Reviews For I Heart Pickles
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 23, 2017 02:51 pm Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

I always get so sad when I get to this last chapter. This universe is phenomenal, I wish it were complete.

Indie rock and keds is in the company of an elite few for me, after I finish this last chapter I always want to go back and read indie rock again, very few stories do I want to read over again immediately after I finish them. But this universe, the journey that we take with Jim and Pam is so real and honest, and this story has everything.

Reviewer: OfficeBabe Signed [Report This]
Date: December 24, 2010 06:58 pm Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

For the past two months, I have read "Indie Rock & Keds", "Come on, Feel the Illinoise," and I'm making my way through this one (fantastic!). Please, Please, Please (with a cherry on top) update soon! I am absolutely in love with this whole series! Thank you in advance!

Reviewer: Ash86 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2010 01:53 am Title: Exaltation on a dark and stormy night

Just wanted to say I've been following this series for a while now (apologies for being so rubbish about reviewing) and it's really fantastic. Love Pam and Jim still being the couple we recognise but in a different setting. Also love how you're exploring Pam's desire for fulfilment with her career even if her personal life's great and Jim's frustration at being unable to do much to help - it's something that the show itself has had to very much skim over/ignore. Looking forward to the next update. :)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2010 08:21 am Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

How rude, my review never showed up when I first wrote it. I'm SO happy you're back. I was so excited when I saw your story up yesterday morning. I had actually just started re reading your series, so this is otally awesome. I loved crying Pam so much. And how she called his mom to get him out of her way LOL. Everything about this story is amazing!

Author's Response: Hey, Hannah_Halpert! How have you been? Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It delights me to no end to hear that you're still following this story. My gosh, it has been YEARS, and the fact that you've stuck with me since the very beginning... (*waves hands over face*) Am I blushing?

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2010 08:51 pm Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

I was absolutely beside myself with joy when I checked and saw that this had been updated! I had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day myself yesterday and I swear, this TOTALLY made up for it.

This is an AMAZING story, certainly part of THE MOST amazing series of any fanfic series and I swear, somehow you just have this awesome talent that enables you to make the story AND the series even MORE amazing with each and every chapter.

I have to tell you honestly, in general I never liked Karen, or rather Karen's character and I had serious doubts that I would ever see a Karen that I liked in a story. YOU actually did it. When I was reading the series my first time through and Karen was introduced as Pam's room mate I automatically thought, here we go. Karen will meet Jim and like Jim and there will be some drama or tension or something but I prayed, just let Pam prevail. Let their love continue to be so good and pure etc. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised at the Karen you created and gave us and it made me realize that my strong dislike is for Karen the love interest for Jim, the one that comes betwen Jim and Pam. Heck, now I totally see that had they brought Karen on as a friend for Pam, something that she could really use (a female friend that is. We know she's always had a great friend in Jim but that's different!) I could have really like the character in that role. Thanks for showing me a Karen that even in my eyes is really likeable.

I want to truly from the heart thank you for staying with this. My heart sinks (and yes, I AM pathetic, it kinda hurts a bit) when I really invest my time and emotion in reading a story only to find it's been left hanging out there unfinished. I am so grateful that you are soldiering on to try and complete this piece and not only that, this chapter I just read has every bit as much quality and consistency as the other chapters, than you thank you thank you! You are an amazing author and I simply cannot wait to read more! Hey... did I say thank you?!?! :o)

Author's Response: So I threw my back out the other day and I was stuck in bed for like three days. I somehow found myself on the MTT site, a place I had avoided since March because I had just been feeling uninspired and a bit humbled by all of the fantastic writers on the MTT archive, and I decided to reread my stories. To my surprise, there were new reviews! I saw yours, and when I read your comment on I Heart Pickles saying 'you just can't stop' and 'don't leave it just hanging' because you genuinely enjoyed the story and wanted to see it continue, I want you to know that really struck a chord with me. Not only that but you, and everyone else who has been so, so kind and left comments and support throughout the entire series, invigorated something in me that encouraged me to continue writing. I thought I would never come back to this story, and I just wanted to let you know that after eight long months, you inspired me to pick it up again. Thank you, ftmill16. Your reviews have been far too kind.

Your comments about this story's Karen are so humbling. Wow. That scene in The Merger when Pam and Karen first meet always kind of stuck with me. I always wondered what if would be like if Pam and Karen were friends - I mean, I know Karen was introduced primarily as an obstacle for Pam/Jim, but had it not been for that, I think they could have a pretty solid friendship. (I also loved their little chat in Lecture Circuit I.) I know it's such an unpopular fandom opinion but I liked Karen, and I wanted to sort of reintroduce the character as a 'What if Karen wasn't a threat to Jim/Pam?' I'm so happy to hear that it turned you around. I know a lot of readers may not feel the same way, but to hear that it had such an impact on you pleases me to no end. Really, I'm just so delighted and I thank you for your sincerity.

So, I hope this streak of inspiration continues to pour itself into this story. It's been such a wonderful creative outlet over the years, and I am beyond fortunate to have the genuine dedication of readers like you.

Reviewer: Oldleaf Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2010 10:41 am Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

YAY! It's back! So excited! And I absolutely adored crying Pam haha. So funny / adorable. Can't wait for more! :D

Author's Response: Hey, Oldleaf! I was a bit nervous, adding a new chapter after a lengthy hiatus, so I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for your continued support and encouragement.

Reviewer: Dedeen Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2010 08:16 am Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

I couldn't believe my eyes this morning when I saw your fic up! So excited that you're back! Now, don't go disapearing again, kay? This was great, keep'um comin'!

Author's Response: Thanks, Dedeen! The fact that you've continued to follow this story makes me so, so happy!

Reviewer: JHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2010 05:43 am Title: Pam and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

You're baahhh-aaaccckkk!! I was So excited to see this, this morning I had to read immediately before doing anything!

Thank you for another chapter, and please..PLEASE continue this!

Author's Response: I just couldn't leave this story hanging. It means so much that you continue to read and review. I hope to create an ending that is satisfying to loyal readers such as yourself, who have followed this story since the beginning. Thanks for the support, JHalpert!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 27, 2010 05:02 am Title: Felt Like Smashing My Head Through a Clear Glass Window

I just read this whole series all over and I need to again beg. PLEASE come back and write more! The entire series is so wonderful, PLEASE don't leave it just hanging out there!

Reviewer: Oldleaf Signed [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2010 09:51 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

Just dropping by to say how much I'd LOVE an update. I miss this story so much.

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2010 05:51 am Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

ARGHHHHH!!! You just CAN'T stop here! I have been obsessed with this after deciding to just 'try' a few chapters of I think it was Indie Music and Keds or something like that and I got totally obsessed reading pretty much nonstop! When it was over I was so disappointed that it was done so you can imagine my delight when I saw there was a follow up. I read all that, again obsessed and then delighted when I saw yet another story in the series. SOOOOOO I got this far, you just simply cannot stop ESPECIALLY leaving
poor Pam six months pregnant! NO woman should ever have to be eternally six months pregnant. Maybe if you DO continue this you can have Pam start having nightmares about being eternally six months pregnant! ANYHOW, this whole series is SO great, I'd love for it to go on forever but I'm begging you, PEASE at least come back and finish this installment. This whole series is just totslly such a wonderful AU set of stories! Thanks for giving me a great way to fill my time! (and again.... BEGGING... PLEASE PLEASE PLLLEEEAAASSEEE finish!!!!!)

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2010 08:31 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

Aww I loved this chapter. I love seeing them plan for the baby!

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2010 08:27 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

I agree with Pam, Sierra is a pretty name.

Why is it that a pregnant belly leads people to treat complete strangers to unsolicited touches, stories and advice? I find that acting as if I have completely lost my mind usually works wonders for getting strangers to leave me alone- I frown, boo, and hiss, and never use actual words, ever- it shuts them up every time, they cannot wait to get away from me, and it is always good for a laugh for me and my friends. BONUS!

{**BEGIN DISCLAIMER** I only use this when I am in a really horrible mood and absolutely cannot bear the thought of a feigning interest in polite conversation with individuals I will never again see in life. On a normal day, I'd like to think I am pleasant enough, and more than willing to engage in friendly conversation, but you know, some days, not so much **END DISCLAIMER**}

Maybe as Pam's baby belly continues to grow, she can try it out. Usually pregnant ladies are in irritable enough moods to pull this off without issue.

But she is kicking! I am so happy for them that they are having a little music lover. Without ever having laid eyes on her, she clearly already has her daddy wrapped around her finger. It is adorable!

Well, if you are looking for me, I'll be here, eagerly awaiting chapter 12...

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 05:22 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

Ugh I HATE when strange people feel the belly and offer not so welcome advice/stories. :)

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 04:57 pm Title: Insecurity, Fear, and Other Unspoken Emotions

I love the ending of the dream sequence! Jim's right, somethings ARE meant to be. I can't believe how far this story has come!

Reviewer: jhpb Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 04:27 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

i am so happy that you decided to keep going with this story. i cant wait for more! :)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 03:09 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

So freaking adorable, and Jim playing in babies r us? LOVE :)

Reviewer: okayibelieveyou Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 08:10 am Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

I kept putting of reviewing ever since you came back to this story, and then every time I decided I was ready to do it, another chapter was posted and I got completely sidetracked. Not complaining at all, though! ;)

I've been thinking about this story a lot in all the months that passed since it was updated. I had pretty much given up on it ever being finished and was really sad about it, after growing so attached to these particular AU versions of Jim & Pam. When things were slow at the archive, I went back and re-read the entire series more than once. I think that, aside from the fact that I love the characters and you've defined them wonderfully, I'm attached to them especially because I'm graduating from college in a few months and it was fun meeting them when they were in the same place - and it's been equally fun seeing them grow and progress, getting a little lost in the fantasy of where my own path could lead, too.

Anyway, I'm rambling, but I am really glad to see my favorite lovebirds back, and really excited to see how the baby thing plays out :) Can't wait for the next update!!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 20, 2010 07:03 pm Title: Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)

Oh my god, that was so cute with the baby kicking while Jim was singing! I wouldn't mind Jim/John singing to me! Great chapter, and I can't wait for more!

P.S. - Thank you so much for all the playlists, I'm learning about a ton of new good music. It's great!
P.P.S. - I'm not sure who's lucky, you that I've caught up and am now starting to write reviews, or me, for finding this story!

Author's Response: Baby's respond well to music, so I hear. I've been interrogating all of my friends with children to get the good pregnancy scoop. Which results in an endless barrage of, "Are you pregnant?!?!?!?!" from all of my friends and family, and when I say no, they just look confused. I'm pretty sure I scared the crap out of my husband when I picked up a "What to Expect..." book at Barnes & Noble the other day. I thought he wasn't looking. My bad.

I'm so glad you enjoy the playlists! Nothing puts me in the mood to write like some good tuneage. Butch Walker is a favorite. That boy puts on a show like no other. He's such a kook, and so full of energy, as you can tell if you happened to watch his "Tiny Dancer" performance. I went to his show in Chicago, and if he makes a stop in Dallas any time soon, I am THERE.

Okay, I need to get off the computer because I am starving. I tried to curb my hunger with a lollipop, and now I'm just chewing on a stick. Do they say it's bad to eat so late in the day? I don't follow rules!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 11:34 pm Title: Insecurity, Fear, and Other Unspoken Emotions

Aww, cute end to the dream. Yay! And too bad about Karen, too. I can't wait for another update - and, if I may make a request, can we have a Jim teaching scene/focus??? Those have got to be my favorite! Hopefully Pam will find away to become a teacher somehow - maybe student teach with Jim? Or at least get the art teacher job?

Okay, I'll stop being annoying - anyway, great job and I love this story!

Author's Response: Oh hush, pamelamorganhalpert, you could never be annoying. It delights me to have such a devoted reader, and it always brightens my day when I come across one of your kind reviews. Thank you, thank you, thank you for continuing to read. I just caught your Illinoise review, and I'm working on getting that zip file for you. I just have to figure out what hard drive it's on, because I've been taking care of some early spring cleaning on my laptop and desktop and things are all sorts of lost. I was freaking out earlier today because I couldn't find any of my pictures. And I have a LOT of pictures from over the years. I almost cried. But then I found them. Yay!

I'm debating Pam's future as a teacher, because while I love that idea, I'm wondering if it will be feasible with a newborn at home. Jim and Pam's parents live over an hour away, and there won't be anyone at home to care for their little one. (Although a fun spin-off entitled Molly the Nanny has crossed my mind. I'm thinking of submitting the idea to Pixar. Haha.) Teaching Jim has been a popular request, so I definitely promise to bring him back. I'm a Literature nut, so those classroom scenes are always fun to write.

Thank you so much for continuing to review. Please don't stop! I always love to hear what you have to say. Have a great weekend.

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 11:09 pm Title: Everything is Peachy Keen, Jelly Bean

Okay, I know I didn't review much on the other two stories, but I just felt compelled to here. This was adorable, and I love how Pam was so emotional about choosing Modestly Peach over Watermelon Pink for the walls. Hilarious! And I loved the doctor, all of your supporting character are incredibly realistic for the smaller parts they play in this story. Great job! Now to continue... P.S. thanks for all your updates recently. They inspired me to begin reading Indie Rock and Keds! (and I'm so glad I did...)

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 10:51 pm Title: This road that is narrow is the one we should follow

Oh my goodness, I think this is the best chapter EVER! Oh fuck, excuse me, did I just say that??? I loved the whole swearing at the grocery store thing, I was cracking up the entire time - I almost dropped my computer a few times there, too. And the baby, I just knew it was going to be a card saying Pam was pregnant, but it made me squee all the more reading in suspense when I knew what was going to happen. Great job on this chapter - and all of them, really. They're always so fun to read, great job!

P.S. - I keep meaning to say (as I've been reading first Indie Rock & Keds, then Come On, Feel the Illinoise, and now I Heart Pickles one after another this week) I love your pen name, so cute. I just loved that scene at the ice skating place when Michael opens up the cologne set.

I'll shut the (hell - oh my god, she just swore!) up now. :)

Reviewer: albie_ Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 06:31 pm Title: Insecurity, Fear, and Other Unspoken Emotions

::waves and bounces in your general direction::

 

Do you remember me? I remember you! And I've missed you and your music and your Pam and Jim so!

 

Some time during the latter half of "Come'on, Feel the Illinoise", life took over for me in a none too pleasant way and I had no mind or time to read. When i finally did catch up, I felt weirdly out of the loop and guilty and no idea what else. I didn't start this story because you hadn't updated in a bit and I was sad thinking you'd left during my absence. And then an update the other day left me all excited and nostalgic and I've reread the first two parts of this series and relistened to playlists and loved it all over again. 

 

So now I get to start reviewing your stories again and I'm dorkily excited for that. Firstly, coincidentally, "Blue Skies" has been on repeat for me these last couples of days , so seeing it on your playlist was just fantastic. Secondly, I do like what you're doing here. For every story, I always appreciated how you dealt with the normal ups and downs of life, from work, to friendships, to love, to the views we have of ourselves. These are the questions we all face again and again and I like how you address them. And Pam's in a bad place, work-wise. Even if she found a great new job, that belly shot is gonna kill her during the interview. Who wants to hire someone who will be leaving to have a baby very soon? Will anyone? I guess only chapters will tell. 

I also appreciated the talk between Pam and Jim about her anxiety dream, after losing something she felt was so solid, I can see how she feels like something else even more solid could slip away like a dream. I look forward to where this will all go next. 

Finally, a big welcome back to you, a lame apology for my abuse of exclamation marks in this review(as well as my dorkiness), and happy bday to the hubby!



Author's Response: ::jumps up and down and squeals and excitement::

::nearly sends laptop crashing to the floor::

Hi, albie! I've missed you! Aw, I am elated and touched to hear that you're still reading along, keeping up with this story. Honestly, this excites me to no end. You have no idea.

I've been sipping the leftover wine from the hubby's birthday, so I apologize for my reply in advance, because I'm not sure much of it will make sense. I hope things have improved for the better on your end, and that your year has gotten off to a marvelous start. It's hard to believe we're already reaching the end of February. These days go by much too fast.

How fantastic are Noah & the Whale? They're a recent discovery of mine, and I can't believe I hadn't heard of them sooner. I'm glad you're enjoying this story despite it's somewhat rocky start. This installment took awhile to reach it's footing, but I feel like it's finally right where I want it to be. I promise it will all get better for Pam. I have several different directions I've thought of taking her, career-wise, I just need to settle on one. I feel like I'm literally inside of her head, dealing with all of these boggling issues myself. It's required quite a bit of research, and I've learned that aspiring illustrators have it unfortunately rough. Poor girl.

The anxiety dream. Oh, how I debated leaving it in there given the slight corniness factor. I've been through a similar situation, losing a job I always figured to be permanent, and I would dwell on the "what ifs", and wonder if everything else in my life could slip away just as easy. Jim's already established that he's in this for the long run. He isn't going anywhere, and even though she's well aware of that fact, Pam really needs to hear it every once in awhile. Especially during such trying times.

Thank you so much for continuing to read, and for such a humbling review. I'm so glad to hear that you're still enjoying this story, as much as I continue to enjoy writing it. Have a wonderful weekend!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2010 09:13 am Title: Insecurity, Fear, and Other Unspoken Emotions

Your husband is soooo selfish, having a birthday rght when you got back in to the spirit of things, mmhmm let me him know what I think ;)

And ahhh this was so good babes, like for real. I love the dreams Pam's beenhaving, and how she is subconciously worrying about things and that she told Jim about it... guh. Just perfect.

I still say we need some semi naked DIY... help a girl out lol

Author's Response: Hmm, maybe semi-naked DIY Jim can make an appearance when it comes time to assemble the crib. I'll certainly consider it. Or leave you to dwell on that thought until that particular chapter comes to fruition. Haha.

My husband's birthday was on Friday, and we celebrated and proceeded to fight for our right to parrrrty, and then my poor husband was called into work on Saturday, leaving me home alone with my scary, scary thoughts where, as luck would have it, another chapter was born. I hope you enjoy Chapter 11! I can't promise semi-naked Jim or Teacher Jim just yet, but we still have a few more chapters to get there. I promise. For such a dedicated reader, I have no choice but to grant your wishes. Would there be a third wish in the bank, perhaps? ;)

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2010 11:20 am Title: Felt Like Smashing My Head Through a Clear Glass Window

OH NO!!They'll be ok, though! More, more, more!

Author's Response: It will be okay. Have faith!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans