Reviews For Apologies
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2019 07:39 pm Title: It was ONE day, and I took it right back....

Wish you had gone into S3, but thanks for what you wrote. This is great, throughout.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2012 11:46 am Title: It was ONE day, and I took it right back....

Kells, so glad you were motivated to write again.  Loved this--so beautifully angsty.  He opens his mouth to speak, unsure of how his brain may betray him right here – of what is going to come pouring out of him, but he merely utters a quiet “Pam?” and he feels a small prick of humiliation when he hears his voice crack.  She doesn’t make a move, doesn’t respond, and they are suspended there for a second, staring at one another while the air hangs between them.   Jim with his heart on his sleeve...*sigh* 

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: October 24, 2012 05:18 pm Title: It was ONE day, and I took it right back....

Yeep! Welcome back, kells. This was delicious. The excruciating pauses, the missed opportunities...I love the angst! He doesn’t even know if he can survive the next few weeks leading to her wedding, and after that – then what? Sigh...

Looking forward to more :)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2009 01:16 pm Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

Wow.  This is amazing.  You channel them so well.  I like that Pam is upset because she feels she's disappointing Jim.  And the closing?

She thinks about the chances she doesn't take. Thinks about him and opportunity and being fine with her choices. Her last thought before drifting off is that it she shouldn’t have to convince herself, too.

Really powerful ending.

 

Reviewer: Noodles Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2009 09:00 am Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

Really like what your running with here, nice idea. I probably disagree with the timeline myself for this chapter, I always thought they didn't patch up their differences until after Valentine's Day, but this is just as plausible. So no post conflict resolution fic?
Looking forward to next chapter

Reviewer: Jinxcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 07:38 pm Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

Love it! Amazing chapter!

Reviewer: Mixedbreedgirl Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 05:01 pm Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

oh yes, season 3= angst fest.

liking the fic, hun (:

Author's Response: Ah yes. Season three was painful, but in hindsight necessary.  And I admit I love any fic revolving around S3 and so I'm excited to post the next bit!  Stay tuned :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing, MBG

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 12:45 pm Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

This is a nice story concept you've come up with kells, and it suits the stand alone WIP process.  There are so many documented awkward moments on the show and many more we can imagine that occurred off camera, even up to the present time.  Alex, anyone?

It's great when an author hits that correct amount of tension between them when they're tiptoeing around each other and being so careful about what they say and don't say.  They get so close, and then they back off in fear, and detente resumes. 

Looking forward to more.

 



Author's Response: Thanks EH!  Yeah there's so much to explore that the cameras might not have caught - I love exploring that kind of stuff.  Thank you for the kind words - I'm glad you like it :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 12:02 pm Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

kells, this was excellent--so true to character.  How wonderful to have a bowling date in the middle of a work day!  I'm jealous :) 

Author's Response: A bowling date with Jim Halpert, no less!  Thanks for the kind words, NanReg!  And I appreciate how you regularly review and comment on stories - it's always a pleasure to hear from you :)

Reviewer: WhatAWaste Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 11:10 am Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

I really enjoy your take on the aftermath of this argument. I know I watched and wondered, "What is she thinking!?!?!" It's nice to see her gradual process from meek Pam to miss FNB, and in your story you can see her slowly starting to find herself. Oh, and one of my favorite lines, which just nailed S2 Pam: She thinks about the chances she doesn’t take. Thinks about him and opportunity and being fine with her choices. Her last thought before drifting off is that it she shouldn’t have to convince herself, too.  

Bring on the angst! I can handle it!



Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words, WhatAWaste!  I'm glad you're enjoying this so far.  Yes, Pam's actions could be simply mind boggling sometimes!!  

Reviewer: TopSecretMission Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2009 10:50 am Title: Excuse me? I'm fine with my choices.

Great writing! I love how you show the balance between Pam being angry at Jim and feeling sort of guilty for not taking his advice.

Author's Response: Hi TopSecretMission!  Thank you :)  I think she did feel almost guilty for letting him down, thus her defensiveness in that episode.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: WhatAWaste Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2009 09:49 am Title: I mean, it's not really a date if the girl goes home to her fiancee. Right?

What a great concept for a series of stories! I always enjoy the tension of their unspoken but obvious attraction for one another. I especially like how you wrote this part:  Each morning he looks forward to seeing her, but everyday it’s becoming a little bit harder to hold back and bite his tongue. He laughs with her and makes jokes that layer over the things he really wants to tell her and quite frankly it’s becoming exhausting. His palms are sweaty as he steps out of the elevator and makes his way into the office.

It seems to me that early S2 Jim sees Pam as is work girlfriend. He sort of has convinced himself of this, and then there are moments where he is shaken back to reality, like the fight you covered. I find his thought process dealing with this realization very interesting and heart breaking. Please keep up the great work! 

 



Author's Response: Thanks WhatAWaste!!  Yeah, I think sometimes Jim got away from himself and then was hurt even more when he was reminded of what he couldn't do. It were those moments that I found so heartbreaking for him.  I'm glad you enjoy the concept - you know, it's hard to think of something that hasn't already been done by now, lol.

Reviewer: callisto Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2009 02:46 pm Title: I mean, it's not really a date if the girl goes home to her fiancee. Right?

I like this idea, kells. You've got a lot to work with here, especially if you're going to follow it all the way up to the present.


I liked these lines a lot:

He comes back to himself when she reminds him of where he stands in her life, what he represents.

And this:

The words are sharp and precise and it cuts him in just the right way, because he wasn’t joking about it being a date. It was the best date he’d been on in years. But he steels himself and manages an air of indifference before pressing on, “No, it’s cool. I just don’t want things to be weird or whatever, and I shouldn’t have said something so….careless.”

That last word drops off of his tongue, heavy and loaded and he knows he’s hit his mark when her head snaps up and their eyes meet for a brief second. She looks almost guilty and he knows that even though she may not mean to, she can be hurtful too. She knows that her words hurt him in the same way that his do her, and he’s not sure if he feels relief or frustration at this revelation. Maybe a little of both.


I like your use of the word "careless" there and their mutual acknowledgement that they hurt each other with words.

Looking forward to the next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you Callisto!  Yeah, all the times we saw Jim and Pam disagree - outright anyway - we never saw the making up part of it - a new episode would come and they wouldn't have skipped a beat (well, save for S3).  I thought it would be fun to explore what could happen that the cameras didn't catch :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Mixedbreedgirl Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2009 02:30 pm Title: I mean, it's not really a date if the girl goes home to her fiancee. Right?

oh, this sounds good so far (:

Author's Response: Why thank you :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2009 02:05 pm Title: I mean, it's not really a date if the girl goes home to her fiancee. Right?

I like this, kells.  I was thinking of Jim's stairwell talk with Dwight from Money when up pops this:  So, what – does it involve manure? Or beets? You have to tell me.  Poor guy--emotions so close to the surface and he's can't properly express them.  Nice job.

Author's Response: Thanks, Nan.  Yeah, the stairwell talk is so nice because it lets you get a better insight as to what Jim was going through that whole time.  Heartbreaking.  I'm glad your enjoying this, thank you, as always!  

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2009 01:51 pm Title: I mean, it's not really a date if the girl goes home to her fiancee. Right?

Very nice.  I like how you added that they both hurt each other with words.  It's not a one sided thing.  Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Yeah, I know Pam takes the flack a lot of the time, but I think they both made mistakes many times.  Thanks for reading and reviewing, kh!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans