You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans

Name: Beeswax (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 07:17 pm · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com

I was so excited to see this story updated!

I'm sorry to hear that you've had health problems.  Hopeufully the events of last nights episode will heal all!

Thanks for another amazing chapter.  Looking forward to the fallout of this kiss!



Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review!  A new chapter SHOULD be up later today.  I'm feeling much better, thanks! Now if only I could find time to write. This story wants to be finished!  Thanks again!


Name: Noodles (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 05:36 pm · Chapter: Interview: Media Training
I've just read the whole story. I really like it, a very original and unique fanfic to say the least

In regards to the last chapter, I would just like to comment on their dialogue, and how its interesting that due to the effect of the reality TV effect, they are being more honest with each other, ie Pam acknowledging Jim's feelings for her, and Jim telling her he is transferring to Stamford.

I myself personally refuse to believe that Jim in the actual show left the day after Casino Night. He seems more mature and professional than that (ie he would have given a week's notice etc), so thank you for having him tell Pam that he's transferring to Stamford

I'm intrigued to see what Pam's reaction to all this will be. It's already different to what it was like in casino night, so maybe she will tell Jim she has feelings too? But since there's been mention of season 3, I have no idea! Which just goes to prove how well written this story is full of suspense!


Name: Starree (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 04:01 pm · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com
Wow.
I saw this fic a while ago, but it looked confusing with all the capital letters and I'm really a pretty basic person... but I'm so glad I finally decided to try it!
It's so brilliant! Funny, sad, angsty, Jammy. I can't believe you left it there, though. I'm pretty mad about that. :P
I'm also reading it with one eye closed for protection, because I'm struggling to believe this is going to end well. You've set the tone to be sad and heartbreaking and I'm loving and dreading it at the same time. :P
Brilliant fic though. Fantastic writing. Amazing idea.

(Y) Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad you decided to brave my odd format.  I don't want to give away anything about the ending, so I'll leave you squinting with one eye :)  Thanks so much for your feedback. It's so appreciated!  A new chapter SHOULD be up later today.


Name: MuteytheMailman (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 02:47 pm · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com
I am so glad you have returned to this story! I still love it. Hope the health problems are taken care of. Thanks for keeping this story going!

Author's Response: I'm feeling better, thanks!  I really appreciate the fact that you remembered this story. Thanks so much for your feedback!


Name: Cedar (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 01:31 pm · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com
I was happy to see this story back. I hope you’re feeling better!!

The cliffhanger from the last chapter was awesome, and this chapter certainly delivered. I liked the new beginning with the Perez Hilton blog. It was written really well, spot on voice.

I have to say, I absolutely adore that Pam’s immediate response to “I’m in love with you” was, “I know.” I think that has become my new favorite thing about your whole story. It is so perfect with where you’re taking this character and even the character on the show. Something that comes out so quickly is something that’s true. She does know, thought she may want to deny it and pretend she didn’t know. There have been so many clues in this fic that she certainly knew (and relished) that Jim’s feelings for her went beyond friendship. That automatic response was great. At the same time, the quick denial that came on the heels of his confession and her acknowledgment of it, was the perfect representation of Pam. We’ve seen her on the show blurt things out and then quickly back track when it’s too honest (i.e. asking Jim out for coffee or confessing to Karen that she still wants Jim). I almost feel like this should have been on the show – the idea of her quickly say, “I know.” I love it that much :-)

I also liked that you stayed close to the dialogue from Casino Night, but also veered off. I’m glad Jim told her he was leaving. That burst of honesty from her deserved another in return. We’re also starting to see how much this whole “reality star” thing is affecting him. Pam’s desire for normalcy is almost as heartbreaking as Jim’s rejection.

Finally, the description of what Pam was thinking when they were kissing and the last thing Pam said in this chapter was great. I loved that her thoughts were so disjointed, and that one little comment sums up all of Pam’s problems. She’s worried about what Roy will be thinking, not why she’s kissing Jim, or if she’s hurting Jim and Roy by doing it. It’s interesting. It’s a gut reaction: “Crap! I’ve been caught.” But I have to wonder, based on her thoughts when she’s kissing Jim, if she’s being caught not just by the cameras but also by herself.

In a previous chapter Jim mentioned “the basis of season 3” to Anna, so I’m curious how far you’re planning on writing it. All of season 3? I would certainly read :-)

Author's Response:

Cedar--  You don't know how much I appreciate your reviews and feedback.  I think it's kind of obvious from reading some of my review responses that I worry a lot about how my choices will go over and whenever i read your feedback, I know if I've hit the mark or not.  In your review you addressed all of my little worries...does it make sense that Pam told Jim that she knew?  Does it make sense that she'd try to waffle out after that admission? Would Jim really have told her he was leaving?

As always, thanks so much.  And as for your question, there will be some season 3 here and I think that will be a little clearer after i post the update I'm working on now.

 



Name: Cousin Mose (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 11:59 am · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com

MEL!! As if an amazing premiere episode last night wasn't enough, you come in from out of the storm with an update to one of my favorite stories! Not a bad day...

This was beyond good. I swear, the more I read this, the more I'm convinced that you're not really writing this story at all. It's more like you've got access to a parallel universe where this stuff happened for real, and you're simply transcribing all this from a bunch of case files. :D

Yes, I, for one, have been missing this story like you wouldn't believe. And you did not disappoint, my friend. Welcome back, and here's hoping you're feeling better!



Author's Response:

Oh Mose! Thank you so much for the kind words about this story.  In terms of stories that i've written, it's one of my favorites and it had been frustrating knowing how it ends but not being able to finish it.  I'm glad that I was able to update again and I will do my best to keep them coming. 

 Now I have to go find all of the fic I missed while I was away.  I think I missed one or two chapters of Fogg...and dang, when I watch the Amazing Race, all I think about is your story.

I should have another update to this later today and I'm so glad that you are still reading. 



Name: NanReg (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2008 11:33 am · Chapter: Exhibit 88-4 PerezHilton.com
So happy to have this back, GiTC--angst and all.  I love this fic.  Excellent Perez mock-up--such a great touch.  The fact that I'm in such a happy JAMmy mood today, makes the angst easier to read.  Hoping you can update again soon.  Wishing you good health.

Author's Response:

As always, NanReg...thanks so much for your feedback.  i don't know what it is, but the happier Jim and Pam are on the show, the more I want to take them through the ringer in my story.  Glad you liked the Perez piece! Thanks again for your feedback and good wishes.



Name: Inanna3 (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2008 01:39 pm · Chapter: Interview: Media Training
I just reread the story so far, and was reminded of how much I love it. I hope you'll be getting back to it soon!


Name: Crystalized (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2008 02:07 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
I'm in a 2 am post-Olympic haze, but DAMN. Great chapter and I think my heart stopped beating a little there at that last line. I continue to love and adore this story and the creativity you show with the way it is presented.


Name: Dundie All-Star (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2008 10:02 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
Great chapter! I really loved the way you wrote Brian; you did a fantastic job of really creating his character and also his entire backstory revolving around the documentary. What a great twist on CN as well, and I can't wait to see what made Brian turn the lights on them, as well as Jim's reaction to "I know." Wonderful job!


Name: Lynzee005 (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 10:27 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
So brilliant. Heartbreaking, but brilliant. I can't wait to read more! And honey, take all the time you need -- this story is so amazing, and each chapter is worth the wait! :) Keep going!!!


Name: crazysadie (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 09:33 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
Nooooo, you can't leave us here! I mean, yeah, you can, and you did. ;) I can't wait for more, seriously, this is amazing. I loved the Miley Cyrus Show thing a couple chapters back. I was laughing for like 10 minutes!


Name: iwantphillyjim (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 05:59 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
More please? it's all kinds of excellent. Glad to have you back!


Name: Vampiric Blood (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 04:43 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

Ah, now this is the chapter I've been waiting and waiting for.  Kept checking the most recent page, hoping to find Nobody's Business But Mine.  And it was worth the wait!

I love the way you juxtapose the interviews with the flashbacks.  And the difference in styles between the two.  The interviews convey so much cynicism while the flashbacks ooze romanticism. 

Maybe I'm slow on the uptake but I'm scratching my head trying to figure out what exactly happens that gives Jim the bad rap and what has Pam crying on national TV.  God, I'm hoping you get them together in the end though.

Great, great, GREAT!  Anxiously awaiting the next update.



Name: Orfice Flan (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 02:56 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
YEESHH!  I love "I know".  Fantastic.  I am totally hooked.  I love reading both time lines.  Very good.


Name: nbyevu (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 09:21 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
Oh snap! Okay, I'm totally late in getting ready for work right now because I was so excited to see that this story was updated. I really hope you update again soon, because that is a cliffhanger if I ever read one.


Name: NanReg (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 09:07 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

GiTC, I was so hoping that you hadn't given up on this!  I really love this story, and this chapter left me breathless!  Can't wait for the next update.  I hope it's soon.

 This just breaks my heart:  He wondered for a brief second who would root for her when he was gone…who would remind her just how amazing she was.



Name: czarag00 (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 07:28 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
Yay! I missed this story, great update, hope to see another one soon! :-)


Name: Pisa (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 05:57 am · Chapter: Interview: Media Training
Yes...an update. I was so pleased to see another chapter. I think I've said it before, but I have to say it again...I LOVE THIS STORY!!
I think it's so intriguing the way you shift focus between different people. The structure of this story is superb. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review and I'm so glad to hear your feedback about the structure. I worry sometimes that it gets confusing. Thanks again for your kind words.


Name: lisahoo (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 05:34 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

Is it too much to say "HOLY CRAP!"  I know.  (Kaboom.  That is the sound of my brain exploding).

I love how you weave in elements from the show -- Pam & the Pacific ocean, the blue dress, the Booze Cruise, even DVD extras (oh, I love them so....) 



Name: Cousin Mose (Signed) · Date: August 11, 2008 04:45 am · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

First of all, Mel, it's fantastic to see you back writing again!! (Seems I've been saying that a lot lately to some of my favorite authors...)

Second, I can honestly say that I've missed this story something fierce, and you did not disappoint, as usual. I enjoyed the peek into the world of the camera crew here, especially the thought that the producers were basically turning them into paparazzi. It reminds me of something said in one of the early DVD commentaries, when Jenna (I think) said that she felt like the camera crew had their own agenda with the people in the office, and that they weren't there to "protect" the people they were filming. I thought that the idea of the crew getting bonuses for capturing Jim and Pam in interesting moments definitely fit that sentiment. 

I know I use the word "excellent" pretty much every time I leave you a review, but I can't help it. It's such a completely appropriate word for what I'm reading here. And, it applies in spades to that last scene there on the beach. (duhn duhn duhhnnnn... :P)

Also, I really want an In-N-Out burger right now, so, thanks for that. :D



Name: nandance (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2008 11:02 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

Oh my God!!!! The end of this update gave me chills, man! I'm just so taken with this story, I get SO excited whenever I see updates :)

Beautifully written chapter. I especially like how you've explained the issue of cameras being at "promotional" events - it really seems like you've thought all this through and it all checks out nicely. I'm babbling now, but want I really want to say in my review is thank you SO much for this awesome story, and I'm veryyyyy excited to see what happens next!



Name: JennInTheCity (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2008 10:58 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue
Wow, great return of this fic! Glad to see it updated :)


Name: twistedmentality (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2008 10:56 pm · Chapter: Interview: Sticking Like Glue

EVIL!

But I love you for it.



Name: Cedar (Signed) · Date: July 16, 2008 04:29 pm · Chapter: Interview: We tried
This is going to be a dual review for the last two chapters (10 and 11); I hope that’s okay!

Pam’s thoughts on her appearance for the party were so real. I love that she can admit to herself that part of why she loves getting dressed up is for Jim. It’s so great that you have her acknowledge that fact, but at the same time ignore the “why” of it; why does she need or love his reaction? That is so perfectly “Pam.” Additionally, having Jim NOT acknowledge how good she looks until the end of the chapter was particularly well done. It worked perfectly with Jim’s newfound resolution to back off, Pam’s conflicted feelings, and both of their inability to really let the other one go.

I also really, really, really enjoyed their mock conversations. How many of us, in real life, have done something like that? Had a fake conversation or joked with someone and have the joking turn serious? The tension present at the end of their conversation was palpable. I was literally holding my breath and I didn’t even realize it until I had to suck in a huge gulp of air. Haha!

Again, you write Jim’s hesitancy so well in the transcript portion. Sometimes my favorite portions of your story are the transcripts. They are so brilliantly written. You’re not forcing characterizations and feelings on us; you’re letting the reader figure it out and the fact that it’s not a huge puzzle is such a compliment to your writing. You have such a great ability to (and here the phrase my students hate more than any….) “show and not tell,” and I so appreciate that.

Abigail’s confession that she was a fan was so perfect. It works really well. It brings in a more human side of her. Her comments that people still wonder how things turned out are so good too. Your portrayal of her and Anna continue to amaze me. Finally, the set up for chapter 12 is so, so, so, so good. I feel like I’ve told you a million times, but I continue to love how you’re incorporating bits of the show into this fic. Casino Night is coming up and I can’t wait!


You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans