You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2020 02:35 am Title: Chapter 10

Oh capital letters! This was delightful, and I think the conceit is growing even better as you go along. I liked Toby.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 05:13 pm Title: Chapter 10

Hmmm.... I wonder what Mr. Howard’s intentions are? 🤔

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 01:20 pm Title: Chapter 10

Again, you do a great job of keeping each one in character without compromising the flow of the story. Sir Michael calling Mr. Flenderson an old shoe and Mr. Howard not asking to be introduced and pressing Pamela to change her plans sounds very like them!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 07:53 am Title: Chapter 10

Interesting take on things here. Toby being Michael's brother-in-law was a bit of a hoot. Michael's animosity for the show seemed to be on full display here.

Other than that, I'm seeing shades of Season 3 between Jim and Pam here. Jim pranking Dwight, but not totally going for it. Pam wishing she was still his partner in crime. Both of them letting out only glimpses of their feelings before a mask of polite indifference is pulled down.

I wonder though if Jim overhead Pam responding to "Miss Beesly," rather than "Mrs. Anderson." Makes me wonder if such a thing will come up in next time around. Looking forward to the next chapter for sure.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2020 03:57 am Title: Chapter 10

You’ve captured the Michael and Toby dynamic so well. Seriously. Michael is just so perfect for this time period. Enough money/status to be seen as relatively important, but not enough sense that he’s constantly committing social slights. It’s perfect. This chapter just further adds to that, especially in his manner towards Toby.
The little flicker of interaction between Pam and Jim was wonderful - in a heart aching sort of way - too. Hopefully he won’t become too cruel in his pranks on Dwight. I love that Karen just doesn’t get it... That’s telling enough.
Bring on the next chapter, I feel like it’s going to be all kinds of awkward for poor Pam!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

The next chapter is half-written, so it will be soon :)  

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 19, 2020 03:43 am Title: Chapter 9

I keep expecting not to be all that surprised by this story - after all, it’s loosely following the plot of two others that I’m familiar with (The Office & Persuasion) and then you do something like fit the Dwight finding Pam crying scene seamlessly into the story & it makes me gasp. It’s just so perfect & unexpected (even though I think I know what to expect). I love that you keep surprising me with this.
Toby, was also a little shock, followed immediately by the thought of well, that makes sense. Although, is he Benwick or Elliot? You’ll have to write the next chapter quickly so I can find out!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I hope I'll keep to surprise you :) 

I wish I could write as quickly as I want, but... oh well. So... when you find out who Toby turned to be, I hope you won't be disappointed!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2020 09:51 pm Title: Chapter 9

Ah, I am quite loving this. The transformation of Dwight finding Pam was particularly well done: "'Your idea of duties and your loyalty to Sir Michael do you honor,' he said cautiously, yet solemnly. 'I realize how painful it could be to let the guests encounter regrettable imperfections, but I truly believe that the unbaked biscuits are not your fault.'" Just a perfect transformation of that moment into a Regency-appropriate response. And I quite like the choice of Toby to come join the throng, and to excite Jim's jealous eyes. Wonder what Sir Michael's response to him will be. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review! It means a lot to me. 

I am glad I could keep believable the Regency stylization. Perhaps, this is partly why the thing goes a little bit slower than I'd like them, but, I hope, I'm not dragging the story. The next chapter is ready :) 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2020 06:29 pm Title: Chapter 9

Ooohhhh.... is Toby our Mr. Elliot?! Perhaps we are at a turning point for poor Pamela. I like the friendship that you have created between Miss Flax and Pam. I always liked Holly - reasonable, yet silly.
Thank you for sharing the poems - I can see Pam and Karen in both of those, though I especially liked the Wordsworth poem.
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!

I tried to mix characters a little, so... yes, here is some part of Mr.Elliot in Toby (but only a part!). 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2020 11:40 am Title: Chapter 9

Nice way to incorporate Dwight finding Pam alone there. I do find it interesting that thus far Jim and Pam have had no serious interaction since his return. I get why, he has Karen on his arm and she's trying to avoid him. Looking forward to the inevitable when they do find themselves directly face to face.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!

Though Pam and Jim are good at avoiding (both in the show and here), I do promise they find a way to interact - one or another. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 02:41 am Title: Chapter 8

You know I love this story, but it’s worth repeating that I really love this story. This chapter was utterly heartbreaking.
You blend Austen and The Office worlds so well. I could never have imagined Michael taking on Jan’s financial issues in this world, but you made it work so seamlessly.
I wasn’t expecting Holly’s appearance in this. It’s nice to see her as kind of a friend for Pam. I’m curious to see how her storyline plays out - especially if she ends up with Michael...
I can’t wait to see what you write next!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Your reviews are the best encouraging to write more :) 

I like the idea of Pam having female friends (and friend aside Jim in general) and I quite like Holly, so... Miss Flax appeared. I guess, she's both Lady Russell and Mrs.Smith to Pam - Anne Elliot. Hope it was fit well :) 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 10:28 pm Title: Chapter 8

:(

Author's Response: It'll be better, I promise :) 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 07:32 pm Title: Chapter 8

Oh my. Yes, this makes sense as who we'd meet but poor Pam. Poor poor Pamela. Still, a little heartbreak is necessary for growth, I suppose. Still well done on the Regency imitation, very enjoyable.

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

I hate to see Pam suffers, but for both canons' sake, it has to happen. But that state will improve soon! 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 02:53 pm Title: Chapter 8

Oh, my heart is hurting for Pamela! I see that nod to "Persuasion " here...
I feel like I can't read your updates fast enough - looking forward to the next!
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading :) 

The next chapter is almost done, so... stay tuned! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 01:29 pm Title: Chapter 8

Quite a few references to the show here and there. Jan's financial woes, the appearance of Holly, and of course Jim's return with another woman on his arm. All wrapped around the time period. Great to see an update. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!

Update will be quite soon. 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2020 01:14 pm Title: Chapter 7

Somehow, I have missed seeing your updates... these past few chapters were such fun. You are doing such a fantastic job weaving JA, TO and your own touches into this story. I have been very pleasantly surprised! Thank you for writing! Looking forward to the arrival of the guests!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! They mean a lot for me :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2020 12:05 am Title: Chapter 7

This is Persuasion all over! Thanks for sparing us the full eight years of separation.
You’re right (about my last review) - Jim is not really a Mr Darcy at all, he’s far too affable and personable. Mr Darcy was definitely not a people person. That said, I still stand by from that line from the last chapter sounding so much like his conversation with Elizabeth when they finally communicated. Jim as Captain Wentworth is far more fitting.
I’m very worried about your endnote because I’m assuming that one of them is Karen... There’s angst to come... But it’s going to be so great...

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!

Yeah, Mr.Darcy's confession is one of the most passionate things in the whole Austen's bibliography. I'm glad I was able to recreate the hint of it here... 

Karen will appear, for sure, but some things just have to happen. But, and I can promise, I won't let them all suffer for a long time ;)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: February 13, 2020 12:48 pm Title: Chapter 7

Karen and Andy? I feel like we are due for some Stamford nonsense (not that I feel the need for more angst!). You're doing delightfully with the Austenite tone and nuance.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review! 

Well, Karen's presence is unavoidable, but Andy, in my opinion, doesn't fit well in this setting. I hope he won't be missed :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 13, 2020 11:24 am Title: Chapter 7

So Penny married Roy in quite the scandal. I've got an inkling now of why Jim may have stayed away so long. I'm sure it'll come to light in the next chapter.

I see what you mean by an interlude chapter. It serves its purpose to advance the plot to be sure. I wonder if the same might have been accomplished with maybe a conversation over afternoon tea between Pam and Angela. Pam staring off into the distance while Angela tells her of all the things she's done. Rather than just telling us, have it as character interaction.

Now, as I have never read any Jane Austin, and have only having seen snippets of the various movies of her works, this could also be in keeping with the inspiration material. If that's the case, no harm no foul.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your comment!

Jane Austen used reviews to describe briefly the events before and after the main plot (and sometimes in between). I guess, I did the same thing because it was easier for me to just fill the blanks with sketches than to deep into angst and discussions. I'm not sure if it worked out smoothly, but... oh well. 

I return to the usual narration style in the next chapter. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2020 11:57 am Title: Chapter 6

Oh this was a really good adaptation of the angst into the setting. So glad you chose to give us Pamela's and not Jim's POV because the Regency setting really makes her rationale for not accepting him pop. Great work. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

Thank you :) 

To be honest, I cheated a little - I chose to write only Pam's POVs because I  have no idea how Jim could react on this or that (and all Austen's novels also was from women's perspective). But I'm glad you like it! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2020 02:50 am Title: Chapter 6

“but all this time I spent thinking of you and you alone,” has the strongest Mr Darcy vibes & I can’t even begin to tell you how delighted I was to read it!
This story is so, so wonderful. My Jane Austen & JAM loving heart is full. I’ve said this before, but your Michael is such a great fit for both the period and in terms of character. Those last few lines of his dialogue - amazing and utterly heart wrenching...

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! 

I like to write to Michael. It's a challenge - how many grieve and happiness he could cause unintentionally to his surroundings. 

By the way, I've always considered Jim as Mr. Tilney (with a vast amount of Captain Wentworth) and never as Mr. Darcy :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 02, 2020 12:54 pm Title: Chapter 6

And there's Casino Night raising its head in all its angsty angstyness.

Anyway, I did like the earlier interaction between Pam and Jim here. Him not caring about the rumors, she does care about them. I also like how she doesn't back off from him. She let's him know what's on her mind. i get the feeling she wouldn't do that with Roy. She wouldn't feel that Roy would care nor would she feel comfortable enough to speak up. However she can talk like that to Jim since she's come to trust him. At least that's my take on it.

Looking forward to seeing how the rest plays out.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!

Unfortunately, this angst was inevitable, for both 'The Office' and Austen parts. But I don't enjoy it, so I try to move to happier times as quick as it's possible. 

And yes, Pam definitely wouldn't talk to Roy that way. This Pam doesn't have any attachment with him (well, except the engagement). On the other hand, with Jim, she has a connection, based on similar views, tastes, and, yes, trust so that she would share her doubts with him. I hope that was believable. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 29, 2020 06:51 am Title: Chapter 5

This is lovely. A delight to read. I might point out that traditionally two dances would not be consecutive--but I think Dunder Mifflin could easily be so eccentric a manor as to make that reasonable. Roy especially would want to get his out of the way (and yes, he should dance three with his fiancee so he has definitely failed poor Pam). Lovely as always.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for your kind words! And I think Roy just wanted to be done with his responsibilities as soon as possible... well, his loss :) 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2020 01:29 pm Title: Chapter 5

It's been a while since I've been read and I think that your writing improves with each chapter! I think you are doing a fantastic job weaving The Office and Jane Austen together. I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I do my best and I'm glad you noticed improvements :)  

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 08, 2020 02:18 am Title: Chapter 5

I loved this chapter so, so much. The way you seamlessly wove moments from canon into it in a way that both keep the heart of the original, but also fit with the period was wonderful. The Dundies without them being the Dundies was so great. Of course Michael would manage to accidentally insult everyone by meaning to compliment them. Typical Michael.
All the Pam and Jim moments were just lovely. The way they bounce off each other feels so natural. All the references to Pam’s dorky dancing were a lot of fun.
Bring on the dancing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review! I appreciate every bit of it, and I'm very glad you like the story :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2020 08:13 pm Title: Chapter 5

Lovely chapter here. Shades of Casino Night, The Dundies, and the Booze Cruise if I don't miss my mark. They all blended together seamlessly here so well done for getting that through. I really like how Jim and Pam are collaborating here. That they just have the easy rapport with each other like in canon.

Looking forward to seeing how the rest of this plays out.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad I kept the canon events recognizable.  

Also, there was a hint of 'Phyllis' Wedding,' though I'll put that line on in the story later :) 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans