Reviews For Abstinence
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2010 12:16 am Title: Night...

this i my what..5th..6th. dont care keep loving it

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 06, 2010 01:33 am Title: Night...

I forgot how much I love this story :)

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2010 12:34 am Title: ...and Day

god! i love reading this. its like the 3th time

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2010 02:19 am Title: Night...

oohh gosh i read this story a long time ago. and i always remembered that shirtless scene but i could remember the name of the story and i really wanted to read it again.
thank mtt for "story of the moment"
ill make it a favorite so i could find it whenever i want =D

Author's Response: Glad you found this memorable, dmbd - and that you were able to find it again. Many thanks for the kind words!

Reviewer: FlonkertonChamp Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2009 09:11 pm Title: Night...

‘No, not that,’ he immediately clarified, obviously worried it sounded like he was pushing her. ‘I just want to feel your skin,’ he added softly.

god, that's just... so sweet, and so jim. gah.

Author's Response: Yup, he's one sweet guy. Kind of cute too. Glad this made you go 'gah', FlonkertonChamp!

Reviewer: FlonkertonChamp Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2009 07:32 pm Title: ...and Day

"bouncy pink jack-in-the-box"

oh my damn... i laughed for a minute straight!

Author's Response: Thank god Jim couldn't see you laughing...thanks, FlonkertonChamp!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2009 04:23 pm Title: ...and Day

whew!!!! i think that's all i've got for you. wow............

Author's Response: Thank you - much appreciated!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2009 04:09 pm Title: Night...

that was beautiful! this has been a pretty darn good day for fanfic reading for me! i discoverd wendy blue and now you! what's not to love, read and review!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2009 04:09 pm Title: Night...

that was beautiful! this has been a pretty darn good day for fanfic reading for me! i discoverd wendy blue and now you! what's not to love, read and review!

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2009 01:59 pm Title: ...and Day

Ummmm...I needed to take a minute in order to get my mind out of the gutter after reading this. It was so hot! I really, really like the way you write. No wasted words and you describe everything to beautifully. So many awwww moments (the exchanging keys, Jim did the dishes & waited up for her, etc.). The smut was quite excellent ;o) and the words "I just want to feel your skin" made me want to swoon. I'm not kidding! At the risk of sounding trite, excellent job!

Author's Response: Nope, not trite - just very flattering! Thanks so much, bkwrm - this was a fun one to write, so I love hearing that it worked so well for you.

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2009 07:18 pm Title: ...and Day

Late review, but it's not like you don't know how I feel about this story already. I loved the sex, but it's the pre and post intimacy that really ties this together, and connects with the previous chapter.  As usual, you've got their voices down pat.  Loved them being silly about the caloric value of their previous encounters. 

Your stuff is always worth the wait, darlin'.



Author's Response: Never too late, sweetie ;-) And as always, love hearing from you - glad you enjoyed the diet tips (all you need it one lanky paper salesman to try them at home.) Also, that you thought the before/after was important (me too, lol.) Thanks so much, EH!

Reviewer: Emilys List Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2009 09:37 pm Title: Night...

um - i've been MIA, i know - punch me if you'd like. but WOW!!! love it beyond belief. you totally rocked the house. per usual, you captured something that has yet been unexplored, and our fandom is better for it :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Nope, no violence here - just glad to see you ;-) (And this is my first fic in months anyway.) As always, very pleased to hear it worked for you - it's been a while since I did da smuff, lol. Thanks much, Emily!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2009 04:44 pm Title: ...and Day

sent a warm whiskey wave rushing through her

That's a delightful phrase!

He was just so…buoyant...It’s just the way it popped up, like this bouncy pink jack-in-the-box or something…’

*giggle* Funny. And so true.

he cradled his hand protectively behind it.

Awww. Such a tender gesture, so sweet and sexy!

like a lightning rod for her to break around

Whoa! Sexy! Me likey!

You've captured a nice, warm, sexy moment in the life of these two new lovers. Thanks for sharing it with us!



Author's Response: I like your 'warm' as a description - just what I hoped. And pleased you liked those lines...the bouncy thing (ahem) - you know, it is a strange gizmo (at least to the female eye), isn't it? Glad I'm not the only one who thinks so, lol. Thanks again, NEJ!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2009 04:28 pm Title: Night...

Nummy! I like it that he's shaved and showered in anticipation of her coming home, another reminder of how long he waited for her and how precious she (still) is to Jim. And for all that I love the hot-n-heavy stuff, there's something just so sweet about her snuggling up with Jim. Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks, NEJ - glad the sweet and snuggly worked for you ;-)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2009 07:06 pm Title: ...and Day

Alekja;rlskjdfalkerasdf.

I just re-read this, and I have to say: it's incredible.

You do such an amazing job with characterization. I have no problems at all picturing it in my head, because this entire thing is just so Jim and Pam that...gah. I don't even know what to say. Amazing.

Seriously. A-ma-zing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, BigTuna, for such a generous review!

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 07:37 pm Title: ...and Day

They're adorable (and hot!)  I gotta say, the whole beginning of this chapter where she is trying to get him on board with why it's awesome they didn't have sex cracked me up.  You can tell he's not sure whether what she is saying is a good thing or not.  It worked perfectly. 

I'm always so glad to see you writing something new!



Author's Response: Hee! Happy to hear his uncertainty there came across. Until he got what she meant, and then....got it. (Okay, that was really crass. My bad.) Always happy when you like something, MA...many thanks!

Reviewer: WalkInLove Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 05:33 pm Title: ...and Day

Once again, I feel like I repeat myself when I review your stuff.  I can't help it.  You evoke the most beautiful emotions with your word.  This?  This is beautiful and fun and so spot on them.  I love that not having sex was foreplay for them.  Well done, my friend, as always.  Thank you for sharing this with us. 

Author's Response: No, thank you for being such a great audience! Yes, like foreplay - amazing what a good night's sleep will do for a girl ;-) Anyway, as always - much appreciated, WalkInLove! (And hope you're feeling better.)

Reviewer: rulesofjinx Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 07:53 am Title: ...and Day

i love this. first of all it's hot. second of all, it's real life. i love how you manage to make it funny and interesting and new. :) and i'll probably never hear the word bounce the same way again.

Author's Response: 'Real' is a great compliment...as for 'bounce', well just think about fabric softener or something. Yeah, that ought to help ;-) Thanks, rulesofjinx!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 07:14 am Title: ...and Day

Calorie-free?  Perhaps.  Yet I feel like I just ate the best dessert ever...and went back for seconds.  When will we be seeing you on Oprah, Colette? 

I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this story.  Who am I kidding?  I think you are well aware of my history as a fic whore. *blushes*  What I love most about this story from start to finish is how well you combine the emotional, the physical, the romantic and the humorous aspects of this new relationship.  Jack-in-the-Box?  You could have been tickling me, I was giggling so hard.  And, let me add, what an image you conjured up, you evil sorceress.  I will most assuredly be visiting this one again.  I might even invite it to move in with me.



Author's Response: Whatever image could you mean?!?! I have no idea what you're referring to ;-) This story would be happy to move in with you, as long as there's no clown painting on the premises (and there's a bouncy castle in the backyard.) Okay, clearly I'm punchy. But I really do appreciate the kind review...always a pleasure, NanReg!

Reviewer: jazzfan Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 06:33 am Title: Night...

That, young lady, is not abstinence. Lovely and sweet and hot, and very in character. For some reason, this was my favorite line - probably because it sounded so believeable and it meant so much without having to explain:

Wait,’ Jim panted. ‘Wait a second,’ he leaned his forehead against hers, firmly grasping her hips to still them.

Author's Response: Not abstinence? Oops. My bad. Glad you found this believable and hot and all that other nice stuff you said. Many thanks, jazzfan!

Reviewer: InternationalBusinessTraveller Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2009 02:34 am Title: Night...

Oh my Colette - part two sooo lived up to my (very) high expectations. I just loved it, especially because you keep it real. That post-sex messiness is very rarely touched on, and you did it beautifully (oh God, TWSS!). You also managed to capture that dizzy, newly madly in love, lust-filled stage without being soppy. It's a tightrope you walk so skillfully.

I must also tell you that I was really looking forward to seeing how you finished this one. So much so, that as soon as I came in from work (it's Monday night where I am), I logged on to see if you'd posted part two yet; even before I put the kids dinner on (whoops, bad mother alert!). I rushed through the first read, and now have read it more slowly now the kids are fed, and getting to bed. I'll probably read it again before I get to bed.

Thank you thank you! (And feel free to call me Int'l!)

Author's Response: So happy you weren't let down by part II and that it didn't seem soppy - always worry about crossing that line when writing romantic stuff. And how flattering that I tapped into your inner bad-mother (if it helps, I totally ignored my brood while writing this thing!) Thanks so much...int'l (that has a ring to it ;-)

Reviewer: JamJunkie14 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2009 08:26 pm Title: ...and Day

I loved that. Every word. So sweet and so hot! Great job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, JamJunkie14!

Reviewer: kells8995 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2009 06:29 pm Title: ...and Day

Oh Colette I just loved this.  A few things:

I love the quiet scene between them in the kitchen...before the, uh, 'frosting', so to speak ;)  The quiet realization that they are really, finally here - just perfect. 

Also, the phrase 'I want to feel your skin' is officially the sexiest thing ever said. *sigh*

And the little detail of Jim reaching around to cup her head made my toes curl.  

Love your Jim and Pam.  Love your writing. Nice to see you again, my friend.  Thanks for this :)



Author's Response: As I mentioned below to Talkative, that little moment in the kitchen (before things got saucy) was  actually kind of the crux of the story for me, so I'm really pleased you said that. I thought that in an ironic way, having some nights where sex wasn't a part of the 'intimacy' would make being where they are feel all the more 'real' to Pam (if that sentence made any sense, lol.) Of course, making up for it the next morning doesn't hurt either ;-) Thanks so much, kells - always love hearing from you.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2009 05:37 pm Title: ...and Day

I am so happy your fic brain agreed to marry me, because I LOVE IT EVEN MORE RIGHT NOW... seriously that was freaking hot and all kinds of awesome. I hope you're working on something else;) as your ficbrain wife I insist, in fact I demand....

Author's Response: Wives...so demanding! Glad this didn't disappoint....and many thanks, Hannah!

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2009 04:23 pm Title: Night...

What a sexy little bit of exactly what I needed this evening! I love everything about your writing, Colette. The palpable atmosphere, the banter, the visuals, all the neat little turns of phrase. I love the notion that it’s all so normal for them, that they fell into it so effortlessly, but they’re continually still surprised at the little things that indicate coupledom like the toothbrush on the counter, sneakers lined up by the door. Your characterization makes it possible to see all of that so vividly it’s like watching an R-rated episode of the show.

I’m feeling meticulous tonight so here’s a bunch of lines/phrases that exemplify why I like your writing so much:

It was like discovering some hidden superpower she wasn’t yet sure how to wield and She wasn’t sure if he’d always been this easy to get going, but she liked to think it was her. -- the mingled confidence and uncertainty is so Pam.

She hardly even noticed that the back of her head was knocking against the upper cabinet with each accelerating thrust, until he cradled his hand protectively behind it. – because of course he would notice even if she was too carried away.

warm whiskey wave and in those few suspended seconds while the world ruptured and dissolved

‘Christ, Beesly…. what kind of obscene toys did you play with?’ --so funny, so Jim.

(Afterwards, he’d teased that if she hadn’t kept the TV volume so distractingly loud, they might have scored a triple instead of a double play.) –again, so Jim.

‘Jim?’ she said into his skin.
‘Hm?’
‘I’m just really glad you’re here.’
‘I live here,’ he chuckled softly.
‘Still.’
He tightened his arms around her.
--the visual conjured here is so sweet and beautiful.

Oh, and how about the little quotes from ‘P. Beesly’ to start each chapter? Niiiice. /Kevin.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: An R-rated episode...if only ;-) I'm really pleased you found the small details right - I know how an 'off' one can throw a story. And hooray for singling out many of the phrases/moments that I'm partial to as well - I love when you talk meticulous! (Oh, and btw - thought I'd give a little backstory to Jim's 'complaining' in CM, about how 'loud' she listens to the tv volume, lol.)  Anyway, hearing this worked for you re: phrasing, visuals, etc. means a lot, as usual. I love playing with words, and I love even more when a reader notices! Thanks, so much, callisto!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans