Reviews For Practical Magic
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:56 pm Title: Enchanted

I carried a watermelon. Because Baby taught our generation 47% of what we needed to know about seduction. (The remaining 11%, for those keeping count, came from David Bowie in Labyrinth.) The WHOLE concept that every woman went crazy and no guy got it was so fantastic. Really, bravo on that front.

Yes, dude, marry her already.

Okay, I KNEW you were going to bring it full circle, but really?! The Dundies! Their irl iconic costumes! Mentioning FOUR iconic couples that I need to hear more about these two discussing! You pulled out all the stops!

Okay, I know I got all excited and fangirly over this story, but it hit every sweet, sexy, angsty, funny, fluffy, realistic note that I needed this Halloween. Thank you for the love and work and candy-consumption you put into it. ;)

Author's Response: I like your math, it makes perfect sense to me. Again, thank you so much for taking the time here... I'm so happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:44 pm Title: Black-Magicked

Of course she's singing Fiona Apple. Because I'm a few years younger than Pam and that Criminal video taught our generation 42% of what we needed to know about seduction.

Jim's right; she is a tease. And he's soooo into it. That theme of witchcraft has me cracking me up.

Casually, "when did you decide you're trying to kill me?" **cackling because THAT is 100% a casual Jim comment**

The candy debate is AMAZING. I'm picturing it similar to the Hillary Swank "hotness" debate but with Sexy Pam and candy so it's about 1000x better (and I love that Hilary debate so that's saying a lot). Thank you for forever associating Cher and Snickers and, YES, Kelly would absolutely be all about the Starburst and Skittles. I mean, that little call out was perfect.

Again, I am loving Jim's little catalog of her candy-quirks. Can we agree she eats sour patch kids when in a creative funk? Oh, wait, maybe that's me transferring?? ;)

One of my forever favorite lines in this WHOLE fandom is Jim, in reference to Toby preferring candy corn, "Who hurt you?" There's so much there that I love.

Creed, Oscar, and Ryan are characterized so perfectly. I mean, PERFECTLY.

And now we come to the piece de resistance: The whole thigh-high, shoes on, and, oh look, Jim and I both blacked out for a few seconds because aye aye aye.

Okay, and I am in love with her being so impatient at the front door when they get to his place. There is something so sweet about her almost losing it while trying to play cool.

Author's Response: Good eye - I was definitely thinking of the Hilary Swank debate while writing that scene, but also, we debated candy in my office for four days straight and we still don't have a solid conclusion. And yes, sour patch kids are for sure her go-to when she's hit a wall. 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 07:03 pm Title: Hexed

Coleyyyyy! This chapter is just so...real. The whole snapping at each other and being on edge and passive-aggressive comments that are instantly forgotten because you want to be sure the other person isn't hurting (physically and emotionally because gah! you hit both perfectly). That's just so real in relationships.
And the baggage part is, too. I love that Pam is shy and embarrassed about her "insane insecurities" but I also love that she comes clean and has her own version of being brave.

This was just really great stuff.

Two more things:
I'm with Jim; Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. It's a holiday focused on telling people about your gratitude (hello, words of affirmation is my love language) and eating; those are, like, my two favorite things.
Second, I know what's coming next and he LITERALLY asked for it...Just sayin', Jimothy.

Author's Response: This is my favorite chapter of the entire thing so I'm SO GLAD that everyone else is loving it too... I was afraid it was too much but I was going ahead with it anyways!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 06:29 pm Title: Charmed

Okay, this? Was adorable and the absolute fluff I needed. From the apple picking (I love how Penny and Jim were like, no ladders. ever) and the little foursome with the hard-cider and the scary movies.

But seriously, all of that with him checking the doors was the best. Really, the best. (And not just because I do the exact same thing to my husband, but it IS fun to be scared!)

Okay, and I see what you did there with Magenta so I dig it. :)

Author's Response: Listen, chances are good we'd all be dead right now if we didn't have boyfriends/husbands who checked for monsters. That's just how life works.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 05:55 pm Title: Bewitched

I want to dissect that entire first paragraph, but I'll show some restraint. But I might want to swap notes on my whole list of things that make Pam, Pam via email. ;)

'It will scare you.' Fan-freaking-tastic.

Really, there are so many little wonderful bits at Dwight's farm. Everyone's reaction to the presentation, Angela's spiritual mission on Halloween (surrrrre, Angela), the Corn Mose being a straight line. Oh, that's good!

I LOVE that Pam has a little moment where she freaks out about coming in a cornfield. Oh! I fall in love with Jim a little more when he pulls out that flask.

I mean, I know they're not winning, but I feel like we TOTALLY are.

Pam is a Janet. 100%.

Author's Response: I mean, lets talk about that list sometime. Your reviews are way too sweet, thank you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 05:33 pm Title: Spellbound

I've made NO secret that this story got my Halloween mojo back in action, but I waited to review until I could do a second read-through. I have a whole bag of Snickers and a bottle of Cab so it's going to be lengthy. ;)
Can we start with that first line? Because THAT is the mark of a real adult relationship. Especially later when Pam follows it up with 'I love you a decent amount, but I really love Halloween.'

Putting Mark and Penny together is pretty genius. So is Jim as Johnny from Dirty Dancing.

Programming Paused while I digest him telling her 'leave it' and her loving his thing for her wearing his shirts during sexy times...

Ugh and the whole premise of this with their teasing is wonderfully topped off with their stupid habit of underestimating the others' willpower. It's like they didn't even watch seasons 1-3!! Seriously, you captured these beautiful idiots perfectly.

Author's Response: Let's just pretend that your Present Day Jim and Pam were the future my Jim and Pam were trying to get to :) 

Reviewer: lemniscate Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 02:52 pm Title: Enchanted

i don’t have the words to say how amazing this story was... you literally 100% nailed it i was in study hall trying not to like squeal, okay?? also the whole dressing like jam in the future was p e r f e c t. wow.

Reviewer: lemniscate Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2018 11:36 am Title: Enchanted

i don’t have the words to say how amazing this story was... you literally 100% nailed it i was in study hall trying not to like squeal, okay?? also the whole dressing like jam in the future was p e r f e c t. wow.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Don’t feel bad about study hall - I wrote the majority of this while I was at work. Sometimes we just make those choices! :) I’m so happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 31, 2018 08:42 pm Title: Enchanted

Okay, you're right. Being a guy I didn't get Jim's costume right away either. But that was quickly clarified. Very cute way to wrap up. A little meta, but still fun. After all the teasing and tormenting, they're still Jim and Pam. One of the best couples and you wrote them at their best. Great way to wrap up this tale. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for following along and reviewing the whole way! I have to admit, I’m a sucker for meta and just couldn’t help myself :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2018 11:36 pm Title: Black-Magicked

First off, and let me be 100% clear here. HOLY MOLEY COLEY!! Here, take all the jellybeans. That was quite the ride. Funny, devious, sexy as hell. Well done you.

Second, I like Jim's Clark Kent costume idea. Great minds must think alike since I'm pretty sure there's another Halloween fic in this contest that has Jim saying he'll use that idea. Now if I could only remember who wrote that one. Hmmm...I'll get back to you on it.

A peanut butter cups. My second favorite candy in general but my number one favorite candy to get while at work. Though for myself I prefer regular to holiday shapes. Better ratio or chocolate to peaunt butter in my opinion.

Looking forward to the last chapter and seeing what costume Pam has in store of Jim.

Author's Response:

Oh gosh, I didn’t even realize he both picked Clark Kent! I guess there’s only so many basic costumes for a tall and gangly guy who doesn’t do Halloween, huh?

Peanut butter cups are a classic - you can’t ever go wrong with them and personally, I think the world is a better place because of them.

 

I’m so happy you liked this chapter! I knew it might be a slight stretch character wise but well, I had too much fun writing to cut any of it out! 

Reviewer: SadParallel Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2018 05:34 pm Title: Hexed

Jesus Coley, this just keeps getting better and better. Your understanding of these two as characters is so unbelievably good. Those backstories as well, especially Jim's, were amazing. His is definitely going to be my personal explanation for his hatred pf costumes (that always felt like a really odd trait to me).
Thank you for writing this. It makes me all happy and shit. Can't wait for the next entry.

Author's Response: Aw yay! I love making people happy. Hopefully the next chapter doesn't disappoint. Thank you so much for reading! 

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2018 07:42 pm Title: Hexed

Wow Coley, are you like a marriage counselor or something? You are crazy intuitive and tuned into these two. God, every exchange just made my heart melt, AND kept me on the edge of my seat. And the teasing and touching and hinting and taunting is driving me crazy! You are SO GOOD at this!

By the way, the other day our receptionist said "Bye Xavier" to our delivery guy and it made me think of you. I thought "wow, she knows his name!" Haha! :)

Once again, this is great Coley! :)

Author's Response: First of all, Xavier is a GREAT name. I'm glad she knows it, lol! And thank you! This review is super sweet and I'm so glad you're liking it so far! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2018 06:58 pm Title: Hexed

I liked the change of pace with this chapter. Yes all the sexiness and teasing in the last few chapters has been fun. However it's good to remember there's more to Jim and Pam than just being fun and flirtatious.

Adding in some of Jim and Pam's backstory was great too. It grounds the characters more. Nice to see them reconnect like this, especially after everything else you've had them go through. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was really hoping the shift in tone wouldn't be too jarring but I felt like I needed to get some substance in there before getting to the really good stuff. I'm glad it worked!

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2018 06:41 pm Title: Hexed

Candy Corn LOL!

Author's Response: LOL, It makes me laugh too. Candy corn, like Toby, is the worst. 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2018 06:31 pm Title: Hexed

This is supposed to be a story where the two main characters are trying to out-sex each other, but you’ve got tears in my eyes because Pam’s insecurities are the opposite of the normal cheese and are totally real and whole and perfect (they’re residual The-Red-Sox-Are-World-Series-Champs tears, that’s what I’ve decided). Ugh. This is so perfect. I can’t wait to see how they finally get each other.

Author's Response: Don't worry - we'll resume the out-sexing next chapter and there won't be any more pesky crying. For now. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2018 12:38 pm Title: Charmed

Still all very cute and sweet. Lots of fun descriptions and very fluffy too.

Author's Response: I mean, what fun are Jim and Pam if they aren't cute and sweet? I don't want to find out. 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2018 09:14 am Title: Charmed

I know that I constantly praise your brilliance, so you should honestly be expecting this. You write Jim and Pam so well, and each of your stories gives them their own little quirks. Aside from the fact that all of the sexy parts of your story are always beautifully and masterfully written, the characters are what I fall in love with. I think one of my favorite parts of this was when Pam reached out to Jim after watching the scary movie. Just the fact that they need each other, above all of the silly bets going on. Ugh. Coley. Never stop.

Author's Response: Oh geeze, you're way too nice to me! I love it though, let's just keep writing JAM forever.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 27, 2018 01:31 pm Title: Bewitched

They are so good at playing off (with?) each other. I really like how you're still having them have fun with each other like this. Can't wait to see what's in store.

Author's Response: I have to admit, I had a blast writing this story so I'm glad the fun is showing through. As always, thanks for reading and taking the time to comment! 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 25, 2018 08:50 pm Title: Spellbound

Ooooh!!!! Great beginning to the story. I really hope you post the following chapter soon. I can’t wait to read what happens next

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter will be up very soon :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 25, 2018 05:54 pm Title: Spellbound

Oh wow. This is going to be fun. I love their banter here. The characterization is down solid. I love seeing this little devious side of Pam. Jim too is quite fun. That you have them daring each other like this is a very interesting twist. Can't wait to see where this leads.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was hoping the banter would work so I'm really glad to hear it did. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans