Reviews For Invincible Summer
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: dwangela Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2017 01:25 pm Title: Prologue: The Road

I really love this story. You do such a good job establishing the dynamic of Jim and Pam’s relationahip, and I love how you’ve mingled past with present and created these bittersweet moments. I absolutely love your idea of how the hot sauce packet came about; it felt like I was reading right out of the script of The Office!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. :) I've wanted to do a frame story for a while, but nothing seemed like it suited the format, but I'm pretty excited about this one. I'm glad you like it! 

It absolutely makes my day when someone tells me that what I've written feels close to the source material, so thank you for that! So much of that first big chapter took on a life of its own, and the hot sauce packet wasn't even originally part of the outline for that chapter. It just showed up in the middle of drafting it. :) I don't know if that happens to you, but it's really fun when you get this little gift of an idea you didn't expect in the middle of writing. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it.  

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2017 11:51 pm Title: Mile 692

Wow, so nice to have you back! Powerful. Sweet. Delicious! Long, sweet sigh. :) Love Africa, especially a Capella. And I always get the lyrics wrong. For years I thought it was "there's a bathroom on the right" instead of "there's a bad moon on the rise". Hopelessly dorky. Anyway, great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the warm welcome back and your lovely comment! Lyrics can be tough! And that CCR lyric is a classic misheard one. ;) Thanks again for reading and commenting! Means a lot to me!

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 29, 2017 06:34 am Title: Mile 646

So sorry for the late review! I absolutely love this story, honestly. I'm a sucker for fics that depict the start of their relationship, and although there are a lot of them out there, this still seems to me like a unique take on it! It's not too outlandish but definitely not boring either! And I love how the whole farris wheel thing ties together. But, the best thing for me is how you mentioned the hair thing-- I think because I love Pam's character development so much, when stuff tied up with her self confidence etc gets brought up, I get all excited and want to high five the author. Bravo! Please continue when you can! :)

Author's Response:

Sorry for the late reply! I had a ridiculous few months at work, then went on a long vacation, and then the latest chapter took a good solid month to actually write, so I was...busy. But this review was lovely to come back to! 

I'm so glad to hear how much you're enjoying the story. :) And, you know, it's funny--the hair thing was a last minute addition. The later drafts really seemed to be missing something, and I wasn't sure if it would be something readers would really like or focus on, so I appreciate your feedback about it! 

Next chapter is up (the longest yet--it took so long, my god, and I rewrote the draft alone four times before I was even at a point I felt good about it, so I hope you like it). <3  

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2017 11:55 am Title: Mile 646

3rd chapter: heartbreaking but definitely a scene I see happening.
This 4th chapter: love it, very much how I see their 1st week together going down. I love sneaky Pam, Jim always brought out her mischievous side in the early seasons so I love the tables being turned with Pam instigating the mischief. And, of course, I love the Miracle Mike part, a classic bit of "Weird Colorado" history 😉

Author's Response:

Thank you, as always. :) I really value and appreciate your feedback. 

About their first week, I can definitely imagine them needing to work out some latent, unspoken issues, but I wanted to focus on the "after that," and see them having some fun. 

As for Miracle Mike, I had recently learned about him and he just snuck his way into this chapter. I honestly couldn't believe it was a real thing myself and had to look it up for proof. ;)  

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2017 01:30 am Title: Mile 328

This is now officially my headcanon regarding the hot sauce pack, Greg Daniels himself could not convince me otherwise. Amazing spot on dialogue and it's really cool that you can add some depth with your Scranton knowledge.

Author's Response: Yesssssss, that's awesome. :) Sharing and getting others on board with my personal headcanon is kind of the best. Thanks so much for the read and feedback! :D 

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2017 10:15 pm Title: Mile 507

Such a sad chapter, with a really cathartic ending! I really like the Captain Morgan/ Pamela Morgan thing-- the sort of tenuous link that a real person as obsessed/in love with her would make. Again, I look forward to reading on! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Much appreciated! Thanks for reading and commenting, too. It's just so nice to know that it's being enjoyed. (The next chapter will be happier, by the way, but there are definitely a mix of sad and happy to come.) 

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2017 09:59 pm Title: Mile 328

When this meandered into the hotdog incident, I think I actually laughed out load! CLEVER! I didn't actually see that coming!
It's really cool to read about things like this festival that Jim and Pam (and the rest of the gang for that matter) would contextually have knowledge of. It adds to the illusion that they're actually real... Anyway, great writing as ever, and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Oh, awesome! Thanks for sharing your reaction! When I saw that part in the episode, I couldn't help but imagine how that might have happened (the hot dog incident, I mean), and it was a lot of fun to write. This chapter ended up being way longer than I'd planned, just because characters kept talking, sneaking their way into the story, but, again, it was really fun to write. I'd glad you liked the context, since I'm always really happy to share some of my local Scranton knowledge and experience. :) More local references in other chapters to come! Thanks so much for reading and commenting! It's gotten to the point where I'm excited to see what you're going to say. :) 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2017 08:46 pm Title: Prologue: The Road

Great start, I love your imagery, from Cece little league game to the car cluttered with normal family/father things. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! The next chapter should be up soon. :)

Reviewer: alittlestitious2 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2017 03:37 pm Title: Prologue: The Road

YES! I'm always on the look out for post-series fics, and someone's actually started one with the potential to have longevity... Huzzah! I'm excited to learn about your interpretation of Jim and Pam's life in Austin AND their perception of their early relationship a decade after they first started dating. I'm just so pumped for this one! As always the writing standard is fab too :)

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you're excited! I'm excited to share it!

To be honest, the bulk of the story will be in memory form, all from Jim's perspective, so most of it will take place either pre-series or during the series (some episode related, some not). The last few chapters will deal more with post-series life. Counting the prologue and epilogue, it will be 12 chapters, to give you an idea of how long it will be. 

Thanks for being such a dedicated reader, love. ♥ I'm really looking forward to seeing what you think as the story unfolds. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans