Reviews For Theirs
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2018 11:15 am Title: His I

I liked this one. Getting a new perspective on some of the Teapot Bonus Gifts as well as other things Jim collects. Getting a glimpse into Jim's mindset was good too. Looking forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! There will be more getting into Jim's head in the next chapter as well. Glad you liked it, and, as always, thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 13, 2018 06:25 am Title: His I

“This is his, but it’s all about her.” is the most accurate description of Jim that I’ve seen in a long time. So good.

I love this imaginary conversation with Betsy! I mean, you know she has the perfect box just sitting in her closet but I like to think she’d still give him a hard time about asking and this is why he doesn’t. No, not Jim - instead, Jim has the most typical and perfect guy response to needing a box - just go and buy something. Brilliant.

Yes DC, these are exactly the types of things Jim keeps. This boy is PINING and if it was anyone else, I’d be rolling my eyes so hard at him but somehow it just makes me love Jim more?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m worried about all the ways this could turn angsty in the next chapter but that doesn’t mean I want it any less. I’ll keep saying it, this story is SO good. I hate that I have no idea what the end game could possibly be, but I am waiting as patiently as I can to find out!

Author's Response:

Yea! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind words and those specific things you liked.  

I know, Jim here is almost a little giddy in his pining for her. I didn't intend for this one to be almost hopeful, but I think it worked for this part of the season. And don't YOU worry; you'll get your one shoe, and an evening in Stamford, and a reason to hate Karen in the next chapter.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2018 06:26 am Title: Hers IV

Oh Pam. She needs a hug. Maybe not from Michael though, although that moment at the end was sweet. No Travis, those aren’t his eyes.

I love this take on her art show! Mostly because I love that she realizes this whole sliding back into bad Roy habits has been a terrible idea and she needs to slide back out of them. Okay, that’s not the main reason. I love that she’s become this more stable, secure version of herself but that she’s still struggling with the same old insecurities and fears. It’s not so easy to shake those, and you captured that in really lovely way.

I’ve already given you some Jim ideas, but I also kind of hope he’s kept something completely ridiculous. Like a shoe. I don’t know how he got it, but he has it.

Author's Response:

A shoe? A SHOE?! Are you messing with me? Because you know anything you suggest I'm going to try and make it work. So if Jim is crying over a ratty, old, dirty purple flip flop, this fandom has you to blame. A shoe, Coley?!

Thank you for your kind words about this scene, as always. Yeah, I appreciate those moments in season 3 where she's working on who she's becoming. It's nice to evolve into Fancy New Beesly (cause really, between the two of them she definitely evolved more than Jim) but that doesn't mean all of Same Old Pammy needs to change. I wanted season 3 to be different, but I really liked Pam's growth. :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2018 01:29 am Title: Hers IV

Things that Jim kept that reminded him of Pam? Office Olympic origami doves, his copy of the mix tape he left in the teapot, the teapot card, some random doodle Pam gave him before Casino night, the citronella candle from grilled cheese on the roof. Hopefully there are a few possibilities in there for you.

So I liked how Pam's journey of introspection has come around in this chapter. She's finally okay with just being herself. Not Pam and, just Pam. Fancy New Beesly is ready to make herself known. There still is, and always will be, work to be done. However this is the start of the Pam who's ready to finally tell Roy the truth and who will walk through fire for Jim. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Hey Warrior! Thank you so much for responding, especially given the likelihood of sleep deprivation you are experiencing. I thought of the citronella candle, too! I kind of thought that was a crazy thought, but maybe we're on to something (or we're both crazy!). Thanks for your kind words. I think Pam went through a really terrible year in season three, but, as much I would have loved Jim to run back into her arms, I do like that she went on a bit of a journey alone.  

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 06:03 pm Title: Hers III

Oh wow. I LOVE how introspective Pam is being. So rarely do we actually get to see how she processed Jim being gone, more so it’s usually, “Pam got a new apartment and was sad, OOOO JIM SHOWED UP ON THE FRONT STEP!” so this is great. I love the bit in there that you have about how she doesn’t want to overthink the song choices on the CD, too. And taking his handset? Wow. I LOVED that move. So much. Can’t wait to see more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! A review from you is such a treat. I’m glad you like it. And it makes me thrilled that the handset part worked for you! I was concerned it might too much, but it just wouldn’t leave my mind. So glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 09:46 am Title: Hers III

Okay, the wait to find out what was in the bags was absolutely worth it. The Roy bag was the perfect mix of contradicting feelings one would have for an ex-- yes, there's a lot of bad to focus on but you're also going to find that handful of happy memories to cling to when you're wallowing.

And then there's the Jim Bag. It's fine, DC, just break my heart with Pam desperately stealing anything she could from his desk after he was gone. I'll be okay.

But going back to the scene just before that - the party planning scene is my favorite out of this chapter between the "I don't knows" and Angela's brief moment of kindness - this is a scene that could have been on the show.

The end of this chapter *is* hopeful... as much as I think Pam wallowed for nights and weeks or however long, it's time for her to start pulling herself out of it. And if she does so by way of a Jim mixed cd and a teapot, well, this is what I'm here for.

However, UGH. I just realized that I haven't even begun to wonder what kind of things Jim kept. Given the things he left behind... I can only imagine it's going to kill me in the best of ways.

Author's Response:

Wow, I think "a scene that could have been on the show" is one of the highest compliments I could get. Thank you. And I low-key love the Angela/Pam frenemy thing that finds its best voice during their Dwight/Jim issues so this just really stuck with me. I'm so glad you liked it!

Yeah, Jim's is coming in a bit. It's as angsty (I mean, you've watched the show), but not as long. He doesn't have as much to emotionally unpack in this story as she does. :) Any thoughts on what Jim might have kept would be so appreciated! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 01:28 am Title: Hers III

I really liked this chapter. You really show Pam starting to get a handle on herself here. The change into the more confident Pam is great to see here. I love all the introspection Pam does. Yes there were good moments with Roy and those deserve to be remembered in some way. There were a lot of great moments with Jim and I liked how you had her keeping those in her mind with the cigar box display stand for the teapot.

It can get hard to show the mental progress someone makes, especially after the turmoil of Casino night but like I said you did it well. Great job, looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, Warrior! Clearly we know Pam is someone who needs time, so this slow process of growth makes sense to me for her. I appreciate how you notice her need to keep those memories close and accessible (but still maybe a little out of sight) about Jim. Shoo, I'm glad you understand where I was coming from with Roy, too. Ten years is a lot to walk away from, right? There have to be a few things she will miss or reminisce about, even if they aren't enough to make her stay. Thanks so much for being so supportive with your comments.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2018 08:07 pm Title: Hers II

Listen, Allure doesn't know everything. Sometimes, a girl just needs to drink until she can't drink anymore.

What I like about this chapter is how we see a different side of Pam that I don't remember seeing before. It makes so much sense that she needed a fair amount of help after leaving Roy and I love that her family stepped in without hesitation. I understand her guilt, but I love that she knew to accept their help, and that she's slowly gaining her independence back.

However. DC. I need to know.

What's in the bags???

Author's Response: Ha! You're right; especially in this season I picture Pam drinking until she can't anymore a lot. And about those bags, they are very angsty and melodramatic but I think Pam probably did a lot of that in this season too. Check your inbox. ;)

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2018 08:02 pm Title: Hers I

DC! This is fantastic! I'm in love with your writing.

You nailed the Single Girl mindset. Everything Pam's doing, I've definitely done and yeah... running is the absolute worst.

Michael is one of those characters I can give or take honestly, but his relationship with Pam on the show was one of my favorites, and you portrayed it perfectly here. I was grinning while I read their conversation because of course Michael would be the voice of reason. Of course he would persuade her to do something she loves. Of course he would want a David Blaine poster.

I still felt a little twinge when she called Jim's desk Ryan's. That was a great little detail.

And yes, buttermints are the worst. The raisins of candy, if you will.

Author's Response:

Ugh! Running and buttermints and raisins ARE the worst! Thank you. First of all, your comments are too kind. And I think Pam leaving Roy is really similar to going through a divorce so she's learning how to be single, right? I hate the angst of S3, but I'm glad Pam figured how to be just Pam. 

Thanks for catching a couple of those details. And, wow, thanks for that about Michael. I freak out a little to write anyone but Pam and Jim but I was happy with this. It means a lot that it worked for you, too!

DC 

Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 25, 2018 01:36 pm Title: Hers II

I really, really like this so far. The writing flows, the characters are very recognizable, the imagery is great. Can’t wait to see more from you, but what’s cool is that these chapters almost work as drabbles/oneshots too.

Author's Response: Thanks WYW! This started out as a one shot that we haven’t made it to yet, but, per usual for me, I started creating a whole lotta World that I needed to explore. 🙂 Thanks for the specifics on what’s working. 👍

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2018 11:50 am Title: Hers I

This is a great story, and realistic for where Pam would be. Keep going please!

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! (Love your username btw!) There’s more coming and it’s going to be a bit angstier (hmmm? That’s a word, right?) before it gets better. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2018 10:26 am Title: Hers II

I’m liking this story. Can’t wait to see where it goes. I always like when Michael has moments of clarity and says something insightful . Hope you post the next chapter soon

Author's Response: Thank you, Merria! I always like those (rare) moments when Michael is insightful, too. And I always think it’s funny how he tacks on something so inappropriate it can potentially any good thing he’s said. 😂😂 I hope you continue to like where this story goes. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2018 11:15 pm Title: Hers II

Again, a good insight to how Pam is holding up. Setting the ground word for the Fancy New Beesly we'll come to know and love. Lots of good description here. Very easy to see Pam's apartment in the mind's eye.

Author's Response: Awwww! W4, thanks again! I was hoping to paint that picture without remarking on every single boring detail. Thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2018 11:11 pm Title: Hers I

I like this first chapter. Yes, it's angsty and a little depressing, but it's also right where Pam is at this point. I also like how you've Michael in this chapter. Yes, Michael is boorish and a man-child, but every so often he surprises everyone by actually being a nice guy and you captured that well in this chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks, W4! Glad you appreciated that rare moment in Michael. And your assessment of him as a boorish, man-child most of the time is so accurate.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans