Reviews For Morning After
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 07:18 pm Title: The Office

Oh, Comfect! You do this to me every damn time!
This is so wonderfully, beautifully written. I really like your Larissa here, the Halperts shared Prankness (Quick Draw Pam at the elevator was a damn delight!). This chapter read (absolutely a compliment) like an episode: feel good moments, humor, the plot moved forward to that call with Jan.
Speaking of Jan, I really like how realistic this WHOLE part was. I like Jan (until they turned her into a caricature; I'll refrain from launching into my Thoughts on That) and I feel like you gave a small nod to her romantic and sentimental side here.
That last line was so great!
As always, well done and thank you for this treat from you!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you DC! There is no higher compliment than that it felt like an episode, and felt realistic (I agree about later Jan). I really appreciate your taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 07:05 pm Title: In the Driveway

Such a great chapter! We get to experience so much in a short space. When you got here, I really really feel in love with chapter:
"She looked up at him, seeing the naked emotion in his eyes..." Just everything here and after was wonderful and sweet and delightfully funny.

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried to make these pack a punch, and I'm so delighted they did that for you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 06:59 pm Title: Jim's Place

Ah! So nice. I love the image of Pam driving aimlessly through Scranton with her most prized possessions all while wearing That Dress. And of course she ended up at Jim's.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was wondering how to get them together and that same image occurred to me, so I'm glad it worked for you!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2019 06:36 pm Title: The Morning After

Comfect this story is so wonderful! I especially love this part:
"On the one hand it felt like divine revelation, like clouds of fire by night and smoke by day, like tablets at Sinai and an empty tomb on Easter Sunday. On the other, it was just the natural order of things: waking up one day and discovering your parents are aging, or your little sister is a woman now, and forgetting to be surprised by the news because today is not actually any different from yesterday; you’ve just noticed it now. "
I mean if that doesn't explain how Pam Beesly probably lives her whole life, I don't know what does. There is such a beautiful blend in this chapter of dramatic exit and subtle nuance that are, again, so very in-character for Pam. Really wonderful.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you DC! You picked up on my favorite line I wrote in this, so thanks, that really warms my heart. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2019 06:27 pm Title: The Office

This story was everything that is good and pure in the world. I loved it so much. If only Pam had been so bold so early. This iteration of Larissa was a great inclusion too. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm delighted to hear all of this, particularly the part about Larissa (I'm always concerned about writing her since she's basically a non-entity in the show). Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: celluloiddreams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2019 06:19 pm Title: The Morning After

Ahhh this was so cute!! Pam’s final line had me rolling! It makes me wish Larissa had been in the actual show because this is exactly how I imagine her. Loved every second of Pam and Jim in this one. Fantastic fic!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm always delighted when people share my Larissa-feelings, because I enjoy writing her in so much. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2019 05:58 pm Title: The Office

Great birthday present. Thank you very much. I've very much enjoyed this tale. It's great to see Pam realize so quickly what she really wants and then to act on it so decisively. I loved how you wrote Larissa as well. I get the feeling that in this universe she's been on of Jim's go to people when he's needed to talk about Pam. Thus all her wonderful silliness here is her way of expressing her joy about everything as well.

I also really liked the do-over kiss at Jim's desk. I have to ask, what that little scene in any way inspired by "Reset and Restart?" If so great way to use that idea but make it your own. If not, same compliment still applies.

Lots of fun with this story. Thanks for writing it. I'll leave with my normal send off for a completed fic, but this time it seems to fit even more.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. That scene was not inspired by "Reset and Restart" but I do think great minds think alike (or run in the same gutters as my parents used to say) so I do recognize the overlap now that I've written it! It was just because I realized I had Pam literally in the office still wearing the dress...

 I fully agree about Larissa, and I'm glad that worked for you, because that's how I would have liked to see a fleshed-out sister on the show. God knows Jim could use some people to talk to (and maybe if he'd had them he wouldn't have been so angsty...but that way lies madness). 

 Fortune does indeed favor the bold, at least here. And in all my fics, actually, but this is probably the most explicit about that... 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 06:15 pm Title: In the Driveway

This was a lovely way to start wrapping things up. And I can't wait to see them break in into DM.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope the breakin meets your expectations :)

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 06:07 pm Title: The Morning After

Great chapter! I like that Jim is just all in. No doubts or anger about the situation.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think night-after Casino Night Jim would be much more willing to accept Pam's about-face than embittered, months of solitude in Stamford Jim ends up being in S3. Hope so at least! ;) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 15, 2019 03:55 pm Title: In the Driveway

This was so great. I loved the way Pam and Larissa instantly connected here. It's great to see that as the door to her old life is closed, the door to her new life with Jim and his friends and family is so warmly opened.

However I think the sweetest line was just before they kissed. Where Pam feels his stubble and "he was still wearing the face that kissed her last night." Very nice image there. That even though Larissa, Mark, and Gerry are standing right there, it all melts away. I loved that Pam realized she needed to be 100% clear this time around. No chance for misinterpretations or the like. She's direct and honest not only with Jim but with herself and the reward for her honesty is something brighter than she could imagine.

The prank planning was a lot of fun as well. Great chapter, not that I'd expect anything less. Looking forward to seeing how you wrap this up.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoyed the wrapup just as much. This is, after all, your present.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2019 04:33 pm Title: Jim's Place

Very nice. I'm glad Jim's taking it so well. It would have been easy for him to lash out. I'm very glad you didn't go that route. It's very sweet to see.

Author's Response: Yeah, I feel like lashing-out Jim has definitely been done, and besides I think if she'd actually come the next day he'd have been more like this. So I decided to make him better about it. Glad you seem to be still enjoying!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2019 11:25 am Title: The Morning After

Loved it!! Strong!Pam is the best Pam.
(Can I possibly suggest a second chapter in which she knocks on Jim's door?)

Author's Response: You read my mind! I hope you enjoy chapter 2!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2019 12:40 pm Title: The Morning After

This was great! I like how it all just crystalized for her in the moments after she woke up. Please write more on this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't intend to leave this unfinished, so I will definitely be writing more! Thanks for reading :)

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2019 12:10 pm Title: The Morning After

This was great! I like how it all just crystalized for her in the moments after she woke up. Please write more on this!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2019 11:02 am Title: The Morning After

Aww, Comfect! Thank you! Yes, I'm very interested.

Great way to start out here too. During the packing scene all I could think of was, "is she still wearing her Casino Night dress?" And low and behold, yup she is. Nice touch.

Once again your ability to get into a character's head is on point. That Pam is able to come to all these realizations and fire back at Roy was wonderful to see. Eagerly looking forward to more.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're interested! This will be a shorter fic, but I figured something new needed to come out on your birthday...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans