Reviews For Playing Catch-Up
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Boysenberry Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2016 10:19 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

I loved this so much. What wonderful gifts! I have a 'jim' that I found late in life, and have also wished we'd been together all the years we weren't. This is just lovely, and so IC.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2009 05:46 pm Title: The Awkward Years

I am actually reliving my past, i love it.

Reviewer: Desslok Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2008 07:26 am Title: Epilogue: The Present

I've read this before and loved it. My only excuse for not reviewing back then was that the review count was exactly 69 and it felt like I was betraying Kevin to add another. Still, after re-reading it, I couldn't not tell you how simply marvelous this story is. It's incredible. Nothing could make it better. Just perfect.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2008 03:26 pm Title: The High School Years

Okay, so I just reread this one chapter. I was going to be good and reread the whole story, but I was impatient and wanted to read this chapter.

Because I was driving around today and I passed the place we were going to go to dinner on Prom Night. And 90% of the time, I don't regret not going to prom. But as I drove past it today, I was like "man, prom" and I just had this dream of a great guy who would, in true dorkily sweet fashion, make up a fake prom just so I could get that experience. And then I thought of this story. And I realized that even if it never happened to me, Pam and Jim make it awesome enough.

So I had to reread it again. And, obviously, tell you this story. 

Reviewer: pam_beesly Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2008 03:07 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

This is now my all-time favorite story. Thank you so much for writing it. :)

Reviewer: honeypioneer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2008 09:32 pm Title: Prologue

SO adorable...I absolutely loved this fic! And I really liked how Jim's fluffy speech at the end was really sappy, but completely Jim, too. Good job!

Reviewer: grammarfreak Signed [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2008 07:23 am Title: Epilogue: The Present

adorable :)

Reviewer: mirrorkate Signed [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2007 06:37 pm Title: The College Years

Oh.  My.  God.  Emory is the most amazing satire character I have ever seen.  I nearly killed myself laughing.  I love this story!

Reviewer: healingmirth Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 09:10 pm Title: The Early Years

This review is brought to you by the letter A, and the Story of the Moment box on the main page that I really shouldn't have looked at since it was already seriously past my bedtime.

"One, two, skip a few, ninety-nine, one hundred!" totally made me laugh out so loud that I scared my cat... And oddly, this chapter reminded me as much of college as it did of grade school. Happy memories, either way, and this was awesome, giggly fun.

Reviewer: Snarkland Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2007 03:53 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Awww...that was great.  I loved that...to have a boyfriend that would do that?  Well...I have yet to find another Jim.

Thank you!  :)

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2007 07:52 am Title: Epilogue: The Present

A birthday card for every birthday since she was born? If that's cheesy, then color me gouda...

 *Wow, that was a weird way of saying I adored this whole story. What I get for leaving 7am reviews. *

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 08:33 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

That was just so so sweet.  It's really not so much about the gifts than the fact Jim just wants to make Pam so happy.  That's lovely.  Thanks for this story. :)

Reviewer: danceprincess202 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 04:52 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Aww, I need a guy like that!

I absolutely loved this story! 

Reviewer: schrutebucks Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 04:45 pm Title: Prologue

Seriously, this one brought tears to my eyes. I'm sad it's over. Your version of Jim Halpert (though I have no doubt that the "real" Jim would do all of this for the "real" Pam) has ruined all men for me. I love, love, LOVE the birthday card idea. I'm definitely going to be re-reading this story for a while! Excellent work!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 03:39 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Wow, calories don't count if you don't buy it - I am so using that theory. Wait a second, I ave to buy all my own food. That sucks.

God Jim really is perfect, that is such a thoughtful funny perfect present.

this was perfect fluff. perfect happy fluff.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 03:32 pm Title: The College Years

Woot! College parties! Yeah, right. Haha. I am so not in that scene!

Oh yeah, Pam would be hot in that. What, I am girl enough to admit girl crushes on Jenna and Pam. Major girlcrushes.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 03:18 pm Title: The High School Years

Happy thoughts - seeing any teeny bit of Jim stomach!

Haha! I have a few Alanis Morrisette songs... I probably even listened to some recently (I am currently playing all 41 hours of music I own... just whenever i have my computerwith me)

(yowza, major interruption.... first red cross then walk then social time... now back to story.) Alanis Morrisette. Got it, back in the flow.

Hootie! Hootie and the Blowfish went to my college! Go USC! We rock! They came back this past year for like a football game or something. I didn't go. And then one time I almost had free tickets, actually I had free tickets but then the person who gave em to me, wanted them back

me not so much understanding movie references :(

Ants Marching! Such an awesome song. Its another song that reminds me of summer camp!

I don't really wash my hoodies really. Mommy says I should dry clean em or something. But if you wash em with water, they aren't as soft and nice and they don't feel right and they don't have that smell. not that I smell. wow i am saying a lot of things </pam>

I never ever went to a HS game... football, basketball, softball, soccer, anything. I really probably should have. This is so making me want to relieve my childhood. And do it better.

And they weren't in kindergarten, they were probably like in... 4th grade!

Wow, that does sound like an awkward way to walk.

This is so sweet and crazy, recreating all of this. Jim is just too.... I want a Jim!

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks for the review! I miss all the mid '90s music, it was awesome. The movie reference is Some Kind of Wonderful, which is fantastic, you should watch it! I'm so glad you like the story!

Reviewer: rulesofjinx Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 03:01 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

*sigh* i love it! this is the absolute perfect way to finish it. what better way to make up for a life of missed birthdays than things to represent every stage of life. i especially love the cards. so sweet. i just love the way you write the two of them together. this story was too cute :) 

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that's so nice of you to say. I had a lot of fun writing them, they feel so real in my head.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 01:43 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Oh, I like the little tie in at the end.  The different twist on a sweater & cd guy.  Did that come to you along the way or did you have it planned from the start?

Great story!



Author's Response: Thanks! I had the idea after I wrote the prologue; I knew I wanted him to give her some kind of memento, and it just fit perfectly. I wrote it quickly at work today, and forgot the last sentence for about 5 minutes, so I had to go back and fix that. It was silly, because that sentence was the first one I had thought of! rnThanks for the review!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 01:24 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Maybe Jim really was a 'sweater and CD' type of guy, only a little better.  Uh, YEAH!  A whole LOT better!  This could be an S4 storyline.  For realsies.  Or maybe S5 if they want to torture us a bit first. Loved it.

Author's Response: Oh, God, i hope they don't torture us! I love Jim, I really do. Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: nbyevu Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 12:58 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

So utterly awesome. I love fluffy perfect Jim. These kinds of fics are bad for my brain, they make me think that those guys are actually out there.

Oh, and never nudes? awesome arrested development shout out!



Author's Response: Ha, yeah, never nudes are awesome! I'm sorry I'm contributing to the Good Guys fix, but hell, I need one, too. Mine isn't quite this sensitive or romantic. I'm glad you like it! I was setting out to rot teeth with the sweetness.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 12:24 pm Title: The Awkward Years

Teen years - the epitome of awkward. I am still in horror over mine. Mine were a whole mess of awkward and weirdness.

I listened to Green Day just yesterday. Time of your Life I believe. And I started crying. And laughing. Because that song was played at the last dance of my summer camp, and on the last dance of my last year, my psuedocrush, see, we were all crying. Because it was the last dance, last night, of last year. Anyways, so in an attempt to cheer us up, he started acting like he was contipated (okay, so seriously, it sounds gross and childish, but i was like 15 or something, we were gross and childish), and it made us laugh through the tears.

And hmm, what was the first CD I bought with my own money? I don't even know - oh wait, it was Beth Hart. Haha. I only ever bought like 3 CDs total. most I ... 'stole' from friends, burned my own copies, and then downloaded illegally from internet. (hey, now I do the whole legal route).

Ew skittles. I hate skittles. Ew. So gross. And I've never had a payday. But good call on the m&ms. haha.

Okay, this is too sweet and cute for words, but I gotta say - my teen years would have been a lot better if they were even CLOSE to this!

I feel so sorry for Morgan, she must think she has the craziest cousin EVER

This is just... its so sweet and great.



Author's Response: My teen years would have been so much better, too, unfortunately, they were a little more awkward than this. Green Day's Dookie was one of the first CDs I ever bought. I think the first one was The Who's Tommy. rnThanks for the review!

Author's Response: My teen years would have been so much better, too, unfortunately, they were a little more awkward than this. Green Day's Dookie was one of the first CDs I ever bought. I think the first one was The Who's Tommy. rnThanks for the review!

Reviewer: HauntedLaundry Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 12:12 pm Title: Prologue

i absolutely love this story to pieces!!!! one of my favs


Author's Response: Thank you very much, that's a huge compliment. I'm glad you like it!

Reviewer: jinx Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 12:06 pm Title: Epilogue: The Present

Is it any wonder most women want a 'jim' in their lives.  Beautiful story.  Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank YOU! You're so very nice! I do want a Jim. I know he's a little too perfect in this story, but hey. It's a story.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 12:03 pm Title: The Early Years

Jim is such a sweetie. Seriously, rigt now, I would settle for a J (a third of a Jim).... I don't need the whole thing.

Pam has a fall birthdays. Fall birthdays are the best. My birthday usually falls on the first official day of fall. Its pretty awesome.

I so love them acting like kids. This is just sweet. And smily. I can just picture it and I am smiling.

I must have had a deprived childhood - I have never heard "one two skip a few" thats so awesome. i am so using that!

I am way to horrible at hide and seek. If I am asked to play it, I so try to tell the kiddos to play something else. It is like the least fun game ever to me. I must have had a very tramuatic hide and seek experience or something as a child, but I can't remember. But for some reason, hide and seek is like the devils game in my mind.

Swinging - now that is awesome. I really think my college needs wings out on the horseshoe. I could swing for hours... thats it, I need to find the nearest playground. I am going swinging like NOW. I miss it too much. (its been like a month and a half since I last swung)

Jim is such a dork! They are such sweet adult kids.

Getting kids meals is awesome. I generally always do. Smaller portions AND a toy. What could be better?!

Cootie shot - yes. I still use it. I have to touch boys often, and you have to be prepared. However, not so much with the swings.


Author's Response: Ha, I know what you mean about the feeling during hide and seek. I was the hide and seek expert when I was a kid. I still like playing it, and it still makes my tummy squirm. "One, two, skip a few, 99, 100" is the smartass way of counting to 100, I did it many times! rnThanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans