. Well done!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:01 pm Title: No Pain, No Gain

When did I ever think I would get all sentimental in a chapter with raw animal innards? Well, here we are. :)

My absolute favorite part here is the part about Jim offering her an out and her reaction. Because, of course that was her reaction, but you conveyed all of that emotion in such minimal context. Ah, it was great.
And I agree with Philip; candy IS the best!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 08:56 pm Title: No Pain, No Gain

I am confounded by your creativity. Seriously, it almost makes me jealous because it appears like it is effortless. I love AU (real and true AU, not something that is actually "wildly canon divergent", although I dig that stuff, too) but you REALLY get AU.
And I would definitely pick a werewolf over a vampire so I'm glad you went that route... :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 08:42 pm Title: Spooky Secrets

Oh my! Sabotage, Ensnare, Wait. I feel like this is exactly how Dwight would think. You characterized him wonderfully.

I like that you had him present at the end. I think Dwight is a secretive JAM fan and I ADORE the Jim, Pam, Dwight friendship. :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 08:38 pm Title: Haunting Familiarity

Jim the Sim! Cute! I like the little throwbacks you put in there to the series but keeping it AU.
And you portrayed Andy just as he would be at a college party, I think. :)

Author's Response: Thanks DC! :) 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 08:12 pm Title: The Haunting of Halpert House

Remember those powerful, haunting stories we heard as kids about two lovers with a surprise scary ending (the lady with the black ribbon necklace, the man with a hook)? This reminded me of that in a far more sophisticated and eloquent way, but one that will stick with me every time I watch that episode. I will always get this little chill when Pam makes that off-handed comment about blowing her brains out.
Is it weird that the ending was this lovely, bittersweet moment for me? I love how you creatively brought them back together, even though it was still really sad.
A really wonderful "scary" Halloween story and so glad to see something from you.

Author's Response: Ooh, I loved those stories. I’m thrilled that you felt I captured some of that vibe. I can’t think of anything better than someone being reminded of one of these fics of mine when watching the show— thank you for that (and sorry if it sours that scene at all!). I appreciate your kind comment, thank you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:56 pm Title: Practical Magic

I carried a watermelon. Because Baby taught our generation 47% of what we needed to know about seduction. (The remaining 11%, for those keeping count, came from David Bowie in Labyrinth.) The WHOLE concept that every woman went crazy and no guy got it was so fantastic. Really, bravo on that front.

Yes, dude, marry her already.

Okay, I KNEW you were going to bring it full circle, but really?! The Dundies! Their irl iconic costumes! Mentioning FOUR iconic couples that I need to hear more about these two discussing! You pulled out all the stops!

Okay, I know I got all excited and fangirly over this story, but it hit every sweet, sexy, angsty, funny, fluffy, realistic note that I needed this Halloween. Thank you for the love and work and candy-consumption you put into it. ;)

Author's Response: I like your math, it makes perfect sense to me. Again, thank you so much for taking the time here... I'm so happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:44 pm Title: Practical Magic

Of course she's singing Fiona Apple. Because I'm a few years younger than Pam and that Criminal video taught our generation 42% of what we needed to know about seduction.

Jim's right; she is a tease. And he's soooo into it. That theme of witchcraft has me cracking me up.

Casually, "when did you decide you're trying to kill me?" **cackling because THAT is 100% a casual Jim comment**

The candy debate is AMAZING. I'm picturing it similar to the Hillary Swank "hotness" debate but with Sexy Pam and candy so it's about 1000x better (and I love that Hilary debate so that's saying a lot). Thank you for forever associating Cher and Snickers and, YES, Kelly would absolutely be all about the Starburst and Skittles. I mean, that little call out was perfect.

Again, I am loving Jim's little catalog of her candy-quirks. Can we agree she eats sour patch kids when in a creative funk? Oh, wait, maybe that's me transferring?? ;)

One of my forever favorite lines in this WHOLE fandom is Jim, in reference to Toby preferring candy corn, "Who hurt you?" There's so much there that I love.

Creed, Oscar, and Ryan are characterized so perfectly. I mean, PERFECTLY.

And now we come to the piece de resistance: The whole thigh-high, shoes on, and, oh look, Jim and I both blacked out for a few seconds because aye aye aye.

Okay, and I am in love with her being so impatient at the front door when they get to his place. There is something so sweet about her almost losing it while trying to play cool.

Author's Response: Good eye - I was definitely thinking of the Hilary Swank debate while writing that scene, but also, we debated candy in my office for four days straight and we still don't have a solid conclusion. And yes, sour patch kids are for sure her go-to when she's hit a wall. 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:03 pm Title: Practical Magic

Coleyyyyy! This chapter is just so...real. The whole snapping at each other and being on edge and passive-aggressive comments that are instantly forgotten because you want to be sure the other person isn't hurting (physically and emotionally because gah! you hit both perfectly). That's just so real in relationships.
And the baggage part is, too. I love that Pam is shy and embarrassed about her "insane insecurities" but I also love that she comes clean and has her own version of being brave.

This was just really great stuff.

Two more things:
I'm with Jim; Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. It's a holiday focused on telling people about your gratitude (hello, words of affirmation is my love language) and eating; those are, like, my two favorite things.
Second, I know what's coming next and he LITERALLY asked for it...Just sayin', Jimothy.

Author's Response: This is my favorite chapter of the entire thing so I'm SO GLAD that everyone else is loving it too... I was afraid it was too much but I was going ahead with it anyways!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 06:29 pm Title: Practical Magic

Okay, this? Was adorable and the absolute fluff I needed. From the apple picking (I love how Penny and Jim were like, no ladders. ever) and the little foursome with the hard-cider and the scary movies.

But seriously, all of that with him checking the doors was the best. Really, the best. (And not just because I do the exact same thing to my husband, but it IS fun to be scared!)

Okay, and I see what you did there with Magenta so I dig it. :)

Author's Response: Listen, chances are good we'd all be dead right now if we didn't have boyfriends/husbands who checked for monsters. That's just how life works.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 05:55 pm Title: Practical Magic

I want to dissect that entire first paragraph, but I'll show some restraint. But I might want to swap notes on my whole list of things that make Pam, Pam via email. ;)

'It will scare you.' Fan-freaking-tastic.

Really, there are so many little wonderful bits at Dwight's farm. Everyone's reaction to the presentation, Angela's spiritual mission on Halloween (surrrrre, Angela), the Corn Mose being a straight line. Oh, that's good!

I LOVE that Pam has a little moment where she freaks out about coming in a cornfield. Oh! I fall in love with Jim a little more when he pulls out that flask.

I mean, I know they're not winning, but I feel like we TOTALLY are.

Pam is a Janet. 100%.

Author's Response: I mean, lets talk about that list sometime. Your reviews are way too sweet, thank you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 05:33 pm Title: Practical Magic

I've made NO secret that this story got my Halloween mojo back in action, but I waited to review until I could do a second read-through. I have a whole bag of Snickers and a bottle of Cab so it's going to be lengthy. ;)
Can we start with that first line? Because THAT is the mark of a real adult relationship. Especially later when Pam follows it up with 'I love you a decent amount, but I really love Halloween.'

Putting Mark and Penny together is pretty genius. So is Jim as Johnny from Dirty Dancing.

Programming Paused while I digest him telling her 'leave it' and her loving his thing for her wearing his shirts during sexy times...

Ugh and the whole premise of this with their teasing is wonderfully topped off with their stupid habit of underestimating the others' willpower. It's like they didn't even watch seasons 1-3!! Seriously, you captured these beautiful idiots perfectly.

Author's Response: Let's just pretend that your Present Day Jim and Pam were the future my Jim and Pam were trying to get to :) 

Reviewer: lemniscate Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 02:52 pm Title: Practical Magic

i don’t have the words to say how amazing this story was... you literally 100% nailed it i was in study hall trying not to like squeal, okay?? also the whole dressing like jam in the future was p e r f e c t. wow.

Reviewer: lemniscate Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 11:36 am Title: Practical Magic

i don’t have the words to say how amazing this story was... you literally 100% nailed it i was in study hall trying not to like squeal, okay?? also the whole dressing like jam in the future was p e r f e c t. wow.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Don’t feel bad about study hall - I wrote the majority of this while I was at work. Sometimes we just make those choices! :) I’m so happy you enjoyed it!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans