You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2020 08:06 pm Title: Back to Work

Finally got caught up! So sorry to have been late to the game with finishing this one. It was just so cute! I say this in every review I leave on slice of life type stories, but I really do love slice of life type stories! The little moments that happen off camera that we don’t get to see. And you write them so well! I always love reading your work, warrior. Now off to catch up on Silver Wings!

Author's Response: I always love getting reviews from you BT. Thank you so much. I'm very glad you liked this. I had a lot of fun bringing it together so I'm glad people enjoyed reading it too.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2020 02:50 pm Title: Back to Work

Megadesk! Such fun! I honestly like to see Dwight try and get his own. It’s nice to see how the turntables.

I feel you, Jim. It’s always a little rough to return to work after time off. Dwight, Andy and Jo certainly don’t help...

“It was good to get back to work, he mused. But even better to be back home.” This is definitely the perfect line to end this. Lovely way to wrap it all up!

Author's Response: Yeah, I couldn't not include Megadesk. It's just a fun moment in canon. Thank you as always for the support and reviews. It was a lot of fun to bring it all together. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2020 01:06 pm Title: Back to Work

A good wrap up, very cute. Had me smiling pretty much the whole way through. Thanks for writing this!

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to write this. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 07:01 pm Title: Day 13

Jim always thinks of something!
A nice, sweet, peaceful end to this one. I enjoyed the read.
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for commenting. Yeah nothing to exciting for this chapter. Not everything in life is big and dramatic so makes sense to follow that theme here.

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 03:42 pm Title: Day 13

This was a sunny, warm story that was a joy to read. Looking forward to the epilogue!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's been a lot of fun to write so I'm glad you've enjoyed it so much.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 04:49 pm Title: Day 13

I don’t know, I still think there’s a lot of fluffiness that comes from the simple moments here. I feel like Jim is going to miss his time at home when he returns to work.
Please tell me that daycare experience hasn’t been drawn from RL, because that is terrible!

Author's Response: Thanks Jenna. Yes Jim will miss his time with Cece. But that's a bit of life. The sudden postponing of a daycare slot is not based on real life, thank god. That was just a device I used to help line up my story with canon. Glad you liked this chapter.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2020 11:50 am Title: Day 5

Ohh...
It's so obnoxiously when some random person tries to touch your child ('it's just a hug/kiss/touch, what harm could it cause to a baby?') or gives you unwanted and unwelcome advice. I felt that discomfort when I read the scene in the supermarket. And I like so much the way Jim acted it that situation!

Author's Response: Thanks. Jim's reaction to creepy lady was what my sister used to do when people would reach for her while she was pregnant. It usually worked too. Glad you liked the chapter.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2020 01:07 pm Title: Day 4

Oh, it's so cute that even apart Pam and Jim are able to prank Dwight. And the style of Jim's entries is amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks. It was fun to think up that prank, took some research too. Glad you like the journals. They were also fun to write.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2020 07:16 pm Title: Day 12

I think that one of the things about Jim and Pam that resonates with so many people is that they both had dreams of accomplishing something career wise and ended up with a job that just paid the bills. I thought the nod to that here was very realistic and balanced out the sweetness of this chapter. Of course, for some of us (as is with JAM), pursuing the dream of loving someone else is more important than the career, which I think this chapter highlights very well.
I've enjoyed the story! Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: That's a great point about Jim and Pam's relationship. Thanks for your very insightful comment.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2020 03:15 pm Title: Day 12

“You do realize you’re a walking talking Hallmark movie from time to time, right?” This line sums up this fic so well! It’s all so sweet and fluffy, like a warm blanket or a Hallmark Christmas movie. Nice to use the visit from Rachel to prompt a discussion about Jim sticking at Dunder Mifflin. And a throwback to the Halloween episode to boot. Lovely update!

Author's Response: I blame the chat last night and all the talk about tropes for that line. However I was also going for sweet and fluffy so that works too. Thanks as always for your review.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2020 01:27 pm Title: Day 2

I can't believe I read this story only now. It's unbelievably warm and cozy and makes me smile and make a lot 'awww' noices. Just wonderful!
And it's nice to see that Jim gave Pam some salesmen's advice. Perhaps, he has more cards in his hand to play (I hope to see them!). And, of course, the successful hunting. I have a sudden urge to watch 'The Mummy'!

Author's Response: Glad to have you here. Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked it so much. It's been fun to work on and add in all those moments to make one go Awww. 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 09:15 am Title: Day 11

Oh. I have to say thank you to the nod to Persuasion - I reread it every summer! And thanks for the backstory on Superman. I've never read comics, so it helped me to understand where Jim was coming from.
Jim gets five stars here for cleaning up, making dinner, taking care of the baby and arranging a thoughtful surprise!
This was a nice break from these crazy times! Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: The nod to Persuasion is also a nod to the current Regency-JAM story being written by Dernhelm, but I'm glad you liked it too. No problem about the Superman backstory. The comics I reference are among the greatest story arcs of the character. Glad you liked how Jim was taking care of things at home. Glad I could give you and everyone else a quick break. 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2020 09:00 am Title: Day 11

This. Is. Adorable. For a minute I was like “why is Helene being so nice?” And then I remembered that the Helene that doesn’t like Jim is in “Silver Wings” and not this story! I love that Jim got serious about something that really is important to Pam and that we got to see a slice of something he loves equally as much. I see some parallels between Jim and Superman 😉 great work as always!

Author's Response: Thank you. Kinda fun that I could confuse you like that. It was fun to write Jim fixing his gaff with the Finer Things Club, and what better way to do that than with a comic book? Jim and Superman are both arc-type characters so yeah, of course there would be parallels between them. Thanks for adding in your own literary contributions to this review and MTT.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2020 11:22 pm Title: Day 11

Warrior, this was a lovely update. I wondered where you were going with the literature/Superman discussion and it turned out far more profound than I imagined. I’m with Helene though, give me Persuasion any day... (That’s so not the takeaway here, but nonetheless).
It was a very nice touch to have Jim stage his own finer things club of sorts and try to give Pam’s interests a bit more of a go too.
This chapter was such an unexpected, but beautiful tribute to all things written word.

Author's Response:

Thanks Jenna. Sometimes I'm amazed at how organic writing can be. Honestly I didn't really set out to create the newer finer things club when I first sat down to type. But as I typed the idea just sprang forth as I wrote, and used my own copies of those three Superman comics for reference material. Also kinda fun to have Jim repair that gaff he had with the real Finer Things Club. I'm really glad you liked it so much.

That toast at the end is also a way of me toasting all the great updates we've been having here on the site recently.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 22, 2020 10:04 pm Title: Day 10

...does that sinus tapping thing work? Am I really about to take some advice from Dwight?

That aside, I just really love seeing slices of life for my favorite couple. Even when it’s split up, like just seeing Jim’s day through the status updates and seeing more of Pam as she navigates unfamiliar terrain. Her self evaluation made me proud of her! I might steal that for use in my own life. And you wrote Dwight really well! I always love when he says something and it takes them a minute before they go “oh, that’s actually pretty helpful!” Great work as always. Now I’m off to read more of another story written by you!

Author's Response:

Medically speaking, I honestly have no idea if sinus tapping like that works. However I feel it's got that feeling of folksy wisdom along with a hint of alternative medicine that would appeal to Dwight. And hey if it works for you, feel free. Same goes for the self evaluation. Glad you liked how I wrote Dwight too. It's also fun to show him as more than just a punching bag for Jim and Pam's pranks. He does care about people in his own Dwight-ish way.

Glad you liked the rest of the chapter. It's fun to write Pam as still learning and growing. Thanks for the review. Hope you enjoy whatever other story you're off too. I completed and created several during your sabatical.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2020 11:25 pm Title: Day 10

Dwight was the shining star of this chapter is something I don’t say often, but the Dwight content on offer here was wonderful! I can’t say I particularly enjoy reading about mucus, but when Dwight puts it like that, it’s too funny not to appreciate.
Lovely to see Jim stop in at work, I could feel Pam’s pleased surprise - definitely a nice way to go into the rest of her work day.

Author's Response: It was fun adding in a good Dwight scene. As much fun as it is to prank him, he and Pam also have a fun non-pranking friendship that's fun to explore. Thanks as always for your review.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2020 12:37 pm Title: Day 10

Why is it that I love the Pam and Dwight friendship so much? You wrote it well here, just enough annoyance, some truth and a sprinkle of kindness and understanding. And I think I'm going to take Dwight's advice as well! (not about the sinus headache!)

Author's Response: Thank you. That was exactly the tone I was going for so I'm glad it came across.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 01:17 pm Title: Day 9

Ok, I think one of my favorite things about this whole story is that you are weaving in your experiences with your family with one of your favorite things (The Office). That makes this a much more personal and lasting piece, IMHO, because of its personal nature in recording some of your early experiences with your own kiddo.
Nicely done! Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you H&C. It's been fun to incorporate some personal things with this story. It's probably about 20% stuff from my experience, 80% making it up for the fic just to let you know. Glad you're enjoying this.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 10:36 am Title: Day 9

These are so cute! I love the detailing of daily life. And I love the inclusion of a rabbit! That’s a pet I feel like I don’t often see in stories. If these are inspired by real life, you sound like a great dad. Can’t wait to read more!

Author's Response: Aww thanks BT. Yes they are inspired by real life. I was going a little stir crazy back then so it was fun to create something kind of silly. I'm glad you're enjoying this.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: March 09, 2020 10:24 am Title: Day 5

Catching up and just have to leave a review that says I LOVE the way Jim handled that intrusive lady! People absolutely do want to touch kids or stomachs and it’s just so weird. I am so happy to see that addresses and shut down! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you. Papa Bear Jim is fun to bring out from time to time. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 08, 2020 11:45 pm Title: Day 9

Truth be told, I could have lived without the imagery in this chapter! It doesn’t help that I’ve just spent the weekend with two very small children and have a very fresh frame of reference 😂

Author's Response: Yeah, the joys of parenthood. Luckily as they grow older things like that happen less frequently. Thanks as always for the review.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2020 01:47 pm Title: Day 9

I really love this fic of yours. It's very sweet and I like getting to see Jim be a parent like this. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's been a fun project to work on as well as remember when my daughter was that age. Glad you're liking it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2020 03:27 am Title: Day 8

Pam is very calm for someone (family or not) showing up at her house for a visit unexpectedly! I would be panicking about how clean my house was (or wasn’t). That said, the inclusion of Johnathan was fun! And as a cousin was a bit of a twist. It seems the fanon thing that Jim has a brother of that name...
Pam pranking Dwight is always delightful. I liked the nod to the Michael Scott Paper Company too.

Author's Response: Johnathan as Jim's brother seemed to be a thing before the canon characters of Tom and Pete were introduced. In homage to those early brother Johnathan fics I recast him as a cousin. I can see why Pam might panic, however now she has a couple days of reinforcements to help with Cece and house work since Jim still has the cast on. Glad you're still liking this story.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: January 26, 2020 12:57 am Title: Day 7

Ah, domestic bliss. This was super sweet. It’s nice to see all these little moments behind the scenes that were never really a part of canon.

Author's Response: Thanks. Nice to get some glimpses of that too. Obviously everyone have lives outside the office so it's fun to explore some of that.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2019 11:55 pm Title: Day 6

I’m still only part way through “This Thing Called Life” (I’m terrible with reading lengthy, complete fics, so it’s taking me forever & then some...) I know this is partially based on your own experiences, as well as your existing fic universe, so I may have missed something here, but I don’t picture Pam and Jim as canonically regularly church-going folks. It seemed during Cece’s baptism that they were more the special occasion church types. So, for me that felt a little out of character. But, at the same time it doesn’t detract anything from the story - I just don’t see them spending their Sundays at church.
On another note, knowing that Jim has another prank in mind for Dwight is always fun... It adds some incentive to return to work.

Author's Response: I think it's easy to come to that conclusion based on what we see in the show. There area really only a few references to Jim or Pam going to church and they're pretty brief. I think that's mainly due to the fact that it's rare for a network TV show, especially a comedy, in America to have very overt references to religion. Angela being the exception on The Office, but then again they portray her as a rather bad stereotype of Christianity for laughs. However what we do see, leads me to believe it's at least plausible. Pam says she's Presbyterian, they get married in a church, Jim's brother reads from the Bible during the ceremony and Pam remembers the quote years later in S9, Cece is christened which in my experience isn't really something parents do if they just go to church on Christmas and Easter, things like that.

Thanks as always for your comments.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans