You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2008 10:33 am Title: Chapter 1

*sigh* Yes. That's how it should be for them. Not the details, neccessarily (although those are perfect, from the algae to her glasses), but the feeling. The not-quite-rightness of everything with Roy, and the perfection of even the tiniest of moments with Jim. (And yes, the baby has arrived, and she's perfect. So perfect, in fact, that Mommy has time to catch up on fic!).

Author's Response: Congratulations!! How exciting! And if you already have not only the time, but the focus, to be able to catch up with fic, I am truly impressed! So happy you think the feeling came through here - that's the goal. Thanks so much, nqllisi - and Happy Baby!

Reviewer: second drink Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: May 30, 2008 09:54 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm really glad to see that you've written another story, Colette. I've always been a fan of your writing.

The way you've created contrasting scenarios between Jim and Roy proposing really rings true to the characters. As we've seen before, it takes beer to motivate Roy into taking charge with his relationships. Jim on the other hand, would make the moment more about them and would be more in tune to Pam's feelings. What you've written is pretty much how I see the proposal happening. Anyway, great job with this fic!

Author's Response: It's always great to hear you've written a scene as someone else imagined it too. And re: the contrast between the two proposals - exactly, Jim's was about Pam, while Roy's was about Roy. Thanks so much second drink!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2008 04:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

uber-romantic is the best romantic there is. Um, because I say so (and thats enough reason for me!)

They have fifth HS reunions? Mine would be coming up.... but will probably avoid it. Too little time has passed! I don't want to see some people quite yet, and I am sure some people don't want to see me again!
-Although really strange because a classmate of mine, who I never had any classes with (actually this happened twice, two separate people), both work in local stores, and stopped me and was like "Oh, hi Emily" and totally remembered me and chatted me up, and I had to look at their name tag to find out their name and then research them when I got home with my yearbook.... just to find out I had no clue how they knew my name and so much about me!

Oh and Roy's proposal sucks.

I know she knew. You could tell she really did. And with Jim saying it she really did know.
Gah, it still breaks my heart a little.


Okay, I love proposin with bed head in pajama clothes, and Pam in glasses. How can that not be the most romantic way to propose?

I don't really care that I look like an idiot, this makes me INSANELY happy. Like, so insane I have rabies happy or something else completely weird and random like that. I am so happy and smiling, and just YES.
OW. Dammit. I banged my head on the wall I was so happy.
*rereads last line* Doesn't matter now... SHE SAID YES!


Author's Response: Wow, Emily! Glad you liked the romance and that this made you happy, without actually giving you rabies. Cause that would be a drag and then we'd have to organize a run or something. Thanks, as always, for your enthusiastic feedback!

Reviewer: andromeda Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2008 07:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was really great. You really captured the way these two characters interact with each other. It could totally happen this way.

Author's Response: It really makes me happy to hear that, because writing this kind of stuff so it actually feels/sounds like them is the goal - and you never quite know if you've only hit the right note in your own head. Thanks much, andromeda!

Reviewer: StarryDreamer Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2008 05:54 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ohhhh!!! So very good!  Utterly romantic and be still my heart. Thank you for a beautiful and wonderful and just amazing engagement story. You always (ALWAYS!) hit one out of the park.

Author's Response: And you are always too kind ;-) A little romance is good medicine once in a while, right? Thanks, as always, StarryDreamer!

Reviewer: quotidianzenith Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2008 11:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

Really, really lovely.

she repeated until it became an abstract sound, like a musical note. Like joy.

Oh, sigh.

But still, she was telling him yes.

I love their relationship and their ability to communicate without words in so many ways, both before and after getting together.

Great job at describing both relationships.

Author's Response: Yeah, they've always had that intuitive communication - so glad if that  to come through here. And also that both relationships rang true for you - ironically, the seed of this piece was the Roy scene, not the Jim one. Thanks so much quotidianzenith!

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2008 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh how I've been waiting for this.  Colette's perfect blend of romance and reality...this lived up to all that I thought it would be. There's something so perfect about Jim proposing this way and with Pam wearing her glasses. I'm not sure why that mattered to me -- but for some reason it absolutely did.  Great job, Colette!

Author's Response: You know, I always imagined it with her glasses on...so glad I'm not the only one, lol. And no better praise for this little thing than hearing it seemed both romantic and real to you. Thanks so much, LoveFool!

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2008 06:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

I want to hug this story to my heart.  I want to hear a dual TH during the S5 SP to the effect of:

Jim:  So, even though Andy messed up my big proposal plans, I still got Pam to agree to marry me.

Pam:  Yeah, he proposed to me the next morning, like first thing in the morning, in his underwear.

Jim:  Pam!

Pam:  It was cute.  And how could I refuse?  He's such a romantic.  (elbows Jim, while flashing diamond ring at camera)

Jim, blushing, smiles broadly at camera.

Sigh.  Is there anything sexier than that boy's voice?  Absolutely not. ;)



Author's Response: Ha! I'd love to see a TH where they tried to describe this proposal. But seriously, I do think the writers contrived that pseudo-'cliffhanger' so the actual proposal could be private and simple - as it really should be (much though I wanted to see it.) Anyway, so pleased you found this huggable, EH! Thanks so much! (Oh, and re: the voice? Audio aphrodisiac, I tell you ;-)

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2008 11:51 am Title: Chapter 1

Suh-weet. Oh, so sweet. I love Jim's impulsive lunge off of the bed to his suit jacket. And how at the last minute, of course all his best laid plans/speeches fail him, and he just speaks from his heart, so simple and honest. That's the Jim we love. Thanks so much for this!

Author's Response: Thanks, m'am. Glad you enjoyed. And yes, Jim is not about the long speeches. He's all about the heart ;-) 

Reviewer: brokenloon Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2008 06:07 am Title: Chapter 1

I was complaining to xoxoxo recently that we were overdue for some Colette, and was elated to see this.  Of course it didn't disappoint; your stuff never does.  I really like the idea of it happening this way, of the honesty of it all just overwhelming Jim's rehearsed words. 

Author's Response: First, I'm flattered you even noticed I hadn't posted for a while. ;-) Second, glad you agree that in the actual moment, honest, raw, simple emotion would trump the 'perfect words'. Frankly, Jim doesn't need to get fancy to kick Pam's ass - quite the opposite, in fact. Thanks, brokenloon, for your lovely review.

Reviewer: Emilys List Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 08:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

‘Know what? I had all this stuff I planned to say, but now I just….’  Exactly how I feel, Jim.  First of all, love that line, love this fic more!  You did a really lovely job with this, a really simple take on what the proposal could look like.  I like your writing of Roy's proposal - Roy trying, kind of.  That's like the story of his life.  There's something sweet about this, something I can't put into words, but I like it a lot.  P.S. I think I really like the honesty, Jim telling her what was supposed to have happened and Pam explaining she already knew.  I think putting them on equal footing is such a good place for this to begin.

Author's Response: ITA about Roy - it's not that he never tried (I imagine him forever thinking his proposal was a crowning moment in romance)...he just was who he was. Glad this seemed honest to you - I just wanted it to be a quiet, simple, intimate moment, cause (sweet as Jim wanting fanfare was) I think that's how it would be, ultimately. And yes, about them being on equal footing - I liked the idea that it was kind of joint effort, after all. (Okay, this ficlet was a fun little detour, now back to the Brooklyn story I'm actually trying to write.) Thanks, Emily!

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 06:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

Schmaltz, my ass.  It's wonderful and has everything a good Jim-proposal should have:  near-nudity, early morning voice (oh, yes, it's lush - I can almost hear it), bed head, Pam in her glasses, laughing, tenderness, and yes.  So much YES!  Sounds like the dam has broken and I'm so happy about that! 

Author's Response: Wait, was your ass in here too, Sweetpea? ;-) No, seriously, glad you didn't think it was too treacly...and that the proposal met your stringent standards, lol. But one correction: every scene involving Jim should include near-nudity. Plus Pam in glasses, of course (the idea of her sitting there half awake, in her undies, wearing big dorky glasses when he proposed just seemed right to me.) So, yeah, my retirement from fic writing seems to be off for the moment...so, you know, we'll see, we'll see [/jim] Anyway - thanks much, so glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 06:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

‘Marry me,’ he finally said, so simply and earnestly that her heart felt like a hot water balloon bursting in her chest. ‘Just, please. Say you will.’

OH!!!!  That imagery!!  Wow, that almost made me catch my breath.

 

LOVE IT!!!!!



Author's Response: Glad that image worked for you - it just seemed right to me. Many thanks for reading and reviewing, Beeswax!

Reviewer: Strawberry Fields Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 04:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

You're exactly right! You can ALWAYS go with uber-romantic for a proposal, and this was perfect. We all know Jim wants his big moment, but I'm thinking something like this would be just as sweet. Great job...I love it!

Author's Response: Yeah, I think in the end, something simple and private would be more their style - and frankly more kick ass than a big proposalpalooza. Thanks so much, Strawberry Fields!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 03:00 pm Title: Chapter 1

yes, yes, yes... why can't this show be on HBO so we could see what that bed-head looks like??  Le sigh.

Author's Response: Ah, don't get me started on the many reasons I wish the show were on HBO...there are many 'things' I think we'd all like to see. Ahem. Thanks, lisa ;-)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 01:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow!  This is so pretty and lyrical.  I chuckled at Pam's "Hold on. I want to see this."  That really cracked me up.  You scared me  for a beat when Jim shook his head.  I thought, "Oh shit, He's gonna make her wait again."  But no, then we got "Marry me.  Just, please.  Say you will."  That was perfect! 

And I just love the lst sentences.

'...Yes it’s yes…. yes yes yes yes yes yes…’ she repeated until it became an abstract sound, like a musical note. Like joy.


And then she was kissing him and he was kissing her and she couldn’t use words any more. But still, she was telling him yes.

Man you pack a lot into a few words!



Author's Response: Saying a lot in few words is high praise to me - thank you so much! And I'm glad that line gave you a laugh (somehow, I could just hear her saying that.) Really appreciate you comments, Vampiric Blood!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 11:47 am Title: Chapter 1

Ah, Colette...this story just about made my heart beat out of my chest.  It reminds me why I love your writing so very much. 

Fueled by rekindled teenage bravado and cheap beer, Roy had popped the slurred question in a rowboat, surrounded not by swans but by algae.  I feel like I was there (perhaps as a fish or maybe a mosquito).

 

Love love LOVE this:  ‘Marry me,’ he finally said, so simply and earnestly that her heart felt like a hot water balloon bursting in her chest. ‘Just, please. Say you will.’  That, my friend, is perfection tied up neatly with a bow.  Thank you.



Author's Response: Ha! I like the idea of being there as a mosquito - dang, I should have mentioned there were lots of them that day at the pond! Happy this felt right to you, NanReg - and thanks, as ever, for the kind review!

Reviewer: susanita Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 10:42 am Title: Chapter 1

Aw, I love this!  It's sweet, and silly and slightly steamy, like an awesome Colette fic should be.  :-)  

I want this on my teevee! 


Author's Response: Why thanks, sugar. Glad this fluffy thing satisfied! (And until HBO picks up TO, I wouldn't hold my breath for a scene like this....dang!)

Reviewer: wendolf Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 09:14 am Title: Chapter 1

Ah, colette, how I've missed your fic. Just beautiful as always. A couple of my favorite parts:

His familiar early morning voice was low and lush and intimate - a warm secret she never tired of hearing. -- I never tire of people describing his voice.

‘Hold on,’ she exclaimed, sitting up and frantically pawing at the night stand. ‘I want to see this.’ -- As a visually impaired girl, myself, I loved this. I feel like I'm always fumbling for my glasses at important early morning (or middle of the night) moments.

He reminded her of a little boy poised at the edge of a high diving board, persuading himself one last time before leaping that the water beneath would offer a safe landing. -- Love this. Even though he knows she's going to say yes, there is still that little bit of apprehension. Perfect.

Great, great job as always. More please!

Author's Response: Well, thanks Wendolf - yeah, that voice...and, I agree - there was no doubt about her answer, but  I still think he'd be  kind of nervous. Silly boy. Another fic in the oven, so stay tuned (though, at my rate, it still might be a while.)

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 08:59 am Title: Chapter 1

Beautifully done, like everything you write. Loved the way they just bring it up in the morning, each knowing what the other is thinking. This was perfect and very real:

'Marry me,’ he finally said, so simply and earnestly that her heart felt like a hot water balloon bursting in her chest. ‘Just, please. Say you will.'

We can't get enough of these little scenes, so I'm glad you were struck with inspiration!

Author's Response: Exactly - I wanted it to be clear they were intuitively on the same page - no need for lengthy 'explanations.' And I'm thrilled if this seemed 'real' to you...thanks so much for your generous comments,  callisto!

Reviewer: oobadnama Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 08:43 am Title: Chapter 1

THIS, my friend, was a really lovely thing to wake up to. I really loved how you combined the two proposals of Pam's life, and how naturally, Jim's was slightly better, heh. Also, I really loved these lines: Roy had popped the slurred question in a rowboat, surrounded not by swans but by algae. She vividly remembers its shocking yellow-green color, like something they might have grown in a petrie dish in biology class. which I know is weird but it's just really more proof of how amazing your writing is because I could just SO picture that. Another gem, Colette, per usual. :)


Author's Response: So happy you liked the contrast between the two proposals - on some subliminal level, her history with Roy would have to inform what she needs from Jim, I think. And I LOVE hearing that you could picture something from the words. Thanks so much, oobadmama!

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 08:39 am Title: Chapter 1

What a lovely Memorial Day treat.  And yes - there needs to be a proposal because how can you NOT!!  The look on his face, the way you have him ask her is exactly the way I imagine it happening.  And yay for Pam in glasses!

Thanks so much for this.



Author's Response: She absolutely needed her glasses - Jim proposing in his underwear? What girl would want to miss that sight? Glad this worked for you. And thank you!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans