You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 07:23 am Title: President's Day

Oh my god! Best Dolly Madisons and THEN that little exchange where Pam’s like “I don’t even know what that means” and Jim’s all smug with “Yes she does” AND then it comes back around full circle!! Bahahahaha! This is fantastic. Bravo.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2010 07:43 pm Title: Valentine Locks Of Love

Lol - that was so perfect. I loved Laura's explanation and Pam's 'daddy spoiling-time' line. So cute. And the fact that Heike was a SCHRUTE - oh-so perfect. What a lovely, hilarious story. Great job!

Reviewer: gamesetmatch Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2008 02:56 pm Title: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Aww, poor Michael! But, I do love this story/series! Great job! I particularly love Dwight and his sash :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, gamesetmatch!  I was sort of proud of the way this one turned out, but the most fun part to write was probably Michael being an idiot with his Pancake Day plan. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: gamesetmatch Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2008 08:16 am Title: Valentine Locks Of Love

I love that Dwight and Angela named their child "Heike". That's just...priceless. In the words of Kevin? Niiiiiice. (;

Author's Response:

It's a good (although not very common) German name, pronounced "Hike-ah."  Let's just say I knew a Heike once.  So I wanted to come up with something a bit odd, and with the Amland (Amish) background...  Heike was a fun fit.  Wouldn't Urkelgrue have been funny, too? :)  But Urkelgrue isn't a real name, as far as I know, so I went with believable but odd.  ("Mose"' for example -- believable but odd.)

Hey, cool.  I just found out from wikipedia (best thing ever) that Heike is also a Japanese clan name.  That is priceless for Dwight's kid.  Er... I mean... I knew all along about that Japanese connection... that's how smart I am. ;) 

Thanks for reading and reviewing, gamesetmatch

 

Reviewer: DinkinFlicka Signed [Report This]
Date: May 15, 2008 04:33 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Hahaha, okay, this made me laugh a lot.  Especially Dwight's.  Well done!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, DinkinFlicka!  We had a lot of fun doing this. :)  Did you miss Ryan in this one? ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

- Kev.

Reviewer: quotidianzenith Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 26, 2008 02:02 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

This was absolutely SPOT-ON for every character. I could hear them as a talking head, which gets confusing with the "what actually happened" part of my brain, but in a very good way. So many quotes to copy them all.

Author's Response:

Thanks, quotidianzenith!  I guess any of these things could have happened last Tuesday, since it was in between episodes, and we didn't end up saying anything that was refuted on Thursday.   Plus, you liked it, so win/win/win. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  Swedge and I have been pleasantly surprised at the response.

Reviewer: untherapy Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2008 08:47 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Awesome! Great characterizations. I like the idea of a "Dwight day"!!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much, untherapy!  A lot of people seem intrigued by Dwight Day.  Maybe we should establish one!  We could also have some sort of Beet Power symbol. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: CallofDuty Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 05:46 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

First off, I love Earth Day! Thanks for writing about it!

Second off, I almost put up a couple of these little blurbs as my AIM away messege until I realized that no one would get the jokes because they aren't real talking heads. But they sounded so real, and I could picture them in my head so well that I forgot I wasn't reading an episode transcript! I love Pam's especially :) Great job!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed this so much!  I sort of wonder whether Earth Day will grow more on people, or whether they'd ever make it on the 4th Saturday of April or something.  But I guess having it always on a Saturday might make it seem like it's not to be taken seriously.  Hard to say.

We tried to get the characters right; I'm glad you think we did!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, CallofDuty! 

Reviewer: hireath Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 12:22 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

They are all super funny, but your Dwight and Michael had me bursting out laughing.  I could totally picture these talking heads. 

Thanks for the great laughs! 

 



Author's Response:

Wow, bursting out laughing!  That's one of the best responses we can hope for with this sort of story!  We could all use more laughs, I think. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing hireath!  (Your name is almost Hi, Earth!  Just move that little 'r' to the right a bit, and you'd fit right into this story!)

- Kev. 

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 08:50 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Wow, I can't choose my favorite, all were something they totally would have said. And I celebrated Earth Day by... um, well, I am one of those nerdy environmentalist, so I kind of celebrate it in my own special geekdom way

Author's Response:

What?!  And you won't tell us?  Well, I'm glad you had a good Earth Day.  My children got good and dirty playing outside that day, so I guess that's kind of earthy.  (Yeah, not really.) 

My actual experience with Earth Day would be sort of a mixture of some of these. Like Darryl, I went to a nice Earth Day concert once.  Like Meredith, I drive a gas-guzzling (mini-)van, although the space in mine is actually needed for the kids, not for random male passers-by (they can keep passing by, thank you).  And like Kelly, I totally think we should get the day off for it. ;)

I'm glad you liked it, Emily!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)

Reviewer: chelibelle Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 10:26 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

i know i reviewed already, but i must admit.. i totally sat at my computer and pretended these were my talking heads. to the imaginary cameras. in my living room. (lame.) but this worked so well b/c these are things the characters would certainly say. how can i be sure that this isn't mindy or b.j. who wrote this? it's too spot-on :-)

Author's Response:

Oh my God, chelibelle, you are amazing!!!  Ben-jo thought no one would know it was us, but I thought someone would.  Greg will kill us if he finds out we wrote fanfic, though, so you should probably delete your review! And then you should go buy these really cute shoes at...

Kidding!  I have no idea how to write Mindy, actually.  Kelly, I can do, Mindy...nah.  Not that I'd ever write Real Person  Fiction anyway.  I don't even read it.  So it's okay I can't write her.

I'm amazed that you acted these out!  Wow!  While we aren't Mindy and BJ, we are the right genders, so...I can say that much for the similarity.  We also beta for each other, and we're as tough as we can be on characterization.  That's probably not to say that sometimes we get something wrong, but neither of us is afraid to say to the other "that doesn't sound like Pam" or "does anyone even say that word, much less Kevin?"

Also, we were able to take the best of our THs.  We both wrote for each person and then chose the better one or mixed them together, and of course tried to fix any voice problems.  

It's fine if you still want to think we're professional Office writers, though, but we aren't. :)  But thanks for telling us about your imaginary cameras!  You know, maybe the THs sounded good because you're a really good mimic, like Jim. Did you ever think of that? 

Oh, and if you want to check out all the characters not being in character, you may want to check out my April Fool's story, where everyone is purposefully out of character.  

I've reviewed a story or a chapter of a story more than once, too, by the way.  I know lisahoo has also.  It's not weird.  It's normal.

Thanks for reviewing again.  Very cool. :) 

- Kev. 

 

Reviewer: Lexiconiful Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 08:39 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Wow. You are hella creative. Your character voices are PERFECT!!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  In this case, it took two creative minds, or maybe 2 half-creative minds working together.  We really both try to get the voices right, so there may be no greater compliment for us than that.  Well, we also like to be thought of as funny.  And smart.  And good looking.  Too far?  We'll stick with "good voices" then. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Lexiconiful! :)

- Kev. 

Reviewer: BlueBustyGal Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 08:19 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

"And party hats to celebrate Earth Day." Perfect. 

Author's Response:

Probably shiny ones, with a plastic coating over the paper so they can't be recycled.  Also, Michael has to drive all over town many times to find just the right ones, price-compare, and go back to get them.  He's the kind of guy who 'gets' Earth Day.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, BBG! :) 

Reviewer: iheartcreed Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 08:18 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

LOL!! Really great characterization. Meredith's was creepy, everyone has been in that van, eww.

Author's Response:

Gosh, you're right, probably most people have been in that van. ;)  The van is a mess, too, so double-eww.  Meredith has come out with crazier/creepier things than this, though.  Guys being way more attracted to the back of you, not remembering guys she has sex with, sign my pelvic cast...!  Yikes.  What a character!

I'm so glad you like the characterization; that's something that's pretty important to both of us to try to get right.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, iheartcreed! :) 

- Kev. 

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 06:09 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Oh, that made me smile.  You and Swedge do wonderful TH's with these characters.  I loved Kevin, Toby (the comet) and Creed, naturally.  Pam's really starting to obsess about that proposal now, isn't she?  Now she knows how we, the viewers, feel. 

Great job, Kev!



Author's Response:

Ha!  I think you mean great job, Kev and Swedge.  Believe me, if Swedge hadn't volunteered to co-write, this wouldn't have been too great.  It was very much a group effort.  Can two be a group?  Let's call it a combined effort.  Some are just his, some are just mine, and some are a mishmash.  It was fun. :)

I sort of hope the proposal is done, and we see the ring, much like in GWH where they showed her bare hand.  That's probably sacrilege -- I know a lot of people want to see the proposal. I just want them to get on with it. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, EH!  I'm so glad you liked this! :) 

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 05:54 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

TLK & Swedge writing talking heads.  Makes me want to hug a tree or something.

I love that Pam has engagement on the brain, kind of like how she was the uptight bride in the S2 Fake PSA's

Earth should throw a Dwight Day. 

And Meredith does need that van.  You never know when Jim will need a ride home.

And party hats are essential for Earth Day.  That and Greenzo. 



Author's Response:

If Michael organizes some kind of group hug, stand next to me, Swedge, and a tree. ;)

I'm interested (as we all are -- understatement) in whether the engagement is addressed this week.  Are they already engaged, done deal?  If not, I could see this sort of heightened awareness on Pam's part, where it's all she's thinking about.

I wonder if Meredith made any overtures when she gave Jim a ride home.  ("I'm singling you ou-out!"  Brrr!)  The Meredith one was Swedge's; I thought it was awesome, too.

It took me a moment to remember Greenzo.  That's what we call an actor identifying a little too much with his character!  Yikes. 

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, lisahoo!  Swedge and I had fun doing this, and we're glad people seem to like it.

Reviewer: sophia_helix Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 05:30 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

OMG, *awesome*. These all sound so perfect, though I think my favorite is Brother Creed's. Jim's has that totally canon note of irony at the end, though, which is great.

Author's Response:

Ah, Brother Creed, hanging with the au naturel hippy ladies.  Swing low, sweet chariots.  You gotta love Creed, right?  Well, I love Creed anyway.  I'm so glad you liked these.  It was definitely a case of 2 heads being better than one. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing, sophia!  It's so appreciated! :)  

- Kev. 

Reviewer: chelibelle Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 04:02 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

this was so great. you really nailed all the characters, i could totally see them saying these exact things!

Author's Response:

I nailed the men and Swedge nailed the women.  Ba-dum-bump.  Sorry, couldn't resist. ;)

We both try really hard to get characters right in all our stories; I'm glad you thought we got it this time!  A lot of times for me, I wish I could say things like "Imagine Kevin saying this in his deadpan way" or "Imagine Andy and his adorably smarmy faces during this one."  But I can't really, I just have to hope it comes through!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, chelibelle! :) 

Reviewer: PuffingNoise Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 01:37 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Haha! This is so great! Toby's and Kelly's are my favorite. Oh, and Dwight's too.

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked it!  It ended up being fun to do, but mostly because it was a mix of ideas from both of us.  Toby being the comet that destroys the world is Swedge's, but I think he must have been channeling Michael at the time. ;)  I loved how Toby found it cathartic, though.  Fun.  

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Puff! :) 

Reviewer: Becky215 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 12:41 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Meredith and Jim were priceless. Well done, y'all, I loved this!

I always get a lot of crap about my van, like I'm killing the environment. But it has a lot of space and I have kids. It's not like I can bring men home, you know? I need that van.

hahaha...Oh, how I laugh! -CH



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, CH.  Those were Swedge's.  I have to say my Meredith and Jim entries were particularly lame, so it was essential to have Swedge co-write. :)  I loved the Meredith one in particular -- that dark twist!  I know some people complain that Meredith is one-note on the show (or rather, two-note -- the alcoholic and the tramp), but I get a real kick out of her.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, CH! :)

Reviewer: Alamos Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 12:29 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

I definitely think there should be "Dwight Day" that would be a day to celebrate. Great story.



Author's Response: The Dwight one was all TLK and cracked me up too.  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: GodInThisChilis Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 06:09 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

When I read the Dwight TH (Earth should have a Dwight Day) I thought it was fabulous and made a mental note to include it in my review. But then I got reading and they were all PERFECT.  Kevin's and Creed's? Genius. Thanks for an early morning laugh.

Author's Response:

Oh, thanks so much, GITC!  I love that you thought they were all perfect! :) 

Kevin's came about when I was doing a little Earth Day research (I'm like Michael) and saw that a number of cartoonists from the same syndicate were doing Earth-Day-themed comics for the day.  I could imagine Kevin thinking that was pretty cool, and maybe thinking a bunch of them had the idea at the same time, totally by coincidence.  Kevin may read the daily comics at work to fill the time while he sits and waits for the break (/Survivor Man).

I'm glad you got a good laugh from this; we could all use more laughing, I think.  It's good for us.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, GodInThisChilis! :) 

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 04:51 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Sometimes, all you need is just a sentence or two to really pack a punch. And that's what you've done here with these talking heads. They're spot on in their tone, and hilarious to boot. :D

Why are we not celebrating "Dwight Day" every year? THAT, my friends, is the very definition of egregious! 

Excellent work! 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Cousin Mose!  I had written about half of these by Monday night and sent them to Swedge, then wrote the rest on Tuesday (although I didn't love most of the Tuesday ones -- wasn't feeling them).  Meanwhile, he had beta'd the hell out of the first ones and made his own versions.  After that, it was actually fun to put them together and decide which one to use, or find a combination or alternative.  If we hadn't gone with co-writing, I think I would have bagged the whole thing, and...I'm sorry, what was the question? ;)  Seriously, I know you didn't ask, but that was all that saved this and made it fun.

Regarding Dwight Day: the earth was going to throw a Dwight Day, but Mose got wind of it.  Since he's at the farm almost 24 hours a day, and Dwight goes off to his "day place" at least 5 days a week, Mose thought it should be Mose Day, or at the very least, Schrute Day.  Negotiations are ongoing.  

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Cousin Mose!  I really appreciate the support. :) 

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2008 04:07 am Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Honestly laughed out loud through this!  Favorite bits:

Earth should throw a Dwight Day.

Toby's entire TH - inspired!

Valentine's Day for rocks and trees?  Oh, Kelly!

Michael's whole TH is hysterical.

I need that van! 

Jim's TH is perfect, classic, ironic Jim.

Love this one!



Author's Response:

Thanks for pointing out your favorites, Sweetpea!  This one honestly may not have been posted if Swedge hadn't come in to co-author, or it wouldn't have been very good.  I was feeling uninspired, and the new ideas and back-and-forth made it fun again. 

I have to say that Meredith's is probably my favorite; there's very little possibility of going too far with Meredith, from what they've shown us, and I love the dark twist there.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Sweetpea! :) 

Reviewer: Kate Shepherd Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2008 11:45 pm Title: Earth Day: Much Ado About Nothing in Scranton

Really funny! I love how true to character everyone is!

"If anything, Earth should throw a Dwight Day."

I would celebrate it.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Kate ShepardSwedge and I both try to write in keeping with the characters, so I'm glad you think we succeeded this time. :)  If we ever err on that, it's not for lack of trying.

I can imagine Dwight thinking he's such a good steward for the land that it 'owes' him.  Dwight thinks a lot of odd things, really.

I'm so glad you liked this.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)

(And on a side note, in the great Jack/Sawyer debate, I used to come down firmly on the side of Locke (I know, odd).  Now that Locke is acting like an idiot, I'm going with Jack.  I know, strange thing to put in a review response.  That's me.) 

 

No results found.
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans