You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: gamesetmatch Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2008 02:56 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Aww, poor Michael! But, I do love this story/series! Great job! I particularly love Dwight and his sash :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, gamesetmatch!  I was sort of proud of the way this one turned out, but the most fun part to write was probably Michael being an idiot with his Pancake Day plan. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: FinerThings Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2008 01:27 am Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

LOL!! Jim is so amazing (as if I didn't already think so..) for coming up with all of that!! What a perfect day for Stanley. Heeheehee. That was hilarious -- thanks for posting! =)

Author's Response:

That would be a perfect day for Stanley!  Add a free pretzel around noontime and he'd die and go to heaven.

I'm so glad you liked it!  I actually would love to see how they'd handle MLK day on the show.  Michael would be certain to handle it badly. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: FinerThings Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2008 01:24 am Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

Oh wow -- Michael in the beginning was absolutely cringeworthy! LOL! Confrontation with Ryan was intense, and I love how he knows that Jim would have gotten the job. That comforting. Aww and the Pam/Jim conversation was really cute.

Author's Response:

Michael can be so cringeworthy, can't he?  When I first started watching The Office (and even still), it was despite Michael, not because of him.  But it's fun to sort of channel that idiocy and write it sometimes. ;)

If I were Ryan (I'd shoot myself -- no, that wasn't it), I'd have this sort of talk with Jim.  I'd absolutely set Jim on babysitting patrol.  Jim should be doing more of that anyway; he sort of sits back and collects the paycheck for the Assistant RM title, but doesn't do anything much with it except when Michael leaves or 'his' women are planning a party together. 

I'm glad you liked the Pam/Jim convo -- I have to think at some point they'd talk about how he could have taken the job if he wanted to.  It wasn't really a Pam or NY decision, or at least, it didn't have to be.  I'm pretty sure Jim's happier in Scranton, though. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: Swedge Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 23, 2008 07:37 pm Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

It turned out well, good job.  You've always been great at doing Stanley.

Author's Response:

That's what he said. ;)  We don't really get much Stanley action or Stanley dialog, so I'm just sort of altering slightly the things he's said and done in the past, and trying not to give him any speeches.  Not a big talker, our Stanley. 

Thanks for (re-)reading and reviewing, Swedge! :)

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2008 03:11 am Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Oh, Jim!  No Michael or Phyllis or Dwight and all of Dwight's client calls?  Yeah, that's a glorious day for Stanley!  Your Dwight is spot-on and he seems to me the hardest voice to get right without going over the top, but you did a great job with him.

I love this line:  He hadn't thought Michael Scott could get any whiter, but a bucket of paint proved him wrong.

So much fun, TLK.  I read that President's Day is the next holiday?  Oh, boy, I have a couple ideas of how that might go, and I can't wait to see how you tell it. 



Author's Response:

Best day ever for Stanley, besides the day he thinks he's going to be retiring (and of course, those hopes were dashed).  I'm glad you think my Dwight is okay; he is kind of tough. ;)

I love my cheesy white paint line, too.  That was one of the earliest things I thought of with this story.

There are actually other holidays before President's Day...  Some of the holidays are pretty minor. ;)  If you do have some President Day ideas you want to pass on, PM me.  I have one sentence for that one so far, and it ends with a question mark because it's a whole lot of nothing, as the saying goes.  (Is that a saying? If not, it should be.)  I'd credit the idea to you, naturally.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this, Sweetpea.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: brokenloon Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 06:58 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Well, wasn't that fun.  Great to see Stanley get some sunshine in his life--must have been better than pretzel day.  I particularly liked seeing Jim make it happen.  I'll look forward to more holiday fics.

Author's Response:

Yes, better than pretzel day, because he didn't even have to stand in line.  Plus he had such low expectations for the day that having all these good things happen instead would be fantastic!  Next up should be Groundhog Day!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, brokenloon! 

Reviewer: JennInTheCity Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 05:45 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Great fic and I love how Jim saves the day for Stanley! Those two need more interaction on the show! Can't wait to read more in this series!

Author's Response:

Jim needs to get off his butt and do a little more saving people from Michael!  I love how Stanley prefers to not interact with anyone.  But then he occasionally surprises us, like in The Job when he teases Pam by saying he though she was Kelly (at Beach Day)!  He's a fun character.

The next story in the series should be Groundhog Day.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, JennInTheCity! 

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 04:15 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Beautiful. Nice to see Jim working his powers for good. What a lovely way to honor this holiday (which I had to work). Thank you!

Author's Response:

Yes, Jim could be doing a lot more to make things livable for people; he has so much influence over Michael! 

There really is a Scranton Day of Service today (as well as in lots of other places) and the march to City Hall and cocoa and cake and such.  It sounds nice, doesn't it?  

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, lis! 

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 03:18 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

What a great MLK day for Stanley.  Kudos to Jim for arranging it with his buddy.  My favorite lines were from the first chapter about Toby not being black "except for his heart" and how they should get on the bus, "but not in the back".  So funny.  Happy MLK Day, Kev!

Author's Response:

Ha!  Michael is clueless, but he never misses an opportunity to be mean to Toby, does he?  Poor Toby.  

I do think this would be a pretty great day for Stanley; he deserves a little time away from Michael, doesn't he?  And knowing Michael was putting in hard work all day would be such a bonus.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, EH!  Happy MLK Day to you. :)

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 02:44 pm Title: Part 2: Monday, January 21, 2008

Ha! Now that's a perfect thing to do for Stanely on MLK day: A day without Michael and Dwight! And Phyllis! Brilliant choice. 

I think it's great that you tackled a story from Stanely's POV. I find him really difficult to write for. I guess I can't get past the crossword and pretzel jokes. :P So, really great job in giving us a bit of a different peek into his world.

Also, i forgot to mention this in my other review, but I remember as a young kid going with my grandmother and great aunt to eat at a restaurant called "Sambo's," complete with scenes from the book painted on the walls. And that was only 1977 or so. Whew.

Anyway, great job with this! Very funny stuff.  



Author's Response:

I liked in Safety Training (I think) when we discovered that not only did Phyllis have those stinky perfumes, but she and Bob talked on the phone all the time (Karen lost a bet about it).  So Stanley, I'm sure, would love a day off from Phyllis, even though they're close.  ("We sit close.") ;)

Each section is actually from different POVs, but I do have a couple of sections of Stanley's.  I don't think it's normally easy to get into his mindset, but for something specific like this or something brief (like Stanley, Off to the Poconos) I can manage.

I think Sambo's is still around.  Aha!  According to wikipedia, the best thing ever, the first and only remaining Sambo's is in Santa Barbara CA. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sambo's.  Strangely enough, the name came from the two owners, not from the Little Black Sambo book, but then people began to associate it with that anyway and they decided to ride that wave... which was clearly a mistake of huge proportions. 

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Cousin Mose!  Now that I have a breather before the next holiday, I can catch up with Phineas Fogg and maybe beat him to the Pit Stop. ;) 

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2008 02:35 pm Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

He felt sorry for people who weren't quick-witted like he was.

:smort: Excellent.

Fantastic chapter, Kev! I especially liked Ryan's "I'm the boss" speech with Jim. You really captured that transparently shallow kid that is Ryan these days.

And Pam's suggestion of a babysitting chart for Michael was a nice touch. Wasn't it in the commentary for Safety Training where BJ says that Michael is basically Jim and Pam's kid? So true.

Nice work, and I'm off to read the next chapter! 



Author's Response:

Sadly, if I were Ryan, that's about exactly what I'd say to Jim.  Jim's coasting along, and he should be earning that #2 salary he has.  That may make me transparently shallow, I don't know.  But I do know I'm not a kid. ;)  But I'd absolutely set Jim to babysitting Michael.  He needs it!

It's funny that you pointed out the quick-witted line, because as I wrote it I thought "I could use the exact same line for Andy," so I wasn't sure it was right for Michael.  There are definite similarities between the two men, though. 

Thanks for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: PamPongChamp Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 10:27 am Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

I was dying at the "little sambo" part..we had to read that in my racial sterotypes class...(it was actually called 'american experience' but that's all it was)

I also was particularly fond of "sinning on a regular basis" that is all the world needs, regular sinning.

Can't wait for the next installment!



Author's Response:

I'm sure Michael would have no idea people would find anything he said offensive.  That's the beauty of being Michael, right?  I know Aunt Jemima gets letters from people asking them to take the Mammy off of the bottle; I doubt they ever will, but it's interesting to me that people try.

I thought there was a particular ring to the sinning line, especially as he looked over at Angela at the time.  Angela might have something to say about a slow train from Philly... not too hypocritical, is she? ;) 

The end of this story should be posted on Monday.  Next planned holiday -- Groundhog Day. 

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, PamPongChamp

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 06:11 am Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

Hee! Jim is sending Michael off to volunteer somewhere, no doubt. Your Ryan is such a slimy weasel- I love it. I also love the cute interplay between Jim and Pam (and her surprise that he didn't realize that all he had to do was just not date Karen and she'd have been all his). Lots of great character notes here. I can't wait for the next holiday! (President's Day, right?).

Author's Response:

The next installment will be Monday, Part 2 of MLK Jr. Day.  Then my next plan is Groundhog Day.  Some of these 'holidays' will be teeny ones. ;)

lis, I think you must be channeling my Jim, or maybe you've looked ahead on my computer. ;)

I wrote Ryan to be a bit slimy in his interpersonal NY life, but in work life, I think he actually should sit Jim down and tell him to babysit Michael.  Instead, Jim winds Michael up half the time, and just lets him do his crazy stuff the other half.  If I were Ryan, I think it would be a smart move to put Jim's charisma to use in a way that could help the Scranton office, and help me.

I'm not sure it ever occurred to Jim that while taking the New York job was a way to get away from Scranton and Pam, it didn't mean he had to be away from Pam.  In my head in the summer of 2006, Pam had called Jim in Stamford and they were doing this exact weekend commute.  2.5 hours?  C'mon!  Totally worth the drive. ;) 

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, lis! 

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 05:47 am Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

Great story!  I can just see it : )

Author's Response:

That's the easy thing about writing fanfic -- we all know what the characters look like, what the setting is, etc., that we just fill in so many of the details as we read.  I don't think I could write 'original' fiction and have to fill all that in for everyone.  It sounds way too difficult.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, NanReg!

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2008 03:25 am Title: Part 1: Friday, January 18, 2008

So happy to see a new story from you, TLK!  Especially an ensemble piece that you do so, so well.  Jim's got something better than Pancake Day (so funny) and rainbow sprinkles?  I can't wait to find out what that is!   



Author's Response:

Sweetpea, you're such a faithful reviewer!  I can't even tell you how much I appreciate that. :)

Jim's just full of good ideas!  Michael may not think so in the end, though.  Poor Michael!  Just trying to par-tay rainbow style, and no one wants to join in.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Sweetpea.  I'm glad you liked this.  Part 2 should be out on Monday. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans