You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: yippee Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:44 pm Title: he is very real (epilogue)

OH GOD A THEME SONG!! So fantastic, and is it weird that I'm a little teary over Dwight's theme song admission?? It was just so perfect, with Dwight looking out the window and Jim feeling awkward. So touching. And such a perfect spot to end this. Much much love to you both for writing such true, wonderful, inventive Jim/Dwight fic :)

Reviewer: yippee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:40 pm Title: because i'm also competitive

Oooh, my favorite chapter so far, I think.

God, I love when Season 1 Jim realizes how pathetic he is--and that whole bit about him coming in to the office just because Pam might be there is so, so sad and so true to character.

And I adored the Jim/Dwight interaction and Jim's tossing the competition at the end and how he actually had fun and was productive with Dwight and without Pam. Loved it. That last line just felt so nostalgic--it was such a nice ending sentiment for this chapter.

Reviewer: yippee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:33 pm Title: so it evens out

"Jim looks over at Pam, and she raises her eyebrows. He shrugs, but inwardly he thinks that maybe it was a bad idea to play a prank on Dwight right before a big sales call. He imagines Dwight in the stairwell, doing twice the headbanging he normally does, and the thought of that alone makes him a little bit guilty."

Perfect perfect perfect. I love how the introduction of Pam into this dynamic is so nebulous...it's good and bad, which is so true to the dynamic between the 3 of them on the show. And Dwight's thoughts on the Jim/Pam interactions were priceless.

Reviewer: yippee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:29 pm Title: use words

And so it starts. Love how you've built up to this-it feels like such a natural progression to this point. And the end! Dwight knowing that Jim was lying but not saying anything was so randomly touching...love those little reminders that Dwight is a human being with feelings. And it's so true to Jim's character that his self-preservation instinct tends to kick in 2 years too late, and that he may be desperate and unhappy...but he can't seem to do anything to move away from it.

Reviewer: yippee Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:23 pm Title: the word 'failure'

Gah, they're just teetering on the edge of creating their Season One dynamic...adversarial and mutually annoying. Loved Jim's talking Dwight off the ledge. You really captured their voices...I can even hear their inflections in my head as I read this. Really well done.


Reviewer: yippee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:17 pm Title: it's a nice little farm

Love love love the dynamic in this chapter, where Jim is starting to get annoyed and Dwight is being weird and irritating, but also has this whole other layer of high expectations and disappointed hopes for his relationship with Jim.

And this is perfect:

"Mose! Barn, now. We're wrestling."


Reviewer: yippee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:12 pm Title: just a job

Oh Dwight! Oh Jim! Oh theme song!

Picturing Dwight headbanging and Jim taping his fingers on the dashboard kind of made my night. And I love Dwight's pride--you really captured the feeling of his conversation with Ryan...he really was looking for a teammate and a friend in his own crazy, Dwightish way.

And it being acceptable for Jim to hold his hands in his lap killed me. OH, and the fact that Jim smiles too much but they're going to "work on that." Both are so perfectly Dwight.

Reviewer: yippee Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 08:07 pm Title: you are the future! (prologue)

OHMYGOSH. I've been waiting to read & review this because I knew that I would adore it. Jim/Dwight is just about my favorite thing on the planet, and you guys have been writing my favorite, favorite fics recently. A pretty killer combination in my book.

So I'm going to leave a scary number of reviews because I think this whole thing is so brilliant and because there are so many things in each chapter that make me way too happy.

In this one-it's so spot-on. I love how it mirrors what we saw in The Initiation with Ryan, but minus Ryan's smugness and with Jim's eager-to-please confusion thrown in.

And I laughed out loud when Jim responded with "absolutely, one-hundred-percent ready" just to show that he'd been paying attention. It just plonks you down right into their dynamic immediately-it already feels so familiar.

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2007 05:42 am Title: you are the future! (prologue)

YOU GUYS!

So much love for this fic.  It is so obvious there is a connection b/t Jim and Dwight - like a weird cousin you don't quite get along with....but you understand and can't abide anyone else poking fun.  KWIM?  Anyway - 'tis brilliant altogether.  Excellent job!

Reviewer: Geinnob Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2007 05:16 pm Title: he is very real (epilogue)

I am so glad that someone wrote this.  I've been intrigued with their enmity since the beginning, and then that spectacular client scene in Traveling Salesman made me want to read something about them even more.  This was great - thanks for the obvious time and hard work.

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2007 10:20 pm Title: he is very real (epilogue)

A backstory on Jim & Dwight!  That is just great.  It is nice to see the transformation in Jim, and how he started out actually admiring Dwight, but got slowly driven crazy by him.  I like the idea that Pam stole even more of Jim's focus, which just fits.

 

“Like a theme song.  Every team needs a theme song." Hee.

 

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2007 09:33 pm Title: he is very real (epilogue)

This was too much fun to read! Awesome job you guys! I like the idea that once upon a time, Jim actually liked his job. ^_^

Reviewer: Lyss Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2007 10:29 am Title: he is very real (epilogue)

Oh, I LOVE that Dwight composed a theme song for them. Oh, Dwight. You've made my heart break for him. I feel so sad for him that he and Jim aren't the team he wanted them to be, despite the fact that they are actually a wonderful team. This is so sweet and sad in it's own little Dwight way and I love it. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2007 07:19 am Title: he is very real (epilogue)

So glad you posted this on MTT so I can comment!  First off, I adore how you plotted out the whole arc of this story, from the first sales call to Dwight's departure.  And transformation of Jim from serious paper salesman to practical joker being due to the arrival of Pam in the DM office is awe-some.  Best Jim-Dwight ever. 

"Mwah" to both of you!!!

Reviewer: moofoot Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2007 10:10 pm Title: so it evens out

Oh my goodness, the thought that Jim and Dwight were buddy-buddy and Jim had respect for Dwight [y'know, back when he didn't know him so well =P] and - okay, everything, everything of this story made me laugh so hard it's not funny anymore. 

OK, it is, but still.

I loved how the relationship progesses [or rather, doesn't], the way the SellingSkillz of either person changes, too, and how everything changed, really - but some things stay the same, the Michael and the Pam and the DwightintheCarRocking-thing - all that. And the Jell-O was genius!

Brilliant fic, and I loved basically every minute I spent reading it. Thanks for posting this! 

I have never been to Expedia before and now need to rectify that immediately.  

Reviewer: DinkinFlicka Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2007 05:30 pm Title: you are the future! (prologue)

Okay, so I already made my feelings about this well known over on LJ... but hell who cares? I'm posting again! I. LOVE. THIS. 

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2007 01:24 pm Title: you are the future! (prologue)

This was really enjoyable.  AND it's complete, so I could read it all at once and not have to wait and wait for more! 

Reviewer: shan21 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2007 01:15 pm Title: he is very real (epilogue)

Wow. This is like an EPIC. I love it so very much, because Jim/Dwight interaction is the best part of the show.

You both showed such a fantastic progression in the... friendship?... of Jim and Dwight. Totally believable. I really felt for Dwight when his plans for Jim's visit to Schrute Farm didn't go as planned. 

And oh my god! You're dialogue is unbelievable on target (funny, perfect) and the POV of both Jim and Dwight were equally amazing. I am so happy that you wrote this. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans