Reviews For Ordinary Life
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: FlonkertonChamp Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2009 08:37 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

so random, but omg i love that song.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2008 07:25 pm Title: Indian Summer

HAND HOLDING FTW :)

Author's Response: Yeah, and I actually wrote this before the FR hand holding scene....who knew, lol? Thanks again!

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2008 06:59 am Title: Three in the Morning

You know I think I've missed so many updates of this amazing story/collection of yours.  I'm duelly ashamed.  It's every bit as wonderful as I remember.  Your writing as fluid and... well, quite frankly, magical as ever.  You literally paint Pam and Jim and their love.  And I have to say that it certainly fills the void that the show leaves in terms of the Jam life. So beautiful, so wonderful. Such talent!

Author's Response: Hey, you! And now I'm cyber blushing - you are far too generous, but I'm thrilled you liked these so much. Also, it's always such a bonus gift to get a review on a story you finished a while ago...nice to know they have a shelf life beyond the 'Most Recent' page, lol. Thanks so much, StarryDreamer!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 05:13 pm Title: Three in the Morning

aww. just happy end.


Author's Response: Yup...a sleepy, quiet happy ending. Obviously, I'm not about the high drama, lol. Thanks for all your reviews, Emily!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 05:11 pm Title: Cooties

"She lifts the hem of his t-shirt and he raises his arms in the air reflexively, almost like a child cooperating with his mother undressing him."
Why'd you have to go and mention the kid. I just had a flash of my little dude and putting pajamas on him. Which he is cute and adorable sure, but in a totally different way than JK/JH. Oh well. All good. :) (because really, that started out as going to be a joke, but then i realized it really wasn't transfering over in type, and so yeah)

Wy does chords look like it is spelled wrong when it is spelled right?

Haha, this reminds me of Friends when Monica tries to seduce Chandler with the vapor rub! Which, I believe, forever ruined Vicks Vapor Rub for me.

I don't care that nothing happens. No moment is too small for these two. They are perfect. Do I overuse perfect? I don't really care. Its just, its these small little happy sweet things.



Author's Response: Don't remember the Vicks Friends thing...must check it out. Glad your enjoying these little things!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 05:04 pm Title: That Girlfriend

Spicy food is gross. My mom teases me that ketchup is a spice for me. So really. I am not a fan of that stuff.

Hehe. Possessive Pam.


Author's Response: See, now...I love spicy food. Clearly, Jim and I are made for each other. And I like possessive Pam too! Thanks, Emily!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 05:00 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Sentimental makes me smile! As long as it is a good sentimental. Is there a bad sentimental?

"Jim carefully scratches out the yatt and prints alpert above it. "
HAHAHA! LOVE IT!

I write letters to my friends about once a year. And that kind of reminds me I owe a friend an RSVP to her wedding. But anyways, back to letters. I used to have a lon snail mail thing with one of my friends. Our letters would be like 20 pages long. I always felt sorry for her, because my writing was horrendus. I try to write neatly but then it would deterorate for a few pages, I would attempt the neat thing again. It wasn't pretty.

And I don't want to think about my parents in love. Seems so foreign to me.

"He wants to tell her things that aren’t funny." It seems strange to read that, but its true.


Author's Response: Old fashioned letters are really a lost art...glad you could relate to that. And yeah, I think the idea of your parents in lurve is a weird idea for a lot of people...but, it kind of imprinted Jim, so lucky Pam. You are a prolific reviewer, Emily!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 04:51 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

Ya know. Okay, so yes, my version of smut basically counts as a kiss. That is smut to me. However, so I ws readin this earth day 50 things you can do to help the environment thing, and one of them was take a shower with that special person. And it was like you save water, and you may notice some added benefits.
Oh, but "Saint Jim of Irish Spring" - Awesome!

Okay, not that I have ever (nor have had a desire to), but showering together after like a basketball game. No. That is WAY to gross Karen.



Author's Response: Maybe it's me, but Jim, in the shower post b-ball? Not my idea of gross;-) Glad you liked the St Jim of Irish Spring - I kind of gave myself a chuckle with that one. Thanks again, Emily!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 04:37 pm Title: Indian Summer

I knew what Indian Summer is! So yay for that!
Pam watching Jim sleep is either creepy or cute. Haven't decided yet.

But the handholding. All sorts of adorable (although, embarrasing Emily story time. Okay, so no problem that I am single and haven't slept with anyone. That part isn't embarrasing. Actually, this part isn't either, unless you actually don't care to know really stupid random facts about me. But anyways, one of the things that makes me think I would be better single is because me, sharing a bed. I couldn't do it. Makes me feel gross. And plus, I get violent when I sleep apparently. Kicking and such. Okay. So Really, now my 'embarrasing' story is the longer than the review. And my review is nearly longer than the chapter. Really, I type to much)

Author's Response: Nope, not creepy. (Lord knows if he were in by bed, I'd watch him too. ;-) Interesting about your sleep worries..I don't know, Emily, but I kind of think if it were the right guy, you'd get over it real quick, lol. Thanks for weighing in!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2008 04:31 pm Title: Gary Cooper

I don't know who Gary Cooper is. I wiki'd him. Okay. Big time old movie star. Got it now.
Wow. Those small touches. It just makes me happy. Just thinking of them happy, and those small innocent touches that they can now enjoy.


Author's Response: GC was the opposite of Michael - strong, silent, debonair, brave, handsome....men respected him and women loved him. He was the hero in a couple of classic westerns, btw. Or, you know, you could just Wiki him, lol.Glad this made you happy, Emily!

Reviewer: girl7 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2007 07:35 pm Title: Three in the Morning

Oh my god.  Seriously.  (I'm sitting here frustrated because that exclamation is cliched and smacks of hyperbole, but honestly...I'm a bit speechless here.)

It's a testament to how gorgeous this final chapter is that when I realized it was to be the last, I didn't feel sad so much as awed at this miraculous finish. 

I'm sure I've said it before, as I think it's a characteristic of your writing style, but nonetheless it bears repeating: This reads like poetry.  It's lush and flowing and organic and absolutely tangible. 

So many beautiful details -- honestly, when I read the first two paragraphs, I made a mental note: Mention in the review the beauty of those first two paragraphs, that they're positively melodic.

...But then I read the next paragraph and found myself making a mental note to add it to my review as well -- and this happened with literally every paragraph in the first section.  (And I'm pretty sure the only reason it didn't continue to the second is that I was consciously trying to reign it in, hee.)

In short: This was absolutely perfect -- such a precious glimpse into what "happily ever after" really looks like.

So thank you.  :o)



Author's Response: You write the best reviews in the biz, Ms.girl...reading them makes me want to write more, lol.'It's lush and flowing and organic and absolutely tangible' That's incredible to hear, because it's precisely what I want to - but never feel I quite do - achieve. I really do care as much about the language as the 'point' and at least try to meld them (if that makes any sense at all.) I'm just a glutton for details - I know lack of big plot may be boring for some readers, but I love doing these little character-centric pieces. Always means a lot when you find something in them. Thanks so much for the waaaay generous review.

Reviewer: girl7 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2007 07:26 pm Title: Cooties

Proclamation #1: I've been so ridiculously swamped lately that my fanfic intake has been severely reduced; seriously, John Krasinski could've written a steamy Jim/Pam fic for all I know.

And quite frankly, being this out of the loop sucks.  :o)

Second proclamation: My god, you have such a gift for mining the extraordinary in the most mundane moments (which is how life works, if you ask me -- the beauty is in the simple moments, no?).

This entire series has been just a gift (and lucky me -- I've got one chapter left to read!), and this chapter was no exception.

You really captured the dynamic here so well -- that instinctive protectiveness that surfaces in a situation like this (the first time really catching you off guard in its vehemence, I'd say). 

But you've at the same time maintained a humor and ethos that's all them (read: pure magic).

You know, my husband was sick with a cold last week, and I mentioned to my best friend that he was a little clingy -- when I was going to disappear to the bedroom to write, he gave me this look and said, "Would you mind staying here with me?"  

Like I'd have said no -- oh my god, so adorable.  :o)

But when I told my friend this, her reaction was, "Gah, men are such babies when they're sick!" 

...And it occurred to me then that, while the vulnerability may be some women's pet peeve, to me it's really endearing -- and you captured that so beautifully here. 

Bottom line: You could write one of these vignettes for every day of the year, and they'd never grow old. 

And one final thing: Not to toot my own horn or anything (insert requisite TWSS here...which in itself inspires a second TWSS -- my god, this show has corrputed me, LOL): I think I deserve a dundie for taking the time to write out this review while ignoring the fact that there's another chapter waiting for me.  I feel like one of those dogs who's trained to balance the bone on his nose....  :o)

(All this nonsensical rambling is meant to convey that your latest is awesome.) 

:o)



Author's Response:

Well, I'm glad you're back and glad you found this. This one was fun for me to write...really love the idea of Pam equally taking care of Jim (which, IMO, we're seeing a bit this season too - yay!) Maybe Jim being sick is kind of a metaphor for him really letting his guard down with her/allowing himself to be vulnerable - trusting her/their relationship. Plus, you know, it it gave me a reason to think about him shirtless in bed, so there's always that ;-) 

You deserve an entire wall of Dundies for your wonderful comments...and trust me, darling, if JK was writing steamy fics, I'd put out an APB and you're on my emergency notification list. Anyhoo - glad this rang true to you, you know I love these mundane moments too. Oh and hope your husband is feeling better. Thanks, you! 

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2007 05:14 am Title: Three in the Morning

Oh, Colette.  I read this and think, just once more, I'd like to have this.  I love this:

She looks impossibly white, all diffuse velvety curves in the dark, like an old black and white movie still.

And she is most definitely a place for him.  Sigh.  So wonderful.



Author's Response: Yeah, I think we feel their relationship so strongly because, at some level, it's what we all want - to be that deeply known/loved unconditionally. Glad that sense came through for you here and that you liked that image - it just seemed to work in my very graphic imagination, lol. Thanks, as ever, Sweetpea...you always get it ;-)

Reviewer: House Calls Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 10:24 pm Title: Three in the Morning

Awww -- what a sweet way to end such a sweet story.  It was fun, this peek into what ordinary life could be like for Jim and Pam.  Thank you for not only writing this, but for sharing it with us.  :-)

Author's Response: Yeah, call me boring, but for  me these characters are most interesting at their most ordinary, lol. Glad you enjoyed too. Thank you for your lovely review, House Calls.

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 08:47 pm Title: Three in the Morning

I'm very late to the game here. Like, extremely late. They're folding up the chairs and turning out the lights kind of late. And for that, I apologize.

However, I hope it's not too late to say that I loved this last chapter of yours. It was so beautiful in its simplicity, yet so complex at the same time. I can't think of a better way to end this great story of yours than watching the two of them drift off to sleep together.

I'll just sneak out quietly so as not to wake them up... :) 



Author's Response:

Fashionably late, I'd say ;-)

You know, I hesitated slightly to end with them falling asleep, only cause there was a previous sleep-related chapter...but, it just seemed right to me - there's just something so intimate and connected about that image, I guess. Glad it worked for you too. And 'simple yet complex' is very high praise to me. I find writing mostly a reductive process these days, lol...only a matter of time before I go all Gertrude Stein and write: 'A Pam is a Pam is a Pam' and call it a day. Thanks so much for your kind comments, Cousin Mose!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 07:56 pm Title: Cooties

I really enjoyed this chapter.  Most of the stories here are of Jim doing for Pam.  I liked seeing an image of Pam taking care of Jim.

Author's Response: I wanted to see that too - so I wrote this! Seems like we may see a bit more reciprocal support between them this season (if, we ever see this season, that is)...so hooray for that. Thanks so much for reading/reviewing Vampiric Blood!

Reviewer: Whichoneispam08 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 02:54 pm Title: Gary Cooper

Your writing is so beautiful, but I feel like you don't even need to be told that...'cause duh! (wow I am articulate)
So I'm going to focus on this:
...Wow. That’s either really romantic or really morbid...
I love the cuteness inside the beautiful!

Author's Response: To be honest, every writer needs to be told that - so I thank you! Glad that line worked for you too Whichoneispam08 ;-)

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 02:13 pm Title: Three in the Morning

He's still not sure which of their bedrooms he's in, but it doesn't matter. He knows exactly where he is. She's a place.

Eff. That is a GREAT line. SHE'S a place? For God's sake Colette, whatever it is that you're doing with your life needs to stop and you need to write Jim and Pam all day everyday. SHE's a place...goodness, that's fabulous. 

 



Author's Response: Ha! You are too funny! If only this stuff paid the bills, I'd so be there, lol. I didn't want that line to sound either too heavy (or corny) or too throw-away, so I'm glad it hit the right note for you - she is his place, don't you think? Thanks, as always LoveFool - you're such a great reader/reviewer.

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 01:44 pm Title: Three in the Morning

So good!  You know exactly how to write blissful Jim and Pam.  It's absolutely euphoric.  Beautiful, as always.

Author's Response: Euphoric? I like that. Thanks so much StarryDreamer - always happy when you liked something I wrote ;-)

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 01:10 pm Title: Three in the Morning

What a fitting way to end this! I love that place between being awake and being asleep and this was just... beautiful. I love how you are able to write such intimacy without cheapening it or being too verbose. Great job!!    

Author's Response: OK, so you mention two of the things I work hardest at in these stories: creating a sense of intimacy and being a bit spare with words....so, I'm really thrilled by your comments. Glad you thought the ending fit the piece too. Thanks so much for all your feedback, heartcarved - so, so generous for you to take the time to comment on every chapter.

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 01:07 pm Title: Cooties

Oh. Home life. I love thinking, dreaming, and reading about what they do at home and this was perfect. So nurturing and stunningly accurate in what you do for someone when they're sick. I loved this, even though I hate when Dwight's right. ;)

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm a sucker for scenarios where Pam takes care of Jim (in past seasons, it was usually the other way around, but it's looking like the table may be turned this year.) So, I figured, I better make him sick...let him feel a little of the lurve (I am such a sap.) Glad you thought it felt accurate. Thanks, heartcarved!

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 01:03 pm Title: That Girlfriend

Oh, why did you have to include that last line?! My heart is pounding. :)

I love slightly jealous Pam here, because I find it realistic. Pam's already had to see what it was like for Jim to date Karen and I think she knows exactly how lucky she is to finally have him. 



Author's Response:

Why, yes I did have to include that line. Needed to get it out of my system!

Kind of like Pam feeling an occasional twinge of jealousy too...and for Jim to know that she knows what she's got. This was a fun one to write...many thanks again!

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 01:00 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

I don't think this chapter was excessively sentimental. It felt real and heavy with the need to let your partner know just how much you love them, how much you need them. I really enjoyed the imagery of young Jim reading letters from his dad. The first time I read a love letter from my dad to my mom, it was so intense and I realized that they had this whole life before I was born... they had inside jokes and nicknames and a level of intimacy that I couldn't even begin to fathom until I was much, much older. Beautiful chapter (and beautiful song! God Bless Joni Mitchell.)!!

Author's Response:

Seriously, who knows heartfelt, soulful love affairs better than Joni Mitchell, lol?

Your take is precisely what I hoped would come through re: Jim finding his parents love letters - I always imagined him growing up with parents who truly loved each other, and the impact that had on him, on how deeply he's able to love Pam. So happy you could relate to it so well too, heartcarved.

 

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 12:56 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

What a heart-swelling (and heart-breaking) contrast between Jim showering with the two women. I really enjoyed the way you wrote this -- that it was somewhat of an invasion when Karen did it, but Pam is invited, welcome to every part of Jim. Lovely.

Author's Response: Exactly...I think his sense of borders with Pam would be completely different, because of how much he loves her. I'm glad that was clear in the writing. Thanks so much again, heartcarved, for being such a perceptive reader and kind reviewer!.

Reviewer: heartcarved Signed [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2007 12:53 pm Title: Indian Summer

I love the intimate romance of Pam watching Jim sleep. I love that they can finally touch and hold hands and not everything has to be careful and controlled. :) 

Author's Response: There's something so intimate about them sleeping together (just sleeping, lol) isn't there? And I wrote the line about them walking down the street holding hands BEFORE Fun Run, so you can imagine how happy I was to see that actually happen. Who knew? And I agree - they'd be so relieved simply to be able to touch. Thanks again, heartcarved!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans