You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 10:01 am Title: 3. I've Got Only Good Intentions

“Just me. Wondering.”

Just me cryINg???? Oh my god Pam.

They’re setting each other up on dates and it’s kind of SO “BFFs who don’t want to admit they’re in love because they don’t want to ruin the friendship” that it hurts in a wonderful way.

Also. He’s moving to New York and I’m going to sob. They can’t not be neighbors. I’m only just getting to know them as neighbors. They can’t move.

Can you maybe finish the whole thing right now? Like, quit your job and take on this story full time? I’m literally saving my jellybeans to allocate them appropriately. Thank you so much.

Author's Response:

Yea, more crying! Wait, no, that's not what I'm actually going for. 

I...I don't know how I like the role reversal here of you pushing me for updates...

 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 09:54 am Title: 2. I Can't Keep Denying Every Minute I Think of You

Believe me when I say I’ve read all three chapters like 6 times now. I’m obsessed. Oh my god. I need the rest like, 4 days ago.

The fact that they have a routine makes me tear up. Honestly.

ROY DRINKS NATTY LIGHT HE WOULD OMG

“Yeah, I feel bad about that.” “No you don’t.” Ugh girl that’s so them. This was honestly one of my favorite parts.

The whole paragraph about what will happen when it’s gets too cold to go outside, how she is SO aware that they’re making excuses to see each other. It’s sad, when you put it into the context that SHE WAS DENIED BY HIM (which I’m also all freakin’ for btw). “I’ll (intentionally) order too much food...” ugh. I’m just. UgH.

The fact that he’s actually slept with Cathy here is making my head spin but like in a good way. Because she’s crazy. And I love it.

Tequila-flavored water I’m crYING

But not as many tears as the entire blow job lip gloss situation. Oh my god. I’m just. That line/exchange literally deserves an Oscar. “Only once. And it was.” EL OH EL.

“She thinks my apartments too small. Too many people live here.” And Brian said the same thing. This is just. It’s so subtle, but so heartbreakingly sweet. Because they both see it, ya know? And it’s crushing my soul in the best way.

I’m like, really upset at the tequila for interrupting the birthday sex, not gonna lie. But also. That’s not the first time something like that has happened, and I’m very excited for more little flashbacks.

She snores and it’s cute. WAH. I’m crying.

Also, the way that you’re writing this, with little subtle yet casual mentions of the past that you haven’t told yet (but will plz & thanks), like it’s all so natural to Pam’s life, is my favorite part.

This review is the length of your chapter oops I’m nOT sorry.

Oh my god I almost forgot. I am SO FOR Karen being a BFF. ALL FOR IT.

Author's Response:

Review like this give me lYfE but also I am so glad I made you cry so many times. THAT is what I was going for. :D

Seriously, you hit on so many things that I had So Much Fun writing which makes it even more fun to keep going. Thank you for all of this! This review is so lovely.   

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:34 am Title: 3. I've Got Only Good Intentions

So Jim rejected Pam back in May? Is that what we're getting here? Like I said earlier, you're doing a great job at taking things from the show and twisting them around like this. Leaves one wondering what's going to pop up and how it's going to show itself this time around.

So, will Jim take the promotion? Will we have a repeat of the events of "The Job?" I honestly don't know and it makes for a great story. Also Karen as the best friend is working will here too.

Author's Response: There are a lot of twists to come! I'm so glad Karen works as the best friend here. I love creating that relationship in AU. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:29 am Title: 2. I Can't Keep Denying Every Minute I Think of You

You're being a tease. You know that right? Being a tease in the best possible way, because it really draws one into this story, but still a tease nonetheless.

Still doing a great job with all the call backs to the show. A lot of fun to read this story.

Author's Response: Oh, absolutely. I intended to publish that all at once, but I'm kind of having fun with dragging out the chapters, especially since it's done. Knowing that this story is fun is 1,000% what I was going for when writing this so THAT is a great review. Thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 06:17 am Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

So does this mean you're going to get off AG's case about the whole bodysuit thing? Just wondering is all.

Anyway, this brings back much of the feels of Seasons 1 & 2. Already you can tell she likes him in a more-than-friendship kind of way and is just trying to deny things. At least that's how I read it. Bringing in elements from the show, but with a twist is great. That Andy would actually act like that on a date was quite fun to see. Onto the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Absolutely not. AG would be worried if I didn't stay on her case. 

Thanks, W4! Poor Andy would be ridiculous on a date. I'm so glad you liked the elements from the show. There's too much great stuff from that show to play with! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 03:52 am Title: 3. I've Got Only Good Intentions

Ugh! Moving to New York! (As if it was a bad thing).
Thanks So much for the quick updates!

Author's Response:

But he can't move without her?! Can he?!

You're welcome and thanks for the reviews! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 03:47 am Title: 2. I Can't Keep Denying Every Minute I Think of You

This was really hot, and I loved how past and present merge together.
I generally don't like AUs very much but yours is great, and I think it's because Pam and Jim are, esentially, Pam and Jim.
Oh, and I really like that Karen and Pam are besties.

Author's Response: Thanks K3! AU is my favorite, but I was always so skeptical to that style. But it's so fun to put these two idiots in whatever world I want and still have them clueless about being in love, right? I really Karen and Pam as besties too. So glad that works for you!

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 12:49 am Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

I love this story keep it going

Author's Response: Thanks, Soupsnakes. It's going. :)

Reviewer: Soupsnakes1018 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 03, 2019 12:49 am Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

I love this story keep it going

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 10:20 pm Title: 3. I've Got Only Good Intentions

Danny was a distraction from Jim’s rejection. Okay. Totally fine here. Nothing to see.

I love how not sorry they are about all of the bad dates they’re throwing at each other. And the tension here? God, it’s so subtle but it’s present and can they just bang already?

“show me his banjo” got me good.

But then there was the line “Just me. Wondering.” And that got me in a whole other way and FINE, I LIKE KAREN HERE.

And then the lovely silence we’re all enjoying along with those two idiots is broken by Jim’s news and hey - this isn’t what I mean when I say ruin their friendship, DC.

Where’d you learn to leave things on a cliffhanger like that?

Author's Response:

"FINE, I LIKE KAREN HERE" mic drop, calling it done, this is all I needed. Bahahaha!

Where'd I learn..? From YOU, dude! I learned it from YOU! 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 10:02 pm Title: 2. I Can't Keep Denying Every Minute I Think of You

Remember that episode of Gilmore Girls where Lorelai finds out that two guys fought over Rory at a house party and she starts singing “did you ever know that you’re my hero?” That scene, but I’m Lorelai and you’re my hero.

I just really love how you take show moments and spin them into magical new things - there’s absolutely no reason to be giddy over lawn chairs and candles and Mrs Vance but here I am.

Roy drinks Natty Light. DEAD.

This banter is amazing - I love this Jim and Pam a lot. The whole paragraph about finding excuses to see each other when it’s too cold to be outside? Why do you do this? I’m greedy and I want all of these stories told.

Dwight is their landlord. Cathy is the worst.

I love how you’re like “you know who Coley hates? Karen. But she loves Gilmore Girls so I’m going to make Karen fucking charming and a GG watcher and make Coley like her. For her birthday.” I imagine there was an evil laugh somewhere in there.

And then we get to Pam’s birthday party and just... how? Why? ... but mostly how do you do this and don’t ever stop telling these stories for us.

The lip gloss and drunk Pam and water flavored water - How many more ways can this story kill me? Oh at least once more because here comes Karen with pedis and mims. Mmhmm. I see you.

So I’ve said a lot already but here’s the thing. None of that matters because there’s this teeny tiny sentence buried at the end there... the one that goes “it was the same was we always kissed” and like, TELL ME MORE.

I’m totally kidding. All of this matters. All of it and the fact that Jim knows that hangover cards and Zac Efron cure hangovers.

He slept on the hallway floor, DC. RUIN THE FRIENDSHIP.

Author's Response:

Oh, my god, I love this review. Thank you so much for this. All of this. Yes, the all-powerful manipulation of using Gilmore Girls and old-fashioneds against you! mwahahaha! 

I particularly enjoy your "Dwight is their landlord. Cathy is the worst" because I can hear what you mean behind those statements of fact. :D

He slept on the hallway floor.  

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 09:26 pm Title: 3. I've Got Only Good Intentions

"Jim’s rejection in May" still waiting to hear more about this...on tenterhooks.

And woah, bomb dropped. So what now, Jimmy boy? Gonna man up as to how you feel about this?

Nice work, as ever.

Author's Response: Thanks, man! The rejection story is coming soon. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 09:18 pm Title: 2. I Can't Keep Denying Every Minute I Think of You

I love this. I am jealous that you wrote it. I want more. Please write and post more.

Specifically? I love how you're integrating the rest of the cast (favorite? "watching Mrs. Vance overwater the flowers in front of her big Victorian house next door") and the semi-associated cast (nice job wit the exes). I like Karen as Pam's friend (a weak spot of mine, though it does make me worry that you're going to have Karen date Jim...). I love the plausibility of the kiss and of the not-starting-to-date then. I want her to realize Brian is right (and who thinks both "purely platonic" and "I want to tell him he's free to date me now?" Pam. That's who). Adorable. Almost so adorable I'm worried where you've decided to take this for 10k words. Though don't get me wrong: very pro more of this story.

Author's Response: Wow! Comfect those are such kind words! Thank you. And, yes, I too have a weakness for Pam and Karen as BFFs which plays right into my favorite part of AU: repurposing the characters into whatever suits the World. I’m so glad you’re pro more cause it’s coming. 🙂

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 07:11 pm Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

Alright. This is my actual review (although the first one pretty much encompasses everything I’m feeling anyway).

I’m kind of obsessed with modern day but same age Jim and Pam, so I’m entirely into this.

Super quirky part of this that I liked, but everyone usually picks Eagles or Phillies and all of a sudden Jim is a hockey fan and I kind of dig it and want more of that please.

The fact that they’re comfortable enough to just go into each other’s places and pay for each other’s takeout makes me all warm inside and needing literally a lifetimes worth of back story. So. I’m prepared to sit here forever.

“It’s just beer” NAH GIRL IT AINT IM GIDDY TOO.

He bought pizza for her and stocked his fridge with beer for her and IM GONNA NEED MORE OF THIS PLZ.

Also, they’ve made out. Partially clothed. You *are* prepared to fill us in on all of this, correct? Good, I thought so.

UGH GOOD JOB FAM.

Author's Response:

I love EvErYtHiNg about this review but mostly that you, like Coley, noticed the significance of the pizza and beer. That warms my heart. 

Oh, and I'm prepared. Are You prepared?

xo 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 06:31 pm Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

"And we’ve “accidentally” made-out a few times"
How do you drop a line like that and get on with your life, never mind expect us getting along with ours?
This is amazing and I need more. Just saying.

Author's Response: Thanks, K3! I'm glad you enjoyed that line because it opened up a whole lotta backstory for these two once I wrote it. :)

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 04:20 pm Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

“Politely said she liked it” Yeah, that’s how I remember that conversation going as well.

I mean, CAN I just copy and paste everything word for word and say that I love it all, because I. Love. It. All. I’m about to get all shouty and absurd the caps lock.

First off, we have Dave and Curly Sue and I never want Creed to change. Of course he’s an Uber driver.

I would have a lot more to say about the Katy Incident (fortune cookies, ‘weird and random question, my ass!) but listen, in this flashback, Pam IS WEARING OVERALLS AND A BLACK AND WHITE STRIPED BODYSUIT. And Jim has sex hair. And he’s shirtless. So yeah, Katy who? Except, I laughed a lot when Jim didn’t refer to her as his girlfriend. Sorry not sorry, Katy.

Brb, taking a minute to appreciate just the idea of Jim’s v-cut muscle. I promise I love him for his brain too BUT PRESENT DAY JIM IS WEARING A SUIT AND RED SWEATER AND ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME? It’s fine. Everything is fine.

But it’s not, DC, it’s not fine because he ordered his pizza with half of it having her preferred toppings. And he bought her special beer. And I’m dying seven different ways in this chapter and it’s Not Just Beer, Pam.

“We ‘accidentally’ made out a few times.” Stop it. STOP IT RIGHT NOW. What the fuck happened in May?

RUIN THE FRIENDSHIP, GUYS. RUIN. IT.

So yeah. I like this.

Author's Response:

So? You like it? You won't try and return it?

The bodysuit has been there since the very first time you said, "I wonder how many fics will include a bodysuit after that SuT episode." 

But, yea! And Happy Birthday! 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 03:41 pm Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

“We’ve accidentally made out a few time” DC WHAT THE FUCK I NEED THE REST OF THIS YESTERDAY

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2019 02:09 pm Title: 1. Your Body's Looking Good Tonight

When you said 10k words I thought this would be a lot longer. So the chapter end surprised me, but I am 110% on board with reading more. I like the description of the Katy incident, and I'm looking forward to hearing more of how their pasts were different from canon, but I'm mostly intrigued by the future. Nice work.

Author's Response: Oh! Fair point, Comfect. I have 10k written (the original plan was for around 2-3 but I create Too Much World) but it keeps going and going. For better or worse, idk, but here we are. :) I'm glad you like it! Thank you for the specifics on what you liked and what you're looking forward to. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans