Reviews For Kind of Reckless
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2020 11:51 am Title: You're dodging the moon and I'm playing it safe

I was so happy to see you've updated, and so pleased that the new chapter is just as good as I hoped it would be. Loving all your characters!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 08:17 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

I hate you.

That's it.

That's the review.

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2020 06:47 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

I know, I KNOW, this is supposed to be a light, nostalgic AU to get us through the summer(s) BUT when you throw in lines like this HOW do I NOT get into my Feelings?
"His thumb slides over knuckles in a way that feels like maybe they’re always supposed to hold hands." PLUS you have him do that guy thing where he's all insecure but putting on some bravado and still a little worried he's going to screw things up. Ugh. How do you do this?

Speaking of gold medals, you get the gold medal for AU characterizations (I spit my drink when Terry and Cynthia had to be hauled out for fighting over Stanley!); repurposing existing side characters is part of what makes AU so much fun and YOU are a master at it. Look it's just All Too Good. I am in love with how funny and sweet and sexy it is while hinting at More Than That.

But there's this one bit we really can't overlook. You know when you read an amazing story and you're SEEING it, like the movie of it is playing in your head? Okay, so really I do that throughout this entire thing. But there's one line that Every Single Time I read it, I have shut my phone and stare into the abyss and think about the meaning of life and it's fine. I'm fine when this happens:

"She really can’t be mad at him when they’re tucked away in the darkest corner of the hay loft, and he whispers things like I think I’m falling in love with you to explain why he wants to wait just a little longer."

I'm fine...

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2020 08:46 pm Title: You're dodging the moon and I'm playing it safe

Look.
Your summary was enough to take me back in time. Really. I could SMELL the Japanese Cherry Blossom as I was placing my order from a Delia's catalog (an actual print version) while watching Liv Tyler and Alicia Silverstone, the ultimate sex goddesses, in an Aerosmith video or two. But here we are. With Jim and Ryan wearing puka shell necklaces and black nail polish and Pam goes through a Daria phase... how DARE you!!!

I don't care how many times I've read this, I CACKLE audibly every time I read this part:
“I’ve lived here for almost forty years now, and I don’t think I’ve ever spent as much time staring at that barn as you seem to be this week.” Celia’s tone is innocent as she raises her own glass of tea to her lips and looks pointedly at her granddaughter. “Unless it’s not the barn you’re so fascinated with.”
“It’s a really pretty barn,” she insists.
“It is,” Celia agrees as her eyes drift back toward the fields. “He always was the best looking of the Halpert boys, you know,” she said casually. “You can’t see it from here, but he’s almost grown into those ears of his. Not that anyone’s looking at his ears when he’s got that a—“

Oh my god. We all deserve a Celia. I'm in love with the way you've written her and I will never ever in any way get over this exchange.

But really it's their very authentic Jam banter and flirting with each other just on the edge of impropriety that makes it feel so real and true to the show. You masterfully weave the characters into This World so cleverly and the backstory is fun and rich without dragging us away from Pam and Jim.

And the two of them? On the porch? Coley. You're killing me.

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2020 03:52 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Really, really excellent chapter. I was SO excited to see this fic updated! The ending with JAM at the hospital was so sweet, especially her using that moment to say ILU back. I'll be honest, I don't LOVE the Jan reveal but I think it works given the larger context of the fic. But, uh, her and Katy? Blah. He has TERRIBLE taste, LOL. I hope we don't hear any more about that, at least w/o some goodies of Pam's college wildness. Anyhow, love it, can't wait for more.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:45 pm Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Soooo good. I’m not even mad about the Jan/Jim hookup, because I can absolutely picture young hot farmer Jim being sucked in by her older feminine wiles and it like, somehow, makes him kind of hotter? I don’t know, it makes me think of that Garth Brooks song about how she had a need to feel the thunder.

Anyway this was perfect and so are you, and take all the time you need bb we will be here!

Author's Response: OMG. I love that I spent days trying to figure out how I would be able to defend the Jan thing and why it works in this story and you're just like, "hey, remember that one Garth Brooks song?" and you 100% nailed it. That's exactly it, and it's going to be the reasoning I use if anyone tries to give me grief over it, lol. I'm so glad you're still enjoying this story! :) 

Reviewer: DenizPotterkafa Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 09:16 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

This is soo good man!

Author's Response: Thank you! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 09:07 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Quick pause in reading before I get to the rest of the review. Founders Fest? A little local inspiration there? Just wondering is all. Moving on.

Also, yes paramedics can ABSOLUTELY drive like maniacs. Considering how often I've been tossed around in the back of one, yeah, good call.

Other than that, a really great chapter. Well worth the wait. No I'm not disappointed about the lack of some overt highly detailed sex scene. The other ways you have describing them while together paint a clear enough picture that there's not really any leaps involved.

Ah look at you go Jim, falling in love with her quickly and being the first to say it. And of course Pam is a bit more hesitant, but who is she kidding? The feelings are still there even if it takes her a bit to verbalize them.

I love how much Jim is there for both Pam and Gran. He's a great guy in these moments and it's very sweet to see. This may have started out as feeling like a summer fling, but clearly its a lot more than that now.

It'll be really interesting to see what happens when Helene shows up all piss and vinegar for Pam to head back to school and Pam wanting to stay where she is. Nice set up for that.

Fantastic job as always.

Author's Response: Oh! You know what? I've never actually been to Founders Fest and didn't even put that together until you said it... Honestly, I just love and needed the idea of a small town festival in this story and was too lazy to come up with anything more creative than that. :) And I am so excited to bring Helene to town so I'm glad you're ready for that too.  Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 08:59 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

So I'm kinda disappointed with Jim with the Jan thing, not gonna lie. But the emotional beats between the two of them (and the creative reuse of canon elements like the teapot gifts) are superb.

Author's Response: If it makes you feel any better, Jim's a little disappointed with himself too. I've got a plan for the teapot gifts so I'm always happy to see someone take note of them here. ;)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 08:45 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

So I somehow missed ch. 2 of this, so here's my review now: you're really good at this. Especially the buildup of tension between them even when they've managed to get together. It's somehow still in character even in the AU.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Comfect! 

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 05:27 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

This story is just the gift that keeps on giving. Seriously, I had to reread it from the beginning before I read the update...for science, of course.
I do love Farmer Jim so very much but I really, really love this Pam too. Please never stop writing, Coley.

Author's Response: Listen, fanfic science is my favorite science, so I 100% understand the need to go back and re-read things sometimes ;) I am SO glad that you love this Pam because while I knew it was a gamble to make her a little (maybe a lot) more confident, I really love her like this too. Thank you so much for reading, I appreciate it!

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 03:53 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Thanks so much for updating. It was worth the wait!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy that you liked it. :) 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 02:58 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Coley. Coley. COLEY.
“And, it’s kind of perfect.” Yes, everything about you updating this story is kind of perfect.

Okay, I love this mostly confident version of Pam. She’s adorable, all gesturing at Jim to undress. I’m here to second that request.

“Hey, you’re the one who’s going to have to explain to our parents why we have to dance to this at our wedding.” PLEASE. Is this the sequel?! Please tell me this is the entire plot of the sequel...

Jim is stealing soup and all I can picture is Rory Gilmore and the damn cornstarch. I kind of hope that was the inspiration of shoplifting something so miscellaneous.

I’m sorry, what’s this about Jim’s French teacher, Mrs. Levinson-Gould?! Talk about a plot twist.

“Tonight’s my favorite, too.” I am a puddle of mush. Oh to be young and completely smitten.

“in the corner of the hay loft” Hi, yes. I needed this reminder that this is FARMER JIM and not regular, tractor-less Jim. My heart.

“Celia pulls a piece of straw from Pam’s hair and raises her eyebrow at both of them.” Celia, cementing her status as MVP of this fic and possibly any fic.

Queen. Cougar. Oh. My. God. “If I’m going to write her a thank you note, I need to know what I’m thanking her for.” This fic is a gift. An actual gift. This is hilarious.

I actually can’t deal with these cute, soft little head kisses. Like, this fic is just bubbling with sexual tension, but this may just be the thing that does me in.

A joke at the expense of Kevin’s maths abilities? Perfect canon insert is perfect.

Umm. No. No thank you. I don’t like the turn this is taking. Don’t hurt Celia... My heart can’t take it...
“She really is fine.” She better be, I swear to god...

Honestly. I’m not even mad about waiting seven months for this. It was that good. I will relentlessly pressure you to update forevermore though. That’s not changing.

Author's Response: Oh Jenna. I love this review a whole lot. All of the parts you called out were my favorite parts to write and I 100% got the soup idea from Gilmore Girls and I was really hoping someone would somehow put that together. ;)  Celia's fine... I promise that Celia is fine. 

Reviewer: jloh217 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 01:13 am Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Yes!! Yes finally!! I'm so glad you updated and this chapter was totally worth waiting for! You're my favorite author on here, and I am always excited for one of your new chapters!

Author's Response: Ah, this made me smile! I'm so glad you liked the update!

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2020 11:58 pm Title: One restless summer we found love growing wild

Okay, obviously, Farmer Jim and Pam are my favorites, there's no doubts there. But Celia is quickly climbing up the ranks and I'm not angry about it at all. I love that Pam was fighting with her feelings because she doesn't know what's going to happen but then gave in at the end, it was great. This update was probably the best thing to happen all week but I hope you know that this doesn't stop the constant begging for more Farmer Jim, because that will definitely continue.

Author's Response: I love this because I love Celia a whole lot too! Thank you! :) 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 09:11 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

So I finally found out the actual name of this fic so I could read it. I totally see what the fuss is about. I officially join the harassers to beg for the next chapter. This is pure awesomeness.

Author's Response: Donna, I don't think you know how much this made me laugh on a day when I needed a laugh, but then also, I felt bad because I keep meaning to add "Farmer Jim" to the story description and just never get around to it. Oops!  I'm glad you found it, and I'm even happier that you enjoyed it! :) 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2020 09:33 pm Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

I am leaving a review so you have another one even though you know all my thoughts because I bombarded you with them against your will. This is perfection. Imagine me clapping my hands like Kelly but instead of “fashion show” I’m going “Farmer Jim! Farmer Jim! Farmer Jim at lunch! (And all the time)”

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2020 10:36 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

Now I know why everyone loves Farmer Jim. I love Farmer Jim. I need more of Farmer Jim. This story is so cute and just fantastic, I love it so much.

Reviewer: jloh217 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2020 12:23 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

Um hi, just me, checking to see if there's any more farmer Jim.....

Author's Response:

I just now took a quick break from working on that document to respond to this review! I know, they’ve been standing at the edge of that lake forever but the next update is soon! We’re talking a couple of days tops. 

Thank you for checking in! It’s these mini guilt trips that really kick my butt back into gear :) 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2019 01:01 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

Such a great chapter. Loved seeing an update on this fic. The date and final kiss was totally worth it. Can’t wait for more.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 07:21 pm Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

Oh! And this: "I thought I'd go ahead and nail something Roy hadn't." Hilarious. And a bit sassy of Jim too.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 07:17 pm Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

You leave us all hot and bothered with Pam going skinny dipping, and you think we'll be satisfied with that? Uh uh. We're gonna need more. WAY more.

This story is so cute. I'm ready it but my mind is forming the scenes of a movie. I love how you've included so many of the characters.

By the way, I totally forgot about Farmer Jim. I was waiting patiently for Mafia Jim.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 07:16 pm Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

So "How did I miss this?" is the "You're killing me" of this chapter. It was a gut punch. A GOOD gut punch. But like. UGH. Love Farmer Jim.

"You can look" YA IN LIKE 3 MONTHS DAMN YOU WITH THE CLIFFHANGERS

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 06:45 pm Title: You're dodging the moon and I'm playing it safe

"You're killing me."

That's it. That's the review.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2019 04:49 am Title: You can kiss me in the moonlight

Took you long enough! Here I was thinking that "Maybe Coley has gone on to other pursuits. Fare thee well Ms. Coley. Clear horizons." Then you go and do this. This lovely, silly, steamy, fun filled chapter of wonderful. Still there shall be further badgering next chat session, you have been warned.

Ok so let's get to the highlights shall we.

"'Chocolate chip or banana nut?' 'Yes.'" As a wise woman once reviewed on one of my stories, actually about a year ago now, Amen Pam, Amen.

Aww the teapot. Also I love Gran here. For many things. You've got her bond with Pam so wonderful and it shows in things like the teacup set aside only for Pam when she comes to visit. It's a small but lovely detail.

Good on ya Jim for the realization that you'd been kinda of a jackass at that party and the adorableness in apologizing to Pam. Likewise it's good that they get over any hangups from previous relationships. Gets that all out of the way for everything that comes next.

So the build up to that first kiss? I was expecting a cliffhanger there. Because that's kind of what always happens. All this buildup and then...bupkis. Granted there was still some of that what with the honking of the horn and the distractions during the date. However thank you for just getting right to those first kisses under the apple tree. Very cute and romantic, even if Gran is still being her sassy self with the porch lights.

Pam's mini-freakout for the rest of the weekend seems very appropriate. An amazing date and even more amazing kisses then nothing? Yeah, makes sense she's freak out a bit. Good on ya Jim for calming her down with everything.

Lots of fun imagining them running around all over the place in the following scenes. The hayloft, the orchard, the cab of his truck. Seriously, who doesn't love Smitten Jim and Pam?

Then that last little scene in the bed of his truck by the lake? Hoo boy. Getting steamy there for reasons other than the temperature and in all the right ways. Annd there's the cliffhanger. I'd mention up a specific plan to get you to update quicker, but I'll hold off....for now.

Seriously, great to have an update for this wonderful story.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans