You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 10, 2019 10:30 am Title: Chapter 6

I love this story and I love the cheesiness. I can’t wait for the last chapter so Incan read the whole thing again from start to finish

Author's Response: Merria, thank you so much! Wow! Thank you for wanting to read it again; that means so much. (I love the cheesiness, too. I can't help it.)

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2019 05:55 pm Title: Chapter 6

There's no better way to feel better about things than with Grey's Anatomy and ice cream. Those two things will fix at least 87% of life's problems, so, Pam's making good choices here and I approve.


"I don't eat mushrooms." I wish I could explain why I love this so much but like, Jim's love language here is acts of service and that means he gets mushroom on his pizza for Pam and I could write a whole essay on that.

(Sidenote: We need to discuss their love languages at some point. I can't believe that we haven't yet.)

The whole scene in Pam's kitchen? Holy shit, the chemistry just leaps out of these words. When Pam amends her statement to omit the part where she tried to say "I didn't even really want to" its such a great Pam moment. Same for the fact that she's literally cleaning her kitchen because she can't even look at him as he spills his heart out to her.

"I want your sister to stop looking at me like she knows something I don't." I love a great Pam stream of conscious babble and THIS one just makes me grin like an idiot and they love each other and they want each other AND THEY BOTH KNOW IT NOW.

And Jim needs her to keep saying it and she does and DUCHESS CUPCAKE THEY'RE FINALLY GOING TO RUIN THE FRIENDSHIP.

Go show her, Jim.

I have one jellybean left and I'm saving it for the last chapter but you have to know that every single chapter so far has deserved 5 jellybeans each.

Author's Response:

I almost added wine to the mix (that fixes the other 13% of problems) but I needed these two sober so that there were no questions about what they were saying. 

I love that you Get the mushroom scene and how HAVE we not discussed their love languages?! It's criminal that we haven't...

Really and truly, no lie, "Holy shit, the chemistry just leaps out of these words" is one of the nicest compliments I've ever received in a review. Thank you for that. 

They are FINALLY ruining it. That's a lot of jellybeans! Thanks! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2019 11:00 am Title: Chapter 6

YES hooray huzzah A-plus! Now that I've gotten the immediate emotional reaction out of the way...

I'm fascinated that you still chose to have it be Jim who said "I'm in love with you" given that you call it a role-reversal AU, and given that you also gave Jim the "I can't." I'm delighted you didn't string this out longer (though I would have read it as long as you made it) because it feels more emotionally right to actually have it out if they're still both single than to do the stupid interruption-game the actual show did. I'm glad that there is another chapter, because although you've hit the high point you haven't actually resolved all the stuff you put into this little world, so no pressure but I'm expecting some loose-end-tying in chapter 7.

Just generally, a really good job of hitting these emotional beats in a new but still enjoyable way. I think I've maxed out on jellybeans here, but know that there's a jellybean in my heart for this.

Author's Response:

Ha! Wow, thanks. That's a great immediate reaction.

I never really intended for this to be a role reversal; I just saw it as an AU where I had the chance to plug and play (and repurpose) some great lines.  And, yeah, I couldn't drag it out. Wait, I NEED to know what loose-end tying you're expecting. I thought this WAS the loose-end tying. Oh, Comfect now I'll be rereading this to figure out what else you need to know. :)

I appreciate all the jellybeans, wherever they are. :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2019 10:42 am Title: Chapter 6

But what about the uneaten ice cream? It's going to melt all over her bed. Think of the stickyness! Well, then again, there might be other reasons for stickyness soon so ice cream might be the last thing on their minds.

Great chapter. It was really nice to see Jim insist on being heard this time around. You might think that ending is cheesy, but it works really well. Very glad to see this chapter and how it all turned out.

Author's Response:

Ha! Thanks for that, Warrior. Yeah, I think ice cream is the last thing on their minds right now...

Thank you for your kind words and glad to hear the ending works for you! 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2019 06:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love this story. It feels so fresh and exciting. Lizby mentions the role reversal of Pam having a "Karen" style relationship, which is really appealing in a sick way. It's too bad Ryan already went home with Kelly - he could have been perfect. :-) But for it to truly be like Karen it has to be someone who makes Jim feel a bit inadequate. Hmm...interesting. Regardless, I can't wait to see what you write next!

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles!! Those are such kind words. This one is almost done, so I don't think we'll see that on Pam's part in thissss story. But, yes I too think Ryan would be perfect for something like that. :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2019 06:53 am Title: Chapter 5

So that entire first paragraph - man, these 2 love finding excuses to hang out with each other, don’t they? No wonder neither of them can keep a boy/girlfriend.

Dwight doesn’t even speak in this story and he’s like, my 4th favorite character. I bet his party wear was the best. Also - Ghosts on the premises. Amazing. Let’s keep him far, far away from Pam’s pipes though. Ew.

Let’s talk about what happened in Jim’s bedroom, yeah? DC - Is this whole thing ALL PAM’S FAULT? Okay, not 100% her fault because come on Jim, man up a little here and Say Something but nooooo. No. No, no, no. What was the end of that “I can’t” sentence going to be?! She is Mistinterpreting Things and I hate this but I love you but THIS IS REAL BAD in the best of ways and I have Many Complicated Feelings and Jim’s sad puppy dog faces are going to kill me. Just so you know. Kill me dead.

But then like, you throw in a sweat-soaked, post-run Jim and Iike Pam, I’m kind of okay again. For now.

“You look like shit.” “You don’t.” JIM. PAM. How do you not see that he is so stupid in love with you and he WANTS TO RUIN THIS FRIENDSHIP AS MUCH AS YOU DO BUT YOU KEEP TELLING HIM YOU’LL ALWAYS BE FRIENDS AND HE DOESNT WANT TO HEAR THAT.

Pam turned down a coffee date that could have changed her life in favor of the farmers market and well, I hope the strawberries were worth it.

But then there’s this ending. This perfectly written, perfect execution of a choreographed moment that these two have been dancing together for so long and they’re slow to warm up to each other but I’m just really glad he was able to get back into her apartment. Since he’s there, maybe Jim could check out her pipes. Put that in the lease agreement.

I have a vulnerability hangover from reading this.

p.s. Sorry for all the shouting.

Author's Response:

I mean, do YOU think it's Pam's fault? 

Oh my god, "maybe Jim could check out her pipes" made me laugh out loud. A lot.

I love all the shouting. Keep it up! 

Reviewer: Lizby Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 07:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

So since this is a bit of a role reversal AU, does that mean Pam is going to get into the all to wrong for her relationship, spurring Jim to declare his feelings for her? Hopefully in a very public way, ie the coal walk. If so, yes please. There haven’t been many good role reversal fics in my opinion and with the way this one is going, it could easily be a great one. Awesome job.

Author's Response: Lizby, thank you so much for your kind words! I really appreciate it. You know, this accidentally turned into a role reversal as I wrote it. I just knew that there were some great lines that I could plug and play with here. It won't go that deep in this story. But I LOVE writing AUs and NOW you have my wheels spinning if there's an opportunity to have Jim make the public confession (coal walk style). Very interesting...

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 07:46 pm Title: Chapter 5

Oh boy. I can totally see why Pam takes this as a rejection, but she actually never lets him say anything more. This is like a lot of the earlier classic fics on this site (and I very much mean that as a compliment); Pam gets in her own head just as much as Jim messes up. Good work. Am I correct that this is where you had it when you first said 10k words?

Author's Response: Thanks, Comfect! That is exactly what I was going for here with Pam and Jim. (And I absolutely take that as a compliment.) And, yes, this was the point where this got soooo much longer than I intended that I decided it was going to have to be chapters. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 06:22 pm Title: Chapter 5

Idiots clearly describes them both. Pam if you had only waited a bit longer. The switch here really works well. Nice to finally see where the majority of the tension is coming from though. But how will it all ultimately unfold? That is the current question right now. Glad to see a quick update and here's hoping for another quick update.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! They are idiots, right? But that makes them fun to write so...

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 05:51 pm Title: Chapter 5

Idiots indeed! But so adorable.

If they'd only learned how to speak!

Looking forward to the next chapter, obviously :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your support on this story, K3! It has been so much fun to write.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2019 05:54 am Title: Chapter 4

Well, you still have Andy true to form. The rest of it though. Sweet merciful crap! These two have their heads just as far up their asses as canon Jim and Pam. I mean that in a good way. Seriously, this story has all the tension and feeling one got from the show just transposed into this new setting. Those early seasons are a big reason why so many people were drawn to the Office and by re-creating the feel of that, you're achieving the same result. Frustrating to not end, mind you, but still great nonetheless.

Author's Response: Wow, Warrior! Thanks. This hits on all the feels I was aiming for. Thanks for your kind words. 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 06:51 pm Title: Chapter 4

First off, I'm glad you got rid of that New York nonsense immediately. Like, real glad. Almost as selfishly relieved as Pam is.

"It's not the right time for me to make a move." Because you're in love with your neighbor, Jim. It's fine. Just admit it.

Andy's whole text is genius start to finish. Apps and Marts. FROLF. And then I died laughing at "but he thinks you're very cool."

You know how there are just certain fanfic tropes that just Do Things to you? One of mine is the "they're playing keep-away and oops!" She fell. Into his lap. But you don't stop it there, DC, no - she doesn't move back to her own chair SHE JUST SITS THERE LIKE SITTING IN JIMS LAP IS NO BIG DEAL.

It's a big deal and I'm flailing and everything is still fine.

"I can’t deal with his platitudes about not ruining our friendship, about how he doesn’t want a serious relationship. I don’t want to be a rebound after he breaks up with girls like Katy. I don’t want the same “it’s just one time” speech that he gave Cathy. And I definitely don’t want to be just a convenient fuck. I want more than that." Well, now I"m not fine because you're destroying me with this whole role reversal and COME ON GUYS, RUIN THE FRIENDSHIP.

She SAYS they'll always be friends, but I'm pretty sure Pam's a liar. DC, I bet she doesn't want him like a best friend.

In fact, after many rereads of this whole thing, I'm willing to bet that maybe, perhaps, possibly, she only bought this dress for one reason...

Author's Response:

Hi, so, yeah, like I get So Many Feelings when I read your comments on these chapters cause this is For You, but fine, fine. I'm fine. 

Every single thing you wrote about The Fall is why I said no apologies. Cause I knew it would do Things to you. :D

I know, I know. It's getting a little thick with homegirl's love of Jim and how it's a little pathetically one-sided (seeming). Just...keep reading.

OH MY GOD! Well...I will say there is another fic I have where they spill wine in the bathtub...but this isn't that. ;) 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 06:47 pm Title: Chapter 4

Of course you make no apologies for the fall. What you need to apologize for is that ending. Also nice job of slowly building the world but you're going to have to update more you know that right? Love what you're doing with the world love what you're doing with the characters. Very fond of the reversal about May. Like Jim, interested in what he's thinking. Love Pam as usual. Nice update.

Author's Response:

Bro, I almost ended it with "I can't" so...  :)

Thanks for this review, Comfect. I appreciate it, as always.  

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 06:36 pm Title: Chapter 4

I mean, I wasn’t asking for you to apologize for the fall. Maybe asking for her hand to land somewhere else, but what can ya do, ya know???

You wanna know what’s killing me? The fact that you’ve somehow turned all of the things Pam said on the show to convince Jim she *couldn’t* be with him into a way for her to get over the fact that he doesn’t want her the same way she wants him.

Also, is Jim a fuckboy? Like what’s going on? I kind of want to knee him in the crotch a little.

“She’s got the breasts of a Greek goddess. I’d motorboat that all day, dude.”

Hi. This is me. In tears. Again.

Author's Response:

Bite your tongue! No, he's not a fuckboy. But. Yeah, I see now how one might think that...Oops! But come on; do you think I would do that to Jim?!

Oh, I wish I'd thought about Where her hand could have landed... (see this is why I rely on you for the smutty smutness xoxo) 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2019 02:41 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm living for this story! More please!

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! This is so sweet. More is definitely coming. 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 10:01 am Title: Chapter 3

“Just me. Wondering.”

Just me cryINg???? Oh my god Pam.

They’re setting each other up on dates and it’s kind of SO “BFFs who don’t want to admit they’re in love because they don’t want to ruin the friendship” that it hurts in a wonderful way.

Also. He’s moving to New York and I’m going to sob. They can’t not be neighbors. I’m only just getting to know them as neighbors. They can’t move.

Can you maybe finish the whole thing right now? Like, quit your job and take on this story full time? I’m literally saving my jellybeans to allocate them appropriately. Thank you so much.

Author's Response:

Yea, more crying! Wait, no, that's not what I'm actually going for. 

I...I don't know how I like the role reversal here of you pushing me for updates...

 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 09:54 am Title: Chapter 2

Believe me when I say I’ve read all three chapters like 6 times now. I’m obsessed. Oh my god. I need the rest like, 4 days ago.

The fact that they have a routine makes me tear up. Honestly.

ROY DRINKS NATTY LIGHT HE WOULD OMG

“Yeah, I feel bad about that.” “No you don’t.” Ugh girl that’s so them. This was honestly one of my favorite parts.

The whole paragraph about what will happen when it’s gets too cold to go outside, how she is SO aware that they’re making excuses to see each other. It’s sad, when you put it into the context that SHE WAS DENIED BY HIM (which I’m also all freakin’ for btw). “I’ll (intentionally) order too much food...” ugh. I’m just. UgH.

The fact that he’s actually slept with Cathy here is making my head spin but like in a good way. Because she’s crazy. And I love it.

Tequila-flavored water I’m crYING

But not as many tears as the entire blow job lip gloss situation. Oh my god. I’m just. That line/exchange literally deserves an Oscar. “Only once. And it was.” EL OH EL.

“She thinks my apartments too small. Too many people live here.” And Brian said the same thing. This is just. It’s so subtle, but so heartbreakingly sweet. Because they both see it, ya know? And it’s crushing my soul in the best way.

I’m like, really upset at the tequila for interrupting the birthday sex, not gonna lie. But also. That’s not the first time something like that has happened, and I’m very excited for more little flashbacks.

She snores and it’s cute. WAH. I’m crying.

Also, the way that you’re writing this, with little subtle yet casual mentions of the past that you haven’t told yet (but will plz & thanks), like it’s all so natural to Pam’s life, is my favorite part.

This review is the length of your chapter oops I’m nOT sorry.

Oh my god I almost forgot. I am SO FOR Karen being a BFF. ALL FOR IT.

Author's Response:

Review like this give me lYfE but also I am so glad I made you cry so many times. THAT is what I was going for. :D

Seriously, you hit on so many things that I had So Much Fun writing which makes it even more fun to keep going. Thank you for all of this! This review is so lovely.   

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:34 am Title: Chapter 3

So Jim rejected Pam back in May? Is that what we're getting here? Like I said earlier, you're doing a great job at taking things from the show and twisting them around like this. Leaves one wondering what's going to pop up and how it's going to show itself this time around.

So, will Jim take the promotion? Will we have a repeat of the events of "The Job?" I honestly don't know and it makes for a great story. Also Karen as the best friend is working will here too.

Author's Response: There are a lot of twists to come! I'm so glad Karen works as the best friend here. I love creating that relationship in AU. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:29 am Title: Chapter 2

You're being a tease. You know that right? Being a tease in the best possible way, because it really draws one into this story, but still a tease nonetheless.

Still doing a great job with all the call backs to the show. A lot of fun to read this story.

Author's Response: Oh, absolutely. I intended to publish that all at once, but I'm kind of having fun with dragging out the chapters, especially since it's done. Knowing that this story is fun is 1,000% what I was going for when writing this so THAT is a great review. Thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:17 am Title: Chapter 1

So does this mean you're going to get off AG's case about the whole bodysuit thing? Just wondering is all.

Anyway, this brings back much of the feels of Seasons 1 & 2. Already you can tell she likes him in a more-than-friendship kind of way and is just trying to deny things. At least that's how I read it. Bringing in elements from the show, but with a twist is great. That Andy would actually act like that on a date was quite fun to see. Onto the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Absolutely not. AG would be worried if I didn't stay on her case. 

Thanks, W4! Poor Andy would be ridiculous on a date. I'm so glad you liked the elements from the show. There's too much great stuff from that show to play with! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 03:52 am Title: Chapter 3

Ugh! Moving to New York! (As if it was a bad thing).
Thanks So much for the quick updates!

Author's Response:

But he can't move without her?! Can he?!

You're welcome and thanks for the reviews! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 03:47 am Title: Chapter 2

This was really hot, and I loved how past and present merge together.
I generally don't like AUs very much but yours is great, and I think it's because Pam and Jim are, esentially, Pam and Jim.
Oh, and I really like that Karen and Pam are besties.

Author's Response: Thanks K3! AU is my favorite, but I was always so skeptical to that style. But it's so fun to put these two idiots in whatever world I want and still have them clueless about being in love, right? I really Karen and Pam as besties too. So glad that works for you!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 12:49 am Title: Chapter 1

I love this story keep it going

Author's Response: Thanks, Soupsnakes. It's going. :)

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 12:49 am Title: Chapter 1

I love this story keep it going

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 3

Danny was a distraction from Jim’s rejection. Okay. Totally fine here. Nothing to see.

I love how not sorry they are about all of the bad dates they’re throwing at each other. And the tension here? God, it’s so subtle but it’s present and can they just bang already?

“show me his banjo” got me good.

But then there was the line “Just me. Wondering.” And that got me in a whole other way and FINE, I LIKE KAREN HERE.

And then the lovely silence we’re all enjoying along with those two idiots is broken by Jim’s news and hey - this isn’t what I mean when I say ruin their friendship, DC.

Where’d you learn to leave things on a cliffhanger like that?

Author's Response:

"FINE, I LIKE KAREN HERE" mic drop, calling it done, this is all I needed. Bahahaha!

Where'd I learn..? From YOU, dude! I learned it from YOU! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans