Reviews For Philly Jim
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: madmen fanatic Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2011 11:06 pm Title: Epilogue - part 3

Great story! And I have to admit: in chapter 1 when the new love interest was named "Emily", my eyes hot up to the top of the page to see if (pen name) Emily Halpert wrote the story. :)

Thanks for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: madmen fanatic Signed [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2011 10:07 pm Title: Chapter 25

Ha! I was right! Emily did find the ring. I'm glad Emily has a great sister.

Reviewer: madmen fanatic Signed [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2011 09:58 pm Title: Chapter 24

Ack! Was the little box in the "condom drawer" (nightstand) THE engagement ring? And did he find it???

Reviewer: Beaky22 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2010 10:43 pm Title: Epilogue - part 3

holy crap. i just stayed up far longer than i should have, completely enraptured by this story. 

1. you are an incredibly talented author. 

2. as much as this kills me to say, i was a complete emilyshipper the entire story. not a jim/emily shipper. just emily. i rooted for her, i wanted her to be happy, i looked forward to reading her chapters. watching her experience the office was parallel to my own experience catching up on the first two seasons. i felt like i was reliving all of those emotions along with her... the pain, the angst. feeling terrible for jim. 

3. honest to god, only reason i clicked on this story was because i saw new york pam in the most recent and felt i should read this one too... and now i dont know if i want to read the pam side. its like "something borrowed" by emily griffin. have you read that? jkras is staring in the movie.. but anyways, the bitch Darcy, who i HATED was the protagonist in the sequel "something blue" and i could not fathom reading about her because i just didnt like her. i literally have the same feelings now. even though their relationship just fell apart, im all over the jim side. even on the show i always have been. 

this story has me torn. i want to root for emily, a completely made up, but extremely dynamic o/c. jim just breaks my heart. and i dont like pam. What have you done to me?

  you did a fantastic job, i will definitely try to read the rest of your stories, i dont think i could be disappointed. 

 becky

 

ps. favorite part? when right before they had sex for the first time, jim stops and says "i wont change my mind". i'm such a romantic sap but i freaking loved that! haha



Author's Response: okay, becky Ö here goes

First of all, thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I donít think readers realize how much us writers love and appreciate such thoughtful comments. Truly, Iím so grateful. NowÖ

1. Thank you so much. That is really kind of you to say.
2. Iím so glad you liked Emily. It was a challenge, albeit a fun one, to try to come up with a likable romantic match for Jim after Pam. Most Office lovers ADORE Pam and are very defensive about matching Jim up with anyone else. So itís so gratifying to have some of my readers really give Emily a chance.
3. As you may have guessed, I do find that Iíve always been a Jim-sympathizer so Ö yeah. I like Pam and all, but Jimís story has always captured me. However, Iíd be interested in hearing your reaction to New York Pam. It was definitely a tougher story for me to write, given how I feel about Jim, but hopefully it works.

I do hope you read the rest of my stories. None of the rest of them are like these. They are Jim/Pam stories. But hopefully youíll enjoy them, too.
Thanks again. I truly, truly appreciate your taking the time to give me your feedback!

Reviewer: Noodles Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2009 12:34 am Title: Epilogue - part 3

Just amazing. I've been a fanfiction fan for a long time but I've always avoided this story because I thought it would make me too sad or depressed. I've finally gotten round to reading it, not because I'm suddenly brave or anything, but i guess because Jim and Pam are so stable on the show that I can bare to read this. Believe it or not, I read this all in one sitting, took me just over 3 hours! That's how hooked I was!

I loved Emily, and loved how you created a new kind of chemistry between her and Jim that was different from Jim and Pam and yet still so likable. I gather you probably did have a lot of negative feedback too, but honestly kudos for sticking through with writing what you wanted, even though you knew it wasn't going to be the most popular

Off to read New York Pam....

Reviewer: JAMonMyToast Signed [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2009 05:05 pm Title: Epilogue - part 3

Okay, here goes...

I read this whole thing within a 24-hour period. Why? Because it's so... good. At first, I had little knots in my stomach bacause it's Jim and Pam and the thought of them splitting up scares me. But you pulled it off, majorly. You brought up good points and constructed a back-story and made the uncertainty so real and plausible and I didn't find it unrealistic at all.

Plus, please, Emily stole my heart from the beginning. Probably because you managed to describe subtly how she looked without coming right out and saying, "She had a beautiful face" or anything like that. And I like it, because... just because. And You also gave her depth. OCs are sooo hard for me to think up or conjure up without making them into just a clone of another character. You made Emily cute and funny and clever without making her PAM. And that makes you rock. Like, beyond rocking.

The brutal honestly they need to make this work, the trust, and the reassurances all make this even better. I loved this story, and I am officially a JEM fan - new celebrity name.

Also, the part how they have fans approaching, asking what happened, was great. It's how so many of us would react (if this was a real documentary and ended this way) but then again, you made the pressure she felt so realistic because, quite honestly, NOT being the Pam to your Jim is scary.

The slow burn, and the fact that it didn't appear that way on camera was described perfectly by you - the bold font that recapped what happened was explained good. Usually so much internal monologue bores me to DEATH, but this was needed and you never said too much.

Okay. Seriously? I need to stop gushing. But this was great, and I'm going to be all over that companion piece like a fat kid on cake.

Author's Response: Oh, JAMonMyToast ... I love when people find my old stories and review them! It's such a pleasant surprise! Hard to believe Philly Jim is almost a year old, now. Anyway, thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this one. It had sort of a mixed reaction back when I first posted it, but I'm so glad it eventually found a following, and that some people were able to use their imagination a bit and see that things could maybe turn out differently, in an alternate universe.rnrnI'm glad you liked Emily. I'm partial to her, myself. It was kind of fun to invent a new character that had some of Pam's good qualities (sense of humor, humility, etc.) but without some of the bothersome S1-S3 Pam qualities (her dishonesty, her hesitancy, her lack of confidence). The residue of Pam's rejection and following silence has always sort of haunted me -- and I wonder if it haunts Jim. I think someone like Emily would help to heal some of those wounds, if there were any.rnrnAnyway, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Thanks so much for taking the time to give me feedback -- it is always much appreciated!

Reviewer: deltacogirl Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2009 03:14 pm Title: Epilogue - part 3

Your story is great. Painful and shattering to my world where Jim and Pam are a solid couple, but really it is really great. By the end of it I was rooting for Emily. Despite myself.

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2009 10:04 am Title: Epilogue - part 3

Wow! I literally gasped when Jim said, "Change your mind?" I so did not want Pam to misinterpret because by the end of this story I really, REALLY wanted Jim and Emily (new celebrity moniker: JEM)to end up together. So, I want to congratulate you on writing a fantastic story that convinced me to get over JAM. With all of the deeply entrenched views on the subject, it took a brave and talented writer to do that. I really enjoyed this story and I can't wait to start "New York Pam"!!!!!!

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2009 06:52 am Title: Chapter 20

Oh yes, the connection is clear. I definitely believe that Jim could love a confident, sensitive, beautiful, athletic girl. I'm glad the heart-breaking flashbacks are over. I like this fluffiness much better :)

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2009 04:39 am Title: Chapter 7

"auditory aphrodisiac" What a delightful description!!! And I love Emily even more now! I can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: SarahPlainandTall Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2009 04:14 am Title: Chapter 3

Ok ok, I have to admit, Emily is actually pretty awesome. She's a better fit for Jim than Karen or Katy, and if he can't be with Pam, then I guess he should be with Emily. But the flashbacks to the end of the JAM relationship are breaking my heart!!!!

Reviewer: Nard Dogg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 12, 2009 10:54 am Title: Epilogue - part 3

registerd an account here just so I could leave this review.

This is by far and away the most well written fanfic I've read yet. I finished the whole thing in one night! You've obviously got mad skills since my new favorite Jim/Pam fanfic dosent even have that much Pam. You made an entirly original character totally engrosing, and got me to forget the sadness of Jim/Pam not being together since I was too buisy rooting for he & Emily to work out. And amazing at the end I was even wishing for Jim to not go back to Pam. WOW, never figured Id be thinking that. Did you mean for the tables to be turned on the reader like that?

Madd props, GREAT story!!!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to respond (especially to such a great review!). Thank you so much for your wonderful comments -- I'm glad you liked this story (and Emily). It's hard for some people to imagine Jim and Pam not together, but I think there is more than just one person for each of us, and this story was an attempt to show that. As for the end ... I was hoping that people would like Emily enough to be happy with HER happy ending (and Jim's, of course). I'm working on Pam's side of this story (New York Pam) and, although it's slow going, she'll have her chance at a happy ending, too.rnrnAnyway, thanks so much for registering just to review -- that is so nice! Glad you liked this fic (believe me -- not everyone did!). ;-)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2009 07:36 pm Title: Chapter 1

Hmm ... At the risk of the pot calling the kettle black ... Any text forthcoming on the Pam version of Philly Jim??

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 23, 2008 10:19 am Title: Epilogue - part 3

Hmm ... I'm thinking that a certain author promised her faithful readers that there was a forthcoming version of this story from Pamela's perspective.  Any progress on that front??  I'd really love to read it!

Author's Response: Well... funny you should ask. My Pam story had stalled sometime in late September, I think because of the happy-happy-Jam stuff going on in the actual episodes. But today I pulled up Philly Jim and read through (most) of it, and then opened up my "Pam" story and read what I had so far, and I think I'm ready to bring it out of hibernation. It won't be super long (as Philly Jim was), but hopefully it will be coming soon. (whoops. TWSS.)rnrnThanks for lighting a fire under me, VB. I always felt I sort of shafted Pam, not giving her a chance to tell her side of the story...

Reviewer: BerryJam Signed [Report This]
Date: December 10, 2008 09:32 am Title: Epilogue - part 3

I had this story bookmarked for a while, as I just couldn't get myself to read it. The thought of Jim and Pam not meant to be together was just not something I wanted to read about.
I gave in to my anxiety about starting this, thinking that I would just stop after a chapter or two but boy was I ever wrong. This story is AMAZING!! I love, no adore Emily and her and Jim are perfect.
Thanks for writing this and for opening my mind.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, BerryJam! I'm glad you gave it a chance and enjoyed it! Thanks for reading (and reviewing).

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 08:03 pm Title: Epilogue - part 3

I loved it, seriously one of the best stories eveer:)I love Emily - oh come on, write an epilogue epilogue and have them get what he wants, a wife and a baby... :)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:57 pm Title: Epilogue - part 2

Please don't let jim be a douche :(

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:54 pm Title: Epilogue - part 1

OMG IF PAM RUINS THIS lmao.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:48 pm Title: Chapter 30

YESSSSSSSSSS yay for JEM? lol

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:45 pm Title: Chapter 29

Awwwwww this is coming to an end, makes me sad :(

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:27 pm Title: Chapter 28

ew peter :(

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 07:05 pm Title: Chapter 27

The ILY was PERFECT.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 06:55 pm Title: Chapter 26

AMAZING. Seriously. I never htought I would like Emily, but I love her.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 06:44 pm Title: Chapter 25

Jim on her sister's list, love it... but ahhh I love Emily.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2008 06:35 pm Title: Chapter 24

Aw they love each other :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans