Reviews For Safety First
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: rational Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 30, 2020 03:28 pm Title: Chapel of Love

I really enjoyed this series! Such a grim, dark version of our world (which is a really cool thought experiment and I love what you've done with it), but it leads to these versions of Pam and Jim that are in some ways so...innocent? Neither of them having any relationship experience or history makes their relationship so sweet and naive, which is adorable. And yet they figured things out pretty quick and also had some crazy hot sex!

In the first story, I felt like you ripped my heart right out when Jim told Pam they'd find a way out of their marriages and she thought he didn't really care about her and was just pitying her. And yet that was ultimately just a misunderstanding, so easily rectified, compared to her *father* trying to kidnap her. Heartbreaking! I assume it's not likely that you'll finish the third part now, but man, I'm so curious about the fallout from that! Like, how do you even navigate that situation? Can't go to the police, for obvious reasons. But can you just ignore him? I mean, Penny still lives in his house!

Not to mention that I'm dying to know what Pam painted for Jim! And to see their Poconos vacation! Anyway, this series is really great and engaging and scary and sexy. Great job!

Author's Response:

Thank you <3 I'm beyond flattered there is still an audience for these stories, given their age. I actually have a half-finished part 3 for Freedom First on my hard drive (which was originally intended as a trilogy). I'm focusing on my own work these days, so I don't foresee coming back to The Office fandom, but I have a really hard time publishing unfinished stories. I'm such a perfectionist, and I never actually decided how to end the Freedom First storyline. My intention was/is/remains for JAM to leave Freedom First and end up safely(ish) in Canada, but how would they get there? Would Pam inadvertently end up pregnant along the way? Would they bring Larissa and Penny along, or focus on themselves first?  What body parts or portions of innocence would be lost in the process? 

Truthfully, I was toying with the idea of a "choose your own adventure" ending because I could not make up my GD mind. One of the options (my personal favorite) was a madcap out-of-the-blue rescue involving Dwight, Mose, an armored amphibious vehicle, Angela, Michael, and other rural renegades of Wayne County, PA.

Reviewer: jts Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2020 10:35 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

This is an AWESOME fic! Thanks so much for writing and I hope you're well!

Reviewer: Punkybear Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2020 04:50 am Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

So sad this ended where it did. I found both parts yesterday and just finished it all. I was skeptical at first as I don't usually read AU, and it took about 3 chapters, but then I was sold. I would love to see more. :)

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2018 04:36 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

I love this universe so much, which sounds so weird because it’s dystopian and controlling and “Big Brother is Watching” and those things are all horrifying, but I can’t get enough. This Jim and Pam are as real to me as the ones on the show, and I think you’ve written them so well. I was immediately suspicious of Will (rightly so) but your twist was excellent. I gathered that you’re taking a break (good for you! Breaks are important) but know that when you return you will have an avid reader in me!

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: February 17, 2018 08:39 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

Clover isn’t the only one! Hope to hear from you soon :)

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2018 12:27 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

Missing you Rach31!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2018 05:16 pm Title: Chapel of Love

I spent the last day and a half reading both parts to this series, and I have to say, although I was skeptical at first, I am itching to see what this version of Jim and Pam have as their next chapter!

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2017 12:13 pm Title: Chapel of Love

First of all Rach3l, I fully support your break from writing. You are unbelievably prolific and I cannot even begin to imagine how time-consuming this process is for you!

That much said, I have to tell you that this Pam and Jim exist in my mind just as strongly as their show counterparts. In fact, you've given them some deeper dimensions, with Pam being even more vulnerable and altruistic and Jim being even more worthy of hero worship. And somehow it comes across as very real. As someone else pointed out, with the current political/social climate, things that we would have never believed to be possible, are apparently possible. So that just adds to the credibility of your story.

So I'm telling you that I find myself wondering how this Pam and Jim are doing. And I can't wait to hear more.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays, and your break. But DO come back! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 25, 2017 05:15 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

I finally got around to reading this (I do most of my reading at work, so the NC-17 nature of this one meant I didn't have a good opportunity until now). It's a great continuation, and I really enjoyed the development of their relationship. Also I hate Will. But that might just be me.

Reviewer: MamaLo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 02, 2017 08:45 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

Excited for a 3rd part of the series! What an intriguing world you've created, especially in today's political climate. Cannot wait to keep reading and learning more about it.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2017 10:21 am Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

The series has been created for you. You should be able to edit the title and anything else you'd like to change or add.

I'm not a writer but I can definitely understand needing a break from ones craft/hobby once in a while. Just as long as you come back!! :D
Enjoy your break and your Holidays!

Author's Response: You're the best!! Thank you so much. 

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 30, 2017 08:42 am Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

I really don’t know how to adequately review this, I just love this universe so much.
I can’t even begin to express how happy I am that you intend a third installment. This second part did a great job of filling in a lot of blanks and moving the story forward but I still have so many questions! Especially about their future.

Also, it would be great if you could use the “series” feature our site offers. Basically, this will put a link at the end of Freedom First directly to Safety First. If you are unsure how to go about this I can do it for you.

Author's Response:

I'd be more than happy if you can link them as a series! I looked at that feature, but was unable to figure out how it worked. 

Thanks so much for reading and for the review.  =) I'm taking a bit of a break from writing--it's been over six months since I have, and I'm starting to feel burnt out. If I rush this, it's going to suck! May be more than a month until it's ready, sorry about that. I'm hoping to get some vacation time in January, which may help. 

Reviewer: BringingTheJam Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2017 10:44 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

I echo what Clover said. Would love to read more from this world.

Author's Response:

Thank you so very much! There are a lot of places I could go with part 3, assuming I don't lose motivation halfway through. I almost did with this story, but I really do want to get it out there.

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2017 09:00 pm Title: Chapel of Love

Wow! This just gets better and better. What a great imagination you have! Is it greedy to want more! There are lots of loose threads here that I'm sure you have plans for. Thank you for an enjoyable evening where I voraciously read this, and then read it again. Love this story!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind words! :) I'm taking a break from writing for a week or two... I actually need to re-read both stories to make sure I catch all the loose threads. I've been in the habit--not a good one--of leaving danglers in previous fics. What was Pam's favorite food? (mashed potatoes) What did she use her wish on? (something sexy)... etc

Apropos of nothing, I had an alternate storyline for the marriage assignment all planned out in my head. It involved a bureaucratic snafu and their original intended spouses, Roy and Katy, who've gotten along with each other almost as well as Jim and Pam have. I may actually get that down on paper as an alternate ending at some point. But thinking about it, another setback so soon after the week they've had would probably break Pam (and turn Jim into some kind of controlling, paranoid caricature of himself--not unlike her father). Not the direction I want things to go!

Reviewer: BringingTheJam Signed [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2017 10:26 pm Title: Killing Me Softly With His Balisong

What an amazing story! You are such a wonderful storyteller. Every time another story of yours appears I know I am in for a treat. This time was no exception.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans