Reviews For Words for That
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: lesser Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2012 01:22 pm Title: Frown.

I just discovered this in the archive and think it's so well written. I enjoyed it so much and am excited to read your other story too. I hope you continue to write and post more here. Thanks for this.

Reviewer: Andastainonmyshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2011 08:01 pm Title: Frown.

This is quite nice. I love peeks into their lives, especially in first-person POV, and this hit the spot. Angst mixed with happiness is bliss :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Sarah42 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2011 02:10 pm Title: Frown.

Absolutely loved this. "and I think Egypt will probably turn out okay."

Author's Response: Aw thank you!

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2011 08:58 pm Title: Frown.

That was amazing. Just perfectly written, both chapters.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2011 03:37 pm Title: Frown.

YAY, thank you for my birthday present :D

This was lovely. The way you had Jim showing Pam that he CAN be serious made me go all melty. How he asked if they could talk later, and didn't just let the awkwardness take over - that was really lovely. Everything about this chapter was great, and I hope this means we'll be seeing more of you around here :)

Author's Response: YAY! Thank you!!

Reviewer: NanReg Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2011 11:13 am Title: Frown.

Oldleaf, this was lovely.  Hearing laid-back Jim vocalize everything that makes him "frazzled"was just so sweet and heartfelt.  Love it. 

Author's Response: Thanks so much, NanReg

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2011 10:30 am Title: Frown.

This is absolutely wonderful! The anxiety attack was so believable that I could see it happening. I love that Jim knows just the right things to say to her, and I love that he admits that he does take things seriously and just wants her to be happy. I absolutely love the line And honestly, truly, when things are at their absolute worst, I'm still completely happy as long as I'm with you. It says so much from him without overstating it or being cheesy, though he says it is. I am gushing, but I do need to just say that your characterization is spot on here in both chapters. I really hope you have more things in the works for all of us to read! -adds to favorites-

Author's Response: Aw, Deedldee, thank you!!

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2011 09:45 am Title: Frown.

I love this. I'd forgotten about the first part of this (just re-read it) and it's so sweet without being too gushy. This second chapter, I love how you portray the relationship-- that he just asks if they can talk later (doesn't let the argument fester) and of course she says 'okay' even though she's upset. Love all the expressions of how anything bad happening to her scares the hell out of him. Great stuff. :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, callisto! I'm so excited to get a review from you - you're one of my favorites! I'm glad it isn't too gushy - I tried really hard to keep it from being so, and when it does start to veer too far, having one of the characters be like, "Yeah, this is cheesy" or something. :P

Reviewer: Beeswax Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2010 07:06 pm Title: Grin.

It's been a while since I have read fanfic, but I saw the recommendation on MTT for your fic and had to come and see what all the hub-bub was about.  You did not disappoint!  It is a perfect gem of a honeymoon fic.  I have to echo everyone's love of this Pam moment:

"...I'm the kind with the pages stuck together that you have to pry open carefully because you know there's a page there, but open too forcefully and it tears."

You have captured Pam perfectly in that sentence.  Now if only Jim had figured that out about Pam before he dropped the love bomb on her on Casino Night ;-) 

Thanks for running across those coals and posting this for all of us to enjoy!



Author's Response: Beeswax, thank you so much. I'm so happy you liked it enough to review it, and I'm really happy everyone seems to like that line so much. It was my favorite to write. :)

Reviewer: rest_stop_romance Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2010 10:07 pm Title: Grin.

I had to register just to review this story. I can't believe you even considered taking it away! It's truly one of the best little one-shots I've read and I was so disappointed when it disappeared. I actually wrote that part about Pam being like a book with pages stuck together down in a notebook where I keep quotes I love. You're a very talented writer and I really hope you'll post more Jam stories!! :) :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, rest_stop_romance! I'm thrilled you liked it that much, and esp. that line! That really means a lot. :)

Reviewer: iamapam1883 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2010 08:02 am Title: Grin.

It's been about a year since I've read any Office/JAM fics. And to be completely honest, I decided to see what yours was since it's currently sitting directly above mine and I knew you had taken it down and resubmitted it. I was kind of expecting it to be like the one-shots I saw when I left last year, all sappy JAMbaby-esque. Oldleaf, you've left me pleasantly surprised. :)

I think your characterization of Pam is pretty awesome here. I like that she's still unsettled and vulnerable with her feelings, though instead of having her run from the, you have her embrace them as she says these things to Jim.

there's a ring on your finger that represents me and a ring on my finger that represents you
I'm a softy for lines like this.

you're an open book and I'm the kind with the pages stuck together that you have to pry open carefully because you know there's a page there, but open too forcefully and it tears.
I believe someone else commented on this but I have to reiterate the greatness of this line. It's actually a fantastic way to describe Pam.

I actually didn't get the show reference of Jim smiling when she walked in the room the first time I read it, but what stuck out to me in that moment was that you nicely describe how her mother's influence still has a hold on her and I'm glad you took a moment to establish that she would be cautious about her own relationship after seeing her parents' long standing marriage fall apart because that is how life works and we often reflect in our own relationships what we see around us.

Mostly, I just love that you have Pam, after five years of us knowing her and her going through changes, still is learning and finding herself (and her relationship with Jim) That just because they're married doesn't necessarily mean they've got it all figured out but they're happy and that's the important part.

Anyway, to make a long review short, good job! I hope you decide to give it another shot. Maybe try something from Jim's POV? I'd be interested in your take.

Author's Response: iamapam1883, I so appreciate such a detailed review. That's so kind. I adore your fics and I'm thrilled you enjoyed this one. I'm a huge Pam fan - she's actually the reason I kept watching the show, I related so much to her character in season 3, so I've always felt like I "get" her to some extent and it's nice to see that came across in the story. I'm really excited everyone enjoyed those two lines. I love playing around with words and metaphors and things like that. And yes, Stress Relief is definitely the episode that guided me in writing this. I don't know that I'm going to continue this one, but never say never. Maybe I'll randomly think of something more to add. This was really just a way to force myself to be creative again, because I haven't written anything in awhile (I like to write original stuff too) and it's just always been something I love. Anywayyyy, thank you so very much! I really, really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Reviewer: Sumtastic Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 09:04 pm Title: Grin.

This is such a sweet, beautiful story. It really is so them and feels just so real and just...ah, it's just amazing. So, so, so glad you re-posted and really can't wait to see more from you, I hope!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy it came across as real and believable. :)

Reviewer: kam Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 07:21 pm Title: Grin.

Oh, this is so sweet and I'm glad you reposted it... I really loved your line about their rings representing the other. I hope you bring more stories to us!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Kam! I'm so glad you liked that line. I really wanted it to be special. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 11:26 am Title: Grin.

P.S. I just had to tell you that I needed to add this to my favorites and author favorites - and I completely agree with everything Deedldee said!

Author's Response: AW! That's so sweet! Thank you, thank you, thank you! :)

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 11:24 am Title: Grin.

Oh my goodness, that was just beautiful! I loved the line towards the beginning... ' "Shut up, I'm tired," I laugh, but you frown a little and ask if I'm okay and, see, I knew I shouldn't have said anything, because there you go being wonderful.' There YOU go being wonderful, because this story certainly is. When you describe Jim being such an open book and that Pam has the information all there, but the pages are stuck together and could tear if you pried them apart too hard, that was such a beautiful metaphor. It really fits our favorite couple perfectly. And then Jim says he didn't realize Pam was so eloquent, I just grinned at that (and when you described that Jim grins when Pam walks into a room! So sweet!).

I am so sorry, I've pretty much just recapped your entire chapter verbatim. (Did I use verbatim right? I love that word but I never seem to use it correctly... hmmm) I probably just copy and pasted everything from your chapter because it was really just so wonderful. So amazing job, and I would love it so much if you would continue this story with little moments from their honeymoon, maybe switching off the POV's. That would make for such an incredible story - if you're up for it, that is. Consider it though, please!

Thank you again, that was so lovely, I'm really at a loss for something original to say!

Author's Response: Thank you for such a sweet review, pamelamorganhalpert. I so appreciate it and I'm so happy it made you happy. :D I'm done with this story, but I'm so glad you liked it enough to want it to continue!

Reviewer: adampascalfan12 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 11:00 am Title: Grin.

yay, you re-posted it! I enjoyed reading this story about their honeymoon. It's lovely!! =D

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, adampascalfan12! I really appreciate it :)

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 09:26 am Title: Grin.

Wow this is so amazing! I can't believe you took it down! And I'm so thrilled that you re-posted it. I had a busy weekend with the boyfriend and family, and just did some work so I'm just getting to read this now. It's so lovely! I love the comparison to her Thanksgiving with Roy to the one with Jim, how Jim just smiles when she just walks in a room, and all it took was seeing his face fall to know that she doesn't want to argue with him. It's so true to character of both of them (which is why my least favorite deleted scene of The Delivery is when she gives him the finger.) And Helene is just mean, I think we're all in agreement on that. She just comes across as cold now, which I'm not really happy about since I really loved Season 2 Pam's mom for the ten minutes she was in the episode. I really loved this all, and shame on the people who read this when you first posted and didn't review. It's really really great. My favorite part is her telling him how she can't wait to hold their baby in their bed together just the three of them - such a super sweet image that made me tear up. In case you couldn't tell, I loved this and can't wait for you to post more stories on here. Never take your things down again, okay? If you promise to do that I promise I'll loyally review. :-)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for such a lovely review, Deedldee! I'm so happy you liked it. I really hate that deleted scene too. I've had fans argue with me over it, but I, too, feel it's out of character. I think it's something they threw in purely for a 'oooh look at them angry' laugh and then realized it didn't work. And Helene...I can only excuse her behavior by saying she's still bitter. LOL And to think Helene was the first person Pam called when Jim kissed her. :/ Anyway, thanks again! I really appreciate all your kind words and the encouragement. :) :)

Reviewer: pam_beesly Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 09:07 am Title: Grin.

I'm so glad you re-posted this, because I didn't get to read it before you took it down. It's absolutely lovely. Pam's relationship with her mom struck a chord with me, as it reminded me of my own relationship with my mother. I'm glad Pam doesn't let her parents' divorce affect what she has with Jim; in fact, it makes her appreciate him even more. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, pam_beesly! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 07:00 am Title: Grin.

Thank you SO much for reposting this OL. This would have been an utter waste to keep this to yourself. You don't realise how talented a writer you are. This was so beautiful, without beng over the top or cheesy.

Mentioning how Jim smiled when she walked in to the room was great. I love little throwbacks to the show.

Please don't leave us again. We know you're back now, there is no getting away ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm really glad it didn't come across as OTT because I was concerned with that.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 06:14 am Title: Grin.

Oldleaf, this is just lovely.  I'm so glad you re-posted, because it would have been totally selfish of you to keep it to yourself when you could be feeding my fanfic addiction ;)  Your emotional Pam, so full of joy, expressing her feelings to Jim is truly touching.  I never have been able to be as open about my feelings as you; you're an open book and I'm the kind with the pages stuck together that you have to pry open carefully because you know there's a page there, but open too forcefully and it tears. Wow.   Thanks so much for sharing.  Now go soak your feet...

Author's Response: NanReg, thank you so very much! I'm especially glad you liked that metaphor. And my feet are medium rare, thanks. ;)

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2010 06:11 am Title: Grin.

Thanks fot reposting this. I was looking for it to reread.  I love a good honeymoon story.  This one was really sweet.  I am looking forward to more gems from you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, khand3stooges! I'm so, so glad you enjoyed the story! :)

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2010 10:08 pm Title: Grin.

Oh, I'm so glad you put this back up! It's lovely & sentimental without being saccharine. I especially like the little passage about how Pam reacted poorly when Jim welcomed her to sit with him after her mom's catty comments at the Thanksgiving dinner. I like that it took her a while to realize what a privilege it is to be in a relationship where your partner smiles just because you've entered the room. I think it captures nicely how Jim was a step ahead of Pam in the relationship ... and that she's catching up. Really nicely done.

Author's Response: Oh, Vampiric Blood, that's everything I wanted to convey! *claps happily* Thank you so, so much. This review made me grin. :D

Reviewer: Sarah42 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2010 09:12 pm Title: Grin.

I love this story so much. It's really so sweet and I love how it's written in such a conversational style. I can really "hear" it. Great job and glad you brought it back. :-D

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Sarah! I really appreciate that. I hoped that it would be clear it was conversational, and not that I just don't know that sentences shouldn't start with "and" or something like that. :)

Reviewer: emhunter24 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2010 08:53 pm Title: Grin.

i didn't see this when it was first posted, but it's a delightful treat to help postpone bedtime before the dreaded work week. thanks for deciding to share again. i'm such a sucker for honeymoon fics!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, emhunter24. I really appreciate the review, and I definitely know the feeling of wanting to postpone the work week!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans