You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2007 07:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

Dialogue-only fics can be tricky to navigate sometimes, but you have managed to pull it off very nicely here. The great thing about this is that because so much is left to the reader's imagination, the story is going to be different for everyone. Excellent!

Author's Response: Thanks, Cousin Mose!  I hadn't realized how much people would take a dialogue-fic differently (it's GLARINGLY obvious in my head)  until I started reading reviews.

Reviewer: belsum Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2007 10:47 am Title: Chapter 1

Michael Scott makes Jan be a better woman.  Loved this.  She was so strong and centered at the end, compared to desperate and self-loathing with Robert.  Very, very nice.

Author's Response:

It's interesting you would say that, belsum, because I really believe that:  what's important in a relationship is the person you are with your loved one.  (Awkward phrasing, I know.)  I think both Michael and Jan could really become stronger, better people because of their relationship. 

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: bitterpill Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2007 11:26 am Title: Chapter 1

This was really wonderful.  I think your version of Gould is spot on.  Glad to see a new story from you:)



Author's Response:

Just watch -- Gould is going to show up, and he'll be a sweet little lamb. And I will feel so bad for the libelous things I have written about him.

Oy, I'm so pokey with stories.  Swedge kinda poked me until I did this.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2007 11:21 am Title: Chapter 1

“I didn’t think so much of him at first, but now I get it. He’s everything that I’m not.”
Really good way to start the story.
He asked about dry cleaning THEN... :O!
I really liked this. I hadn't thought about Gould much until it all started on TWoP (which I believe you played a part in hehe). But this was really cool!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Ms. Halpert!  I tell you, we MUST see Gould!!!  I neeeed to see a Jan/Gould/Michael scene.

 

Reviewer: McGigi Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 05:55 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow, all of these are VERY compelling and seem so plausible. I love it, and I hope you write more in this vein- I love Jan!

Author's Response:

I find Jan fascinating -- she has developed into a very complicated lady.

I'm glad you liked this! 

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 05:00 pm Title: Chapter 1

So glad to see you have a new story!  I like your characterization of Robert - especially thinking he didn't need to go to the marriage counselor (love the Dr. Perry!) with her.  Robert apparently sucked the life out of her and Michael in his own sweet, wild and crazy ways is doing CPR to bring her back to life.  Nicely done!

Author's Response:

Robert thought that Dr. Perry was a COMPLETE waste of time!  And yes, Michael is so much fun after that pain-in-the-ass Robert.

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: nomadshan Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 04:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

Your last line is perfect! It reminds me of when Jan asked the cameraman if he had a light (Boys and Girls?).

Nice type-A Jan here - trying to get to the bottom of things, keep things exciting, get professional help, etc. Her voice really comes across well in #s 3 and 5. Great work!



Author's Response:

Jan does "on the edge" like no one else on the show!  Since you've pegged her as a type-A personality, now I'm imagining her with her little 3x5 cards, listing the Plan of Action for her marriage to Gould.

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 04:00 pm Title: Chapter 1

You know, I'd never really thought about Jan's ex...but this absolutely HAS to be him. This really gave her another dimension and highlighted what she'd see in Michael (I have to admit, I find that relationship really touching and oddly believable.) Really well done, LL.

Okay one tiny thing: in this line: we talked about her all nigh long - I think you lost a 't' ;-)Oh and...clearly her husband would have issues with me...I make puttanesca all the time with kalamata olives - how very gauche of me!



Author's Response:

Ha!  I do that olive thing, too!  But I could see a foodie being all upset because kalamata olives are Greek, and instead you should use some special briny olives from Sicily that you lovingly de-pit yourself.

Thanks for catching the typo!  I clearly need to wait until my husband is done watching The Daily Show before I ask him to proof.  ;) 

Reviewer: shannanagin Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 01:03 pm Title: Chapter 1

Thanks for writing this! This is exactly how I've pictured Jan's relationship with her ex-husband.

I know there are a lot of people that who are questioning Jan's sanity for being with Michael but I really think that he fills up some part of her life that's been otherwise missing.

These little converations are perfect. Nice job.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I've never tried anything with just conversations before, and it was weird how easy it was to channel Gould.

Glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: Muggins Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 12:55 pm Title: Chapter 1

"supposed to have olives, but Kalamata olives." I'm dying here. I know so many bastards like this at work. At one dinner, these guys were discussing the "merits" of the wine while  one of their wives was visibly trying to keep from crying (for god knows what reason) and I was like "Dude! Get a clue! The wine does NOT matter." And they did get a divorce like six months later, so... spot on for you on characterization. "Kalamata olives" Who cares, buddy!?!
“Do you want me to go on?” “If you want.” Uggh! How painful is that. That would bring on a ten year pout from me if I was in Jan's place. Holy god! No wonder she's gotten into doing freaky crap. The only way to get Gould to show some emotion was probably to stretch the boundaries way, way to the limit.

I have two quibbles. Neither of which affected your rating or putting this story in my favorites.
In the sentence, "Listen, I need to talk to you about you something.” I think the second "you" might be an accident.
And secondly, why did you pick this title? I LOVE all your other titles. ♥ I always think of them as the "Objets de Office" series....  Wackadex, Post-Its, Purses, Candy Dish, Binder Clips, Barrette. I'm just sayin' -- "Gazpacho" has a nice ring to it. ;) 



Author's Response:

First of all, thank youuuu for catching the typo!  That's the kind of thing I freak out about, if I miss it.   And yeah, "Gazpacho" would be a great title -- but I just kept thinking of that scene in The Royal Tenenbaums, where Royal finally sees what Etheline finds attractive in Henry.  I'm envisioning this great light bulb moment for the viewers if Gould ever shows up.

Thank you for wonderful review!  I'm glad you enjoyed this! 

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 12:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm so glad to see something new by you, and yes, it was perfect.  Because I am convinced Gould is really that useless and insensitive.  That kind of talk where he focuses on criticizing the friends having them over and all she wants is to discuss what was nice about the evening has got to be the most frustrating thing ever.  I also fully agree that Stephen Colbert must play Gould if we ever get to see him. 

Author's Response:

Yeah, Swedge poked me a little about not writing, bless him, and so I hopped back on the fanfic horse. We MUST see a scene in the future with Michael and Gould!  So much will make sense then!

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: The Library Clerk Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 11:42 am Title: Chapter 1

I think Stephen Colbert is perfect for that role--thanks for writig this.  It's cool to get some insight into their relationship (the dry-cleaning thing was hi-larious).  If this happened on the show, it would explain so much . . . 

Author's Response:

Hey, sister LibraryLady!  (I'm a clerk, too.)  Yes, this fanfic grew out of the repeated question by posters on TWoP:  "How in the WORLD did Jan end up falling for MICHAEL?!?"  

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: sundancekid Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 11:18 am Title: Chapter 1

I liked that!  I like the gradual progression of their disinterest in each other and their marriage.

And yes, Gould IS Stephen Colbert and nothing could convince me otherwise. 



Author's Response:

I can imagine Jan trying and trying, and Gould being all "whatevs."  Poor woman -- no wonder emotional, transparent Michael would be refreshing.

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 10:10 am Title: Chapter 1

Dry cleaning!  HA!  I'd divorce that guy in a heartbeat, too!


Author's Response:

Dude, that scene popped in my head last summer, and now I can't stop considering it canon!  

What does it say about my mind that I feel a guy's behavior during BJs is a perfect indicator of what kind of guy he is?

Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Swedge Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 08:48 am Title: Chapter 1

That was very interesting and different. Hmm what could be going on during the third conversation. ;)

Author's Response:

Hmm...WHAT could Jan be doing? ;)

Thanks for reviewing! 

  

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2007 08:43 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh, LL, this is awesome. This is...this is canon, until proved otherwise, as far as I'm concerned. Stupid Gould.

Author's Response: Thanks!  I know The Office isn't big on villains, but I can't help but imagine Gould really was one -- normal on the outside, but a soul-crushing bastard on the inside.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans