Reviews For Drunken Sailor
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2010 07:02 pm Title: Chapter 1

wow, that was super angst. I just re-watched Booze Cruise recently, and I think you definitely hit the 'nail on the head' so to speak, with Jim's actions here. Very well done here, I really felt the emotions as I read.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 24, 2010 10:09 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Just...wow. That was horrible. I mean that in the most complimentary way!! You got that horrible, gut-churning, tense, sick feeling down just right. Pam's mix of uncertain joy and angsty panic feels amazingly real, and that ending...killer. I sort of miss those angsty days, don't you? If nothing else, they were awesome fodder for fic. Love this.

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2010 12:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ouch.  :(

Oh alright.  I'll say something more. :)  This was extremely realistic and heart wrenching.  Amazing job.  It felt like someone kicked me in the stomach.

I mean that in a good way.

Now go tell me what Jilly is doing.

kthxbi

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 05:43 pm Title: Chapter 1

Awesome job, LF.  I love when an episode is expanded in fic, so we know "the rest of the story."  I really believe this was Jim's lowest moment with Pam, because unlike CN, where he could leave quickly and grieve privately, here he was trapped on the boat with an unwanted companion, forced to watch, nay, even toast Pam and Roy's happiness.  

Ok, enough sadness.  Back to the Maid of the Mist.  :)

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 04:55 pm Title: Chapter 1

oww.. please oh please et this have a second part!!
this makes me wanna hold jim.... well more than usual

Author's Response: hahaha, more than usual huh? lol. Join the club, lady.  I'm glad you liked this. I'm pretty sure it's finished though. Unless some brainstorm comes my way. :-)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 03:50 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ohhh season two angst is the best kind :)

Author's Response: I do prefer them together and happy, but revisiting season 2 once in awhile ain't half bad.  Thanks so much for the review Hannah! I'm really glad you liked it!

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 08:13 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow, way to have a bunch of good fic all in one weekend! Loved this. The S2 angst is always fun to revisit now that it's over, and you made me want to go give poor Jim a hug and tell him to just be patient, he's waiting for his wife, no matter how bleak it seems right now. The unanswered text was a particularly fitting piece of ouch. Good job, my dear.

Author's Response: Man, Jim has a whole line of people waiting to hug him! lol.  I'm so glad you enjoyed this Calisto...I too wish I could tell him the future and let him know what's ahead for him! :-)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 06:54 am Title: Chapter 1

OK, first off?  I have song stuck in my head now...what do you do with a drunken sailor...so thanks for that ; )  Now that that's out of the way, this was fantastic, lovefool.  I don't know what it is that's bringing on the angst lately, but I'm really enjoying it.  I'm sure it's because all is well now.  Great scenario, so vivid that I could clearly picture it happening.  Pam's speech patterns were particularly good.  If I had to single out one passage that I liked best, it would be this:  She was going to hold on to this feeling as long as she possibly could.  Happiness sometimes was just far too fleeting.   How true!  Fine job, as always. 

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Nag. I'm so glad you liked this and that this rang true for you.  I think Pam has pretty distinctive speech patterns - especially Season 2 Pam, where Jenna seemed to play her a bit more haltingly. I'm glad it all worked for ya!

Reviewer: kam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 22, 2010 04:22 am Title: Chapter 1

I usually just love the good JAM stuff because it makes me so sad to think of Jim hurting that much. But you write so well that this time it just makes me appreciate where they're at now. Is it weird that my birthday is a few days away, but I'm more excited for March 4th? Yea, that's weird, I know. :)

Author's Response: No, not weird at all  - it is only because my birthday's in the summer, that I don't feel exactly the same way. lol. Thanks so much for this review! I don't often like to read angsty things from season 2 either, so I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 08:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

*sniff sniff* So sad! This made me want to watch this "Booze Cruise" again and then go straight to "Niagara".

You did such a wonderful job in writing Jim's pain without explicitly writing it out. Does that make sense?

And that part about Pam texting him saying sorry. It's as if she knew but didn't really understand. Now, I'm off to YouTube to find happy JAM clips ;o)

Author's Response: You're absolutely right...she knew, but didn't really understand.  I think maybe a PART of her knew she was saying "sorry" for her engagement, but more than that - on the surface it was just a "sorry" you broke up with your girlfriend tonight.  I'm glad you thought Jim's pain was obvious without going into depth. I wrote it from Pam's POV, so I'm so glad that seeing him through her eyes still showed what he was going through. Thanks so much bkwrm!

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 08:25 pm Title: Chapter 1

Poor Jim. So good, as always LF!

Author's Response: Thanks!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: PeanutGallery Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 08:15 pm Title: Chapter 1

Let me get this out of the way first: I demand a sequel! :)

There, said it. :) Now for the actual review: I really like this. This hurts, but it hurts so good. Poor Jim! I keep flashing back to that look in his eyes on the deck during the 17 seconds of painful silence. How, how did she not see it?! And poor Pam, too. Supposedly happy day, and yet, as much as she tries, she can't ignore the glaring inadequacy of her happiness. She knows, deep down, that she is settling. And she knows that Jim's supposed attachment to Katie shouldn't bother her. She knows all that. She realizes that this momentous day shouldn't end with her in the bathroom sneaking text messages to someone else other than her husband-to-be. She just can't process it yet.

Sigh, such a good trip down the memory lane. I can especially bask in this hurt from the warm and fuzzy safety of how thing turned out. :)

Thank you!

Author's Response: Oh I love this! I was just nodding as I read through your review...YES, YES, and YES...she shouldn't be doing any of these things. She shouldn't be texting him, but inside she knows...she KNOWS. And her "sorry" wasn't just because he broke up with his girlfriend. ::sigh:: Oh Pam. Oh Jim...How I wish I could tell you your future...Sadly, I can not. ;-)

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 08:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my! Foreshadowing of 'how horrible it would be to not have her best friend anymore'...of painfully unanswered text messages...not to mention all Jim's despair and Pam's clearly unresolved feelings that night. This hurts real good, missy!

Author's Response: Sometimes love don't feel like it should...::boom, boom:: it hurts so good... Oh sorry, I channeled a little diddy there.  I'm glad you enjoyed this Colette, and that the foreshadowing worked for ya!  

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 07:55 pm Title: Chapter 1

"Halpert had a fight with Miss Red Hot?"

Great line - sounded just like Roy. Very nicely done - I can see this playing out in the parking lot after the cruise.  Poor S2 Jim.



Author's Response: Thanks! that was one of my personal faves! Glad you thought it came off as realistic too!

Reviewer: jazzfan Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

Am I bleeding?! Oh my sweet Lord, that was painful. But in such an awesome way, lady. I'm not sure exactly why, but this was the line that really killed me dead: His eyes met hers then. They were glassy. So simple, but it cuts right to the heart. Gawd, the poor man is an open wound.

Booze Cruise is still my favorite episode ever, and as far as I'm concerned, this is now canon.

Author's Response: Ugh, that line did it because seeing Jim cry is TERRIBLE! LOL. I'm so glad you enjoyed this Jazz and that it was a "good hurt" ;-) I love Booze Cruise too...in a terrible kind of way. lol

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 06:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ouch.  You're right, this isn't like you-- but it's kind of fun to wallow a bit now that we know that Jim doesn't need a pat on the head for getting Pam's jacket, and you can bet your ass he didn't forget an anniversary.



Author's Response: Damn skippy!  You can bet your ass Jim never forgot an anniversary and always remembers her jacket...or at least doesn't need a cookie for getting it.  Thanks for reading Miss Hoo.

Reviewer: yanana Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2010 06:29 pm Title: Chapter 1

Damn, angst.

Poor Jim, imagine the night he had post-Booze Cruise. S2 Jim needs a giant hug from his future post-the Job self.

I do love all of the season two fic lately. Brings back the hurt, which is a nice prep for all the good things coming from our favorite couple. Not gonna lie, though, my initial reaction to the last line was, "oh em gee, did he die in a fiery wreck without a DD?" ::rolls eyes::

Great job as always. So excited to see an update from you, colette and jazzfan all on the same day.

Author's Response: LOL. No ma'am he didn't die...he just never texted her back. lol.  Thanks so much for your kinds words Yanana. I'm glad dipping my toe in the angsty waters was well received...Now bring on the babies. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans