You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2017 09:27 am Title: we were born holding hands

I know this was written a while ago, but I just want to anything I can to encourage people to read it. It's both well-written and incredibly touching. Thanks for the Hallmark ending, because the regular one was heartbreaking. Beautiful, but heartbreaking.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2016 06:53 am Title: we were inseparably entwined

I didn't want to read this, the idea is just too depressing but I really did enjoy it. This story is just so beautiful and bittersweet and just so well done. I would have loved an epilogue where jim finally shows his wife pam the letters and the picture.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2009 01:26 pm Title: we were inseparably entwined

I'm so glad you went the Hallmark Hall of Fame route!  I really like what you did with this story.  (I think I like it better than the original.)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. :) The Hallmark route seemed like the kinder and gentler way to go.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2009 08:17 am Title: we were inseparably entwined

I'm doing my own dorky happy dance over here, carbondalien.  What a great ending!  I much prefer happy to sad.  I met my husband at a wedding, so I definitely love how you had them meet.  Great job!

Author's Response: Dorky dancing is always a good reaction. :) I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 07:24 pm Title: we were inseparably entwined

Oh, thank goodness for the Hallmark version.  And dorky dancers.  I think this was very cleverly done, carb.


Author's Response: Thank you. :) The Hallmark version is what we all needed, I think.

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 07:00 pm Title: we were inseparably entwined

OMG, I just read this from start to finish and then I read the reviews to make sure I wasn't totally crazy for winding up in a puddle of tears after Ch. 8.  So sad.  I knew he was heading for the cemetery when he wrote that last short note.  And the fact that she never married, and never forgot him?  Guh. :(

I'm glad you had Jim meet Pam's modern day reincarnation in the final chapter.  It would have been too depressing for him to go through life without ever finding love again. 

You did an awesome job with the old fashioned writing style and slang.  I assume the old post office building does exist in Scranton?  I have driven past Courthouse Square numerous times during my visits.  Did you have a particular house in mind on N.Washington or just a general idea of the architectural style of the area?  Because the houses in Scranton definitely don't look like the one Jim bought Pam on the show.  But what can you do when you film the show in a totally different locale and climate?

Thanks for sharing this lovely story with us.  Favoriting it now.



Author's Response: The same happened in the short story, but I always imagined that character (and Pam) were happy. The post office is a bit of an amalgamation, but the older buildings in Scranton are big and awesome. It's the same with the houses (depending on where in the city you are). The older houses are fantastic.

And this is the house I had in mind for Pam's: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~scwhite/kennedy/AmeliaWilliamKennedyHomeScrantonPA.jpg

Thanks for reviewing, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. :)

Reviewer: tellsomebodyit Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 03:42 pm Title: we were inseparably entwined

I like the Hallmark movie route better, too. And I really enjoyed your story!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm usually one for angst, but it just seemed a little TOO depressing, haha.

Reviewer: beermefive Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 03:41 pm Title: we were inseparably entwined

Beautifully written story! Very unique and interesting...it was great!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 12:08 pm Title: and you're my missing part

Oh, man, I'm a mess.  Did not expect that.  Can't wait for the last chap! 

Author's Response: Glad you liked it though it was a tad depressing. Hopefully the last chapter won't disappoint.

Reviewer: elliehalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2009 03:56 pm Title: we were born holding hands

I really think this story is just beautiful. I'm ridiculously in love. It is the perfect form of bittersweet angst.
The I never forgot on the gravestone pretty much shoved a knife in my heart and twisted it.
This really feels like something I would write; or at least something I would think of. I either wouldn't have the guts to write it (I categorize this as 'supernatural,' and while I love it, I haven't seen many Office fanfics that fall under that genre) or I wouldn't have written it nearly as beautifully as you've managed to.
I'm still crossing my fingers for a miracle.
Five million and a half stars.

Author's Response: Yeah, this is definitely out there concept wise but it was one of those things that just wouldn't get out of my head. I'm happy that people are responding positively to it. And I'm glad you liked it. Thanks. :)

Reviewer: oobadnama Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2009 02:33 pm Title: and you're my missing part

I feel bad for having read most of this story as you've posted it and having not reviewed- I'm sort of bad at the reviewing thing hehe- but I just have to say that this chapter killed me.. it was just so sad. I was expecting some twist that would enable them magically unite and be together and.. well, I guess there's still a chapter to go.. who knows what you'll do then? ;)

This has truly been the most lovely, most original piece of work I've read in a long time. I've adored it and am kind of sad to see it end. Amazing.



Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I'm really glad you liked it and I'm glad the concept is going over well because it obviously is in the extremely, very AU category.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2009 01:42 pm Title: and you're my missing part

Aww. man.  I need some kleenex. 

Author's Response: Hopefully it doesn't feel like somebody took your heart and dropped it into a bucket of boiling tears. ;)

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2009 05:13 pm Title: i fell in love with a world in you

*guh*  yes, I am dead from the sweetness.  And one part of love is bringing out the best in the other person.  Nicely done, as usual, carb.  (Can I call you carb?)

Author's Response: Sure, carb works. :) I'd comment on the state of the sweetness in the last few chapters, but I wouldn't want to spoil anything for you. ;)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2009 05:05 pm Title: i fell in love with a world in you

These letters break my heart and my brain.  Wishing for a time machine...

Author's Response: If only Jim had H.G. Wells on speed dial... ;) And hopefully your brain will be fixed when the end comes around.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 28, 2009 12:18 pm Title: when itís late, donít stop looking

Wow -- 2 in one day.  (yeah, TWSS) I'm seriously loving how connected these two can be just from the letters -- and Jim going a step further with the photos and looking for Pam's old house is just made of magic.  I cannot imagine how this is going to be resolved.  WTG, carbondalien.

Author's Response: I don't want to spoil it for you, but Jim meets up with his old pal Doc who loans him a DeLorean that does the most amazing thing when it reaches 88 mph... ;)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 28, 2009 11:41 am Title: when itís late, donít stop looking

Two chaps!  These letters just kill me--such honesty.  I also like the image of Jim having dinner with his elderly neighbors. 

Author's Response: One of my former professors told me a story about someone he knew who lived above an old Italian couple who would leave food on her doorstep and do little things like that for her, so I thought that'd be a fun little element to bring into Jim's life.

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 07:48 pm Title: my mind keeps spinning closer and closer

I enjoy stories where in addition to being entertained, we learn something. Although what you've taught us about the miners families in NE PA back then was very, very sad. Pam and Jim's letters were great - and I love that Jim is in love with love.  So very romantic.

Author's Response: Yeah, NEPA's past is kind of a depressing one and the entire mining past and attitude has really shaped how things are, even now. Even though it's sad, it's incredibly interesting.
And I'm glad you're liking it. :)

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 07:41 pm Title: i was alone, falling free

Wow, Jim's letter was even more romantic than Pamela's was and "...what if no one ever finds me" brought tears to my eyes and a swoon to my heart. (I guess hearts can swoon)



Author's Response: Jim's a bit depressed, but hopefully things will pick up for him. ;)

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 07:37 pm Title: we were born holding hands

I love this. I'm crazy about antique furniture and imagining the life such a piece has seen. And Pamela's letter was so romantic. Great job with researching what slang would have been in fashion, it really added to the flavor of the story. And what better line than "I'm yours if you find me".  Wow.

Author's Response: I'm a big fan of antique furniture too. Too bad I can't afford the more awesome stuff! I think the best thing I've gotten is a lamp that has two penguins fishing on the base.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 05:53 pm Title: itís everything that is connected and beautiful

Wow.  I was wondering how you could make a case where two people connected(fell in love?) with just a few letters.  Mission accomplished.  Wow.  Nicely done, Carbondalien.

Author's Response: Thank you! That was my biggest hurdle while I was planning everything out, so I'm glad it's working out. :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 04:37 pm Title: itís everything that is connected and beautiful

I'm so pleased to see such a quick update.  I think you've struck the perfect balance.  Pam's language continues to be adorable.  Very interested to see how this works out.  I'm enjoying the anticipation.

Author's Response: I was surprised by how much 1920s slang is still in use today. Some of the ones that are no longer in use are pretty funny though. Glad you're liking it. :)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 10:39 am Title: my mind keeps spinning closer and closer

Ooh!  I went out and found the original story.  I'm glad you're changing it to add more drawers!  I won't spoil things by saying anything else.

Thoroughly enjoying this!



Author's Response: Yeah, I thought the original was too few for this, and I lengthened their letters. Since you read the original, you'll notice what I've kept as that stuff comes along. Glad you're liking it. :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 07:04 am Title: my mind keeps spinning closer and closer

The romantic in me is really loving this idea.  It's similar to the movie, The Lake House, which I really liked. What can I say?  I'm a sap.  Poor lonely Jim. 

Author's Response: I liked The Lake House but have to admit that explaining it to people who didn't get the time thing was difficult. In "The Love Letter" the explanation is so simple that it's like "Why couldn't they have just said something like this in TLH?"

You'll have plenty more opportunities to feel a bit sappy. I mean, if you've only got a few chances to talk to someone who is probably your soulmate, sappiness is likely to abound. ;)

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2009 06:23 am Title: my mind keeps spinning closer and closer

OMGOMGOMG!  A man who is in love... with love.

*le sigh*



Author's Response: I figure that's very Jim. If you could put puppy dog eyes in a letter, I'm sure he'd have done that by now.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2009 01:49 pm Title: i was alone, falling free

Just watched Women's Appreciation, so I appreciate the reference to Anna Maria's.  Intentional (or maybe I'm a little to obsessed)?  Anyway, enjoyed the build up in this chap.  I also enjoyed reading about the details of the post office. 

Author's Response: I was going to have them go somewhere else, but then I thought that Anna Maria's would be a more likely place for Jim to take her. I probably put more thought into that than I needed to, haha. Glad you enjoyed the build up - it will pay off. :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans