You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2018 08:43 pm Title: Why can't we give love one more chance?

I’ve read this through probably 3 or 4 times in the last month, that’s how good it is. Ugh, I just love it. You captured them so incredibly perfectly, with so much depth and emotion. Bravo.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2018 05:58 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

Lovely!

Reviewer: TheCelticOne Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2018 09:16 pm Title: Why can't we give love one more chance?

“Party of My So-Called Creek Slayer” or something.

Omigod. I can't.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: August 08, 2017 05:30 pm Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

Such an incredibly sweet, emotive, tenderly detailed story. It has literally taken my breath away. It has filled the hole in their story in my mind as The Truth. Sigh.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2012 02:33 pm Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

Home sick today and decided to reread some good old stuff.  What a beautiful line this is:

She shakes her head and then he knows, and he’s there too, and her dress is blue, and her cheeks are pink, and she is weightless and happy until he hands her the heavy stone of his heart to carry.

Reviewer: OfficeLady Signed [Report This]
Date: August 18, 2011 09:49 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

What a wonderful story you have written. I can't believe I missed it. That's exactly how I imagined their first date would be -- talking and kissing -- spending time together in various situations because they didn't want the night to end. Beautiful!

Reviewer: BluetimesTwo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 22, 2011 03:07 pm Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

I don't know how I missed this before, but dear lord, that was fantastic. I will consider this first date canon for now on!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 06:02 pm Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

What a beautiful ending to a wonderful story! I loved this, with all of the sweet moments and revelations, and the arguments and accusations that were perfectly intertwined. Thanks for giving us a glimpse into your mind's eye - *you kneel* I officially dub you welcomed into the fold of MTT writers by way of this first date story on this 18th day of October, twenty-ten *you rise*. Congratulations!

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 11:58 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

Perfect ending!  We are left with our own imagination as to where they are headed.  Thank you for writing this wonderful story. I will miss it.

Reviewer: Vitamin-D Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 09:37 am Title: Why can't we give love one more chance?

I am giving you a standing ovation right now in front of my computer screen. Bravo and thank you so very much.

Reviewer: kreidy Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 09:15 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

I've been enjoying this story immensely since day one, and the final chapter did not disappoint. I loved the fact that you kept the ending (somewhat) open, and we can come to our own conclusion as to what happened later.
The best thing about this story, however, is the banter and the characterisation, which is spot-on.
Fantastic job, and I'm looking forward to reading more from you.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 06:53 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

After much deliberation, this is my favorite:  He thinks about whispering his whole heart to her...  *sigh*  Makes me all swoony.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 05:13 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

*Dresses in black* Man oh man I'm going to miss this story SO much. It was truly awesome. I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoyed reasing this. It was so different to anything that has been done before, and you have SUCH a way with words (which I suppose helps in your line of work ;))
I'd love to sit here and write a really helpful review, but I have NOTHING useful to say other than how great this was. How real this was. How tis is SO much like I imagined their first date to be.
If you ever feel like writing a second date series, you know - feel free ;)

I'M GOING TO MISS YOU ON A NIGHT LIKE THIS

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 05:04 am Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

Oh, ivy...this is just perfect, a gloriously satisfying ending. You've achieved a delicious combination of romantic and sexy.  I would most definitely be pasting the whole chap into this little box if I were to try to choose a favorite passage.  Well done!  ::wild applause::

 P.S.  Still smiling :D

Reviewer: emhunter24 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2010 12:15 am Title: Why can't we give love one more chance?

all good things must come to an end. I too, could read chapter after chapter of their first date, but this felt like a natural ending. loved the kiss at the door and pam inviting jim in. it's as if their date never really ended and you can leave it up to the reader to decide what happens next. thanks for making this one of my favorite "first date" fics!

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2010 10:39 pm Title: In this dark so dense we talk so soft, the way young lovers do

Ooh! I love the open-ended quality of the ending.  This has been an absolutely delightful ride, ivy.  Never too heavy, not too fluffy, perfectly believable dialogue and details, and terrifically descriptive and well-phrased text throughout.  This has been such a treat to read.  Thank you for sharing with us all.

And what a bonus!  The last chapter of this fic and the first of your next one posted on the same night.



Author's Response: Thank you! I really have a great affection for endings that really aren't. One of my favorite movie endings of recent years has been "Before Sunset." As soon as I decided to make this story more than just a one-shot, the end was the first thing I planned. Thank you for taking this journey with me.

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2010 03:02 pm Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

Well let's just pretend that the gate was locked in night out because of this prank and Dwight went nuts. There ya go. The memories didn't strike me as redundant. Not sure how you did that but huge kudos there. I like how quickly they're into their normal pranking fun. Hope you're planning more stories for us to enjoy as you begin to wrap this one up. PS love your song choice for the title. One of my all time favorites.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2010 06:50 am Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

Oh, Ivy, so, SO many great things in this chapter I hardly know where to start.  Yes, I do.

She shakes her head and then he knows, and he’s there too, and her dress is blue, and her cheeks are pink, and she is weightless and happy until he hands her the heavy stone of his heart to carry.

That is just gorgeous phrasing.  The lilt and rhythm of it are so light and then thud ... it drops with the heavy stone of his heart.  Did you craft it on purpose that way – bouncy/liliting then thud – or was that serendipity?

What had she said that night? Taking him all in? She has. He belongs to her. She has consumed him. He is Jonah and she is the whale.

So, here I was, bracing myself for the dreaded she was everything.  (One of my personal pet peeves.  I think it's lazy and I hate it.)  But no, you come up with the Biblical Jonah.  Love it!

What a great little prank they're playing on Dwight.  Somehow, I like it better that they haven't even worked out all the details.  And the image of Jim smiling sheepishly as Pam compimented him on how good he looks in Cherries in the Snow was awfully cute.

The only thing that I found jarring in the chapter wasn't in terms of writing style but with continuity with the show.  Jim says he called Jan and had the job offer that night.  But he was speaking to her in person in the parking lot, so why would he have phoned her?  I read the chapter several times and that caught my attention every time.

Oh, and another thing I keep forgetting to mention.  I like your choice to present the chapters in kind of an episodic manner rather than showing us EVERYTHING in the date.  You allow yourself to get straight to the "good parts" and don't have to worry about a lot of filler.

So, other than my one little, anal complaint ... Pure perfection!  This is definitely the best first date fic ever!



Author's Response: Thanks! I changed to have him say he called Jan later that night. In my mind, when he spoke to Jan in the parking lot, he'd been given the offer but hadn't quite made his final decision. I always thought his confession was his last ditch effort to try to find a reason to stay. I imagine after he left the office (post-episode) he called Jan and left her a voicemail saying he'd take it.

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2010 06:47 pm Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

I loved this one.  It was so nice they were able to talk about the past but not have to dwell on it.  I was so happy to see an update on this one.  I have been missing it.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2010 02:51 pm Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

Eeeeeeeeee the ending had me smiling and I can't quite explain why, but it did.

This line - this KILLED ME DEAD.

She thinks he’s seemed more like a man since he’s come back, and sometimes that makes her sad. She wonders if she killed the boy in him.

My heart broke becase I thinkshe did kill the boy in him - just a little anyway :(

How I have missed your fics my God!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: October 14, 2010 06:44 am Title: Tears and fears and feeling proud

I was hoping for an update from you today, ivy.  You handled the prank well.  By not spending too  much time on it, you didn't detract from the focus of the story.  They're coming full circle.  The manner in which you  had them address Casino Night was well done, too.  I'm glad you didn't go Harlequin (as if you could) ;)  “Yes,” he confirms, gazing down at her. “If you’d said yes, I would have stayed.”  *sigh*  So much time wasted, but they're regaining ground.  So glad this isn't completely done yet.  I'm not quite ready to let go. 

Reviewer: MilkandSugar Anonymous [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2010 03:15 am Title: You're so fine, you blow my mind

Ah, mon amie. C'est tres magnifique, non? Tu es un auteur qui parle a mon coeur et qui me fait rire, tous les temps.

God, I hope that's right and my high school French hasn't failed me already...

Alright, second review as promised (and deserved) and I'll begin with my favourite quote: For such a low-key guy, she's only ever seen him with high glamour women, and there's a part of her that has always wanted to give him a little bit of shit about that. Especially the cheerleader. Really. Jim and the cheerleader. It would have been hilarious if it hadn't actually really bugged her.

I have nothing deep to say about it, just hahahahaha. So true.

I always found Pam's jealousy of Katy oddly amusing. Maybe it was because, as Pam, Jim and many others have pointed out, they looked way too similar for it not to mean something and the way she was caught putting on makeup...the scene on the Booze Cruise at the cool kids table....so hilariously high school. Maybe it was also because when Jim was jealous of Roy and Pam jealous of Karen, it wasn't entertaining at all. It was just heartbreakingly painful.

Katy was funny though. And they were so badly suited you could just laugh at it. Just like I was laughing during this because you go fancy new Beesly, asking whether she was fake or not (and not in reference to her personality)! The one thing I guess that was sad about the Katy thing was that it would have made Pam feel really inferior and if she only knew at the time how Jim saw her....but having them discuss this on their first date makes it much easier to handle.

I look forward to them switching the elevator buttons on Dwight (or something equally as impressive). I apologise if these reviews aren't as coherent as you'd like them to be, I just re-read and realised how much I really do waffle. A lot.

Reviewer: MilkandSugar Anonymous [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2010 02:58 am Title: In restless dreams I walked alone

So apparently I owe you at least two reviews...cue the groveling: I'm so sorry I haven't reviewed! These last few weeks have been hectic with a capital 'h' and I'm only just catching up on all the new fics (and if it's any consolation, I haven't reviewed anyone else's!). But enough about that, let's move on to what is important.

I related so much to what Pam (i.e. you) were saying about living alone. I've lived at home with parents and family and in dorms and with many, many people and there are days when I just want to go live in an empty forest somewhere to have even just a moment's quiet. But then I house-sit for a few days, this big old house that's usually full of people and it is incredibly disconcerting. Every noise is amplified and you feel so...alone. Peace is one thing but loneliness is another and I think you captured that perfectly with Pam's talk because I would do and have done the exact same thing, as would almost everyone who's ever lived alone. Not only that, I think it's a perfect representation of where Pam was at at this point - desperate to be on her own, to have some space only to realise how utterly lonely that can make you feel sometimes. And it's embarrassing because you want to be this independent woman who can learn to live with and just be by herself, but sometimes, you miss the noise. It's something that people don't give much thought to but I know that that fear of being alone like that was one of the many reasons it took her so long to end things. Or maybe I'm just reading too much into it...

But aside from assigning metaphors to your amazing work, I loved the image of Pam inhaling her beer. *snort*

More to come.....

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2010 09:47 pm Title: You're so fine, you blow my mind

I went over to YouTube and listened to the songs from these chapter titles. My, you've got quite the eclectic taste in music. I like it!

Author's Response: Oh, very ecclectic indeed.

Reviewer: Nard Dogg Signed [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2010 06:08 am Title: Well, the music plays and you display your heart for me to see

I like this story so far and I would hold this in but I cant helpt it... Julianne Nicholson is NOT CUTE. Also that movie was really weird

Author's Response: What movie, Brief Interviews? Yeah, REALLY weird, and I love the book so don't get me started on... you know what? Just go to the thread on the board to see my thoughts on the movie. And you're right, she's not cute in that movie. I don't think the short haircut flatters her at all. I was thinking more along the lines of in her Ally McBeal days, or perhaps post Flannel Pajamas. She's cute with the longer hair.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans