You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Boysenberry Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2016 02:51 am Title: Abby's Afterward

I really enjoyed reading this. A lot of care seems to have gone into making sure it was true to both the characters younger, and then older, 'voices'.

The only disappointment was the pictures were broken, so it took away from those chapters, especially the big one, that I can only assume had to do with Karen(?) and left the reader hanging a bit.

But overall, well done.

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2009 07:04 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

Sorry so late, but I wanted to thank you for again for all the care and detailed research that went into this story.  I reread the entire thing start to finish and it really blew me away how REAL everything seemed.  Great pacing, true to the characters, realistic angst and the happy ending we all longed for.  Lovely, lovely story.  Thanks again.

Reviewer: Sonni Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2009 10:31 am Title: Abby's Afterward

This was absolutely amazing. It was completely different from everything else I've read in my life and while I was a bit hesitant at first, I really got into it and I thought it was brilliant. Thanks so much for writing this- and an even bigger thanks for finishing it- it's not a given nowadays that good stories actually get an ending, so thank you for that.

Reviewer: MuteytheMailman Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2009 06:30 am Title: Abby's Afterward

Yea! I've been reading this since the beginning and loved it all. It was a wonderful story with a great ending and some very interesting "real world" interpretations...about reality stars and competition shows and the "you don't understand componant". Definitely fodder for a real grad paper/book if you ask me. Thanks for seeing this through to the end. It was a great read and highly enjoyable!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2009 06:29 am Title: Abby's Afterward

Boy oh boy was I excited to see this, GITC!  What a perfect ending.

Abby became aware of the sounds on the other end of the line. A dog barking…a baby crying…the kind of noise associated with the hustle and bustle of a happy home, shutting down for a peaceful evening.  Now THAT gave me chills--good ones :)  Excellent job.

Reviewer: JAMhands Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 08:54 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

That was amazing. i have no other words for it. Simply amazing. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 06:50 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

Oh my God, Mel.  This totally blew my mind.  What an amazing look at the very nature of this fandom -- why we congregate on a message board and debate what the characters do and say, and what it means, why we want to read 'what if' stories that explore alternate universes.

Oh, and Jim's phone call is

made

of 

win.

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 05:16 pm Title: Interview: Media Training

It's hard to believe that your story has been going for almost a year!  I have followed this since day 1 and have loved every twist and turn.  You really have crafted an amazing story here and it has been an absolute pleasure reading your "documentation" of Jim and Pam.  Also, the last words made me well up. 

Congratulations on completing this incredible piece of fanfic!

Reviewer: Teach Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 05:03 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

I've read a lot of stories on this site, and have loved so many of them, but I have to say that yours was the most unique. As a writing teacher, I have to compliment the tone and structure of your work. And as a freakishly-obsessed Office fan, I have to compliment the way you brought Jim and Pam to life in an amazing way. As much as I love the fics that have the nitty-gritty detail, I loved that you left out so many details for the reader to imagine (like the events in the hotel room). I love that we don't see every detail of Jim and Pam's life on the show, like their first date, and this story was a perfect reflection of that. I'm sad to see your story end, but I hope that you'll be writing more in the future!

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 03:28 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

I loved that last sentence! What a beautiful and powerful way to end this interesting story. Have you really written a book about reality TV? With this last chapter you sure have me convinced! It makes me glad that The Office isn't really real, and also makes me feel a little guilty for judging the folks on real reality shows, like Jon and Kate Plus 8, for example. And if you really are "Abby," then I hope to see that story about the effects of reality TV on fans soon!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2009 03:15 pm Title: Abby's Afterward

OK, so here I am in South Africa on vacation.  (Long way from Maryland!)  I have a few extra internet minutes and decided to check MTT.  I am so excited to see that you finished your story!  I have loved every chapter.

Probably running out of time now, so I should post quickly!

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2009 01:32 pm Title: TRANSCRIPT: GOOD MORNING SCRANTON

Yay! I predict a fairy tale ending! I've really been enjoying this story. I'm not usually one for AU, but this one sort of hooked me right from the beginning. I can't wait for the final installment! Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: Cedar Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2009 07:26 pm Title: TRANSCRIPT: GOOD MORNING SCRANTON

I’m not going to lie and say that I’ve never gotten teary-eyed or emotional over a particularly well-written piece of fan-fiction. However, those pieces have always been ones that deal with death or just overwhelming angst. In fact, I got a tad emotional the first time I read your story Observer Effect. Nevertheless, is the first time I’ve actually shed an honest to goodness tear because a piece of fan-fiction has made me just bursting with happiness. There was something about the way you wrote Jim’s anxiousness to get back to Pam, the way they just sat there at the counter together, the fact that Pam was so brave – it … as silly as it may sound … touched me. I just feel so darn glad that they’re together or working towards being together. From the beginning of this story, you drew your readers by creating such an interesting and compelling alternative to the original. You made Pam and Jim seem all the more real by examining the effects the documentary has on them and using different formats to present their story (I particularly recall us not knowing what happened in the hotel room). When you finally brought them together it became even more real through Jim’s realization that “he was still Jim Halpert. And she was just Pam Beesly and it was all going to be okay.” I love that they didn’t rush into each other’s arms. I love that there wasn’t some sort of big public kiss. It was just him and her being them, drinking coffee and talking. It’s perfect.

I’m anxiously awaiting Abby’s conclusions and Jim and Pam’s happily ever after.

Author's Response:

Wow.  I am truly humbled by your comments and I'm so glad that you enjoyed this.  This chapter was such a strange one for me to write. When I started outlining this story so very long ago...the ending was what I had in mind.  I actually could best see the scenes at the NY Press junket. My intentions there went back and forth. There was going to be a joint Pam/KAren interview...Jim and Pam were going to fight on camera. You name it, I thought about it.

The last scene, too was something I had thought about for a long time.  Originally, Jim was going to get to the diner and have this long heart-to heart with Pam. When they were leaving, the guy was going to stop Jim and recognize him from DM and then Jim and Pam were going to talk (and maybe kiss) as they walked out the diner door and into the sunset.

When I started writing it, though, that all didn't feel right.  I decided to have Jim get recognized before talking to Pam and then when I started writing the big heart-to-heart it just seemed off. Part of me felt like this was something else we shouldn't see and hear and I finally had this revelation that I didn't HAVE to write the heart-to-heart.

So...I'm so glad you pointed out that you liked how it all played out. Thanks so much for your long-term support of this story!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2009 12:08 pm Title: TRANSCRIPT: GOOD MORNING SCRANTON

I LOVE IT!!!!!  Wow--what a great twist.  I'm so happy :)  Even without the epilogue, I hope you're proud of this story, GITC.  From start to (near) finish, you did such a fine job.  It's clever, unique and, well, just amazing. 

Author's Response: You know what...I am proud of this. It's the most in-depth thing I've ever written and at times, I've worked really hard on it. I'm so glad that you liked this and I've appreciated you sticking with this since the beginning...almost a year ago.

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: February 28, 2009 01:16 pm Title: Interview: Media Training

Whoa!  I LOVE the twist.  I also love the little butterflies of excitement I still get when I see that you have updated.  This was a fabulous turn of events.

I'm going to piggyback on what Mose said about the attention to detail in this story.  That is one of the reasons I find this story so compelling.  You make it all sound so authentic and plausible.  Incredible!

I can't wait for Pam to spill!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for all of your kind words. I really appreciate them. I sometimes worry I've incorporated too many details, but I'm glad that you like them.  Thanks again!

 

Reviewer: Crystalized Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: February 27, 2009 10:46 pm Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

Oh, cool twist! Can't wait for the final 2! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and I'm glad you liked the twist.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 09:27 pm Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

I've been thinking that Jim & Karen were faking their relationship ... BUT I thought that Jim & Pam were secretly together.  I like the tension of the situation you've created much better!  And that Karen is a turncoat actress – well, that is just a delicious twist!  Cannot wait to read the last interview.

Author's Response:

Hey VB...I actually thought about having jim and pam carrying on in secret, but I couldn't make it work.  Thanks so much for your review.  I know I'm behind on Cardiac Care, but that is probably my favorite story these days.  Thanks again for your feedback!

 

Reviewer: Cedar Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 09:08 pm Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

I wish I could write a longer more indepth review of this chapter (because I really liked the twists and turns it took), but I am at an English teacher's conference so I need to keep it short :)

Karen, an actress? Brilliant! It seems just like something the network would pull, and I love that she's sort of working against the network and for Jim and Pam.

I found the reasons for why he and Pam aren't be together right now perfect. It makes sense that Jim would feel paranoid, Pam too. They probably would be watched or stalked or worse. However, I do like the idea of Pam stepping up and saying something to Jim, maybe letting him know how she feels.

Finally, I enjoyed the peak at Karen's resume. It was a nice touch.

As always, your story is a joy to read and I look forward to more.

Author's Response: I know I'm behind on my reviews, and I know you've since written another one, so here I'll just say...thank you so much for your supportive and thoughtful reviews. They are so appreciated!

Reviewer: MuteytheMailman Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 10:49 am Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

Love it! Did not see that twist of Karen as planted/actress. Great idea. I am excited for 2 more chapters but will be very sad when this story is completed. Thanks!

Author's Response: Mutey--Thanks so much for your review. It certainly is appreciated!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 10:22 am Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

I still remember this story--and I still love it!  Holy smokes, GiTC!  You must have been reading my mind.  I was just about to drop you a line to see if we could expect an update some time soon, and here you are!  With each chap, I'm just dying to know what little twist you're going to throw at us next, you clever little minx :)  Two more chaps to look forward to...and then a light and fluffy dessert.  Sounds good to me!

Author's Response: NR--Thanks, as always for your reviews. I'm glad that you like the twists. I'm always afraid that I'm twisting TOO much so it's good to know that people don't mind.

Reviewer: untherapy Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 10:02 am Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

AWESOME twist! I did not see this one coming, but I like it a lot!

Author's Response: So glad that you liked it. Ireally appreciate you taking the time to review.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 09:09 am Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

Oh sweet jeebus.  You are killing me dead, GITC.  I think you broke my brain with the scripted/reality/real feelings/imaginary boyfriend stuff.

The bit about Pam/Karen fanfic cracks me up.  Hee.  Especially because the bathroom is *such* a romantic spot.



Author's Response: The bathroom is totally romantic, right?  Thanks, as always, for your review. I hope your brain isn't too broken. I really appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2009 08:46 am Title: Exhibit 108-ANON Photograph

I loved the 'ol switcheroo that you pulled with this chapter. It's not often that I'm surprised by things I read in fanfic, but you managed to pull the rug out from under me this time. Very sneaky stuff going on here. :D

You continue to amaze and astound with your careful and sensitive writing, and as always, your attention to detail is what really brings this all home. For instance, using the phrase "casino benefit" instead of the sacred "casino night," or being able to track Karen (Phillips!) short career from bit parts on soaps and in slasher films, continue to bring this story into a world all it's own. It's as if you've been granted access to a true parallel universe where these events really played out, and we're now just lucky enough to see them. 

And is it bad if I sorta wish that your version of events is how it really played out in our universe? :D

Keep up the good work, Mel. I'm on board with this thing for the duration.



Author's Response:

Mose--

 

Again...thanks so much for your review. Can I tell you how excited I am that you picked out "casino benefit"?  I had originally typed out casino night, but on edit went back and changed it.  Sometimes I feel, too, that I wish that this how it played out. I love the little bits we get where we are aware of the cameras (Fun Run, Email Surveilance) and we know that Jim and Pam are aware of them too.  I'd like to see more of that, so I guess that's why I write what I do.

As always, thank you so much for your kindness.

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2009 05:37 pm Title: TRANSCRIPT: AFFILIATE DAY

Glad to see that you are still thinking about and writing this story!  Again, so much can be read in between your lines.

Looking forward to Karen and Pam meeting!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Beeswax. I'm glad that people are still interested in reading this.  I'm looking forward to Karen and Pam meeting as well.  It's one of the earliest bits of this story that was in my original outline.

 

Thanks for reading and reviewing!     

Reviewer: yanana Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2009 12:10 pm Title: TRANSCRIPT: AFFILIATE DAY

Okay so I just spent a couple hours reading this and I love it! I hope you update it soon! =)

Author's Response: i'm so glad that you love this story. I'm doing my best to update as soon as possible. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans