Reviews For Playing Catch-Up
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 11:52 am Title: Prologue

Done with tests for the week - awesome. Seeing this story marked as complete -.... well, admitly not as awesome (sorry tests REALLY suck), but still pretty cool. And it was just pretty cool on top of awesome which is great.

Um, maybe I should just start reading.

"fauxstalgic" it is a very important emotion, I know. I do believe fauxstalgic is right up there with love and happiness. In fact, I think those form the a triumvent of important emotions. Or something like that.

Hehe, shorty Jim.

Author's Response: Yay for being done with tests! Thanks for reading it and reviewing, and yes, I love to picture Jim as a little tiny guy who grew about two feet overnight.

Reviewer: amalia Signed [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2007 11:27 am Title: Prologue

I like fluff.  Fluff is good.  And most couples do enjoy sharing parts of grade school and high school memories.   You sort of always wish you knew that person back then.  Great story.   Jim is indeed the Best Boyfriend Ever. 

Author's Response: Yeah, it's definitely something I've felt with boyfriends before, although I know all the junk about how we wouldn't be who we are today if we hadn't had our own experiences, and blah dee blah. :-) I wish Jim was real.

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2007 06:32 pm Title: Prologue

I love this story.  So like Jim to want to make it seem like they've been together all along - because they should have been.   You've done such an amazing job taking them back....though - you'd have to go back a bit further for me to get all the references. ;)  

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had a relatively easy time with the pop culture, by my calculations, Pam is only a year or so older than me ( I figured she'd be turning 28), though early '90s high school Jim and Pam would have been a sight to behold.

Reviewer: rulesofjinx Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2007 02:19 pm Title: The College Years

I love this so much! and being a college student, i appreciate this chapter a little more than the rest :) it's all been amazing, and i'm sad that it's almost over. i love that they went to the party and made out in some guys bedroom... and then it had to be her 21st b-day. i love it. 

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I had too much fun writing it. People at work must have wondered what I was so smiley about.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2007 02:16 pm Title: The College Years

Pam is like the luckiest girl ALIVE.  And this is so sweet -- love the details, right down to the music. 


Author's Response: Thanks, lisahoo! Yeah, too bad Jim isn't actually real, and we could all have a piece of him. I had fun thinking out the details as well. :-)

Reviewer: lostfox555 Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2007 02:16 pm Title: The High School Years

Okay, Some Kind of Wonderful reference?  You are my hero.  And prom?  And backseat sex?  God I love this story.

Author's Response: Ha, yes, that's one of my favorite movies ever, but it does slightly creep me out the way he stalks Amanda Jones. I'm so glad you like the story!!

Reviewer: Sevian Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2007 12:21 am Title: The High School Years

This is so imaginative and fun!  I am really enjoying your story!  Thanks for writing and sharing! =)

Author's Response: Well, thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: StarShine Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 10:08 pm Title: The High School Years

aww... i missed out on lots of things going to a REALLY conservative boarding school... (I'm talking segregated assemblies-guys on one side girls on the other). but that's ok... i didn't have a jim or anything remotely close to one back then or else, probably would have been kicked out! hehe..

Author's Response: I didn't have a Jim either, they're very hard to come by. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: stampsgal Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 08:33 pm Title: Prologue

I'm really enjoying this!   Fun and sweet. :)


Author's Response: Hee, thanks so much!

Reviewer: Kris83 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 08:11 pm Title: The High School Years

This story could not be more adorably sweet! You really captured the playfullness of Jam and Jim's great attention to detail. Will there be more chapters? A college year perhaps? The best part was including their parents in the whole thing. Too cute!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Reviewer: JennInTheCity Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 07:27 pm Title: The High School Years

Too cute! I love this ;)

Author's Response: Thank you, JennInTheCity!

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 06:24 pm Title: The High School Years

See, I was thinking just the opposite: I hated high school and wouldn't go back there ever! Although, if I'd had friends like Jim and Pam, it might have been a different story. :)

Just a terrific chapter again. Bravo to you, and I can't wait to see where this ends up.  



Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your nice reviews. I'm glad you enjoy it!

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 06:19 pm Title: The Awkward Years

Okay, I don't want to sound like a music snob, but "Love Hurts" isn't by Aerosmith, it's by Nazareth. (What? I'm old. Oh, and grunge sucks. :P) hehe.

Seriously, though, another great chapter here. So many frightening memories, even though I was already out of high school by 93...

Great job! 



Author's Response: Ack! You're right! I'll fix it tomorrow when I get to work. Safari makes it difficult for me to do at home. Thanks for pointing it out!!

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 06:10 pm Title: The Early Years

Okay, wow! How have I missed this story? Shame on me! So many great things in this chapter:

-Sweaters and CDs. Should I feel guilty for all the sweaters and CDs I've bought my wife over the years? :P

-Bonus points for a Ralph Wiggum reference!

-Dorky!Jam is the best Jam of all the Jam.

-I remember the "married" swing thing, but I never knew about the cootie shot. Although, it would have come in handy, since everyone knows girls are the source of cooties. :P

Fabulous chapter! Off to read the next! 



Author's Response: Ha, thanks! And being a sweater and CD guy isn't bad, as you'll see. I'm glad you like it!

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 06:04 pm Title: Prologue

I'm totally using "fauxstalgic" in my next casual conversation. :) Great beginning!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, sir, you are a gentleman and a scholar. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 06:04 pm Title: The High School Years

This is a lovely story.  I'm enjoying all the little details like the music and the clothing...  You made Jim Halpert one awesome boyfriend. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I like putting in all the little details, too, it's quite fun to think back to those years, which happen to coincide with my own in high school. And I think maybe I'm projecting my fantasy boyfriend, since the only gift I've received from Real Life Boyfriend is a flat screen monitor for my computer that crapped out after two months. :-Prnrn

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 04:04 pm Title: The High School Years

Yay!!  I knew it. :-)  Nice work, McGigi!!


Author's Response: Thanks, moxie! I meant to publicly thank you in the notes for the idea of Lake Scranton, it was just perfect for the story, so I'll do it when I get to work tomorrow (Safari makes it very difficult for me to do at home, lame). I'm glad you like it!!

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 03:29 pm Title: The Awkward Years

"I won't ever tell you what mine was," said Jim, "but it might actually rhyme with 'Schmatman Schmeturns'."   Such a cute line. I love that Jim has involved Pam's family in it.  So very sweet.

And this line -  "She had never appreciated just how sensitive touch was, until she was confronted with the situation of wanting to hug Jim, or kiss him, and knowing that she had to wait".  Sigh.......



Author's Response: Thank you so much, that's so nice of you to say

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 02:43 pm Title: The High School Years

This is ENTIRELY too much fun!  I am loving it.  It is so cute that Jim's even getting the family involved.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm having way too much fun writing, to the point that my work is slightly suffering :-)

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 02:15 pm Title: The Awkward Years

OMG -- an actual jr high school kid involved.  Gah!  

Author's Response: Yeah, i figured Jim would want the real thing, as there is NOTHING like a real junior high girl (and I mean that in the non-dirtiest way possible, it just sounds kind of sketchy). Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 02:05 pm Title: The High School Years

Fun!  I like the image of Jim and Pam at the football game, getting food at the concession stand.  That took me back (although for me, it was further back...)


Author's Response: Thank you! I'm having a ball writing it. :-)

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 01:59 pm Title: The Awkward Years

"Hey, Pam!  Jim H. likes you likes you!"

Fun. 



Author's Response: He totally does; -). Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 01:53 pm Title: The Early Years

This is fun, McGigi.  No, I don't know the swings thing or the cootie shot...When I was a kid, cooties was pretty much incurable. (Very sad.)

I'm having fun with it - I'm glad you're having fun writing, also. 



Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Kev!!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2007 01:49 pm Title: The Early Years

"We're making up for lost time. This is me loving you forever."  Melt.  That is adorable.  As are the Happy Meals.  I've always loved getting those -- but now I have to share with my own kids.

And yeah, Jim & Pam are totally Michael's parents.  See "Safety Training". 



Author's Response: yeah, I was fascinated with that idea during the commentary, it rings so true. And I just had to add extra cheese into an already cheesy premise. I'm glad you like it!

Reviewer: Crystalized Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2007 05:39 pm Title: The Awkward Years

Ha! I love the note passing and the cousin-as-go-between. So clever!

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans