Reviews For Philly Jim
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22, 2008 02:14 pm Title: Chapter 20

You evil woman! You have made me really like this Emily.  Loved this chapter, wen. Really fun.  On to the next...

Author's Response: Yay! I really want people to like Emily (unlike Karen, who always has gotten very mixed reviews...) Thanks!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22, 2008 10:39 am Title: Chapter 19

Hey, Miss Wen!  A big welcome back to you.  Hope you had a good vaca.  This chapter was a nice transition back into Philly Jim's world.  This, I think, was my favorite passage:  I sit with my legs stretched out in front of me, hoping my stomach isn’t too unsightly as I eat my sandwich. I should have left my shirt on for a bit longer. Now I’m stuck here, eating, all hunched over in a two piece. Ah well.  I know I can certainly relate to that (except I'm long past two-piece suits)  : )


Author's Response: Yeah, I'm long past two pieces, too . . . unless you count tankinis. Technically 2-pieces, right? Anyway, thanks so much for reading and reviewing! You're the best!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22, 2008 09:25 am Title: Chapter 19

A few of us still reading??  I've been waiting with bated breath!  And, of course, this chapter did not disappoint.

You're doing such a great job of conveying the hesitancy and hope that both Jim & Emily are feeling.  The bit about trying new things was just a killer moment.  I could just feel the ACK! on both sides of the conversation.

You do first person really well.  Can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response: Thanks VB! Yeah, I keep thinking about how maybe they are both so hopeful but scared. Jim scared because of what's happened in his past, Emily scared because of the kind of stuff that might be in her future. Anyway, thanks!

Reviewer: malaz85 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2008 05:34 pm Title: Chapter 18

A week and a half?! You're going to kill me. Seriously.

-#1

Author's Response: Aw, you're sweet. As you can see, that week and a half flew by, didn't it? Thanks for sticking with me, #1!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2008 04:20 pm Title: Chapter 18

I am enjoying this story so much.  I don't think you need to be concerned with justifying every "discrepancy" between your Pam & Jim and anyone else's interpretation of them from the NBC show.  You've made some characterization/background plot decisions and, as long as you are consistent within your own framework, you are perfectly free to do what you will.  So far, I haven't noticed any inconsistencies.

Having them watch Leatherheads was pretty funny.  I liked how Emily thought "That Krasinski guy reminds me of you."  And Steve Carell hosting SNL?  What an evening!

I liked your opening paragraph a lot.  I was feeling a mite irked with James at the end of the last chapter.  Kissing Emily's question away seemed like a weaselly (is that a word?) response at the time. 

Have a good vacation.  I hope your muse goes with you!



Author's Response: Thanks, as always, VB. Yeah, I didn't like the way Jim was kind of weaselly, either, but he had his reasons. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: DunderSnob Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2008 02:57 pm Title: Chapter 18

A week and a friggen half?!?!?! Then I'll be on vacation!!! NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Whoops! Sorry, DS. Well, at least you'll have some reading to look forward to when you get back. And let me clue you in: it's the good, steamy stuff you like ;-)

Reviewer: ROJ Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2008 02:12 pm Title: Chapter 18

Evil. You are pure evil.

I was going to end my review with just that, but I figured I should throw you a bone ... I friggin' love this story ... anything Jim is beyond thrilling, and I can't get enough of the AU stuff where it's NOT Jim and Pam. Makes it a little taboo ... the thrill is in the horror of it all. :)

Enjoy your vacay ... spend some time writing, and I guess we'll see you when you come back!

Author's Response: Thanks ROJ! Yeah, I adore Jim and even though I love him with Pam, I really like the idea of seeing how he might be with someone different, just for fun. (Especially when he's not pining over Pam.) Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2008 02:05 pm Title: Chapter 18

Eeeeeeeeeeevil, wendolf!  Get us all hot and bothered and then go on vacation ; )  Have a wonderful time, my friend.  Looking forward to your next post, whenever that may be.   

Author's Response: Whoops, just responding to these old reviews now ;-) Yes, I like to leave people hanging a bit so they want to come back and read more. Thanks for sticking with me, NanReg!

Reviewer: MelBal Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 09:58 pm Title: Chapter 17

Ahhhhh Jim, use your words ;) Will he never learn? Pam was the first victim. If he keeps it up, Emily will be next. Reading back over the ‘bold font’ today, I’m not too fond of your Jim. If he’s going to second guess EVERYTHING and have so little faith in his partner (or his love) he deserves to be alone. Sorry, he just sounds more and more pathetic on the second/third/forth read. Anyway, I’m going to blame the whole JAM downfall on his stupid brother in Chapter 1. What girl wouldn’t clam up of you were waiting for a proposal that long. Been there myself. Love the Emily character. Love the story and the reviews/responses. Thanks for all your effort, we readers are very appreciative! Wish I had your writing talents.

Author's Response: Yeah, Jim is being (or was being) kind of a tool in parts of this story. Not that I blame him so much, but I acknowlege that he's definitely a grudge holder, here. Hopefully he's learned some lessons from the past and won't continue to make the same mistakes... we'll see! Thanks for your review, and for thanking me! I've been trying really hard to keep up with the reviews for this story, so I'm glad my efforts have been noticed!

Reviewer: airjorg Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 08:42 pm Title: Chapter 1

Sorry...new at reviewing. guess this should be in the chapter 17 section.

And congratulations on earning a blue ribbon.!!!

Reviewer: airjorg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 08:40 pm Title: Chapter 1

I have been enjoying this story since you started it.
I think you are doing a tremendous job in getting into these characters. I really, really like Emily. Please dont let anyone sway you in your vision in the way you continue on.
I am really looking forward to see where JIm, Emily ,and yes, even Pam end up.
cheers!!!

Author's Response: Thanks airjorg! So glad you like Emily, too. I think she's an awesome chick! I appreciate your reading, reviews and moral support!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 07:10 pm Title: Chapter 17

Oooo.... But he doesn’t say he won’t change his mind. I never hear those words.  Man oh man--against my will--I love this story, really I do, and I'm feeling all kinds of guilty.  Wendolf, you are just soooo good at this! 

Author's Response: I'm really twising your arm, aren't I Nan? Making you beg for mercy (and for Pam's forgiveness for being swayed to like Emily). ;-) Thanks so much for the compliment and, as always, reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: kukla15 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 05:18 pm Title: Chapter 17

I just want to say I have been a lurker here at mtt for a year now and never got an account. After reading your entire story up to this point and your reviews I made an account just so i could review. I love this story I really do and I like that quote Jenna said. I am a huge jam fan but I also know that no matter how much you love the person and want to be with them things don't always end up neat and the way you expect them too. I am getting kind of irratated with your reviewers that are trying to convince you that it is unbelievable that this could happen cause who knows. It could. Its a show and while this is my favorite show and I know everyone wants to romanticize it in hopes of finding their own jim and pam the world isn't all happy rainbows and butterflies. Plus they say the person that you end up with there is always someone out in the world who would be your better mate. so maybe pam and jim are just opening each other up so they can love someone else to their fullest potential. I love this story and you write it so beautifully. I really want you to update soon! And i really hope you write the companion piece as well. I want to know what happens while she is at school as well as her life once jim is gone. keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Wow, kukla15, thank you so much. I'm flattered that you opened up an account here just to review my story (although I'm sure you'll review a lot more now that you've started!). This has been such an amazing story to write because I completely agree with you. Jim and Pam have a great connection and they could be very happy together . . . or they could let stuff get in the way and not make it. We as fans want to believe that Pam and Jim will be together forever, but the reality is that their relationship has had a lot of ups and downs from the beginning. More than the average relationship, I'd say. So I think it's completely believable that they might not learn from all their mistakes. (I mean, how many of us do, really?) But I'm an optimist, too, so I think that if Jim and Pam didn't make it, they would both still be happy someday anyway. I've been married 14 years and I love my husband, but I do believe that if I hadn't met him, I probably would have met someone else and been happy in a different way. Sometimes, happiness is a choice. Anyway, I'm rambling, but thanks so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review. I truly appreciate it!

Reviewer: justme Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 05:06 pm Title: Chapter 17

I don't think this is unfair to Pam at all. It is how Jim felt, he even admits he was the one who couldn't let go of the past.
You are making me nervous with that last sentence "I never hear those words." Please tell me I'm reading too much into that.

Author's Response: Isn't it funny that now I'm making people nervous with the idea of Jim and Emily breaking up??? Hell has officially frozen over, folks! Anyway thanks so much, justme! We'll have to wait and see if your nervousness is justified. ;-) (I'm such a tease...)

Reviewer: pizzagirl20 Signed 7 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 12:51 pm Title: Chapter 1

With each chapter, I feel like we're getting more pieces to the puzzle of Jim and Pam, and how they work(ed) in your story.  I like that we aren't given it all up front, and I wonder if sometimes that may make it seem like they are acting OOC in some people's opinion.  To me, you are explaining things in a manner that I feel is in line with doubts I've had about them truly talking through things fully, and yet sometimes I pause and think about what Jim had said ... then I remind myself that this is from his perspective.  

I think when reading this, and reminding myself that we're only hearing Jim's side, it helps everything come together.  

Looking forward to the next update!



Author's Response: Thanks, pizzagirl. Yeah, the problem with dribbling out the story instead of laying it all out chronologically is that there are some holes as you read. And then with the added limitation of Jim's POV only -- well, I think that leaves some people feeling confused (or resentful). But I'm glad it seems to be working for you so far. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: ShunUnshun Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 12:02 pm Title: Chapter 17

Wendolf, again, thanks for reading and responding to my comments. From this chapter I think I understand a bit more about where you’re coming from with Jim. It still doesn’t quite come together for me, though. Jim resented Pam for not taking more risks when it came to the two of them (i.e. Pam not calling Jim after she called off the wedding), I get that. What I don’t get, though, is why did this Jim come back to be with Pam after “The Job”? Did this just not bother him that much at the time, then he let this (and other instances where he felt that she didn’t take enough risks) fester through the relationship?

I get what you’re saying about Pam/Jim not addressing all of their issues after only being together a year. I’m still going to have to disagree with this, though. I find it hard to believe that after a year some situation hasn’t happened that wouldn’t bring up *something* contentious from their past. I also think the “glow” has dimmed from their relationship. At the beginning of Season 4 (“Fun Run”), they glowed, but by GT I thought that they seemed happy together, not necessarily glowing. I don’t think they were issue-free, but I don’t think that they appeared to be in a new “glowy” relationship, either.

I understand where you’re coming from with your thoughts about things being all or nothing with Jim sometimes. However, I think Jim’s departure to Stamford after Casino Night and Pam going to Pratt are two very different situations. I saw Casino Night like this –Jim never had Pam, he wanted Pam and took a big risk to try to get her. He left because there was nothing left for him in Scranton. With Pam going to Pratt, I’m not sure “all or nothing” fits here. Jim already had Pam, they’d been in a relationship for just about a year. On the show Jim encouraged Pam to go to Pratt. Would Jim (or anyone else for that matter) really expect or think that Pam wouldn’t change just a little bit after her experiences there? By “all or nothing” do you mean that Jim thought or expected that Pam wouldn’t or shouldn’t change after her experience? I think Jim’s “extreme” reaction to Pam’s changes was OOC, I think you might as well call him Roy here.

About the Karen/Emily/rebound point, let me put it this way. I view a rebound relationship as one where someone just gets out of a serious relationship, then jumps into a new relationship (not necessarily serious) relatively soon afterward without resolving the effects/feelings from the previous relationship. I think that Jim still seems bitter after his break-up with Pam. You said yourself that Jim is “still relatively fresh from the break up – would probably have a tendency to justify, make excuses, try to make himself feel better about how he handled things.” So, yeah, I think that Emily is a rebound after his relationship with Pam. He wanted to feel better about himself. I don’t think Emily is a replacement for Pam, nor do I think that Emily is the only woman that Jim could have a loving relationship with after Pam. I don’t think Jim/Emily’s relationship will necessarily be temporary (although that’s up to you, right?) ;) I think rebound relationships could work out. I hope I explained this a bit more clearly this time.

Again, thanks for reading and responding to my comments. If you find them helpful, that’s great. At this point, though, I think we’re trying to convince each other of things that I don’t think we will agree on. Can we just “agree to disagree”? :)

Author's Response: Yep, let's agree to disagree. I see your points and respect them, but we obviously are looking at this a bit differently. I'm just going to answer the questions you asked directly.

RE: why Jim got together with Pam at all when he clearly still had issues-- this to me is sort of a no-brainer. I mean, I think he was overwhelmed by the chance of having what he'd wanted for so long. I can't imagine him saying at that point "No thanks. You had your chance." He was thrilled. But once they were together, and especially after he started to see the changes in Pam, his feelings of insecurity came back. I could give personal examples here ... but I won't ;-)

RE: Jim's extreme reaction -- I meant extreme in the way he handled things after Pam went to Pratt, not extreme in that he didn't expect her to change at all. I think (again, just in my fic) when he felt things changing (whether they really were or whether that was just his perception), that's when he got a little all or nothing. All his fears and issues kind of started to rear their ugly heads and ... well... things unraveled.

Lastly, again, I'm not saying that they couldn't have dealt with their issues during their first year -- just that we didn't see any hard evidence that they had. So... it begs the question that sort of planted the seed for this fic: What if they hadn't?

Thanks again!

Reviewer: jamband Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 08:27 am Title: Chapter 1

Psh, I still think this story is fairer to Pam then most of those Pam-centric stories are to Jim. 

Also that thing at the sink? GOD I have such a deep down twisty thing for scenes that take place in front of a sink just like that one. I also really love the way this chapter ended...



Author's Response: Yeah, the sink thing? Have you seen the movie "Prime" (with Uma Thurman?) -- there is a really hot kissing scene by the sink and I think I channeled that a little bit here... Whoops. Anyway, thanks so much for reading, and for your comments, jamband!

Reviewer: kgreene Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2008 06:09 am Title: Chapter 17

WOW. Yeah, Emily is smart. She knows and we know that Jim could NEVER say that he's done with Pam. But she's in love. Poor Emily. I like her. But is she, like Karen and Katy before her, standing in the way of fate? Can't wait to see where this goes. Excellent.

Author's Response: I wouldn't say NEVER, but just not yet ;-) Thanks for reviewing, kgreene!

Reviewer: malaz85 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 10:19 pm Title: Chapter 17

Should I be worried about that last sentence? I think I'm a little worried...like Jim is trying to hide something, and kisses her to distract her from what he needs to day. Am I being crazy? Oh well.

Loved it, BTW.

-#1

Author's Response: As I said to a reviewer above, isn't it hilarious that I've got some people worried about Jim and Emily breaking up now? Wow, how the tides have turned. ;-) Anyway, we'll have to wait and see... Thanks, #1!

Reviewer: okayibelieveyou Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 09:17 pm Title: Chapter 17

Loved this chapter - everything Jim's saying seems so believable when you write it, and yet outside of this story, I could never imagine it happening! (I don't know if that came across as a compliment or not, but it is, trust me!) Looking forward to the next one :)

Author's Response: That's a total compliment -- that I made you believe something that is otherwise unbelievable? Nice! Glad what Jim said made sense. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 09:06 pm Title: Chapter 17

Wow wow wow.  Killer ending!

But he doesn’t say he won’t change his mind. I never hear those words.

So now Emily may be filled with doubt.  I just love the way you're letting us learn about the demise of JAM at the same time Emily does.  I love the tenousness of the early relationship between Jim and Emily.

You are killing me here, Wendolf!  I keep reading  your story instead of writing mine!

I hope you have a great vacation.  Thanks for posting all these chapters before you leave.



Author's Response: Thanks VB! I'm glad you are liking it. What's a new relationship without a little bit of insecurity, huh? ;-) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Alamos Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 08:27 pm Title: Chapter 17

I have enjoyed this story so much. I think you are true to the characters in YOUR story. I know that it's hard for people to read Pam in a negative light or to have Jim think "bad" things about her ... But this is YOUR story and I think you are telling it w/ honesty and intergrity. Additionally this is a true fan fic story because you are telling the story of Jim and Pam through eyes of someone else yours and Emilys. 

Author's Response: God bless you Alamos! Truly, I appreciate this. I've been struggling today with the idea that somehow I'm not communicating what I wanted to with this story, but then a wise fanfic veteran advised me to write what I want to write and let the chips (and reviews) fall where they may. But I'm so glad that it makes sense to you and that you are enjoying it. So... thanks again.

Reviewer: Filby Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 07:13 pm Title: Chapter 16

Extremely impressive - I've always like the Jim and Pam saga, but something about it always bothered me, and I couldn't explain what until I read this. This version of Jim and Pam has felt like the truest one possible - even more than the show itself. I'll read to the end.

P.S. Southport Lanes has always been always a personal favorite - how did Jim and Emily get all the way to Chicago for one date though?

Author's Response: Thank you, Filby. I'm glad it feels true to you. (Man, busted with the Southport Lanes reference! I was going to rename it, but I figured for the few people who might know it . . . why. Isn't that place awesome though? Haven't been there in years, but I remember it being cool.) Thank you so much for reading and for your nice review.

Reviewer: bright_lights_4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 11:44 am Title: Chapter 16

I wanted to try this story out because I've realized that I can appreciate a lot of AU more than I thought I could. Sometimes, there were a few chapters I didn't love and almost didn't return to read. I think a lot of it had to do with some of this stuff may happen and I didn't want to hear that. However, I have returned and read every chapter so far, and I can't help but continue. I hate when stories hit realistic points, but I love it all at the same time.

Author's Response: Glad you came back bright_lights. I know some parts are hard to read, but hopefully it will be satisfying in the end.

Reviewer: malaz85 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2008 11:29 am Title: Chapter 16

Yay for Jimily!

Oh, I sure do love Emily. That phone call from the bathroom? Genius. Their chemistry? Mind numbing. I hope you go FAR (like married far) with this story, because I want to see how everything works.

-#1

Author's Response: Yeah, I liked the bathroom call too. She's a clever one. Thanks so much, #1!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans