You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2019 06:59 pm Title: Your Card, Madam

The best part? Roy forgetting they'd broken up. I actually loled at that. Great story! (Very Hallmark-y)

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, Roy fits the bill as a dumb Hallmark starter boyfriend almost too well!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 06:37 pm Title: Your Card, Madam

I can picture Jim pulling out a giant ball of tinsel and just casually handing it to Pam perfectly. I love that.

Oh. My. God. You nailed everything about this. Seriously, it's so great!

Can that officially be what The Letter said? It's perfect.

Also, it's a small thing but I really enjoyed how Jim just hands her the letter and then goes about with the prank and it's all very casual but it's Not. Not even a little bit. I'm glad he didn't fall off that ladder.

This was such a lovely, definitely Hallmark-inspired, Christmas story! You did good, Comfect. You did real good.

Author's Response: I really, really enjoyed writing this chapter (and this fic) and I'm so glad that it struck the same chord with you. Thanks so much for reading!

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 06:27 pm Title: Two Out of Three Ain't Bad

"She tapped her fingers on the counter. “I suppose you’re right.” He looked ever more confused. “I mean, there was dancing—when you tried to open the car door, which was very sweet, but completely unnecessary. And there’s music,” she gestured towards the jukebox, which was gamely pumping out a rock-and-roll version of “Silent Night,” “that’s two out of three. Though I suppose we haven’t eaten yet, so…you’re right, this isn’t a date.” She picked up her menu and hid behind it in order to give herself a moment to marvel at her own boldness. “So, what’s good here…”" COMFECT! Have I mentioned its good to have you back? It's good to have you back.

Tina's great, she makes me laugh. And oh Jim, he's just talking to everybody about Pam, isn't he? Poor guy's got it bad.

Can you tell I'm enjoying this? Because I am.

Author's Response:

Really, you think Jim has it bad for Pam? Whatever gave you that impression? :)

Thank you! It's good to be back. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 06:14 pm Title: She's Got a Little List

Like Pam, I'm a huge fan of making checklists and checking things off of them, so I love this chapter.

I also didn't know I needed the image of Jim making a snow angel in the YMCA parking lot, but I did, and I'm glad that it's there now.

I'm out of jellybeans, but I'd give you 2 for this chapter if I could.

Author's Response:

Organized!Pam is my favorite Pam to write. Not that she is it very much, but when she is it's great. Much like Whimsical!Jim, but that one is more common.

And thanks! I appreciate the sentiment. :) 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 06:00 pm Title: Paint by Numbers

I wish you could have seen my face when I read the line where Roy called Pam petty. I was cheering pretty hard when she told him he was over it. Finally!

Hmm... who's hand could that be in the picture with her? I wonder.

Author's Response:

Who knows! It's a mystery.

 Thanks for noticing these small touches. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 05:52 pm Title: Ice to Meet You

Okay, wow. I called that one wrong. But this is one of those rare occurrences where I'm okay with being wrong because this Katy tornado was an unexpected delight.

A Bob Ross shout out? I'm so glad that you're back to writing, this is so much fun to read!

Author's Response: ...and this is why I'm glad I tricked you. I'm glad this is as fun for you to read as for me to write! This was a great way to get the mojo of writing back.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 05:37 pm Title: So Call Me, Maybe

This chapter. It's SO GOOD. It says so much, and I'm feeling sad for Pam all over again. That first paragraph was so well done.

Not even mad Michael won the contest. *shrugs* AND I really laughed out loud at the paper ream prank. That's gold.

Stupid Roy. Stupid Kenny. They deserve each other.

Listen, I've watched a lot of Hallmark movies... Jim's going to be there skating right? He's totally going to be there skating.

Author's Response: I'm glad someone else is genre savvy in this genre--I strongly considered the possibility that Jim would be there. But I'm even more glad I tricked you...

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 05:31 pm Title: Ugly Is As Ugly Sweaters

Dwight is a delightful background character in these first few chapters!

Oh Pam, don't get mad at Jim. I mean, your fiance sucks anyways, we all know it's true.

Michael's sweater - is it bad that I want one? Because I do. It sounds amazing.

Author's Response: Dwight-as-background is a lot of fun to write. And Michael-as-Michael too. Though fortunately the genre of the Hallmark movie meant that they could do their work and then I didn't have to sustain them too long...

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 05:02 pm Title: Battering Ram

"wearing the dead bodies of its friends" got me good. So great!

*spots tree sap, grins knowingly*

Glad that Jim made it back to the office, and that it's Ugly Sweater Party day! Maybe Pam can stop hitting her head against the desk now.

Author's Response: *Grins* That one was a lot of fun to incorporate...

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2019 04:45 pm Title: Radio Silence

First things first: Thank you for getting Good King Wenceslas stuck in my head. That'll be later at 2am ;)

I love this a lot already... Dunder-Mifflin seems like the perfect setting for a Hallmark Christmas movie type story (some of my favorites, by the way) and I'm already sucked into this one.

Some highlights: Ugh, Roy. I say it every time, but you know I'm going to say it again - He's the worst. Of course he took the vacation with Kenny. And of course Michael took away their week off. This is such a great set up, I can't wait to see what happens next! But mostly, I'm just giggling at Creed wishing Pam a Happy Canada Day while wearing a reindeer sweater. Perfect.

Author's Response:

I hope the 2am demons of Good King Wenceslas did not strike you. I spent a summer (odd time for the song I admit) singing that song back and forth with my fellow camp counselors to the eternal frustration of our charges...good times.

 Thank you for the feedback! This whole thing was a blast to write, but the opening in particular because I got to think about what Hallmark-style terrible-boyfriend actions Roy could have taken within the Office universe. 

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:37 pm Title: Your Card, Madam

Sigh. It would have been nice if it had been this easy. The card is lovely.

Thank you for writing this beautiful thing.

Author's Response: Wouldn't it though? Although I guess they wanted us all to keep watching so it couldn't be so neat. And thank you; it's a pleasure to write for attentive readers.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:31 pm Title: Two Out of Three Ain't Bad

Fancy New Beesly! Love it.

They’re so cute.

Author's Response: Fancy New Beesly (though of course not so-dubbed by Jim because of different timing) is a lot of fun to write. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:27 pm Title: She's Got a Little List

Awww. Of course she goes straight to Jim. I love the idea of her list!

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate it.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:20 pm Title: Paint by Numbers

You go, Pam! I love imagining Pam showing that spirit on her own, and sooner. Also, I wanted to mention the little verses as chapter descriptions— too cute!

Author's Response: Thank you! The verses were fun to do. And yeah, there is a certain amount of wish-fulfillment of Pam getting there herself earlier.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:14 pm Title: Ice to Meet You

Poor Katy was ever a real rival, but you’ve made her seem like a genuine person here— and an excellent catalyst for Pam to do some serious thinking. The cuteness continues!

Author's Response: Yeah, she's not, but I've read a lot of the S1-2 fics on the site that treat her like one and I wanted to keep that vibe here (it doesn't hurt that there's often a similarly underplayed character in Hallmark films).

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:06 pm Title: So Call Me, Maybe

Ugh. Roy.

Another well-crafted chapter. His prattling and her silence becoming more and more tense... nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you! Phone calls are interesting to do in text form.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 09:01 pm Title: Ugly Is As Ugly Sweaters

Your Michael voice is superb. I love how this feels Hallmark-y and yet very, very Office-y at once. Poor early-season Jim. Roy was a trial Pam had to endure, but watching it was torture for Jim. You’ve captured that while still being so funny— loving this!

Author's Response: Michael is fun to write in small bursts like here, but I'm always worried I'll mess him up so I'm glad to hear that from you. The Hallmark-Office vibe was surprisingly easy to hit; they have a lot in common.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 08:52 pm Title: Battering Ram

So many fun details, from Pam (And Phyllis ( enjoying the view, to the tree sap-induced prom pose, to the fallen friends... very clever and very compelling. I’m excited to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you! The tree sap was fun to incorporate (it came from my Secret Santa recipe).

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2018 08:46 pm Title: Radio Silence

Intriguing beginning! I like your voice for Pam’s inner monologue. What a fun beginning... Roy was really a goober, wasn’t he?

Author's Response: Thanks! This is what set me down the Hallmark rabbit hole--I'd been watching Hallmark movies and I realized that Roy was exactly the kind of goober the woman always starts with in them.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:38 pm Title: Your Card, Madam

D'awwww. What a very cute way to wrap this up. Fun references back to the show, a prank on Dwight, the teapot note, and of course Jim and Pam together. Wonderful story, thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you for the consistent feedback! I loved writing this, and I hope whomever sent in this fic recipe enjoys or enjoyed it too (should be pretty easy to identify given some of the elements I was asked to include).

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:31 pm Title: Two Out of Three Ain't Bad

Aww very sweet here. Jim is adorable being embarrassed/socked like this. I also like how you put in elements of backstory. Jim has obviously talked a great deal about Pam to Tina and it's fun to imagine what he might have said.

Author's Response: Tina's origins come from a couple of fics on this site (like the Albany is like Paris one) plus how my own family treats old family friends, so I'm glad she worked for you.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:25 pm Title: She's Got a Little List

There you go Pam. Start making time for your own happiness. I really like that the first things here that Pam went for were things solely for her. That she's realized she needs to be happy by herself first before trying to be happy with anyone else.

Meeting Jim at the Y though was very cute. Glad they're back to their fun bantering ways.

Author's Response: Yeah, I had fun figuring out what she'd want for herself, not just for JAM. And thanks!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:15 pm Title: Paint by Numbers

Very intense chapter here. I do like how Pam finally told off Roy like this. Good for her. I also like how you described Pam's painting. Very vivid considering all the stress she's been under. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! I wish we'd seen more of Pam's art in the series, so I try to incorporate it where I can.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:10 pm Title: Ice to Meet You

The night is always darkest just before the dawn. Though the fact that you have Pam thinking about all these things is good. Get all the confusing angsty emotions out of the way before the sun rises.

Author's Response: Introspective chapters are my favorites to write, so I'm glad this landed effectively for you.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2018 05:04 pm Title: So Call Me, Maybe

Awww Pam, to be stuck cleaning up after everyone, being sad about being alone, then Roy calling to further remind her of that and not even letting her get a word in edgewise. Great writing though to convey all those emotions.

Author's Response: Thank you! I value your opinion on my writing of emotions because your own is so good.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans