Reviews For Almost Blue
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: SwampyJo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2012 11:19 am Title: Chapter 1

This is one of the first JAMfics I ever read, but I realize now I never reviewed. I think it's absolutely beautiful. Heartbreaking and cruel and terrible...but beautiful. I just love it.

(Incidentally, I still can't join the forums - boo. I saw there's some kind of facebook group, but the link just takes me to my fb homepage - maybe it's not meant to be. I feel a little creepy - like some weirdo looking in the window at you all, but I can't help myself, lol. And I'm not sure why I'm telling you this - maybe I just needed to confess, heh. I'm saying a lot of things! /Pam )

Author's Response: Thank you Swampy Jo. Sorry I'm so late in responding to this, I'm not in the archive much anymore. I asked the administrator about the joining thing, but i think they disabled new members because they were getting so much spam/trolling. Obviously, that's not you, and I am sorry about that. Anyway, your comments are very much appreciated. You're not a weirdo, you've just arrived at this place as it is winding down.

Reviewer: Dedeen Signed [Report This]
Date: November 07, 2011 01:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was amazing! Why isn't there a ribbon on this one? This needs a ribbon... right now! It was so moving and your descriptions were right on target. It's been a while since lady! Glad your back!

Author's Response: It's okay, Dedeen, I knew this would be relatively unpopular for obvious reasons, and I totally understand that. There are types of stories that I don't read/like because it's just not my thing. (I'm not a big fan of AU's, for instance, no matter how well written they are) It was just something I was compelled to write, and I'm glad you liked it. Thanks!

Reviewer: rahenson1 Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2011 11:38 am Title: Chapter 1

I know lots of people have already commented on the setup. I didn't see it coming I have to admit. Long hair and womanly curves. Sounds like Jim has a type doesn't it? :p Turns out I have the same type ;) At some level there would never be a right time to move on. But I could see where with young children he'd want to move on sooner than later so it was less traumatic for them.

Author's Response: Yeah, it appears Jim has a "type," and I'm glad I "fooled" you with the story. As I said in my comments below, the only way I think Jim would "cheat" on Pam is if she died. And finding yourself a 30 yr old widower is a very confused, raw situation to be in. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, rahenson1.

Reviewer: Pee Pee Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2011 07:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

I was just sick a little in my mouth haha. You are a truly talented author, but this story wasn't for me, I find character deaths really hard to read. That doesn't mean it wasn't written well, you really know Jim's voice well.

Author's Response: First and foremost, I love your "nickname" PeePee. I'm sorry if this upset you - I tried to warn folks as best I could but without ruining the story twist. I didn't set out to write something like this, really, I was just listening to that song and wondering how I could write a story "about" it, and the only situation I could think of that Jim would "cheat" on Pam is if she had died. And the story just went from there. I promise to write something happy and fuzzy next time. Thanks so much for taking time to comment - I especially like it when folks tell me why they don't like something.

Reviewer: kmedh Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2011 01:51 am Title: Chapter 1

I love this. Very sad, but very beautiful.

Author's Response: Nice of you to take the time to comment, kmedh, and I'm glad you liked it. Thanks!

Reviewer: wendolf Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 09:38 am Title: Chapter 1

As the author of another "hard to read" story about Jim and another woman, I respect and applaud what you did here, jazzfan! Of course we hate to think about anything happening to either of our favorite people, but life does go on eventually. My SIL lost her husband 5 years ago very tragically and she dated before any of us thought she would be ready. Doesn't mean she loved my BIL any less ... everyone just grieves (and moves on) differently.

Anyway, I enjoyed this and you did catch me by surprise! Great job!

Author's Response: Well thanks, Wendolf, I appreciate your comments. Of course I'd never want this to happen, but if it did, I think even Pam would want Jim to find other...companionship. LOL And I haven't gotten any death threats yet. Maybe that's coming... *grin*

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 06:01 am Title: Chapter 1

I have to admit it took me a few tries to read through... I'm not that strong of a person! But I'm so happy to see you're writing again that I had to buck up and get through it because you're one of my favorite authors, your writing is always flawless and wonderful. This piece fits so well with the lyrics you have here on the bottom. I've never been a fan of Pam dies fics, and I can't ever imagine Jim with anyone other than her. I can see though, his need to just be close to someone - two kids at home, he can't get much grown up time in there with that going on as a single parent. I am glad to see that he is a devoted father with that simple line at the end.
I'm so hoping that you'll continue writing and sharing stories with us. :)

Author's Response: Deedledee, you were very kind to read this when it wasn't your thing at al - there are plenty of stories that are written here that aren't bad stories, but just aren't my thing and I knew this would be one of those for a lot of people. I wanted to put more of a warning on it than I did, but if I had, it would have ruined the twist. Forgive me for that. And if anything I ever write is done halfway correctly, it's due to VB's demonic red pen. LOL Music is what starts me writing, and I got stuck on this sad song. I'm glad even though you didn't like the subject matter (and really, who would ever "want" this to happen?) that you could imagine Jim doing this in this situation. That's what I was really exploring. Well, that and getting over my aversion to writing sex scenes. *snork* Thanks so much. Now please get back to writing another chapter of that Indigo and Crimson - I'm really enjoying it.

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2011 01:41 pm Title: Chapter 1

You heretic, you! I never thought I'd read a fic where I was relieved to learn Pam had died...and enjoy it! Clearly, that's due to your writing; this is sad, sexy, full of palpable inner conflict and even a bit hopeful. I also appreciate your focus on one, concise experience, rather than 10 chapters about his struggle - packs so much more of punch this way.

Personally, I don't see a few days < a year as unbelievable. I (sadly) have two friends who've lost spouses - neither the reaction, nor its schedule, is always what you might predict. Sexy as this was, it was also clearly about a bigger catharsis, just the start of a long road ahead. Had Jim jumped into a major love affair that soon, or were it just about bonking...that would be harder to swallow. (No TWSS intended, I swear!)

What next, you write a story that makes me glad to see Pam run away with the circus, and Jim marry Karen? (I kid. Please don't.)

Btw, 'It was time to pick up his children' is a perfect last line...so poignant, in so few words.

Okay, I need to finish with a question: did you name her Allison as a ref to that other great old Elvis C. song? (I hope so, cause that's my fave ;-)

Author's Response: Oh colette, thanks for the thoughtful review! I knew this one was not going to be "popular" but it's gratifying to see that you liked it for what it was. I've had friends who have lost spouses as well, and yeah, it's not predictable what grief does to a person. A 30ish year old widower with two little kids is a mixed up soul. My next story is called "Water for an Elephant" and it's about thirsty, pregnant Pam, who goes off to join the circus and leaves Jim for a vampire. How'd you know? I jest, but never fear, I will never, ever, in my wildest darkest gnarliest moments, write a fic where Jim marries Karen - I swear by my fav Kurt Elling album. (it hurt to even type "Jim marries Karen." Ouch.) And by jove, you got it. *sings* Alison...my aim is true...my aim is true.

Reviewer: Hannah_Halpert Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2011 09:11 am Title: Chapter 1

You traumatised me lol. I was reading, thinking Jim was being a two timing jerk... especially with her being at home looking after the babies...I was NOT expecting that, like at all. I now feel a little bummed out lol. I find it so hard reading stories where one of them dies... and I just can't imagine Jim doing that before the first anniversary of his wife's death. I am happy however that you're writing again x

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments, Hannah_Halpert, and for answering the question I wanted to ask. You felt that Jim would not do this "so early". I really turned that one over and over in my head, and decided to go with it, but I could have been talked out of it. I do think it made a more interesting story arc, though. But in the end, the song was sad, so the story had to be sad as well.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2011 08:21 am Title: Chapter 1

Dammit, jazzy!  I wish it was what I thought!  This was well written, really sexy but... :'(  Now I'm all bummed out. *sigh*  Having said that, I'm glad you were inspired to write. *sob*

Author's Response: I've got something all fluffy in the works that will hopefully redeem me, tinkerbell. Thanks!

Reviewer: callisto Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2011 06:14 am Title: Chapter 1

Jeez, jazzy. :( While there's nothing that needs seriously critiqued in the writing, this has two elements that I never want to see in a fic:
1. Jim has sex with someone else.
2. Pam is dead.

Glad to see you writing again though. :)

Author's Response: Sorry about the downer, callisto. As I said below, it's a sad song, so I didn't have a choice. That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it. Thanks for reading, and for being kind enough to comment.

Reviewer: OfficeLady Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2011 11:17 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow! You did catch me by surprise! I thought Jim was being unfaithful -- I thought you had a lot of courage to write such a story -- and then the switch -- he's a widower! -- Pam died! So sad! You wrote this very well -- and got the right tone because you caught me like a fish! lol Thanks for the story

Author's Response: The surprise was what I was aiming for - guess I wanted to see if people would think this was OOC for Jim, even after the "tell." I don't think it is, but I'm willing to entertain that it might be. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, OfficeLady. Sorry about the downer aspect. Songs are usually what get me started with stories, and this one, well, it's a sad song.

Reviewer: TaioraWarrior Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2011 09:13 pm Title: Chapter 1

... life is such a terrible, precious thing...

Author's Response: Yes, it is indeed. Thanks TaloraWarrior.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans