Reviews For No Pain, No Gain
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 09:58 am Title: Chapter 5

Brilliant concept! You captured their voices, their connection, and their humor in a way that felt entirely realistic despite the fantastical premise. And then, to add Kelly and Ryan as werewolf social media stars... I gasped out loud at how hilarious and horrifying that is. Utterly perfect.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:14 pm Title: Chapter 5

So, I got too emotional in this chapter. I'm a sucker for families doing too much for each other and this was perfection. You got the kids innocence and excitement and pride down perfectly.
And Pam, well, as Jim says, I love that girl. This is so in character and she would absolutely do this.
The Wolf!!!! I'm with Jim. PF is one of my top five movies (I know you said it first, you can tell me to suck it :)) and I love how they managed their own inside joke IN the family inside joke.

'We'll always be your pack.' Seriously, I got too emotional over this.

Why do you make me Feel too much for these fictional characters?! Oh, and thank you for it. :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:09 pm Title: Chapter 4

I mean, the image of WolfJim reading SI while watching ESPN is pretty wonderful. And I literally laughed out loud to "interspecies spooning"! Fantastic.

Oh my god! Your Ryan and Kelly bit (and that WUPHF tie-in!!!) are BRILLIANT! Genius, really.

I also really love that, despite this terrible fate, Pam and Jim have made the best of it in a way that is totally in character.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:04 pm Title: Chapter 3

That whole paragraph that starts with "Pam didn't fuss..." is absolute perfection. That really captures who they are here and in canon.

Your description of the transition is gripping and I'm sympathetic to it, rather than scared of it. Well done!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 09:01 pm Title: Chapter 2

When did I ever think I would get all sentimental in a chapter with raw animal innards? Well, here we are. :)

My absolute favorite part here is the part about Jim offering her an out and her reaction. Because, of course that was her reaction, but you conveyed all of that emotion in such minimal context. Ah, it was great.
And I agree with Philip; candy IS the best!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 08:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

I am confounded by your creativity. Seriously, it almost makes me jealous because it appears like it is effortless. I love AU (real and true AU, not something that is actually "wildly canon divergent", although I dig that stuff, too) but you REALLY get AU.
And I would definitely pick a werewolf over a vampire so I'm glad you went that route... :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2018 06:05 pm Title: Chapter 5

I can't even pick a favorite part of this chapter. First, it was Cece and her insane excitement for Halloween because yeah, same girl.

Then it was Pam for truly being the best wife in the world and creating a theme for the family.

But then you have Philip dressed as my man, Wolf Blitzer and I died. Perfect. Absolutely perfect.

Best Wolf pack ever. This was so much fun to read!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2018 06:01 pm Title: Chapter 4

"What's up, dog?" Classic.

Love the explanation as to how Jim got this way but what I really love is Ryan and Kelly having a youtube channel. That seems right.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2018 05:57 pm Title: Chapter 3

Holy crap, your description of Jim's transition is amazing here. Poor guy, he wins all the Dad Dundies for not taking his pain meds.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2018 05:55 pm Title: Chapter 2

"Already, they were hairier than usual. His arms, of course. Not the children." I love the cadence and timing of Jim's internal dialogue.

Pam really is the best wife here. But I guess, if you've got Jim for a husband, you just accept it when he becomes a supernatural creature.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 26, 2018 05:51 pm Title: Chapter 1

Jim is a werewolf. I mean, I'm intrigued.

Reviewer: BringingTheJam Signed [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2018 08:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

Loved this!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2018 07:38 pm Title: Chapter 5

I loved the digs about the twilight series. Any time someone roasts that thing my heart soars just a little more.

Great detail throughout. Once I warmed up to the idea it was actually quite fun. The Halpert family wolf pack was also quite fun to see too.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans