Reviews For Groundhog Nights
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: ScrantonGirl91 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2019 11:29 am Title: Chapter 19: En Fin

(got mad a part of my review was missing and deleted? Yes)

See, I was right to be anxious about how it ended! I love domestic scenes and Jim making breakfast is just too sweet.

Author's Response:

Thank you for that. I hope it was a non-anxiety-inducing domestic scene ;)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 10:59 pm Title: Chapter 19: En Fin

I think it goes without saying that I’ve enjoyed reading this story, but I’m going to say it anyway - it has been a delight! I’m sad to see it come to an end, but so, so glad there’s finally a resolution for our poor groundhog-ing Pam.
I loved the use of Dwight in this chapter! Jim quietly setting him up was such a clever (& Jim-like) way for him to intervene. I have to admit, I’m a little sad we don’t get to see them resolve things on the cruise - however, if I may suggest a Lake Wallenpaupack Booze Cruise wedding sequel to this tale?! Please and thank you. After all, we know Pam & Jim are open to maritime nuptials... Just planting a seed 😉
I can’t wait to go back & read this in one go. Thanks so much for writing & sharing!

Author's Response: Well, I'm equally delighted that you've been reading along! I'll consider the epilogue/sequel you've requested; I don't typically revisit my stories but this one and Office Space have both generated those kinds of requests so I might do it if no new story arc comes to mind or I'm feeling frisky. Thank you so much for your feedback along the way!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 18: Devoutly to be Wished

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I loved this chapter... but I’ll try! I’m so glad Pam finally found a way to end things with Roy & have it stick. I wondered how you would deal with that, considering it was clear in earlier chapters that Roy was not going take it lying down. I found it a pretty natural fix - I can see Pam turning it around like that grinding Roy’s gears & making him think it was more of his idea. That logistical nightmare solved & we’re on to the good stuff! I adored the more confident, says what she’s really thinking version of Pam in this chapter. Plus, the Jim in this chapter was just a delight. I loved how you used Michael to save them from the Booze Cruise. Oh, and the inclusion of the art class/Melanie as part of the day was also great to see. I know you’re setting up for a happy ending, but boy oh boy am I nervous after that last line!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you loved it! This was a chapter that took me quite a bit of time to write, so I'm glad that the solutions I presented seemed to work for you. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 08:22 pm Title: Chapter 1: Day 1

This was such a great story! The idea was super original and the characters were true to themselves. Very sweet ending as well. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 07:45 pm Title: Chapter 1: Day 1

This was such a great story! The idea was super original and the characters were true to themselves. Very sweet ending as well. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really appreciate it :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 07:00 pm Title: Chapter 19: En Fin

Great way to end things. Her joy in it being tomorrow was stunning to witness. She's completely free of the past and is ready, willing and able to dive into the future. That fire of hers shows no sign of dying down and it's great to see.

Your JAM banter remains on point. Lots of fun watching them bounce off each other. I loved how she still won't back down from Roy and that Jim goes for the subtle approach in helping her out. Masterfully done there.

This has been a treat from start to finish. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Merci beacoup! I'm really glad you enjoyed this chapter. I'd known for a while I wanted a "this is what happens after the cycle breaks" chapter, and I'm delighted it seems to have worked.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2019 04:30 pm Title: Chapter 19: En Fin

Such a perfect ending!! (I loved loved Dwight's intervention). Thanks so much for this story :)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you liked the ending! I was worried it too would feel rushed (ironically, while I didn't feel like I rushed the previous chapter end, I did feel like I might have done so with this one). Thanks as ever for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: CasinoAirplane Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 11:14 pm Title: Chapter 1: Day 1

I have loved every update you’ve posted. I’m sad to see this story coming to an end but it’s been an incredible journey! Looking forward to a great final chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy the final one too!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 08:52 pm Title: Chapter 18: Devoutly to be Wished

I'm going to be blunt here (sorry!) While I really enjoyed the idea of this chapter, I wish you hadn't rushed so much since Pam asks Jim on a date and everything that happens next.
The beginning of the chapter, Pam's thoughts, Roy fighting her, it all came together perfectly and at a pace that kept me wondering what was coming next.
The last part, not as much. I get that you want them/us/yourself to get to the end but I would've liked to savour it a little bit.
Other than that, I really like the chapter. It's a nice wrapping up of the story.

Author's Response: Thank you for being blunt! I don't think there's much point to a review system in which only entirely positive, this-chapter-is-perfect stuff gets said. I have a couple of artistic justifications for why I did what I did (we're following Pam's POV and she's more focused on the details of the Roy stuff, whereas she's carried off by emotion in the second half; I wanted to spend more time on the section that more directly ties into what she's been trying in the previous chapters) but those don't negate your reaction, and I'm glad to listen to it. It didn't feel rushed to me as I wrote it, but I can in retrospect see how it feels so to you. Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 07:42 pm Title: Chapter 18: Devoutly to be Wished

*cracks neck and fingers*

Let us begin.

Starting out, Pam standing up to Roy. I was wondering how you'd handle that and you did a masterful job. It feels a lot like how you had Pam break things off with Roy back in "Morning After." However this time the writing is a lot more fleshed out. I actually kind of enjoyed that Roy didn't just back off and whimper at Pam. He's still completely clueless about everything, but the more he fights the more wrong he is. Which in turn adds even more confirmation to Pam about the need to get out of that relationship. The last thing Fancy New Beesly (because lets all agree she's FNB now) needs is an angry man-child for the rest of her life. She's done letting him take her for granted and he has no reply. Other than knee-jerk anger that is, which of course is typical. I did really like it that because of all this, the way for Pam to break up with him is for him to break up with her. I can see in the future how that would hopefully prevent Roy from trying the whole Season 3 chicken-or-fish do everything I can to get her back routine that just annoys everyone. It's the hard clean break that everyone needs. Pam's ready for this of course by now which of course leaves her free.

Now, onto Jim. Once again Jim is great here. He's just there for her. Well done Jim, good boy. Have a Scooby snack, or maybe a few more jellybeans. In fact have all the jelly beans. Even Bertie Bots earwax flavored ones. You can use them as prank ammo I'm sure. Seriously though, your Jim and Pam banter remains on point here.

Pam's wonder and delight as the day progresses was a joy to read. She's really got the feeling that this will be the last cycle, and she's reveling in it. Granted so much of that is because of the uptick in her friendship with Jim. They always bring out the best in each other and you show that brilliantly.

Still tons of great things from the show. Jinx, 'more than that,' and of course their Casino Night outfits. I loved the image of them at the fun center in their "fancy clothes." Who cares if they're overdressed. They're on a date and having fun and that's the only thing that matters.

Now one thing, I was kind of hoping their fist kiss would be on the deck of the boat. Very VERY minor critique there. The actual kiss itself had me grinning from ear to ear. Especially after I googled what a monkfish really looks like. Good god man! That's the basis for comparison? Yeah, nothing but positives for that.

No you're not a sadist for ending the night the way you did. After how many cycles she's gone through, it makes complete sense that Pam would still on her guard. Especially after the night she just had.

From sparks comes coals. From coals comes smoke. From smoke comes fire and Pam's fire is blazing away like a beacon here. Jim's too. They've got the kind of bonfire here that after it gets going, and I mean really going, one steps back and admires with pride. One looks around and silently dares anyone to try and put it out. Hell, you'd challenge even the Forest Service with one of their water scooping planes to try and tame this bad boy. It may have taken a while to ignite, but there's no stopping this fire.

Longest chapter for you, quite probably the longest review I've ever written. *high five* I've been saving this jellybean for this moment. Well earned my friend. This was superb.

Author's Response: Let's start by pointing out that there's no way I'm going to do justice to all of this review in my response, but I'll start off by saying thank you--this review is the sine qua non of your reviews, in that it manages to give specific, helpful commentary on detailed parts of the chapter while also giving an overview, and I appreciate it immensely. I know you and a few others were hoping they'd end up on the boat, but I think from my own perspective part of Pam's discovery here and in the whole cycle is that she doesn't actually need to be on that boat: that she needs to go after what's important to her and not what everyone else (in this case Michael) sets up for her. Thanks, as ever.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 07:05 pm Title: Chapter 18: Devoutly to be Wished

I can’t set any expectations. This story is sooooo much fun. I don’t want it end but I also can’t wait to read what’s next

Author's Response: Well, expectations or no, I hope the final chapter met them! Thank you so much for reading along!

Reviewer: ScrantonGirl91 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2019 04:55 am Title: Chapter 17: Montage

I missed the same beginning, but just a bit: it's clear by now that Pam might be living the same day, but she is surely not the same person. I can hardly wait to see how it ends!

Author's Response: I think we all know how it ends ;) But of course, the devil is in the details. I hope you keep enjoying!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:49 pm Title: Chapter 16: Exchange of Information

I love every chapter you bring Larissa into. It's so lovely each time. (Although I've missed the Melanie connection; I need a chapter reference guide to remind of their connection.)
And that Naughty Jellybean bit at the beginning was just masterful. Oh, man, Comfect. When Pam confessed to her Groundhog Day and Jim believed her, I just wanted to scream.

Author's Response:

Larissa is just so fun to write (mostly because she's a total blank canvas so I can headcanon her into oblivion--or into existence, more accurately). Melanie was introduced in ch. 4 as Larissa's classmate who is at the YMCA painting class, but she makes periodic appearances when Pam talks to Larissa or (more obviously) when she goes to the Y to paint.

Thank you so much about the naughty jellybean section--I was super nervous about it, so I appreciate the feedback a lot.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:36 pm Title: Chapter 15: Michael's Gambit

Oh this was lovely, blissful, perfection. I love that we began with Pam's stagnant, passive existence and end with this beautiful realization. Wonderful chapter; one of my favorites in this story so far.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am very grateful for your positive feedback and your careful attention to the story arc :)

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:15 pm Title: Chapter 13: Coors and a Couch

Oh This was a great one. I kind of like these few moments where Pam thinks she's figured it all out but doesn't take into account the butterfly effect of her choices, even if just for the day. Love how you are pacing this story out.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope the pacing continues to meet your expectations, since that's one of the features I was most worried about as I wrote this.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 06:07 pm Title: Chapter 12: The Penny Drops

Comfect there's so much to enjoy in this chapter but I really love your characterization of Penny. I see these traits in that very limited screen time we got. Well done with fleshing that out! This is a great chapter.

Author's Response: Ah, DC, I really appreciate your review waterfalls! Penny was fun to write, and I'm really glad you enjoyed her.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2019 12:55 am Title: Chapter 17: Montage

Now I have to go back and re-read the start of every chapter because I definitely did not notice them starting with the same thing - a testament to my exceptional observational skills I am sure... I loved the repurposing of other pranks to fit with this story. A brilliant use for identity theft/future faxes. It’s nice to see Pam determined again & working towards her end goal, no matter how many repetitions it takes. Bring on the permanent dumping of Roy!

Author's Response: I wondered if people would notice, because if I were the reader I totally wouldn't, but since I copy-paste the first line of the fic every time I as the writer am very aware of it...thanks so much for the feedback, and I hope you like chapter 18!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2019 06:02 pm Title: Chapter 17: Montage

It was the first thing I noticed actually. That this didn't start with the same words. Lots of awesome stuff here. The identity theft, faxes from Future Dwight, Jim and Pam (especially Pam) in full pranking form. I'm so glad that she's having fun with everything now.

The flame is getting bigger here. She's got some small sticks burning and it looks to be building up nicely. Can't wait to see what happens when she really adds fuel to the fire.

Author's Response: Nice catch, then. Be on the lookout in the last 2 chapters. Thanks so much for the feedback! 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2019 04:07 pm Title: Chapter 17: Montage

I don’t want this story to end!! This is so much fun

Author's Response: Well, if it helps, the next chapter is the longest single chapter I've ever posted! So it may end, but there's a lot of content on the way! Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Queenie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2019 02:03 pm Title: Chapter 1: Day 1

This is, sincerely, the BEST FIC.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really, really appreciate hearing that :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2019 11:40 pm Title: Chapter 16: Exchange of Information

I’m both delighted (for Pam) and distressed to hear we’re towards the end of this story! It’s been a rollercoaster of just about the full spectrum of human emotion... This chapter was a joy to read! I lost it when she told Jim the truth & he so readily believed her - & then to use it to prank Dwight, perfection. I also very much enjoyed having Larissa back on board. The turmoil of groundhog-ing aside, I’m very jealous of Pam’s ability to have her credit card reset each day...

Author's Response: I'm so glad you've been following along and enjoying here! I also envy Pam that, but I think I'll take accumulating debt for also being able to tell the person I love that I love them and have them remember ;) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2019 08:33 pm Title: Chapter 1: Day 1

This is so much fun. I love that Jim is on board immediately. And your dialogue between them is spot on.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I worry a lot about the dialogue, so that is great to hear!

Reviewer: ScrantonGirl91 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2019 07:32 pm Title: Chapter 16: Exchange of Information

Oh, boy, I can't believe it's coming to an end. But I really wanna know how things change now that Jim can know about the loops.

Author's Response: Well, there's still a bit more to go before the end! Unfortunately, Jim's knowledge resets every time, but I promise there will be more direct engagement with her telling Jim in the next chapter after the one I just posted. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2019 05:46 pm Title: Chapter 16: Exchange of Information

Waaa!! I need more! I love how Pam is gettibg cockier every time... and I like the fact that she finally told Jim.

Author's Response: And more you shall have! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 02, 2019 05:27 pm Title: Chapter 16: Exchange of Information

This was absolutely delightful. Jim is at his best here. Instantly on Pam's side. I love the fact that after he gets done reassuring Pam he's on her side, that he wants to get in a second prank on Dwight. That's just a great Jim thing to do.

But let's talk about their talk at her desk there over jelly beans for a moment shall we? Wonderful, just wonderful. It had me grinning to see such wonderful banter between them. Same goes for Pam's conversation with Larissa there at the end. Outstanding writing.

So, Pam's picked up her flint and steel again and figured out how to get sparks. She's also figured out that she needs a really good bed of very fine grass and duff to send the sparks into. A rat's nest for those of us in the fire starting trade, read any Boy Scout worth their salt. The sparks have caught and how she's gently blowing on them. The first tiny flame has appeared. All she needs to do now is treat that small flame gently, feed it wisely, and in no time I'm sure it'll flare into a bonfire that will blaze away merrily in hers and Jim's spirit's.

Author's Response:

Ironic that I totally understand your metaphor, but am actually completely incompetent at starting a fire. Anyway...

 

Thank you so much for the feedback, particularly on the banter. The show, especially the part of the show I've chosen to set this in, sets such a high bar for it that I'm always worried anytime I let my characters actually speak instead of just think. It's very reassuring to know you liked it. Thanks! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans