Reviews For Still Life
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2011 09:06 am Title: Epilogue

I've now read this epilogue for the third time, and I still have that teary eyed smile. I adore this whole thing, and it's a long sigh of relief from the first angsty chapter. I love the image you've painted of Jim as a father, spending time with his daughters and watching sports with them, painting their nails and what not. It's so like Jim to do that with his kids. At least I think so anyway. The part that gets me every time I read this is the part about the high blood pressure and how she'd get upset anytime she thought about him not being around anymore because of it. I also love that you gave them two daughters. I thought they would do that on the show, because I think them having two little girls is the cutest thing for some reason, so I'm glad you took that route. I adored this entire story from beginning to end, and it was such a pleasure working with you on it. You did the hard part, the writing it out. You're such a talented writer and I hope that you continue to share stories with us on a regular basis! :) Thanks for this gem.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you for all the super nice comments throughout :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2011 06:59 am Title: Epilogue

::wild applause::  more_awake, I'm absolutely thrilled that you finished this wonderful story.  Thank you!  And thanks to your cheerleader, Danielle, too :D  This was a lovely wrap-up, a satisfying and sweet conclusion, especially in view of all the delicious angst ;)  I loved picturing these two little girls and their parents--so adorable. 

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! :D I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and I really appreciate all your nice comments throughout :)

Reviewer: OfficeLady Signed [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2011 10:06 pm Title: Epilogue

I really enjoyed your story -- it's nice to know that in your world Jim and Pam are such caring parents -- and still crazy about each other. I like that.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'd like to think that they would be in the future... if they actually existed. hehe

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2011 05:15 pm Title: Epilogue

You have killed me with utter awesomeness. I was so worried you weren't going to finish this, and you did and you did it amazingly. I love how you gave them another little girl.

Thanks for finishing xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much-- especially for saying such nice things throughout. I really, really appreciate it :)

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2011 07:59 pm Title: Perspective

Hey! I just reread your awesome story this weekend and realized that you are not yet complete!

Do you still have plans to give us an epilogue? I'd love to read it!

Author's Response: Thanks for remembering that this story exists. :) I do still plan to write an epilogue but as of yet have no direction for it, which kind of sucks. I hope to have something before school starts up again at the end of August.

Reviewer: TunaEveryNight Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2011 05:01 am Title: Unexpected

OMG, I was so happy to see this story updated. I remember reading this months ago and I was SO hooked. You write these characters so clearly and so realistically; your story was such a joy to read! I love the conflicting emotions about this new pregnancy and I love the way you wrapped this chapter. How's Pam's instinctive need to protect her child is what suddenly made everything so real for her. What a beautiful story. Can't wait for the epilogue.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this nice little comment :) I'm a little (okay, a lot) stuck on an epilogue because I want to make sure it goes well with the rest of the story, but I definitely plan to write it.

Reviewer: jinx Signed 7 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2011 08:17 pm Title: Perspective

Well done more_awake. I like the way you resolved Pam's angst about the new baby as a reaction to Ryan's insensitive comment.

Author's Response: Thanks! I didn't want to drag it out much longer, but I had a hard time thinking of a way to wrap this up. Glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: lisahoo Signed [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2011 10:47 am Title: Perspective

Great job, MA.  This is exactly why Pam & Jim having another kid could be interesting and funny and a great story arc if the writers decide to write in Jenna's pregnancy.  SO many families have multiple children and you have to figure out how to be pregnant AGAIN and take care of a little one at the same time.

Author's Response: Yes! I agree. I really hope they write it in and give us a little work-life balance storyline at some point. Thanks for the comment!! :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 18, 2011 06:34 am Title: Perspective

So pleased that you continued this lovely story, more_awake!  The thing I think I like most about this is the united front that Jim and Pam ultimately present.  They're in this together, forever.  I also enjoy the range of emotions that Pam goes through.  I look forward to the epilogue and can't wait to read it from the beginning.  Excellent job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's taken me more than a year to get this far, so I always worry that people will have lost interest or forgotten. So, thanks for sticking with me :) Hopefully it won't take me 900 years again to post the epilogue. hehe

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 07:54 pm Title: Perspective

I am so glad you came back. I reread the whole think and just loved it. Pam's reaction and emotions are so realistic and heartfelt. I especially loved how she wanted to kill Ryan for what he said. Thank you again for this. I'm looking forward to the epilogue.

Author's Response: When I sent this to Danielle to beta-read, my fear was that it was too sudden of a change of heart for her, so I'm so glad to hear that it came off as believable. Thank you so much for the feedback and for remembering/sticking with this story :)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 06:24 pm Title: Perspective

Is it sad that there are three of us vying for the slowest writer crown?

BTW, forgot to mention that I love our portrayal of Pam's guilt.  I think it's very realistic that, in her present state, she'd feel like the coworkers' reactions are payback for her lack of excitement about the baby.  The emotions in this story ring true.



Author's Response: Haha I'm just glad I'm not the only one. Some writers here can just bust out awesome stuff so quickly, and here I am taking more than a year to write five chapters. (Thanks for this second comment, too :))

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 06:18 pm Title: Perspective

Nope, you are not the world's slowest writer; not even the slowest MTT writer.  I'm afraid I have that dubious honor.

This was definitely worth the wait!  I really like Pam's interior monologue throughout.  And I love the little details that help Pam to snap her priorities into focus:  Ryan's little backhanded insult making her protective, Jim's wanting another girl making this baby seem more real, Cece's wanting mommy making Pam feel successful at motherhood.  Nice details.



Author's Response: Hehe :P Thank you very much! I tried to come up with little ways that would make her change of heart seem organic rather than rushed, so I'm glad it came across well. :)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 04:35 pm Title: Perspective

I loved loved loved this. I forgot how much I enjoyed this story, and was looking forward to it being updated. Definitely not disappointed :)

P.S You're not the worlds slowest writer, that's me, don't try and steal my crown LOL.

Author's Response: Thank you! I worry that being a slow writer might make people lose interest, so I really appreciate that you remembered it and still care enough to read it. And YAY for slow writers! haha I'm glad I'm not the only one.

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 04:31 pm Title: Perspective

I love this chapter for soo many reasons! It follows the previous one so well. I really can feel the way she feels, you're so great with description and details. My favorite thing about this is like I said, I love how the moment from work that makes her angriest is what makes her realize that she's okay with baby number two. And I also found it so good that Jim just held her by the car and didn't say any words or try to make jokes he just let her cry it out. Sometimes we just need to cry it out. I really love your writing and I look forward to the epilogue and many other stories that you write!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Danielle. Seriously, I'm so thankful that I've had you to look over all of this over the last year. I'm not a particularly confident writer, so it's really helped to have someone look over it, make suggestions/corrections, and okay it before I post. I'm glad you liked this chapter. It means a lot :)

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2011 04:05 pm Title: Perspective

So glad you didn't forget about this story. Nice twist there, having her worst moment become the thing that makes her find the happiness in the situation!

This bit made me laugh because yes, so true:

You might as well get used to it because in the coming months, your husband is going to get a nice congratulatory pat on the back from all of male civilization for this one— as if this was all his doing and you just passively laid there as he got you pregnant for the second time in barely over a year.

Whatever.


Brava. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a hard time thinking of a way to resolve everything, so I'm glad you liked the way it ended up :) And yes. It's funny how that works (at least when it isn't too obnoxious, haha). My cousin and his wife recently had twins, and one of his buddies bought him a shirt that said something like, "Father of Twins: Twice the Man." When my other cousin (his sister) saw it, she said to him, "You know you had nothing to do with the fact that they're twins, right? They're fraternal. That was all your wife." He tried to play it off like, "Yeah, whatever," but it was pretty funny.

Reviewer: Oldleaf Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2011 02:22 pm Title: Monday

I hope you're still planning on continuing this! I love it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I definitely am. I just have the tendency to get stuck. I've got a project due for school tomorrow, so I'm hoping to have time after that to just sit, think things through, and write for a while. The first half is written, though. :)

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2011 11:18 pm Title: Unexpected

Man you nailed the office reactions here!  If I were Pam I would definitely want to get the heck out of there too!  Bring on the next chapter! :-)

Reviewer: MilkandSugar Anonymous 10 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2011 09:23 pm Title: Monday

Pssh, I know what you mean about feeling like a terrible writer. You have the ideas but trying to flesh them out can be a real struggle.

But honestly, I'd wait a long time to keep getting chapters of this quality. I can literally feel Pam's nausea and Jim's anxiety. While I've never been pregnant myself, I still know that pregnancy isn't always this glowing, amazing experience. It's tough and makes you feel like crap (especially if you're uncertain about the whole having a baby thing anyway) and I think you've captured that perfectly without it bordering on melodrama or too much angst. Well deserving of the blue ribbon!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2011 05:35 pm Title: Monday

I'm really enjoying this. I love the details you include. The reactions at work are perfect. Love the close!

Reviewer: perfect_match Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2011 09:34 am Title: Monday

I cannot begin to tell you how far I am sucked into this story. It is amazingly well written and so in character, it may be one of the best stories I've read here. I can hear each voice in my head as they figure out that Pam's pregnant. I'm going to be looking out for an update every day until it's posted.

Reviewer: Dedeen Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2011 08:48 am Title: Monday

This is turning out to be sooo sweet but so sad.... I love angst and this is just what the Doctor prescribed! LOl... Update ASAP... there's no break for you Lady... The only break you get is on Thursdays from 9-9:30 PM....

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2011 05:24 am Title: Monday

Congrats on the blue ribbon, so well deserved! I haven't been around these parts lately, so please forgive me for the lateness in reviewing. This chapter came out perfectly! I'm really blown away by how spot on your characterization is and how seamless this story is. Lovely, well written and totally in character - what more could I ask for? I look forward to more!

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2011 12:36 pm Title: Unexpected

So good! I love how real this one feel to me. Some bad feelings just come to surface when something like this happens. You are still showing their love and care for each other while having to deal with the hard stuff.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2011 11:29 am Title: Monday

What a thrill to see an update to this, more_awake! Your characterizations are excellent IMHO, and this chap runs the gamut of emotions--just like a pregnancy.  I suspect you're your own worst critic.  I hope you can see your way to another update really soon, because I love this story and I'm really greedy :D

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2011 02:21 am Title: Monday

You SO deserve that blue ribbon, this isamazing. I have nothing constructive to say, but thanks for updating and I hope you have something new for us soon. You are super talented and I love this!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans