Reviews For Ordinary Life
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennInTheCity Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 08:11 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

I absolutely love that! I want a box of love letters ;)

Author's Response: Would be a lovely thing to have, wouldn't it (especially from Jim)? Thank you, JennInTheCity!

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 06:45 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

That's very sweet.  I like how your stories are always full of little details like his scratching out yatt and replacing it by alpert.  A letter does sound up the romantic alley of Mr. Halpert. :)


Author's Response: And I like how you always notice the details (kind of liked the stationery tampering one you noted myself.) He would write her a love letter, wouldn't he? Thanks, MA!

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 06:42 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Divine!  Just simply divine.  I'm a big fan of love letters and it's a shame that the advent of the email has pretty much made them obsolete.

I would have just loved to have read Jim's letter, but it was equally fitting that you didn't allow us to peak in.



Author's Response: Divine? Wow! And, yeah, as I said below, I wanted this to be more internal, just his thoughts about her, why he wanted to commit them to paper forever, etc. rather than literally showing the letter - just as you noted: that's just for Pam to see. And, could I be any cornier? LOL. Thanks so much StarryDreamer for the lovely review.

Reviewer: supergirlsudz Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 06:34 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Ugh. So beautiful. Miss Colette, you are the master! Describing Jim as a kid finding his parents love letters was so spot on. As a kid, it's really mind blowing when you first realize that your parents had a whole life before you ever came around. And I loved how you just described what he was writing about instead of showing the actual letter. I think Pam would like to have a hidden box of love letters, too. :-)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much supergirlsudz. I just imagined realizing that about his parents, at that age, would inform the way he thought about love and such. And yeah - I wanted to focus on his thoughts re: what/why he wanted to write, rather than the actual letter. Much appreciate your thoughtful comments.

Reviewer: batman29 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 06:17 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

nice!

Author's Response: Thanks, batman29!

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 05:52 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

1970 an excellent year. ;)

I have a box of engraved stationary - and in today's day and age it gathers dust for the most part.   

This is so lovely colette. I'm finding it hard to find words to do it justice. 

So I'll just thanks for sharing it. 



Author's Response:

Yes, 1970 was a fine vintage for so many things ;-)

I say dust off that stationery and write someone a love letter...something tells me you'd be good at it. Happy this worked bor you....and thanks, as always, xoxoxo!

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 05:49 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

This was so sweet and romantic.  I have a box of love letters from Mr. Kaystar from before we were married (pre-internet.) Wonderful chapter!  I love JAM love.

Author's Response: Yes, the internet is a wonderful thing, but it pretty much wrecked real letter writing (especially love letters.) Lucky you to have a stash! Thanks so much kaystar - I love it JAM lurve too (not that it shows or anything...)

Reviewer: bitterpill Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 05:04 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Jim a romantic?  I'm just not seeing it.  HA!  This was so beautiful because of his need to express to Pam what she means to him, and I could see this being something he would enjoy doing.  And Jim doing anything in his underwear is a good thing:)  Thanks for this!

Author's Response: You always see right through me - it's all a ruse to get that boy in his skivvies. And I agree...this whole romantic thing is so far fetched. Jim who? LOL. Anyway, happy to hear you thought this was believable. Thanks much, bitterpill.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 04:59 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Wow -- I really hope we get to see some recurrence of events (Dundies, Convention, Halloween, anything) in S4 so we can see the contrast of pre-Jam and post-Jam.

This is sweet and lovely.  Hope that's not too trite a review. 



Author's Response:

Yes, terribly trite. Now take it back! Hee. Are you kidding?

And you know, I was kind of thinking just that - how different his experience at the convention, his whole life really, is now. Doing a before/after Dundies would be great too. Thanks, Lisa!!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 04:44 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

*tear*

So, so sweet. Love how he discovered the private universe his parents lived in, and the decision to abandon the jokes and just tell her on paper (how appropriate) how he feels -- again. And now I have to know what Cousin Mose (the one on the show, not the one on MTT) is going to do with that shower cap. Beautiful, Colette



Author's Response: Why thank you! Somehow I could just imagine Jim finding those letters and it sort of helping form his consciousness of the love thing. (Am I articulate tonight, or what, LOL?) Ah, Mose and the shower cap...so many possibilities.....

Reviewer: Abigail Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 04:38 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

That was beautiful and I love Joni Mitchell!  I love that Jim is soooooo in love with Pam.  It's so sweet. <3

Author's Response: Sometimes you just need a little Joni ;-) Glad you liked. Thanks, Abigail!

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2007 04:34 pm Title: Want to write you a love letter

Very sweet. Very Jim, really.  Tell me again why the greatest minds of this earth haven't gotten together and had him cloned??

Author's Response: Do I sense a new Moxie fic waiting to happen? The Cloning of Jim Halpert? Maybe Pam could do it in a petrie dish in her desk drawer, like Creed with his mung beans. Thanks, you (can you tell I'm punchy?)

Reviewer: desert island Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2007 10:45 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

This paints such a beautiful picture of their life together; happily sharing everything including space.

Author's Response: You know, the sharing space/touching thing does seem to be a common thread in all three. Hmmm. Thanks much, desert island!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2007 06:02 am Title: Shiny When Wet

My husband and I can't really shower together- he's so much bigger than me that either I'm not in the water at all, or I'm drowning. Hee. I love the idea that there is no part of Jim's life he won't open up to Pam, nothing that feels too personal to share, because of how much he loves her. Also, the idea that Karen is "clever at work-arounds" is so insightful and heartbreaking. Great, again.

Author's Response: Hee. The height disparity can definitely be a showering challenge. Figured I could use it here - had this image of him holding her while she woke up, so her cheek being at chest height worked out, LOL. And yes, those borders/walls would be obliterated - downside: vulnerability; upside: such a deep connection. And I'm thrilled you noticed that line about Karen - that idea just telegraphed so much about her for me. Thanks again, nqllisi - always appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2007 05:59 am Title: Indian Summer

As you know, I'm a big fan of short, clean prose. You've got it here, and it is lovely.



Author's Response: I'm with you - it seems like the more I write, the more reductive I get; even in longer pieces, I'm always looking for the right word/phrase to do the job of three. You're always so good at that, so happy that you liked this! Thanks again!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2007 05:56 am Title: Gary Cooper

Mmm, that comfortable sense of touch between people in love. Yay! Beautiful vignette to start with.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nqullisi - yeah, amazing how briefly touching (or not touching) can be so charged. 

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2007 10:51 am Title: Gary Cooper

Michael might actually be Gary Cooper.

I laughed aloud at Michael's description of himself as Gary Cooper. No one could be LESS like the silent, stoic Cooper than Michael Gary Scott. Brilliant!

I love the way you've caught Jim's ambiguity over touching Pam in Seasons 1-3, and the delight that he can do that now. I can't wait to see them together on screen now! Thanks for another wonderful little moment, Colette. Like small, polished gemstones. 



Author's Response: Exactly...I thought for Jim, early in the relationship, just believing he could casually touch her would feel like he was disconnected from reality, like anything was possible (even Michael being Gary Cooper.) Thanks for reviewing, NEJ!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2007 10:49 am Title: Shiny When Wet

Ooo. Wet!Shiny!Jim. I like it. Can I have one? Please?

Loving this like all the others, Colette. Sweet glimpses of a life we'd love them to live...



Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed these little bits, NEJ...and who doesn't want a Wet!Shiny!Jim? Thanks much!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2007 10:43 am Title: Indian Summer

Even unconscious, he always makes sure that at least one part of him is touching one part of her.

Awwwwwwwwwwwww. Colette, this is so sweet. So much love in so few words. I love this. 



Author's Response: Hee. Sometimes when it comes to describing love, the fewer words the better ;-) Thanks again!

Reviewer: Sibilate Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2007 10:34 am Title: Indian Summer

Colette, I love this vignette. It's very real - the freedom to intimately connect or establish contact, consciously or otherwise.  I happen to be writing a piece about fall/Indian summer too so I love it when I see someone else recognize it in fic. 

Author's Response: Yeah, that freedom to touch is almost a luxury, isn't it?  Your fic sounds interesting...always liked the idea/metaphor of an Indian summer (in fact, I used it once before here in an older fic called Okay.) Thanks, Sibilate, glad you enjoyed.

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2007 10:33 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

I love all these little slices of life.  I enjoy vignette style fics, and you do them so well. :)  

She slides her arms around his waist, leaning into him so heavily that he thinks if he stepped back an inch she’d fall to the floor.

So adorable! :) 



Author's Response: Hee. That image of her leaning up against him, half asleep, was actually the seed of this story - so I'm pleased you mentioned that. And trust me, there are more of these little slices of life on the way. Thanks, as always, MA!

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2007 09:56 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

HECK YEAH! Take that Karen! Ooops....wait, I'm more mature than that. Sorry...let's take it down a notch. I love, love, love this. And there's something about a very strategicaly placed Jim curse word that does it for me. Don't get me wrong, I'm not for gratititous cussing...but when in his thoughts he was thinking about being alone in the F-ng shower....perfect. And the juxtaposition of cousre of his thoughts on Pam showering with him...priceless.

Author's Response: Yes, I know what you mean - the strategic use of the F-word can be very effective with Jim, LOL. Glad this worked for you, LoveFool...I liked the idea that he wouldn't compartmentalize his life or draw borders with Pam. Love will do that to a boy ;-) Thanks so much for all these reviews!

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2007 09:51 pm Title: Indian Summer

::sigh:: I love everything about that one. There's something breathtakingly romantic about the thought of them being cuddly together....especially in this sort of unconscious way. LOVE THIS.

Author's Response: See, for me, the most romantic stuff with these two is the smallest - honestly, I don't need to see them on  fancy dates with flowers and violins - all they have to do is hold hands (they don't even have to be awake, for chrissakes) and I'm there. Glad you agree, LoveFool.

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2007 09:48 pm Title: Gary Cooper

Yay! Hurray for futuristic fanfic! My favorite kind -- where Jim and Pam being together is basically the law according to the rules. Let's just hope Daniels and Co. are aware of these laws.

Author's Response: Seriously - about time GD & Co. got with the program! After all, is it so wrong that I just want their legs to touch, LOL? Thanks, LoveFool...fingers crossed!

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2007 08:43 pm Title: Shiny When Wet

I enjoyed all of these, but I think Indian Summer was my favorite. I love how they even find each other while sleeping, it reminds me of those little kissing stuffed animals that have magnets in their paws or lips to draw them together. Except the story was much better of course!

Author's Response: Magnetic stuffed animals - I like it! And yeah, there's something about that unconscious contact that gets to me too. Thanks so much, Kaystar!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans