Reviews For Theirs
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 04:53 am Title: His II

The goddamn box indeed. It hurts in the best way possible. Do you know you write hurting Jim in such a way that it causes me like physical pain? Because you do.
But also never, ever stop.
That last paragraph...how dare you.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 03:18 am Title: His II

How. Dare. You. The mixed berry yoghurt conversation?!

I —
The whole lottery thing. Her disappointment at his apathy. And then this. God, DC. This: “he knew he was really glad he hadn’t won the lottery.”

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 03:08 am Title: His I

“He doesn’t know how not to think about her.” I mean same. I think about them both everyday...

“It was the ninety-third time he thought about marrying her.” This fine. Totally fine.

That end note. Girl, please. I live for your angst.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 03:01 am Title: Hers IV

“Our art is just like us. A work in progress. Just focus on what you’re able to manage today and work up to the rest later.”
Don’t mind me. I’m just going to hang this quote up in my office at work.

The link to Michael telling her to find her joy with her art show is SO well written.

“She’s just thinking about being a work in progress and how she is becoming herself a little more each day.”
This is so damn beautiful.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 02:53 am Title: Hers III

“recognizes it was okay to need that sense of familiarity that was disguised as security”
The way you’ve summed up Pam’s entire relationship with Roy so succinctly with this.

“emotionally unpacked” I adore how you do this. The physical, tangible way you’ve written this, with her routine of unpacking memorabilia & then reflecting on it all. It really is emotional unpacking & it’s perfect.

Oh. My. God. Pam swapping the handset from their phones will do. me. in.

“a long-distance version of Jinx” This is the best description of them not communicating with one another during the Stamford time. Holy crap. I can’t deal with how good it is.

“Turns and highways are the only logistics standing in her way back to him. In theory.” I love this so very, very much.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 02:32 am Title: Hers II

“She reserves weekends for watching romantic comedies, listening to sad music, and reading erotic fiction while drinking wine until she passes out on the floor or the couch.”
This is living the dream & I will accept no alternatives.

I love this glimpse into how Pam rebuilds a new normal. Although, that last sentence breaks my heart just a little bit. It makes all the sense in the world that that is where she’s at right now.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 02:25 am Title: Hers I

The capital T of time kills me in this. It’s a mood and a half.
“But Time cackles and ironically says, “I can’t.””
I mean c‘ mon, DC. It’s amazing.

“Wailing, sorrowful, cathartic tears are for the shower. Bitter, angry tears are for the car. Sniffling, breathy tears happen in moments like this when her fucking emotions take over at work”
Wow. Uh, it’s rude that you’ve been watching me. This is so damn real.

“He reminds her of a sweet meerkat, softly blinking, harmless.” This is the perfect description. It’s uncanny.
This whole Michael pep talk is everything. The writing is just spectacular & I love him a whole, whole lot because of it. You’ve captured the best parts of him in all the best ways.

(I know I’ve read this before, but I don’t think I’ve actually reviewed it & I’m so ecstatic to see an update so here we are...)

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2021 12:22 am Title: His II

I love that you're digging into this moment of the return, where Jim makes some lousy decisions that ended up driving the action through the rest of Season 3 - it deserves thoughtful attention.

The way you used the description of his apartment and his progress with it to encapsulate his feelings about Stamford himself - and the way he's just started to make peace with being there - was well done. You've really captured how desperately awful this particular moment would've been for him. (I also very much share the few that his conversation with Pam in The Initiation would have had the counter-intuitive effect of making him want to lean into his Stamford life.) Of course, he's working through the awfulness by grasping for Karen to keep himself safe without admitting to himself that's what he's doing. Jeez. Be good to her, Dan.

The trip back to the early moments of establishing their dynamic was... I don't want to say fun, but I enjoyed it. These two people who are so close and know each other so well are just SO BAD at reading each other. It's painful, but it feels true to them.

Also: "Do not think about Pam wearing these shoes. Do not think about Pam wearing these shoes. Do not think about Pam wearing these shoes." Yeah, he's thinkin' about Pam wearing those shoes.

I'm really glad you came back to this one!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 06:53 pm Title: His II

You: “Next chapter will be a bit more angsty!”

Me, having missed this story when it was first being updated because I am a trash person who abandoned MTT for no good reason at all: “oh, okay, if what has been written already isn’t getting to the higher end of the angst meter then am I fully prepared for what’s next?”

You: *writes this chapter*

God, DC. This whole thing, the exploration of them exploring how they feel, before he tells her and after he leaves and while she’s breaking him? It is so genius and perfect. I love the symmetry in these chapters, how alike they are in their feelings without knowing it. I LOVED the yogurt story and had to go back and reread about her moving her computer because she WANTED TO SEE WHAT CHANGE WAS LIKE. Oh, my god. Murder me.

And I loved that at the beginning she was still processing things with Roy. Even when it’s not right, it’s so so hard to end a relationship like that, and it takes time and effort to unpack how you feel and sort those feelings away. You addressed it so beautifully.

I love this. I hate that I was gone when it was first published and I hate that my first act upon logging back in wasn’t to go and read all of your work (and Coley, and AG, and JB, and all of my other favorites, if you guys could just not be so good and prolific and also if you could pay me money to read all your fic so I didn’t have to waste time with a job, that’d be great ty) but I am so glad I had so much of this one to read today. Excellent work, but no surprise there. Cannot wait to see how you end it.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 01:51 pm Title: His II

Help! Police! I'd like to report a murder.

My God you do this so well. Thank you for the gift of another chapter of this killer story.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 09:11 am Title: His II

Oh Jim, there you go still being the lovelorn fool you are. Kind of fun to get some more of the backstory between them. Especially the expired yogurt moment. He's clearly still reeling from everything and from where I sit doing everything he can to distract and deny what he really feels.

Only one chapter left? Really interested to see where this takes us.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 09:08 am Title: His II

I'm sorry, what? Karen??? After all of this, you have to go and leave us with Jim and Karen?! I'm glad you warned us that the next chapter is fluffy because I need that right now.

But seriously, I just read this whole thing and it's so good. I loveeee the stories you created behind the objects. The boggle timer, the picture of them ice skating, and the magazine/lottery ticket were my favorites. I also loved how you wrote Michael in the beginning. Caring and concerned for Pam, but he still has that Michael charm that we all know and love (and sometimes hate).

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 08:37 am Title: Hers III

Two AWWWWWWWWW moments for me. Switching the phone handsets and "I can't" carved on her tombstone.

Good onya

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2021 08:10 am Title: His II

Like a fine wine, old is not necessarily bad.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2020 03:54 pm Title: His I

This feels very real, and absolutely is a thing that happened - there's no way Jim didn't do a much-needed Pam scrub of his room before that party.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2020 03:46 pm Title: Hers IV

This is a great glimpse into this episode, and adds some useful context to what comes next.

I do really enjoy that this is on some level about the Pam-Michael relationship along with the Jim-Pam one. Their dynamic is worth more exploration than it gets.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2020 03:41 pm Title: Hers III

There are a LOT of great lines here.

The bit about Pam and Roy passing the ring back and forth because it has no emotional value to Pam and no financial value to Roy is just very them.

Pam freezing up during the PPC meeting is lovely.

The reveal that he left the yogurt lid and the dove is heart-breaking, AND makes the use of the medal during The Job that much more meaningful.

And I love her finally reaching the tipping point of starting to move forward again.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 26, 2020 03:14 pm Title: Hers I

“You’ve been through a lot lately. Roy. Jim. Moving. Researching the top twenty magic shops in the country. That would take an emotional toll on anyone” is an amazing Michael line - just the right mix of surprisingly effective affection and complete lack of self-awareness.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2018 02:25 pm Title: Hers I

I like this one. I think that Jim was optimistic before Casino Night so the time fits.

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! Yeah, I agree about Jim's still-optimistic spirit here. Next chapter, not so much...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2018 11:15 am Title: His I

I liked this one. Getting a new perspective on some of the Teapot Bonus Gifts as well as other things Jim collects. Getting a glimpse into Jim's mindset was good too. Looking forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! There will be more getting into Jim's head in the next chapter as well. Glad you liked it, and, as always, thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 13, 2018 06:25 am Title: His I

“This is his, but it’s all about her.” is the most accurate description of Jim that I’ve seen in a long time. So good.

I love this imaginary conversation with Betsy! I mean, you know she has the perfect box just sitting in her closet but I like to think she’d still give him a hard time about asking and this is why he doesn’t. No, not Jim - instead, Jim has the most typical and perfect guy response to needing a box - just go and buy something. Brilliant.

Yes DC, these are exactly the types of things Jim keeps. This boy is PINING and if it was anyone else, I’d be rolling my eyes so hard at him but somehow it just makes me love Jim more?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m worried about all the ways this could turn angsty in the next chapter but that doesn’t mean I want it any less. I’ll keep saying it, this story is SO good. I hate that I have no idea what the end game could possibly be, but I am waiting as patiently as I can to find out!

Author's Response:

Yea! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind words and those specific things you liked.  

I know, Jim here is almost a little giddy in his pining for her. I didn't intend for this one to be almost hopeful, but I think it worked for this part of the season. And don't YOU worry; you'll get your one shoe, and an evening in Stamford, and a reason to hate Karen in the next chapter.

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2018 06:26 am Title: Hers IV

Oh Pam. She needs a hug. Maybe not from Michael though, although that moment at the end was sweet. No Travis, those aren’t his eyes.

I love this take on her art show! Mostly because I love that she realizes this whole sliding back into bad Roy habits has been a terrible idea and she needs to slide back out of them. Okay, that’s not the main reason. I love that she’s become this more stable, secure version of herself but that she’s still struggling with the same old insecurities and fears. It’s not so easy to shake those, and you captured that in really lovely way.

I’ve already given you some Jim ideas, but I also kind of hope he’s kept something completely ridiculous. Like a shoe. I don’t know how he got it, but he has it.

Author's Response:

A shoe? A SHOE?! Are you messing with me? Because you know anything you suggest I'm going to try and make it work. So if Jim is crying over a ratty, old, dirty purple flip flop, this fandom has you to blame. A shoe, Coley?!

Thank you for your kind words about this scene, as always. Yeah, I appreciate those moments in season 3 where she's working on who she's becoming. It's nice to evolve into Fancy New Beesly (cause really, between the two of them she definitely evolved more than Jim) but that doesn't mean all of Same Old Pammy needs to change. I wanted season 3 to be different, but I really liked Pam's growth. :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2018 01:29 am Title: Hers IV

Things that Jim kept that reminded him of Pam? Office Olympic origami doves, his copy of the mix tape he left in the teapot, the teapot card, some random doodle Pam gave him before Casino night, the citronella candle from grilled cheese on the roof. Hopefully there are a few possibilities in there for you.

So I liked how Pam's journey of introspection has come around in this chapter. She's finally okay with just being herself. Not Pam and, just Pam. Fancy New Beesly is ready to make herself known. There still is, and always will be, work to be done. However this is the start of the Pam who's ready to finally tell Roy the truth and who will walk through fire for Jim. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Hey Warrior! Thank you so much for responding, especially given the likelihood of sleep deprivation you are experiencing. I thought of the citronella candle, too! I kind of thought that was a crazy thought, but maybe we're on to something (or we're both crazy!). Thanks for your kind words. I think Pam went through a really terrible year in season three, but, as much I would have loved Jim to run back into her arms, I do like that she went on a bit of a journey alone.  

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 06:03 pm Title: Hers III

Oh wow. I LOVE how introspective Pam is being. So rarely do we actually get to see how she processed Jim being gone, more so it’s usually, “Pam got a new apartment and was sad, OOOO JIM SHOWED UP ON THE FRONT STEP!” so this is great. I love the bit in there that you have about how she doesn’t want to overthink the song choices on the CD, too. And taking his handset? Wow. I LOVED that move. So much. Can’t wait to see more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! A review from you is such a treat. I’m glad you like it. And it makes me thrilled that the handset part worked for you! I was concerned it might too much, but it just wouldn’t leave my mind. So glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2018 09:46 am Title: Hers III

Okay, the wait to find out what was in the bags was absolutely worth it. The Roy bag was the perfect mix of contradicting feelings one would have for an ex-- yes, there's a lot of bad to focus on but you're also going to find that handful of happy memories to cling to when you're wallowing.

And then there's the Jim Bag. It's fine, DC, just break my heart with Pam desperately stealing anything she could from his desk after he was gone. I'll be okay.

But going back to the scene just before that - the party planning scene is my favorite out of this chapter between the "I don't knows" and Angela's brief moment of kindness - this is a scene that could have been on the show.

The end of this chapter *is* hopeful... as much as I think Pam wallowed for nights and weeks or however long, it's time for her to start pulling herself out of it. And if she does so by way of a Jim mixed cd and a teapot, well, this is what I'm here for.

However, UGH. I just realized that I haven't even begun to wonder what kind of things Jim kept. Given the things he left behind... I can only imagine it's going to kill me in the best of ways.

Author's Response:

Wow, I think "a scene that could have been on the show" is one of the highest compliments I could get. Thank you. And I low-key love the Angela/Pam frenemy thing that finds its best voice during their Dwight/Jim issues so this just really stuck with me. I'm so glad you liked it!

Yeah, Jim's is coming in a bit. It's as angsty (I mean, you've watched the show), but not as long. He doesn't have as much to emotionally unpack in this story as she does. :) Any thoughts on what Jim might have kept would be so appreciated! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans