Reviews For This
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: uglyscientist Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2009 03:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

what an incredibly brilliant last line.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2008 05:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

Haven't read AFtC - Yet (I hope I can read it this weekend)

Those first paragraphs of them just being happy together makes me smile like this :D.

Comfortable is good Pam. Just make sure its with Jim. Because he is all you need. Besides Jim was predictable and stable. You just didn't know it.

Wow. Seriously, that quote for the book. That's real? Because wow.

Okay, I am seriously scaring my grandma because I am smiling so much. This line: "her smile widened when she recalled the way he'd simply affirmed in a drawl both awe-struck and inherently satisfied, "Yeeepppp." " just makes me happy

And the end. Best life ever. :)

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2008 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 1

"This" was incredibly beautiful. I just love reading about their love for each other and their exhiliration that they're finally together and so amazingly happy. Great job.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it -- it was fun to write it (better still to be ABLE to write it and know it's not the polar opposite of what's going on on the show).  :o)

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 24, 2008 03:12 pm Title: Chapter 1

This? This is beautiful.  I'm amazed that you'd squirreled this away!  I loved the callback to my favourite story (so awesome) and the incredible senstive moments they share are poignant and so vividly real.  Beautiful!!

Author's Response:

The scary thing is that I have no recollection of when I wrote it!  (I'd suspect some time shortly after the premiere...)  So glad you liked it -- particularly because I was a doofus and posted it before running it past you, my trusty beta, LOL.  :o)

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 09:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

Jim and Pam have finally had their dreams come true! :)

This is lovely.  I especially like the part with the book and Jim's note in the margin about it.  Neat. 



Author's Response:

Yay!  So glad you liked this -- and I'm a nerd, but the thought of Jim Halpert writing marginal notes is just mesmerizing to me.  :o)

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Catie9 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 06:50 am Title: Chapter 1

Standing in the grocery store holding a plastic carton of strawberries to her nose, then glancing up to find him watching her, the expression on his face almost dazed, as if he still can't believe it's all real.

This image strikes me as quietly beautiful. It's so serene, and true, and just Jim and Pam to an extreme for me. And that's a lot to get out of a line about buying strawberries. For me, this little insight is the core of what this story is about.

I just reread The Awakening for the first time since HS, so this story is serendipitously timed. And it makes perfect sense that Pam would idenify with Edna. I mean, apart from actually having gone through with the marriage and having two kids that are constantly demanding bon-bons, they are one in the same. There's just something so warm and so right about imaginging Pam reading while Jim dozes beside her. You have quite a knack for this, missy, and I'm off to check out the rest of what you've got going on!

Author's Response:

Wow -- what a great, thoughtful review!  Totally made my day, I have to tell you.  :o) So flattered at your first comment re: the strawberries scene being the core of what the story's about, because that's the sort of...sense I was hoping to weave through here. 

And YES -- I was feeling all warm and fuzzy when writing the scene with Pam reading and Jim dozing beside her.  I'd imagine it would take them weeks and weeks and weeks just to get used to even the quiet moments, you know?

Thanks so much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 06:01 am Title: Chapter 1

her smile widened when she recalled the way he'd simply affirmed in a drawl both awe-struck and inherently satisfied, "Yeeepppp."

I smiled at this description- it is exactly spot-on, which of course does not surprise me. I love that the dual feelings of elation and contentness exist in such harmony here, as they really would in a relationship like theirs. It's a lovely picture of the heady days of falling in love, and feels so real and in-character. Thank you for sharing with us!



Author's Response: So glad you liked it -- and it's great to hear you say you found it believable, because that's my first priority when I'm writing.  It was a lot of fun to write them together like that -- sort of like living a little vicariously in some ways.  Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Pamalama Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 07:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

What is the name of this book? (if it in fact it does exist :))

Author's Response: The book does indeed exist, and it's called The Awakening -- was written by Kate Chopin.  I highly recommend it.  :o)

Reviewer: shootingstars Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 04:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is absolutely beautiful. A thoroughly enjoyable, perfectly in character little look at the beginnings of Jim and Pam's relationship. Fantastic :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- so glad you enjoyed it! 

Reviewer: bebitched Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 03:15 pm Title: Chapter 1

Gah! That was really beautiful. Seriously, well done!

Author's Response:

Yay!  (That's my most honest response.)  :o)  Honestly, though -- means a lot to hear that this resonated; I so appreciate your taking the time to tell me.  :o)

Reviewer: CashBasket Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 02:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

words fail me in a place where you've so beautifully captured them into magical, tumbling, living beings. love it.

Author's Response:

All right -- your review?  Poetry, my dear.  Seriously.  What a gorgeous turn of phrase: "captured them into magical, tumbling, living beings."  Wow.

Thank you for not only taking the time to review, but for offering up such a lyrical response.  Again I say: Wow.  :o)

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 02:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

Well, fancy seeing you here ;-) And what a sweet return.

What lovely thoughts: lying on the couch, drowsily watching dopey movies on tv; unexpected smoldering glances under the flourescent lights; and especially - the idea of Jim as her oasis at the end of the day's insanity. And who doesn't like sleepy, loopy with love Jim? It all feels intimate and cozy and heady with that first flush. (And I like the Kate Chopin ref to your earlier story...I love doing those little callbacks - it's like having your own Yoknapatawpha Co. of characters and consistent history. What, too grandiose? Hell, you know what I mean. ;-) 



Author's Response:

Must tell you, I let out a bark of laughter at your reference (on the Angela thread) to your first (9 1/2 lb!!!!!) baby as a "behemoth."  That completely cracked me up for some reason.  :o)  (And I'm loving how gorgeous Angela is while pregnant -- wow.)

Anyway.... Given your awe-inspiring penchant for capturing the mundane moments and making them magical, I'm completely flattered that this resonated with you.  While my initial impulse was to write them as way over-the-top and mind-blowingly perfect, I couldn't help but think that -- for them -- the magic would be in the mundane moments they'd never been able to share together (or rather, to REALLY share). 

And I should also admit that I shamelessly stole a lot of this from my experiences with Mr. Girl7 early on (we worked together, too, and kept things secret for a while). 

Finally, it thrills me to hear that you liked the Chopin reference!  I always worry that referring back to my earlier stories comes off as arrogant or pretentious, when in reality, I simply lack the ability to get past a history for them once I create it.  :o)  That you totally just GET it is no surprise, but I'm still ridiculously grateful.  :o)

As usual, thank you, my friend, for the thoughtful review!  (And now that I've got a bit of time on my hands -- for this long weekend, anyway -- reading your latest is literally at the top of my "To Do" list.  ...Insert crass joke about John Krasinski being number one on said list....)  :oP  Sorry -- couldn't help myself.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 12:59 pm Title: Chapter 1

*sniff*  Damn, girl7, you make me miss those two even more than I already do!  How did we get through S3?  

Glad you're back. 



Author's Response:

Okay...you've gotten me all sappy over here.  :o)  (Seriously -- am engaging in a rather elaborate dance of denial with regard to the fact that, were it not for the strike, we'd likely be witnessing all sorts of amazing Office moments right about now....)

My way of saying: Thanks so much for your review and for the kind words.  (May the strike be resolved sooner rather than later....). 

You rock, as usual.  :o)

Reviewer: dundermifflinthisisdani Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 12:32 pm Title: Chapter 1

this was perfect (: i love the idea of how pam already loves jim more than she ever felt for roy, and how this book keeps coming back into your stories. it's beautiful (: great job

Author's Response:

Okay, so I worried that the book reference was tired, so to hear you say that absolutely made my day.  :o)  (Seriously -- a few of my students found it "too feminist," so I ended up taking it off my syllabus, which I hated to do.  Any time it gets love makes me incredibly happy.  :o) )

While I have a healthy affection for Roy (or rather, for post-GWH!Tortured!Roy), I have to think that Pam would be so blown away by Jim that all she'd known before would pale in comparison.

Of course, that's my very humble, very biased opinion.  :o)

Thanks for reviewing! 

 

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 11:44 am Title: Chapter 1

Aww - so very nice and warm.  I won't need an extra blanket in this cold hous tonight - I'll just plan on reading this a few more times.  :)  

Author's Response:

In the interest of full disclosure: Seeing a review from you literally made me go, "Oh!" right out loud.  (It's not unlike the response I'd have if Gordon Ramsay approved a dish I prepared....)  Anyway, my dog Max would like for me to pass along that he's indignant I woke him from his 2+ hour nap with my enthusiasm.... :o)

Seriously, though, thanks so much for your kind words -- you know they mean a lot. 

(And BTW - I'm assuming the package made its way to you quickly....?)

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 11:17 am Title: Chapter 1

Contented sigh. Just perfect with a little bit of everything I like: some fluffy, happy Jam, some of the sexy stuff, and of course, disheveled and so-in-love Halpert. Sorry, Roy, but there's just no comparison.

Author's Response:

Listen, a contented sigh from you is the equivalent of JK with his shirt off.

...Okay, so that was a lie; let me try again. :o)  A contented sigh from you is like a gigantic bowl of chocolate ice cream.  (Now THAT is the truth.) 

Seriously -- so great to get a review from you, even better to hear that this had elements of what you like.  :o) 

As for Roy...well, I must admit that Tortured!Bearded!Diwali!Roy gives me pause (and I mean SERIOUS pause)...you're absolutely right to say that he doesn't compare to the so-in-love (tears in his eyes a la Casino Night) Halpert.

Let us sigh together.  :o)

Thanks, my friend, for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: brokenloon Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 11:09 am Title: Chapter 1

Nice to see you, girl7.  I loved this, of course.  I am an absolute sucker for happy Pam.  And, as much as I love your work, usually happy Pam doesn't come around until after a lot of hard work and 11 chapters or so.  It was nice not to have to work for it this time.  My favorite here was the thought of her being comforted by knowing they would be alone together soon.  Great stuff.  

 

 



Author's Response:

Hey, nice to see you as well!  (Seriously, I've not had time to post or -- worse yet -- read anything recent that with every review and familiar name, I'm all, "Oh, heyyyyyy!  How ARE you?"  Sad, I'm sure. :o) )

And you should know that I literally laughed right out loud at your comment about usually having to endure "hard work and 11 chapters or so" before happy Pam emerges -- because that's a spot-on assessment of my usual deranged, angsty stuff). 

But this one was an anamoly in that 1) I've been so busy lately that I was almost disturbed by the fact that I had absolutely zero desire to write at all (which is weird for me); 2) then yesterday I suddenly experienced this unexpected surge of that old familiar need to write (i.e. driving home from the store, mind racing with dialogue & bits of plot ideas); 3) I started a new story (not yet posted), then dabbled in a long-neglected WIP (Breathing Out), thinking one of those two would be my next post; and finally 4) stumbled on the skeleton of this one while searching my thumb drive -- had completely forgotten even writing it.

All this rambling to say: I'm so glad you enjoyed it (and the comfort from knowing they'd be alone together soon came straight from my own experience -- it was one of the things that led me to realize that Mr. Girl7 would be the man I'd eventually marry, sappy as it sounds. 

Anyway, thanks so much for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: belsum Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 10:59 am Title: Chapter 1

*sigh*  That was lovely.  I like how you wove in elements from the show but in a very subtle fashion.  You did a really great job of capturing the absolute depth of their connection.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much -- the connection is exactly what I wanted to convey here; in fact, the notion of exploring how profound their connection would surely have to be is what was the actual catalyst for the story in the first place.  So it's really great to hear that you experienced the story that way.  :o)

Thanks, too, for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Daoust Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 10:49 am Title: Chapter 1

This is a great little story, girl7.  This is my favourite line:
" an utterly transfixing amalgam of reverence and lust coloring his features as he stood in front of her".  It's lines like that that make me not want to write fanfic. How could I compete with that kind of brilliance?  Anyway, well done.  

 



Author's Response:

Okay, so I don't think I've ever posted a story with confidence -- or rather, I've never posted a story, then sat back and thought, "Well now THAT was brilliant."  That said, I tend to get more nervous about some stories than others, and I almost regretted posting this one at first for some reason.

All this rambling to say: Thank you for such a kind and generous review; it was so great to read what you had to say about it, seriously.  :o)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 10:19 am Title: Chapter 1

Simply stunning, girl7. 

"Puttering around her apartment after he'd gone home to pick up some clothes and wearing the tee-shirt he'd had on the day before, his scent surrounding her as she loads her dishwasher, anticipating with a flutter that he'll be back soon."  Sigh.  So gorgeous.  Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

Gah, you are too kind.  :o)  I have to admit that it was a wee bit fun envisioning just what it would be like to be dating Jim Halpert.

Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Crystalized Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 10:16 am Title: Chapter 1

Aww...just AWWW!  This is so lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- I'm glad you liked it!  And thanks, too, for taking the time to review.  :o)

Reviewer: dasani Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 10:11 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow.
Just, wow.

Author's Response:

Wow right back at you! :o) I'm so glad you liked it (at least, I hope that was a good wow and not a "wow, did that suck."  :o)

Seriously, though, I appreciate your taking the time to review, and I'm so glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: Shassafrass Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2008 09:57 am Title: Chapter 1

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!

Author's Response:

First: I went to respond to your review, and I almost hit the button to add a new review.  My comment was (and is), you totally made my day.  :o)  (Can you imagine if I'd accidentally left that as a review instead of a response?  Like I'd be telling myself I'd made my own day...?!  Hee.)

Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing (so quickly!); it's been a while since I've posted anything, and I was a bit nervous about this one.  :o)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans