Reviews For Desk Love
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2009 04:40 pm Title: just can't get enough

Oh this just makes me happy. They have pictures of each other on their desks even when they sit 10 feet away and there is thought and real love in those pictures and... just giant smile :)

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2009 09:23 pm Title: just can't get enough

This was lovely. I like that Pam wanted a picture of Jim on her desk when he was only 10 ft away. You took seemingly routine conversations and actions and made them extra-special due to their love. Just wonderful.

PS I loved the pictures! 

Reviewer: shootingstars Signed [Report This]
Date: May 06, 2009 11:23 am Title: just can't get enough

I've been having a bit of a hiatus from Jam fic lately, RL and other fandoms sort of taking over.

This is one of the first I've read in ages and it's absolutely amazing. This isn't just absence making the heart grow fonder either, this is genuinely a wonderful fic.

:)

Reviewer: Blind Assassin Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2009 04:15 am Title: just can't get enough

Callisto, telling you that I love this seems like a huge, clichéd understatement…but it’s all I got!
Your characterizations are spot on and Kevin's chat with Jim about his scoring rationale actually brought a tear to my eye. I’ll be adding this fic to my favourites list…oh, and the pic of Jim you tagged at the end…such a lovely treat!

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2009 08:57 am Title: just can't get enough

I'm such a sucker for fics that caulk the cracks in canon. Notice I didn't say crazy glue, cause the best of these - like this one - don't strain for farfetched scenarios or melodrama to flesh out what we've seen, they live in ordinary life. Like these characters. :-)

Using the photos as a touchstone for the progression of their relationship is a great device. There are lots of great little moments here, but I especially like how Pam doesn't think she's photogenic; how she pretends to want photos of everyone; and of course, the scene where Jim gets a bit too serious about wanting the photo (reminds me of the DT scene, where she says 'you can tell me anything' and everything is suddenly too raw and exposed for an instant)...and also, I got a giggle out of Jim taking pix of her breasts at the lake - such a believably dorky-boy (in the giddy throws of not quite believing what's finally happening) thing to do.

So, as I said on the board - thanks for this - it was a great tonic and a great fic, all in one!



Author's Response: Thanks a bunch, Colette. The thing I love so much about this show--one of them, anyway--is the practically unlimited opportunity to peek into back stories for things we only get a glimpse of. So many untold stories over the years of this flirty little friendship! You mentioned several of the bits that I was fond of in this story too, which warms my writer's heart no end (the part where she pretends to want photos of everyone--one of those white-lie scenarios I imagine happening all the time with those two). Thanks again for reviewing and giving me a shout-out on the boards. You already know I take a rec from you as the stamp of approval. ;) Gracias!

Reviewer: JamJunkie14 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2009 07:22 am Title: just can't get enough

Ahhh that was adorable. Simply adorable. Loved every word. I love the way you write Jim and Pam's interactions. Perfection. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for letting me know! :)

Reviewer: Elle Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2009 12:18 am Title: just can't get enough

Totally adorable. I actually never really thought about the fact that Jim never had a photo of Karen on his desk at all but he has several of Pam. I think that's absolutely the best. Really fits in with his love for Pam, thanks for highlighting that!

Author's Response: I didn't think of that either until I was writing that line, but he never did have a girl on his desk. Very fitting. Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing. :)

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 08:19 pm Title: just can't get enough

Everything about that was perfect.  From the fun of that "that's my boyfriend" exchange that reminded me so much of ("is the magic over?" scene from season 4) to the tinge of angst in those photos they had of one another.  Most of all I loved how hopeful this all was...and your ending was all kinds of awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks LoveFool! I had fun with that exchange, but then I just about cut it all out and did it completely differently. And I love me some angst. May have to go wallow in it soon. ;) I'm glad you liked this, thanks so much for letting me know!

Reviewer: jazzfan Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 07:42 pm Title: just can't get enough

Oh man, that was really really good. Seriously. Wonderful job. Too many good passages to mention, but this exchange actually made me tear up - it's expressed so cleverly and beautifully, because you know it took Jim long while to finally get truly secure and not be afraid Pam would "disappear" again:

“Not true. This is just lovely, Beesly,” he remarked. “Very flattering.” His voice was teasing, but there was something soft and open in his eyes that made her stomach flutter. She held his gaze for a moment too long, until that increasingly familiar panic she couldn’t fully explain made her tear her eyes away and reach for the ‘delete’ button with a grin.

He pulled the camera away and easily held it up out of her reach, shaking his head as he clucked his tongue in reprimand. “No way. You have to send this to me.”

“I’ll think about it,” she said tartly. “May I have my camera back please?”

Jim’s smile faded. “Promise,” he insisted quietly.

His expression, so unexpectedly serious and almost sad, made her heart jump into her throat and her mouth go dry. She nodded, frowning up at him, anxious to erase the melancholy from his eyes. “I will,” she promised.

“All right then.” He smiled, handing the camera back to her, and suddenly he was Jim again and she could breathe.


Gold.

Author's Response: Thanks jazzfan! I liked that scene myself, so nice to see how it resonated. I just love season 2 angst (knowing that it all ends up in a happy ending, that is). And those pictures we saw on their desks were just dying for a backstory, so. Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading. :)

Reviewer: Liv Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 07:34 pm Title: just can't get enough

I absolutely adore your stories. This is amazing. Seriously, everytime I see that you've posted something new, I get so excited! Please post something else soon :)

Author's Response: Thanks Liv! That's nice to hear. I've been bitten with the writing bug again so it probably won't be too long for something new. :)

Reviewer: Jinxcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 04:37 pm Title: just can't get enough

Amazing. That's all I can say. :)

Author's Response: I'll take it. Thanks! :)

Reviewer: pigeon Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 04:06 pm Title: just can't get enough


“Some girls write to serial killers in prison.”
Bravo.

 

Seriously, that was lovely. The way it jumped around in time, the bit with Kevin in the break room, the way you point out the significance of all the little moments (and really, that's what Jim and Pam are: the little moments) all tied together to create this sweet glimpse into their first few months.  Nice work.



Author's Response: Hee. I liked that line. Thanks. :) I agree, everything that's most important about Jim and Pam are the little moments. I also love making up these little backstories we never get to see. Glad you liked it! Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: stjoespirit04 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 03:49 pm Title: just can't get enough

There are so many quotes in here that I'd like to tell you made me feel fuzzy inside, but then I'd basically be just copying word for word this entire story. The entire thing? Awesome.

If I had to pick one fave, it would be : Jim swallowed his smile into a cough and covered his mouth with his hand as he came to the bottom of the list, where Pam had one extra item in her column. Called off her wedding for you. Brilliant. Even coming from Kevin.

I don't know how you do it, but I live to be like you. Your stories are always so wonderful. You = my hero.

Author's Response: I'm glad you picked that line, stjoespirit. I love Kevin, how he's very sweet and human despite the fact that he's also kind of a skeevy perv with the things he says. ;) Glad you liked this, and thanks so much for the compliments. It's great to know somebody likes my writing so much. *hugs* :)

Reviewer: aimzers84 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 02:50 pm Title: just can't get enough

I loved this :) I just adore stuff about the early parts of their relationship.... especially when written by you!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks aimzers! I love writing about the Lost Summer. It may be annoying that we didn't see any of these moments on the show but it sure is a gold mine for us fic writers. Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing. :)

Reviewer: Mixedbreedgirl Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 02:47 pm Title: just can't get enough

omg, lovely (:


Author's Response: Thanks. :)

Reviewer: LuxTenebrae Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 02:35 pm Title: just can't get enough

This was absolutely beautiful :) I was especially touched by the scene between them when he makes her promise to send him the photo. Great job :)

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch Lux! I liked writing that part. Always a little rain with the sunshine, right? Glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 02:14 pm Title: just can't get enough

Just can't get enough--you certainly got that right, missy.  Fantastic idea for a fic. This gave me goosebumps.  Goosebumps, I tell you.  I’m just so happy.

There was something undeniably exhilarating about keeping their relationship a secret. Loved reading about Kevin and his question for info--very funny :) 

For more than a few weeks Jim felt a little overwhelmed by the strangeness of it all, that this was Pam draped across his chest, rubbing her bare feet lazily against his calves during the 11 o’clock news.  That sentence warmed my heart and made me so happy for Jim.  After all the heartbreak, to finally be able to experience the every day interactions must have felt particularly sweet   ....and she never, ever refused him. They didn’t talk about it, but he was pretty sure she understood, anyway.  That is simply beautiful.

The idiotic grin was just going to have its way with him today, it seemed. He couldn’t stop smiling.  Makes me think of Fun Run, of course, and Kevin's delightful talking head.  (Pam…and Jim…are totally hooking up…)  Ha!

And what a perfect ending.  Another fine job, my friend, really excellent.  Needless to say, it has joined its sisters and brothers in my favorites.

(I've been having some formatting issues with this review...sorry)



Author's Response: Hey Nan. It's definitely the little details of the show that I love to seize upon, like Kevin and his list. I always wondered what happened with that. And as always, you noticed some lines that I liked, including that one about the idiotic grin--I was very close to just deleting that whole little section as superfluous. So, cool. :) Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 01:51 pm Title: just can't get enough

OMG, the 'Pam is such a dork she has a picture of her boyfriend on her desk even though he's only 10 feet away' fic!  Great job, callisto.  So frakking adorable. 

Can we talk you into a sequel with the story of the 'Jim at the golf course' photo on Pam's desk/poker table at MSPC?  (Because you just know that if she would run across the office and jump into his arms, there was definitely more that happened off camera.)

Thank you for an oasis in the fic drought.  ;o)



Author's Response: Yeah, I found that conversation inspiring. Our pair of dorks are just too adorable. A Jim at the golf course story? Let me think about that. I was thinking of going all angst and alienation for my next one but that sounds... fun. ;)

Reviewer: IThinkWeBrokeHisBrain Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2009 12:46 pm Title: just can't get enough

This was so wonderfully written, great work!

Author's Response: Thank you!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans