Reviews For Yours
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 09, 2018 12:14 pm Title: Pam

You have captured Pam's voice beautifully, but I must say that third paragraph is perfection. There is so much there that just resonates there of how that season in their relationship might have been. And I really like how you talked about laughter being more than just funny...I think that's important and a big part of their relationship too. :) Thank you for this beautiful two-part piece!

Author's Response: Perfection? You flatter me too much. Thank you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 09, 2018 12:09 pm Title: Jim

Oh I love those early days of love when you will do anything for someone. I love what he remembers of the time in NY with her; so lovely. And I see that her going to NY would terrify him, thinking that he might lose her. You captured so many beautiful emotions in this letter; i dig the unique format.

Author's Response: This was a bit of an experimental story for me, so I’m glad the style worked for you! Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2018 09:35 am Title: Pam

Oooh, I really like this one. You hit on Pam's tone incredibly well. Her self-doubt and gratitude feels very real. Even the writing style of this one seems very on-point. She's more analytical and thoughtful than Jim, more questioning, and I like that it's reflected here. This was just lovely.

Author's Response: This means so much coming from you. Thank you!

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2018 09:29 am Title: Jim

There are a few things I really loved about this letter.

1. I loved this line/technique the most the first time you used it: "...we ate them on courtyard benches with fresh orange juice and I love you I love you I love you." I enjoyed it being in the middle of a paragraph, in the middle of thoughts, as if that one thought took over and he couldn't recount everyday life anymore.

2. The paragraph where he describes waking up thinking it's 2006. I could totally see this happening.

3. I especially liked how he says that he'll work at DM forever if he has to, considering how his feelings change on that. I love that injection of bittersweetness for the readers, since we know what happens and Jim, at this point, doesn't.

Nice. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for both of your thoughtful reviews! I really wanted to capture the deliriously in love state that Jim must have been in during the early stages of their relationship, and the “I love you” ‘s in the middle of the paragraph were the only way I could image Jim portraying that emotion, so I’m glad to hear that it was in character. 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2018 12:03 am Title: Pam

This was a delight to read, you manage to be very sweet without getting syrupy. I like that even though this is arguably their happiest time together, you seamlessly included some of the things that would cause some issues down the road, Jim's fear of losing Pam, Pam's pesky self-doubt and worry that she's not enough for Jim. But mostly you feel the love and happiness. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! “Sweet without getting syrupy” was definitely my intent while writing this one. I wanted to write something that showed their relationship in its early, happy stages without it becoming a cringy, muddled mess of emotion, which can be a hard line to walk, so it’s relieving to know that I achieved that. Relationships are rarely ever entirely sunshine and roses. Pam has a consistent streak of self doubt, and Jim spent so long pining for Pam that I think it’s entirely unrealistic to believe that all that simply vanished once their relationship began.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2018 04:10 pm Title: Pam

This is just so sweet. You captured what early love is like so beautifully. I would very happy read more of these as they progress through their relationship, but I’m so glad you gave us these two. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I didn’t even think about continuing this, but now that you mention it... 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2018 03:58 pm Title: Pam

This was so cute! I love the thought of Pam keeping these little moments in a box like a Jim diary :)

Author's Response: Who doesn’t love a Jim diary? Personally, I have a habit of trying to capture moments that mean a lot to me, so judging from the mental pictures in Niagra, I figured maybe Pam does too :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2018 02:27 pm Title: Pam

Love this. Very nice first person, and I'm a big fan of letters as stories.

Author's Response: Thank you!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans