You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2008 06:01 pm Title: End

I'm so far behind with my reviewing.  Just wanted to say good job with finishing this.  You did really great working the ensemble into all the little stories.  And the last one was funny with the "classy boner" line.  I laughed out loud at that.  So, so Michael to categorize boners, of all things.  Hee!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2008 05:53 pm Title: End

Wow, Swedge!  Quite an accomplishment.  This was such fun.  Great job.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2008 05:38 am Title: End

Finis

It was good to finish with one that had the conference room as the main subject like this, and I can imagine that Michael would have a lot of love for that room.  But I enjoyed, in general, how different all of the stories were.  It seems just about all the characters were included somewhere. 

Good job, Swedge.  And now it's off your plate. :)

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2008 08:02 pm Title: Light

Ooh, Darryl!  Bad advice.  Not that we would've wanted Roy to have been able to hang onto Pam; of course, we wanted her to move on.  But still... ;)

Excellent job on the Darryl voice. 

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2008 07:59 pm Title: Vote

Think, Phyllis!  Think!

I enjoy those moments when Angela turns on a dime, like she has here.  Another one of those moments was when Pam said she was more of a dog person (in the newer scenes of...Traveling Salesmen, maybe?)  In any case, the temperature in the room suddenly drops to a deep freeze.   

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2008 07:43 pm Title: Vote

Hah!  I'm a little afraid of you that you can write Angela so well!  (Democracy in action!)


Author's Response: Be very afraid. :) She's a lot of fun to write. So much spine, which would be admirable if she used it more nicely.

Reviewer: JennInTheCity Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2008 06:51 pm Title: Vote

AWESOME! Poor Phyllis!

Author's Response: She always seems to end up in Angela's crosshairs, doesn't she? A fun pair to write about.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: March 27, 2008 06:40 pm Title: Vote

Love it!  Spot on.

Author's Response: Thanks for the support. It was just a little moment but I enjoyed writing it.

Reviewer: dmscranton Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2008 10:52 pm Title: Rescue

Oh god, way too perfect. I'm really glad the strike's over too. ;)

(I'm still laughing) 

Reviewer: dmscranton Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2008 10:48 pm Title: Court

Okay you do write the best talking heads!


Author's Response: Thanks, although I guess they are written heads in the story. Yes I know, that's bad enough to be a Michael Scott joke.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2008 04:08 pm Title: Entourage

Ha.  I like your changes.

You know, not that anyone really 'clicks' with Michael, but he and Jan aren't really on the same wavelength, are they?  What are they doing together?  I guess it makes a little bit of sense once they started showing how screwed up Jan is; they're two misfits.

I think two of my favorite lines are "Sex with Jan was no longer Sex with JAN! to him but he was still in awe of their relationship at times" and "the chickens coming home to the rooster." I also liked the little mention of Hunter.  I hope he's not letting them change him. ;)

Eh.  My kid is "timing me."  I said we could do something on the computer "in a minute."  Aargh.

Nice job on the stories, Swedge. :) 

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2008 10:35 pm Title: Rescue

Yay for sympathetic Pam! 

I would think poor Michael would get nightmares from the new Terminator show.  Dwight might believe Terminators are around every corner.  He shouldn't worry though.  Not that many of us came through, and Dwight's not in our mission parameters... ;)

I enjoy how these all continue to be so different from each other.  Fun! :) 

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2008 10:30 pm Title: Sky

Wallace "liked to keep his distance and thus his sanity" -- if only Dwight had kept his distance -- or perhaps he never was sane.

"I bet whatever suggestions you have are better than what I heard just now." -- Nah.  How could there be a better idea than blimps?  Dirigibles!  Nothing could be better.  One went right over my back yard once.  They're surprisingly loud.

And did I hear an implied "Dunder Mifflin, this is Pam"?  I'm sure Jim is very happy he's not hearing "Dunder Mifflin, this is Grace." :)

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2008 09:36 am Title: Lost

Of course I was trying to figure out whose desk he was at based on the clues.  But reception?  Hahaha, just perfect.  I love how he's pretty sure he knows how to start a new solitaire game.  Ah, Creed, such a burnout, gotta love him.

Author's Response: The good thing about him being a burnout is if he ever did get her "digits", he'd probably - hopefully - forget them.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2008 05:43 am Title: Lost

HA! I love that Creed can get lost in his own office. Perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks. As you said, some words were harder than others and this was one of them.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2008 06:34 pm Title: Lost

I was wondering exactly how long it takes Creed to play solitaire.  It probably takes a really long time because he's waiting for the other guy to take his turn. ;)

Oh, and one little nitpick...

Nah.  Just kidding. ;) 



Author's Response: 3 hours and 45 minutes. Or roughly half the time it takes him to figure out how to start a new game of it.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2008 06:56 am Title: Court

Michael and jury duty? Simultaneously terrifying and comedy gold. Nicely done!

Author's Response:

I know, what a scary thought. Of course we'll probably see it on the show at some point due to Carell's real life experience and they'll think of great stuff I couldn't have. But it was fun to play with the idea.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2008 06:53 am Title: Force

Excel, Easter, Jazz, Purgatory

HA! Another excellent chapter, with some really nice, sensitive characterization for Dwight.



Author's Response:

Dwight is very sensitive on some issues, which is why he buries his emotions in a mountain of nerdiness. I think he spends a lot of time trying to live up to what a Schrute should be.

I wasn't sure on using Purgatory, since I wasn't sure that Angela's religion believed in purgatory. But it was fun to include it.

Originally, this story had the first half just as a paragraph or two of exposition in the middle of the second half. But then I decided I wanted to see how that would be fleshed out.

One of the reasons I'm a bit slow in putting these stories up is I have the basic concepts and a rough draft down but I end up altering things so much that before I know it something more ambitious than I originally intended has evolved.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2008 06:40 pm Title: Court

I think this is my favorite chapter -- you write awesome talking heads!  It's tough to get a character down in just a few lines.  (I think Greg Daniels will owe you some cash when he steals these ideas for the show).

Author's Response:

Thanks. Interestingly (if you're me and find anything I do interesting) this started out as a little exchange between Pam and Michael but then grew and changed.  I almost didn't include Kelly and Kevin's, they were last minute ideas. But it was nice to try and get all of them in so I gave it a shot.

As I said in another response to someone else, I was attempting to use a wide variety of approaches in these stories, in order to get better over time, with any luck. So I was pleased with this one since it ended up very different in format.

By the way, I'm still waiting for your next story. :)

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2008 06:35 pm Title: Force

Fact: you can’t force it, you let them be free and hope they choose you.  And Dwight's animal does need a lot of loving before she'll choose him again.  Nicely done, swedge!


Author's Response: Thanks.  And of course Angela ended up jumping in his lap, figuratively speaking. A cat to her core.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2008 08:21 am Title: Court

Swedge, you are so very clever : )



Author's Response:

Thanks. And I really appreciate your reviews even if I'm sometimes negligent in responding.

It would be great if you posted on the MTT forums now and then.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2008 05:38 am Title: Court

"It's all about who you know..."  Poor Andy, always trying to get into the exclusive clubs. ;)

I'd try to choose a favorite, but I'd have to list half of them, so I won't.  You've done a good job showing everyone's little quirks and personalities in these short sentences, like Angela's understated "and vote to convict."  I'd way rather have Michael Scott judge me than Angela.  She's... severe. ;)

I like how the chapters are so different from each other.



Author's Response: Poor Andy, indeed. He is probably on waiting lists for everything in life.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2008 05:31 am Title: Force

I love this view of sad Dwight and his relationship with Angela.  It renews my interest in what will happen to them in the last part of this season.  Will Angela choose to come back?  Is she a smart kitty? ;)

I also applaud any appearance of Cousin Mose in a story or on the show.  No doubt the Seamonster is back at Schrute Farms, waiting with some cat food to welcome Mose and Garbage home.  He'll be disappointed the cat isn't with them.  



Author's Response: A year ago I'd have been concerned that my portrayal of Mose, not just in this story but in any, would be too over the top. But they kind of out over the topped the fanfic writers in Money so I feel freer to use him.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: March 04, 2008 06:25 am Title: Pineapple

The Michael/Creed dynamic is one of the more fascinating aspects of the show, isn't it? I love how you play with it here. I also really like the weariness you infuse in Michael's character. It really does seem true to the weird relationship he has with Jan. Spot-on, again!

Author's Response: It was hard to work pineapple into a story. Originally it was just the part with Creed being weird but I bracketed it with some of Michael's point of view to flesh it out. And now you know more than you ever wanted to.

Reviewer: Too Late Kev Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2008 08:25 pm Title: Pineapple

I love when you write Creed, and I can imagine him doing this.  There's very little I'd put past Creed, really.  ;)

I'm glad Michael sold Jan's too-expensive book on eBay.  I've just re-watched the episode (Money, maybe?) where she's talking about redecorating his apartment -- "It costs what it costs."  Grrr.



Author's Response: Ha! That reminds me of Ryan's "it is what it is" line in one of his NY talking heads. It mus be a phrase the writers like making fun of.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans