Reviews For 147 Miles
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2019 07:21 pm Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

So my favorite part of this chapter is the slow tap dance they're doing around each other - Jim isn't pushing Pam to tell him why she's there and Pam doesn't seem to be in a huge rush to tell him. They're simply just getting back into the habit of being in the same room again.

And it doesn't take them long to fall into their usual banter, either! The bit with the pizza definitely feels like early seasons JAM and now she's in his pajamas and they're drinking beer and none of us are in any rush for them to get on with it.

You know, until they get on with getting it on. *shrugs*

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2019 06:57 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

Listen, there are a lot of things I love to see on this site, and at the top of that list are 'Pam showing up on Jim's doorstep' and 'Pam showing up on Jim's doorstep soaking wet'.

I am already so in for this story! (Here's where I tell you've I've been reading it as it's posted but this is my first chance to review, so I'm pretending that it's my first time)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2019 11:08 pm Title: All My Safest Places

I loved all the memories running throughout it - it really added an extra layer to the story. It’s so nice to see all the tension finally boil over! I can’t wait to see what comes next.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2019 07:35 pm Title: All My Safest Places

Don't undersell this! I've been reading a lot of romance recently and this fits right in. Nice work. Keep the story going!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2019 07:19 pm Title: All My Safest Places

Don't you dare sell yourself short! This was vivid, descriptive, steamy, everything it needed to be. I loved how memories of the past showed up here. That even though they walked through a very trying time, they still have years of happy memories to fall back on. Made for a lot of depth in this scene.

There was one thing that kind of took away from things. You have Jim taking off her bra there in the bedroom, but then a bit later described how her bra had been discarded in the kitchen. A little confusing. However the rest of everything was great to see.

Well done.

Author's Response: It was the very last sentence I edited. That's what I get for not re-reading it one last time before posting. ARGGGGGH. It's fixed now. Thanks warrior!!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 15, 2019 02:16 pm Title: Permission to Love

Of course I couldn’t help myself & had to keep reading as you update. Oh Jim, I hate that he’s still feeling a bit uncertain about Pam’s intentions. I hope it hits him soon that Pam is in this too. This was so beautiful, finally some pay off from all the lovely, lovely build up!

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 15, 2019 10:29 am Title: Permission to Love

I love how all the emotion from all those years was just released in one moment of passion. I really thought Pam might leave this chapter, but you saved my heart from breaking- so thank you.
Well done!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2019 06:49 pm Title: Permission to Love

As Kevin would say,"Nice!".

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2019 06:43 pm Title: Permission to Love

Well done, Pam. I mean, Jim is doing well too but I think she pushed this to where it got, which is good on her. Nice story beats, glad you got them here.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2019 06:17 pm Title: Permission to Love

Wow! So that was a trip. You can almost see all the years of pent up emotions, missed chances, wonderings why , and years of tension between them there at the counter. And finally when it does snap it's even hotter and more steamy than I think either one of them could have imagines. Great detail and vivid imagery. You've done a great job at building up to this moment. Can't wait to see how things will progress after this.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2019 02:08 am Title: You're Haunting Me

Boy, oh boy, are you good at building tension. I need to stop reading this until it’s complete - I’m far too impatient for this updating business...

Author's Response: bahahaha omg that's the best compliment I could ever hope to receive! Thank you!!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2019 05:19 pm Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

Great chapter! I love the balance you struck between awkward and familiar. Really lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, DC!!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2019 05:15 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

I love to hate Season 3 and the fics that come from it are just glorious. I'm so looking forward to where this is going. I don't know if it was intentional, but I really liked the formatting at the end. Those one sentence paragraphs completely changed the pace in all the right ways.
I LOVE people getting caught in the rain. L-O-V-E it.

Author's Response: THAT IS MY FAVORITE TROPE. Rainy day confession fics are EVERYTHING to me, both as a writer and a reader haha.

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2019 02:05 pm Title: You're Haunting Me

This cliffhanger actually made me groan.

I’ll be excitedly waiting for your next update, waiting to see what happens with Jim and Pam next :)

Author's Response: Hopefully you won't be disappointed :))

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2019 01:59 pm Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

Yesssss!

The breaking down of the tension here is just brilliant. I love how easily these two can get back into being Jim and Pam, no matter what.

Beautifully written, once again

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, I wanted to convey the fact that while things are weird between them, the root of their relationship, the camaraderie, still exists.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 09:21 pm Title: You're Haunting Me

Nice way to put in some cannon lines there. Pam's beach speech is always classic regardless of where it's put in. That you've got Jim speechless here is another nice touch. Casino Night devastated him. It makes complete sense that he's put a lot of armor up around his heart, even if it's Pam talking to him.

Good on Pam for figuring things out. Even if the trip wasn't planned, I like that she knows what she wants now. She's fighting through her fear and it's great to see.

Author's Response: YESSSS!!! I was going for blank stare/confused/unreadable Jim from Beach Games. And her speech is classic and truly a defining moment, not just for jam, but for Pam herself. Absolutely one of my favorite moments from the series.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2019 06:43 pm Title: You're Haunting Me

I am glad Pam isn't just leaving it like that. I will say: "Pam was trying to read the emotionless expression on his face" is the one line here that doesn't quite ring true to me because I'm not sure S2-3 summer Jim has learned how not to show his feelings on his face if Pam's actually looking. But that's a minor point, because the beats in this, including his inability to let himself hope and thus to actually hear her, ring very true overall. Keep it up!

Author's Response: That's a good point. I was primarily going for the Beach Games reaction he had at her confession, but you make a good point about whether or not he would have been able to pull it off only a month after Casino Night.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2019 08:42 am Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

You’re keeping us in suspense!!! When will Pam speak??? Can’t wait to read what’s next

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're excited to read what's next!!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2019 12:06 am Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

This chapter was lovely & I was so very sad to see it end! I am very much anticipating the reconciliation (that I hope) comes next! Rain-soaked Pam complete with having to wear Jim’s clothes is a delightful trope that I am very much here for.

Author's Response: I'm weak for rainy day declarations, not gonna lie. Probably my favorite trope. I'm glad you're enjoying it. Thank you so much for reading it!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2019 07:31 pm Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

This is lovely. I like how you have them ping-ponging in and out of the room, not having a lot of chances to actually talk because they're both so cute and nervous.

Author's Response: Yes!! He's so surprised and she's so anxious and I need them to compose themselves before they shared the same space for longer than a few paragraphs haha

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2019 06:30 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

I'm enjoying this, looking forward to hearing what Pam has to say.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 07, 2019 06:06 pm Title: Gotta Learn From Far Away

So not going with the whole doorstep confessional trope then? Nice call. I do find it kind of funny that even though they've been apart for a month now the first thing that happens is they spend the first moments apart. In this case Pam to get changed and then for Jim to put her clothes in the wash.

Overall though, I do like this. That Pam is almost as surprised she's there as Jim is. Now that she is with him again, it seems a lot of her old fears are still there. While she and Jim may be great at being buddies, they weren't great at really telling the other how they felt about the other. That even though she's here that's still the case. Great writing to bring that out. Can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Oh, this fic will be trope-y for sure, and while I'm a sucker for doorstep confessions, I wanted to build this one up a bit. And yes! The whole being honest with how you feel thing is VERY new for both of them, and I definitely wanted to bring some of that out with these first few chapters. Thank you so much for providing your insight into it because it definitely lets me know that people are seeing how they're struggling with being so vulnerable.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 06, 2019 01:52 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

Awesome start!!! Can’t wait to read what happens when Jim opens the door. And maybe we get to read what’s going on in Pam’s head and what led her there

Author's Response: mmhmmm...I like to get into both of their heads a little bit, so hopefully you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for reading it!!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2019 06:23 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

There can never be too many “Pam drives to Stamford” stories! I’m so excited to see what you have in store!

Author's Response: I feel the same way!! Thanks for reading it, agian!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2019 04:45 pm Title: Give Me One Excuse

Yes another Post Casino Night Pam comes to her senses story, but for the most part those are fun. I liked how you got into Jim's mind here. His thoughts about Stamford and his new co-workers are good too. Great way to get into his mind.

So, Pam's here. I'm very curious to see how you take this one. Looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response: I can't help it. I'm way too obsessed with Casino Night and all of the infinite possibilities of a post-Casino Night world. Thanks for reading and the review, warrior!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans