You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2019 06:30 am Title: There Ain't No Hangover Like You

It’s great the phone call/voicemails the night before filter how Jim reads the text from Pam the morning after. It’s so true that he would have frantically pondered it without the context.
Pam thinking she was dreaming. Ugh. That hits right in the feels.
As far as I’m concerned Dwight and Pam’s friendship is one of the best parts of Season 3 so it’s lovely to see a nod to that.
I’ll admit it took me far too long to register that “don’t even think about it” is how Jim’s name is now set in her phone & oh my god it’s so good. It makes the fact she called him eight times all the more sweet.
The extra things that Pam has added to the teapot - be still my heart. It’s too much.
“Their laughter danced, twining together for the first time in way too goddamn long, before the song ended and they found themselves on opposite sides of the dance floor again” - this little passage is just perfection.
Their whole conversation was lovely. The reference to stealing Dwight’s car was a fun touch.
I love the song, it’s great to see it come to life like this. It’s a good fit for Season 3 JAM, that’s for sure.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2019 12:26 am Title: There Ain't No Hangover Like You

Double review because I read to fast for my own good at times. First time around I missed that little line where you had Jim all but pull Pam out of her car. Forget what I said earlier. That's also a very nice image.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2019 08:54 pm Title: There Ain't No Hangover Like You

Great blend of humor, sweetness, and of course a long overdue conversation. I can imagine that it was Kelly who changed Jim's name in Pam's phone like that. Great little tidbit that added depth to this story. I'm really glad Pam had the courage to say all that to Jim here and that he has the insight to just listen and take it all in.

Also even through the seriousness of the conversation, there are these little bits of banter that take a lot of the edge off. Very skillful writing to pull that off. It didn't detract from what Pam was saying in the slightest.

I would have maybe liked a little more about the actual reunion in Middleton. However considering how the rest of their conversation went I'm sure it was a very sweet moment where Pam flings herself at Jim and he maybe gives her quick twirl before they simply hold each other for a few minutes before heading into the diner.

Great job as always AG, this was a treat.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2019 08:37 pm Title: There Ain't No Hangover Like You

I did love this. Great job with the length, but also with the emotions. I think you did a great job with Pam (and the relabeling Jim in her phone was wonderful) and her emotional upset, and I loved Jim doing the "I'm processing" but then managing to actually process. Great story.

Reviewer: jandjsalmon Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2019 02:16 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

This was so wonderful. I loved it.

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2019 07:24 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

I just don't even know where to begin with this one! It's so good. Like, so very good.

Each and every voicemail is a GD treat, and each one is better than the last one. I love that Pam starts out with familiar territory, coming up with the chair prank.

So I know that reading one of your stories, I'm going to be attacked somehow by some string of words you've put together but I honestly never thought you'd get me with an Avril Lavigne song. Especially THAT Avril Lavigne song, but hey, here we are and it's one of my top 3 favorite moments of this chapter. Who knew?

“He was good enough for her, though. You, I mean. You’re the skater boy here. I’m making a metaphor. Like in fifth grade reading class.” Ugh, it's just so good and sad and I'm fine here.

"Hey suck face." I've said this to no less than 4 people since I first read it, and I'm going to keep saying it.

My favorite part of Pam's voicemails is the rollercoaster of emotions - she goes from silly to angry and then to so heartbreakingly fragile with the whole "life is so boring now" and "maybe everyone at the office hates me" messages.

And then when he answers the phone and she doesn't know? I really love that she's oblivious to it and just keeps going.

I haven't even talked about Jim yet. And man, do I love Jim and his whole "Mind Pam" moment here. I just love how he knows exactly how he would comfort her if he was there and that he's doing his best to do that from 200 miles away.

As always, your banter is *chef's kiss* - Hungover Jim and Drunk Pam are one of my new favorite pairings and they work so well off of each other here.

This exchange right here?
“Yeah, probably,” he chuckled. “But probably not tonight, though.”
“Aww. Well that’s dumb.”
“It kind of is,” he agreed lightheartedly.
“Then what about, maybe we could fix it tomorrow?” -- This might be my favorite moment of the whole chapter and I don't have any reason for that except I can HEAR it in their voices perfectly.

Real Jim is going to call Real Pam! I can't wait to see how this goes. I really, really can't.

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2019 07:03 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

This was AWESOME! I have just always felt with the way Pam was so excited at the beginning of “The Merger” they had more contact than we saw. I imagine it would have been a late night drunken phone call/texting thing. Nothing like this but enough to keep her so hopeful and excited to see him. I love that she was pouring her soul out on the voicemails. I loved that they were making him think of another time she left a lot of voicemails. Can’t wait for the next part!

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2019 10:34 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

Can I nominate this for a Dundee? What's the process? Ohmygosh, this is so incredibly precious! Pam is so adorable. Jim is so gobsmacked and loving. You are an AMAZING writer. Each paragraph I read, the imagery was so vivid, so gorgeous, so imaginative. This is definitely a favorite. I DO love drunk Pam and Jim loving drunk Pam, and drunk Pam being adorably honest. I HATE being a reviewer who cannot even begin to use the English language like you do, in order to adequately heap on the praise you deserve. You milked my heart Agian! You have officially blown me away.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2019 09:10 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

Ya know, a couple weeks ago the Ross/Rachel “I’m over you/when were you under me” phone call popped in my head and I really wanted something new for jam inspired by that. This hit the spot wonderfully, especially the “hey suck face” voicemail, lol.
Loved this, can’t wait for part two!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2019 08:16 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

Oh, this is nice! Especially that there's only one more part ;). Not that I don't love your long stories, but there's a beauty in a short story too. This is a really good version of drunk!Pam, and I like almost-hungover-but-also-still-drunk!Jim too. Well done.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2019 02:47 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

OMG!!! What a great drunken conversation! I wonder if Pam is going to remember any of this the next morning. Or if she’s going to be mortified once she’s sober. Hopefully she’s just mildly embarrassed, but not enough to continue taking to Jim. I can’t wait to read what happens next. Hope you post lots of new chapters soon

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2019 08:00 am Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

Drunk Jim and Pam are the best!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 20, 2019 11:46 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

Any country song that you want to turn into fic I will be so here for! I loved this, there were so many great moments that it’s hard to pinpoint a few standout parts. I’m so looking forward to the next part!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 20, 2019 11:32 pm Title: Some Need to Hit the Bottom to See They've Got a Problem

This was great! I loved how Jim had all the other voicemails running through his head as he listened to all these new ones. It was a great way to tie in that piece of their history.

Their banter with each other was perfectly on point. Even with and probably because of the liquid courage. They're bouncing from silly to serious and back again so easily. Regardless of Casino Night or the distance between them, they're still Jim and Pam here. Me thinks that's exactly what they both needed. To just be them one more time to really cement that their connection, though frayed, is still intact.

Can't wait to see what happens with the next encounter.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans