You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Labhub Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2011 05:07 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

This is one of the first stories I read when I discovered this site and this remains one of my all time favorites. Well-paced, vivid imagery (even without the photos at the end), and very believable. Overall, a great introduction to fan fiction. Indeed, this is the first story I ever showed my wife and she not only loved it, it made her cry (in a good way).

Author's Response:

Thank you so very much, Labhub,/b>!

There are so many great writers who've posted at this site ... I remember that excitement of finding positively riveting, well crafted stories that just sucked me in. I feel really privileged that you feel like my writing did that for you! Thank you for taking the time to come back to the story later and leave a review. Made my day!

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: March 04, 2011 12:29 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

What a treat to find this one again complete with pictures. I couldn't be happier that this one was brought to our attention. Each picture is perfect. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking a minute to comment on the pictures, kh! I thought they were all pretty dang cute presents!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2011 09:51 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Guh, I forgot how much I loved this story. I wish you wrote more :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I do wish I felt inspired more often to write. I'm pretty impressed with some of the plotlines that are being developed right now. Maybe the muse will stop at my house!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2011 01:01 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Just read this again--start to finish.  *sigh*  So wonderful <3

Author's Response:

The best kind of birthday gift ... one from the heart that never wears out! I'm so glad you're still getting pleasure out of it. :-)

-A

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2011 02:39 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

This story is so truly beautiful! I just love the way you had things happen. It was so neat that even as Jim was contemplating leaving he was planning out the perfect birthday for Pam and also leaving a piece of himself behind so he wouldn't be forgotten. It's just beautiful how Pam has all the pieces and slowly puts the puzzle of their lives together herself. She can see the thought and care and love and the time that Jim put in to making her day so special with the hand picked flowers and gift picked out specifically because they have meaning to her She is able compare them to Roy's flashier, showier flowers that she originally though were full of meaning only to find out that they had no meaning at all and his gift that he was SO proud of himself for getting her but se was able to see it for what it was, Roy simply didn't know, or care enough to get her a gift. He probably didn't want to bother with the time picking the perfect gift would take. Then there is the lunch and dinner I'm sure she compared... Jim's lunch at a place hey love, partly because of the time they get to spen together just on the drive, and taking the time ahead of time to get them to order the turtle cheesecake (mmmmmm makes me hungry!) and also to have them set up 'their booth. then there was Roy's dinner at the flashy expensive resaurant where they were uncomfortable. I'm sure she HAD to have spent a lot of time thinking about those meals and the time she and Jim spent laughing and having such a great time compared to that stuffy uncomfortable feeling. One guy was quietly showing his love, expecting nothing in return while the other was just flashing money without thought and really expecting a lot of praise in the end.

Again... so beautiful, well thought out and such a perfect way to bring them together. Jim doing his thing, giving Pam the pieces to the puzzle and Pam taking the time to examine her life and the meaning of it all. OH yeah, and the fact that Pam had knit Jim that beautiful sweater and was then afraid to give it to him, absolutely perfect touch. I think examining that was probably the last piece to the puzzle for Pam.

You realy do put put beautiful stories that I really love reaing so much! Thank you for sharing your skills as an author with us!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for spending so much time writing the detailed reviews that you leave. It is VERY cool to have someone get this excited about your writing!

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: August 20, 2010 09:22 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

I have been reading fic sporadically lately due to RL stuff, so I'm so glad you linked this on the boards for me to find.  What a great job.  Nothing better than some good S2 angst with a happy ending.  :)

Love all the care Jim took arranging everything on her desk before she arrived, and how in similar fashion, Pam takes the time on her appearance before she presents herself at his place.

And all I can say about the possibility of seeing JK in a woolly fisherman's sweater is "hell yeah!"

 



Author's Response: Well, it HAS been a while if you haven't seen this! This was from NanReg's surprise birthday party on May 1st. You should check out the other stories in the series. We had some FINE authors come out of retirement to contribute stories! I hope the RL stuff that's keeping you busy is all for the good. Thanks for taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: jslasb Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2010 11:42 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Oh how I heart you, VB. This story is made of awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks!  <3

Reviewer: yanana Signed [Report This]
Date: May 06, 2010 09:47 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Turned out great! Thanks for writing this AND for coming up with this idea, of course. :)

Author's Response: Thanks and you're welcome!

Reviewer: AtTheStars455 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2010 02:12 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

What an amazing story - there are so many small details and fine touches that just make this perfect; it's too hard to pick out any in particular, because I'd end up quoting the whole story! I loved everything about it. One of the best stories I've ever read.

Author's Response: Wow.  That is really nice of you to say!  I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2010 07:35 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Sorry it's taken so long to review. I've tried to read it about 8 times, but get interrupted or don't have enough time to read it all so I keep coming back to it. FINALLY I have enough time to read and review.

I love Season 2 fic, especially now that all the angst is over. I enjoy reading all the different ways they could have been brought together, since it could only happen once on the show.
Maggie is something else... slipping Jim another girl's phone number; saying she doesn't deserve him. HA! Touching story about the sweater and Pam knitting it for him. It seems a Pam thing to do, make something and hide it away. Jim sinking into the couch to wrap his mind around the letter would be an automatic response for him, I think.

Wonderful story, as always Ann! You're such an amazing person for setting this up for Nancy, cause she really does deserve this. I'm glad I was one of the few to know early, since it helped me through my lack of fic frustration and gave me something to look forward to ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for going back the 8 times till you got to read it through!  And thank you for leaving such a detailed review!  I'm glad those details rang true to you.

Reviewer: dmbd Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2010 10:15 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

awww a love it love it love it..how attentive was jim and the picking flowers make me wanna watch cafe disco again just to see jim doing it.=)and pams letter..i've never seen a letter so long but still i didnt want it to end. its so obvious if someone does that for u means hes totally in love with u oh pam xD
it was so thoughtful from all of u doing this for nanreg.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2010 07:15 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

I never have adequate words to tell you how deep your stories touch me.  I always feel like an intruder in their quiet and intimate moments when you write.  Thank you once again for blowing me out of the water with this one. 

Author's Response: KH!  Thanks so much for this:  I always feel like an intruder in their quiet and intimate moments when you write.  That is just an amazing thing to read.  It makes me feel like I really succeeded in painting the picture that I wanted to.  Thanks a lot!!!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 11:17 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Oh my god. Vampiric Blood, are you capable of writing anything less than perfect, heartbreaking yet beautiful and wonderful, and well, just amazing? I think not. That was just fantastic. And in honor of NagReg I was going to copy and paste bits of the story in here, but really, I'd be copying the whole entire thing. Especially that letter. It was amazing! I loved this so much. Thank you for writing this and thank you for organizing this series!

Author's Response: Wow.  You have me blushing here!  Thank you so much for your INCREDIBLY kind words!

Reviewer: bkwrm Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 10:05 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

This is simply wonderful. I love the way you write Jim and his attentiveness towards Pam, his thoughts (especially those very guy thoughts) and basically just how much he loves her!

Also love the fact that it starts out as Pam's birthday but ended up to be sort of Jim's birthday too. I mean, his wish comes true!! Of course, we can't forget the letter from Pam which is probably my favorite part (among many) of the story.

Thank you so much for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you!  Thank you!  Yep, it's definitely Jim's birthday in there, too!  I'm truly surprised that Pam's letter is such a big hit.  I was pretty nervous about that part of the story.  Well, I'm glad you enjoyed it!  :-)

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 08:17 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

:::sigh::: Oh man I love this. 

First of all, thanks so much for organizing this awesome gift for Nancy, which is turning into a gift for all of us.  

Secondly, what a lovely lovely read this was.  It took me right back to season 2 and I didn't know until the letter that you were going to end things the way you did, so I sat here feeling all angsty and sad, and then you did THAT.  Fabulous letter. Fabulous voices.  Great job.



Author's Response: LoveFool, I'm so excited to find out that I actually maintained the suspense almost to the end for you! I thought I was telegraphing the ending in the middle there when I said Jim was waiting for February 3rd. AND I was afraid the letter was too long ... but I couldn't find any sections I was willing to cut. So thanks for the feedback. I'm really glad those things worked for you!

Reviewer: Mr Bill Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 04:05 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Vampiric Blood:  So, so good!  The way you wove so much of those very things we've seen from Jim and Pam's story into something new  just kept me riveted. 

And let me just add, thanks so much for the opportunity for me and all the others to help contribute to Nan's special day...it's been fun.



Author's Response: Thanks, Mr Bill! You really made me smile with that one ... RIVETED! Wow. I have been so swamped, trying to catch up with things since last weekend. I keep putting your story off because it is so EPIC! 12,000+ WORDS! I'm looking forward to digging in, though! Thanks for participating!

Reviewer: Blind Assassin Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 10:02 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

VB - this story is made of win!

I love it. I love it up one side and down the other.

This line especially: "The fabric would slide down over her hips and pool at her feet and she’d look like that goddamn Birth of Venus painting. Except better. Because she was Pam."

I can really imagine Jim thinking that.

Really great job. Shucks...I just love your writing. :) BAx

Author's Response: Thanks, BA! Every one of us should have a guy who looks at us that way, don't you think? I'm really glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Katie J Signed [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2010 05:57 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

I'm not quite sure I can put into words quite how awesome I found this fic. Ugh, the angst... I swear I felt like a part of me was dying with Jim during some of these passages. When Maggie was telling Pam about Jim buying the cheesecake and how great Roy must be for her to be passing up on him, I actually started to tear up - frustrated with Pam, feeling so bad for Jim. Everything he does for her, and always with no reward.

There are so many perfect details - from the fact he picked her favourite painting and knows her favourite movie without asking her, to him mentally undressing her when she turns up looking so nice, to the story with the fisherman knit sweater and Pam making it because she loves him, and yet still not realising she loves him (I think something totally in character for her. Not only that but then not even wanting to give him it because he might get the wrong impression, seems to imply that perhaps subconsciously she knew exactly what it meant.)

Must read again once I have worked my way through the rest of this fanfic you've so wonderfully arranged for Nancy. :)

Author's Response: Hi, Katie J! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! I'm really glad to see you enjoyed the story. I'll be looking forward to seeing YOUR take on Jim's gift-giving dilemma!

Reviewer: MilkandSugar Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 09:19 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Aw VB this whole epic oneshot is just wonderful. The beautiful lead up, the little moments where it all starts to fall into place for Pam, and then she's so unbelievably endearing when she's upset at Jim's place. As if he'd ever say no to her! Lovely :)

I just want to reiterate how amazing you are for organising all of this. I know it's all for Nancy (and I think she was VERY happy because of it!) but it's been great to see the archive come alive again and it's made everyone so happy to see so many fics all at once. So thank you again!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the story! I have also really enjoyed watching the archive spark back to life! Yay Nancy for being our inspiration!

Reviewer: blue_eyed_shaz Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 08:46 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Love this so much! Perfect Jim!
I love how he want to buy things for her but can't. So sweet!

Author's Response: Thank you! I always felt Jim had to be very frustrated because he wasn't able to shower Pam with the affection and attention that he wanted. I enjoyed giving him that opportunity. Glad you like it!

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 07:45 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

This was absolutley gorgeous.  I loved that you turned it around and had Pam come to her senses.  You also did very well with Jim's inner monologue.  But with all the beautiful things you wrote, this line stands out as the best:

"As he walked behind her, he frantically tried to rearrange himself so it wouldn’t be so obvious that he was fucking her brains out in his head."

Now that line is a keeper! 

Thanks again for being the mastermind behind this Birthday series.  I think it's been an exciting day for all of us here at MTT!  Kudos.



Author's Response: Thank you! I kind of got a kick out of that line, too! As for the birthday series ... I am just so tickled at the tremendous response it's gotten, both in terms of the fabulous fics that were contributed for Nancy and the responses. 300 reviews so far! And there are still a few more stories that should be in the pipeline!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 03:42 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

Thank God we have free health care here, because you have just given me a freaking heart attack. That was just - I totally had a different ending in my head, so when I saw what you'd actually done, I squealed. That was SO beautiful.

I love fics from this time frame, it makes me so happy to see how far they've come now, you know?

I am sooo picturing Jim in my mind wearing that aweater - and IT'S HOT!!!

Loved this, and I forgot how much I LOVED your writing!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll have to shoot me an email and let me know what was the ending you had in YOUR head.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 01:57 pm Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

VB, you are a rockstar. I know you get busy at work, and this must have taken you so long to write. Let me assure you that I enjoyed every word. What a great idea for a fic! How brilliant to mention Groundhog Day! It fits so perfectly. (TWSS--couldn't resist) There are so many good things about this story. First off--lilacs and lily of the valley ("my" flower, as I'm sure you know)--I'm in heaven. I can just smell them! The image of Jim picking flowers is so touching (*sigh* Cafe Disco). Maggie is a great character. Nice touch having her slip Jim a phone number. Green-eyed monster, your name is Pam :D And the sweater story? Tell me that happened to someone you know, because it's too real to just dream up.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for spending so much time on this effort. I'm having trouble right now thinking of a gift that was ever better (other than Matt, maybe) ; ) xo

Author's Response: You are VERY welcome, my friend! This was so much fun to organize. I was like a little fangirl, squealing every time I got a positive response from another great writer. And it was so nice to see how excited everyone was to do something for YOU, since you are always so supportive of us.

Reviewer: pam_beesly Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 10:47 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

This is the best JAM fic I've read in a long, long time. Thank you so much for writing it, Vampiric Blood!! There are no words to describe how perfect it is.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was fun to get the creative juices going again.

Reviewer: andtheivy Signed [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2010 10:46 am Title: Happy Birthday, Beesly!

I would have pretty much paid to have seen this go down on screen. So sweet! I love the risks they both took. And go Maggie.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked Maggie. I wasn't quite sure I got her right.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans