You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 09, 2018 11:23 am Title: I will be OK

This is so beautiful and touching. I love how you captured highs and lows in their marriage throughout so many years. And you came back to finish it (so touchingly achingly wonderfully done) makes it even more perfect. Thank you for this.

Author's Response: No, no-- thank you! Jam-fic was a huge part of my life for a while, and it always bothered me that I had never wrapped this one up the way I wanted to. I am delighted that anyone is still discovering it. You've made my day.

Reviewer: belsum Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2017 12:59 pm Title: I will be OK

Wow. It was so fun to revisit this entire thing after so many years. And then to get the final gut-punch. Beautiful, but now I'm crying at work.

Author's Response: I'm sorry. I love you. Happy birthday?  Hee.

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2017 12:29 am Title: I will be OK

The update made me read the whole thing! It's a great idea and the latest chapter was just so sad, (but good!).

Author's Response: Thank you! I wrote most of it a loooong time ago but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 10:39 pm Title: I will be OK

Wow, this hurt! Jim's comment about getting and outfit for a job interview, guh, right in the griefbone! Thanks so much for returning and completing this piece, even though it was bittersweet ending it was definitely fitting. You're not rusty at all (and at the risk of mixing metaphors, if you can find anymore JAM in that jar I'd definitely be happy ;) )

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! It felt good to dip my toe back it...we'll see! 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 10:30 pm Title: I choose you

Wow, definitely interesting to read this and see how you were actually pretty close to their S9 storyline with this chapter, how the 2nd kid and the advancing careers were straining them but then they went back to their roots to remind themselves how much they loved each other and how much they had gotten through already.

Author's Response: I think every couple goes through these issues (married 19 years myself, so I feel qualified to say so). But they love each other way too much not to fight through. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: msteapot Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 07:06 pm Title: I will be OK

Did not expect this ending -- broke my heart! Beautifully written though.

Author's Response: Thank you! Sorry about your heart! :)

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 04:13 pm Title: I changed for me

Lis, you are the rarest of writers, a fanfic author who comes back years (or a decade) later to complete a story. Kudos to you.
I reread the whole thing and all the reviews. My visits to MTT nowadays are infrequent, but I enjoy reliving that part of my life. It made me quite nostalgic, seeing all the old posters' names. And I remember you from the old TwoP boards.
That said, what a fitting conclusion to your story of their life together. I think that when it was happening in real time on the show, it would be hard to imagine either of them as a bereaved spouse. But it is part of life and you wrote it realistically, and it completed the story. Thank you for doing that.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I'm not sure what drew me back, but I did the same thing-- re-reading and just remembering this special time. We all shared something beautiful through this show and what we created because of it. I'm honored to still be part of it in a tiny way.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2008 09:04 am Title: I am very special

OMG, I didn't even know they made that. *snort* perfect, but oh so wron!

Author's Response: Yeah, WRONG is definitely the word for it. But I couldn't let Jim pass it up!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2008 09:02 am Title: I am an adult

Okay, so I am rereading this before I read the last chapter, but, I have two being late for a wedding stories. So I was at a wedding, and they told a story of another relative who was 2 hours late for her own wedding (she was the bride). She made a good point, they wouldn't start without her. So, when we were on the way to the wedding, and we realized bride needed to eat lunch, we had no qualms about stopping. Bride hungry - bride gets what she wants!

This brings like a whole different side to the wedding. I wasn't allowed in while friend was getting married (only maid of honor and mom were), so its like, wow. Its, all... crazy wedding craziness!

And, when I saw friend and her father walk down the aisle. And when they did their dance at the reception... totally near tears. I heart dads.

Author's Response: Dads are good. And weddings are even better!

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 05:26 am Title: I am very special

It's no fair.  You win at the short and sweet (or angsty acutally) stories and now you've done a multi-chapter fic to perfection. 

I hate you. [/pam]

Love the idea of them happy and together so far in the future.  And the image of their kids and grandkids all around?  So sweet.  Yay you!



Author's Response: Yay, me! I am very, very fortunate to have such kind, generous readers/commenters. And I would TOTALLY not say that I'm winning any awards against you- maybe a tie, but not winning.  Thank you!!

Reviewer: belsum Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2007 08:38 am Title: I am very special

Hee!  That picture on the shirt you linked is brilliant.

I really like that you didn't make any sort of catty comment about the ex-wife.  It was just matter-of-fact.  And I also like how Angela and Kevin are referenced by their full names.  I think that's realistic.  Jim and Pam may still know those people but the first-namers in their lives are their family.  Subtle, and maybe you didn't intend it, but effective.  And it's nice to see them as empty-nesters, but still Jammy!



Author's Response:

Sadly, divorce is just a fact of a lot of lives; it seemed realistic to me (and probably broke Pam's heart when Jamie went through it).  And yeah- in my story, Pam left DM years ago, so these wouldn't be people she'd see or think of often. I'm sure they both refer to Dwight as just "Dwight", though. Heh.

Thank you so much!!

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 05:55 pm Title: I am very special

Aw, Granny and Gramps Jim and Pam. And he still wants to...well, like the shirt says. Gives a girl hope for the golden years, lol. You really created a sense of them having lived a real life together - adorable and sexy and funny and I love how they still love each other. 

Author's Response:

Thank you! I hope that love and friendship like theirs can last and grow through life, even if it is just in fic. Your comments are always so generous and kind- thank you for sticking with me on this one! Thanks again.

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 04:40 pm Title: I changed for me

wow. that was genius. just, wow.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Genius, really? That makes my day!

Reviewer: bebitched Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 04:31 pm Title: I am very special

I just actually recently had to explain what that meant to my mom and my grandmother, so this is especially funny.

Author's Response:

Oh, heee. I'm sure that wasn't awkward at all! Well, I'm glad to make you smile- thanks for reading!!

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 03:52 pm Title: I am very special

I am clapping my hands right now like a fat kid with a Happy Meal!  So wonderful to think that all that time hasn't dulled their humor, affection, and tenderness for one another.  Man, that's a love story.  I've enjoyed this whole story, but I think this is my favorite.

Author's Response: Thank you! Once these two get their acts together (which will be this season, right? Please?), I think they are definitely in for the realistic version of "happily ever after"- lots of curveballs and tears, but even more love and laughter. I'm so glad you're still enjoying these later chapters...I am, too! Thank you, thank you!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 12:24 pm Title: I am very special

Niiiiiice.  Have you been hanging out in the Man Thread?  Hee!

Author's Response:

Wow, no. Not even a little! Hee. I'm glad you enjoyed this- I'm having sooo much fun with it, and I think they'd still be fun as grandparents, don't you?

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2007 11:37 am Title: I am very special

Niiice. [/Kevin]

What?? You expected anything less?

Jim and Pam as grandparents?  I feel old.  (but good job!) 



Author's Response:

Heh heh heh. Perfect.

C'mon, they're hot, frisky grandparents! That's OK, right? Right? (Thank you!)

Reviewer: janelle Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2007 04:37 pm Title: I trust you not to leave me

I just read this and I loved all of it but I had to comment on this chapter. I just loved Pam's cover story and Dwight's reaction. And of course my Phillies! I saw the Phils beat the Braves in person once. It was very fun :-)

Author's Response: I'm so glad I could bring back a good memory! Thanks for reading- I'm having a great time writing this series. Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: belsum Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2007 08:15 am Title: I am an adult

Hee!  It was everything I ever dreamed it could be when I suggested this particular change!  Oh and I giggled at the nod to the future in the GPS discussion.  Nice bit o' sci-fi there.  "I mean, that's why we have ceremonies, right? To mark change."  I loved this; it's so sage.

Author's Response:

I think Pam has a lot of hidden wisdom. You can't be that kind and compassionate and not know a thing or two about life, I think.

Just a tiny touch of Sci-fi. My geek side shows every so often! Thank you again, as usual!!

Reviewer: jimmy218 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2007 09:36 pm Title: I know what I am

omg i loved the dobby reference. really made me laugh. really good story. very cute.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I've had a fabulous time writing it.

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2007 06:21 pm Title: I am an adult

Very cute!  I love how you think of these great little clothing vignettes for Jim and Pam.  Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you! My beta and the birthday giftee of this story, belsum, and I brainstormed the list of clothing "events" back when I started. I'm so glad you're enjoying them!

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2007 06:07 pm Title: I am an adult

This chapter was great.  And can I tell you how much I love the fact that Jim still calls her Beesly?  Makes me smile.

Author's Response: Thank you! I try not to overdo that little fic cliche, but I just think it is so fundamentally them. Glad you're still enjoying this!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2007 01:14 pm Title: I am an adult

Late to the wedding? Wow, that is bad. However, I was late to a cousins wedding (stupid plane), so I shouldn't talk. But at least it wasn't my daughter's wedding!

HAHA! So what it was like when we were late. We finally lad (only like 6 hours late), and we are in t shirts and jeans (which are gross because we were on a plane for like 11 hours), oh and our luggage was lost, and we have no idea where we are. It was so much fun! Well, in the no fun way of fun.

I don't want to get married in a church. Okay, technically, right now my dream wedding is .... eloping or something. But I don't think I want to get married in a church.

Aww, they found it and little Lucy got married, and yes, I did a great big aww at the end of it. Yay!



Author's Response: Thank you! I have nothing personal against non-church weddings, but I decided to let Jim be a little bit cranky (after all, he's lost on the day of his little girl's wedding!).  Sorry you had a bad late-wedding experience- my sister's wedding was delayed for over half an hour while we tried to guide our mom to the church via cell-phone. It was also "fun". Thank you as usual- glad to be able to give you an "aww" moment!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2007 12:36 pm Title: I am an adult

Note to self -- do not do anything embarrassing around fanfic authors -- you may have it immortalized in a story....

I can totally relate to Pam -- it is a milestone (and my oldest is only three!  Gah!!!) 

Daddy Jim walking his daughter down the aisle is delicious.  As is Pam and her MOB gown as her 'new clothes' and the reasons for wearing them.



Author's Response: Aww, you have plenty of time for lots of milestones! No one in my family knows about the fic writing, so hopefully mom will never know about this. So, shhh!  Hee. Thank you very much for your consistent support. I love writing this for you!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2007 12:21 pm Title: I can accomplish anything

Good. Cause you totally need to make up for that bit o angst. (sounds like bad cereal). Although, no hard feelings since I like angst just as much as fluff. But in a totally different way. I just hate it when it is so well written it .... *sigh*. Yes, you must always use your powers for good. Anyways, this is something to put me in a better mood cause I just had a.... um,..... interesting day to put it lightly, and so, this will make it right.

I HATE the way I look in my graduation gown. I swear, I look horrible in my grad pictures.And plus, as my mom was adjusting my cap, she managed to scratch my forehead with her ring, so I have a bit of that showing also.

Um, just wanting to say there beter be a good payoff to this jam fight. Or else I may have to boycott you (yeah right like that would last more than a second).

Damn, Jim, manage to break my heart with that one paragraph. Its so true, I can imagine him feeling like that. There is only so muc support you can give before you feel pathetic besides them. And its like, you can't imagine wanting to spoil their day with it, but you are totally bitter and just want to get it done with and then be in bitter town by yourself. Yeah, not that I have ever felt that way (who me.... noooooo...)

Okay, so normally I would say more, and in fact today with this story i would say way to much, but because of my aforementioned (i love that word) interesting day that broke my brain, i won't.

But you totally made up for the 55 angst and the jam fight. and made my interesting day better while still making me face the interestingness. So win win win.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you had a rough day! I'm glad I could help...and that I posted happy stuff instead of something that would make it worse! It is hard to be supportive when someone else's success makes you feel bad about yourself. But these two are such a team, you know it's going to be just fine. Thank you for the very lovely review!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans