Reviews For Never the Bride
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: January 12, 2010 05:49 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh Kelly.Your sister... aww. This wouldn't be what I expected in terms of her always wanting to be a bridesmaid, but I can see it in a way, and besides, it gives Kelly depth, which I like.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: June 15, 2009 11:29 am Title: Chapter 1

So poignant, and so much more sensitive than our on-screen Kelly has ever been. I like it very, very much. My favorite throw-away detail is that she thinks of her mother as "styling" her, as opposed to dressing her. That's hilarious and spot-on.

Reviewer: sachiel Signed [Report This]
Date: June 14, 2009 10:05 am Title: Chapter 1

I liked how you gave Kelly some nice depth, without abandoning her bubbly personality, in a such a short story. So much to take away without it being too blunt or overt. Very nice story.

Reviewer: katiej Signed [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2009 08:01 am Title: Chapter 1

wow. I have chills. I was not expecting that, but wow.This is so plausible, possible and real and gives Kelly such depth. awesome job.

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you liked it. :) I love doing something different with Kelly.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2009 08:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my. This hits me right in the grief bone, carbondalien. What a terrifically sad back story for the otherwise bubbly Miss Kapoor. Excellent job, as always.

Author's Response: I was hoping for the 'heart in a bucket of boiling tears' effect but I can go for the grief bone. ;) I'm like a dog that goes for the ankles... except... I'm a fic writer who goes for the grief bone. (It's late. I need sleep.) I am very glad you liked it, and thanks for reviewing. :)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2009 06:48 pm Title: Chapter 1

I like this very much.  I think it's very in character.  I sense a melancholy in Kelly that you've captured nicely.  I especially liked this passage:

She lets her hands fall to her sides and sits up. She just wants one chance. She just wants the chance to help with make-up, help with flowers, do something nice for someone else. She knows what people think of her. Selfish, stupid, and other mean S words that she won't repeat.

Two typos ... "she can't BEAR to look at herself..." and "hiding place it's had..."



Author's Response: First, thanks for catching those. I re-read this about a million times, so I feel silly for letting them slip through. Secondly, thank you muchly. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: SlumDunder Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2009 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is great, it humanizes Kelly in a really interesting way. Excellent.

Author's Response: Thank you. :) I love putting a different side of Kelly out there.

Reviewer: stjoespirit04 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2009 03:13 pm Title: Chapter 1

That is... not at all what I expected it was going to be.

Beautifully written and heartfelt... Her pretending the wedding happened and her sister was still going to be coming home? Heartbreaking. Hoping that maybe someday she can have the album out and not hiding? Guh... Devastating.

I'm getting married in 15 days and I know that one of my biggest fears is something happening to someone close to me.

Kelly has always been quite the anomaly for me. Good for you for being able to mix tragedy with her quirky, crazy self - its definitely not something I've been able to master!

Author's Response: Thank you. Kelly definitely has the capacity for surprises, which is why I love writing her. There's clues that she knows exactly what she's doing - maybe she's a secret mastermind? haha I don't know if I'd go that far, but ya know. It's fun. Glad you liked this, and thanks for reviewing. :)

Reviewer: Little Comment Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2009 02:31 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my. That was outstanding. Just wonderful. You gave Kelly real heart and soul, which is something so many of us (myself included), never remember to do, and it was so genuine.

Loved it, Ms. alien. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you very much. :) I like to get into Kelly's head and explore all the different parts of her personality. Ever since that little wink to the camera in "Boys and Girls," I've been convinced there's more going on in her head than she lets on, so sometimes I like (love) to explore that. Thanks for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans