You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2020 01:29 pm Title: Chapter 5

It's been a while since I've been read and I think that your writing improves with each chapter! I think you are doing a fantastic job weaving The Office and Jane Austen together. I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 08, 2020 02:18 am Title: Chapter 5

I loved this chapter so, so much. The way you seamlessly wove moments from canon into it in a way that both keep the heart of the original, but also fit with the period was wonderful. The Dundies without them being the Dundies was so great. Of course Michael would manage to accidentally insult everyone by meaning to compliment them. Typical Michael.
All the Pam and Jim moments were just lovely. The way they bounce off each other feels so natural. All the references to Pam’s dorky dancing were a lot of fun.
Bring on the dancing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review! I appreciate every bit of it, and I'm very glad you like the story :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 06, 2020 08:13 pm Title: Chapter 5

Lovely chapter here. Shades of Casino Night, The Dundies, and the Booze Cruise if I don't miss my mark. They all blended together seamlessly here so well done for getting that through. I really like how Jim and Pam are collaborating here. That they just have the easy rapport with each other like in canon.

Looking forward to seeing how the rest of this plays out.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad I kept the canon events recognizable.  

Also, there was a hint of 'Phyllis' Wedding,' though I'll put that line on in the story later :) 

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2020 10:28 am Title: Chapter 4

This is still great fun - and I'm liking the introductions of Roy and Preacher Dwight. That's a great idea!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it :) 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2020 03:51 pm Title: Chapter 4

I absolutely love the way you’ve brought Jim and Pam into working together. And to have Jim orchestrate it all by making Michael think that he needs it? Brilliant.
It’s so fun to see Michael in this time. He fits the genre so wonderfully. He has enough money/social standing to be seen as somewhat important in society, but he’s so delightfully improper, etc. and himself. It’s great!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review (and even more for your help)! 

I kinda like this Michael. He's fond of my faves and mostly harmless. It might be OOC, but I'll keep this line :) 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:30 pm Title: Chapter 4

I'm loving this. Great work with the adapted banter and with the characterization. More JAM upcoming, I trust?

Author's Response:

Of course ;)

And thank you for your reviews and reading! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:26 pm Title: Chapter 3

I am enjoying this. Interesting class divisions you've set up, with only Michael, Jim, and Dwight in the scholar/pastor/man of leisure class. Looking forward to seeing it play out!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 07:12 am Title: Chapter 4

Great way to have this Jim prank preacher-Dwight. Seemed like quite the appropriate jest, especially considering this Jim is so well versed in books.

Lots of little warm and glowing moments between Jim and Pam here. Especially with him being complimentary about her artwork. It's wonderful to envision this Pam starting to glow when she's around Jim. Makes me very curious as to how this will all play out for the two of them.

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

Hope I keep develop their relations naturally and without the rush. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2019 09:30 pm Title: Chapter 3

I love the introduction & repurposing of a few other members of The Office here. Dwight is so very Dwight, even in this world. It’s fun to see the dislike he takes to Jim, as well as how easily Jim takes it all in stride. His mischievous suggestion as to whether he can influence content of sermons to come hints in the beginning of pranking - something you wouldn’t think fits in this universe, but you’ve set it up so it works seamlessly.
A really lovely update.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2019 07:17 pm Title: Chapter 3

Dwight being a fire and brimstone kind of preacher fits well here. That Jim has incurred his ire so soon also seems quite fitting. I do like how taken with Jim, Pam is finding herself here. I got the feeling that Jim's appearance is a breath of fresh air one one opens a window that had been shut closed for far to long. Looking forward to seeing what new things come with this wind.

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2019 05:03 am Title: Chapter 2

Super follow-up, and great fun. Good to see the arrival of Mr Halpert...
Also, it's a long time since I read any Jane Austen; you've given me a taste for it...

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 09, 2019 01:55 pm Title: Chapter 2

I was glad to see an update! I am enjoying your blend of Austen with The Office. I had to smile when Pamela noticed "a horseman in the distance" - excited to see how this unfolds. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And sorry for not answering earlier. It's a little bit challenging to mix modern realities of 'The Office' with Regency world, but I'm truly thrilled about it :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2019 10:03 pm Title: Chapter 2

I love so much about this chapter. You replicate the language and style of Jane Austen so well. It’s a delicate balance to fit the characters from The Office into the period, but you do it wonderfully. Pam is still Pam, a fierce sense of humor mixed with general politeness. I love her relationship with Michael, she accepts that he is her boss, but is able to gently nudge him in the right direction (much like the show).
It’s exciting to have Jim introduced - I can’t wait to see where you go with him.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - and I'm working on it :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2019 03:43 pm Title: Chapter 2

Delightful. I really enjoyed this chapter. The Regency period style of speaking came through nicely without being so over the top as being hard to follow.

Very nice way for Jim and Pam to meet. Seems like since they're now both in Michael's employ that they'll be seeing a lot of each other. Can't wait to see how you develop their relationship.

Author's Response: Thank you! As much as I love Jane Austen, I often struggle with her long and complicated sentences. I'll try to simplify that style a little bit - I'm glad it worked.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2019 02:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

I had to check this out as I am also a huge Jane Austen fan (another vote for 'Persuasion' as the favorite, here!). I would be sad if you didn't continue... Looking forward to what's next!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2019 12:43 am Title: Chapter 1

Hope you do continue - looking forward to seeing where you take this! I wouldn't have known - as others have said - that English isn't your first language. Great start!

Author's Response: Thank you, that means a lot to me!

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2019 02:03 pm Title: Chapter 1

I agree with everyone else, please do continue!
I also wouldn’t have known that English isn’t your first language, so truly, great job!

I’m intrigued to see how your versions of the characters differ in this century - I’m getting some Cinderella vibes, with Pamela becoming the house keeper - but she’s not treated as badly by Mr Scott.

Thank you for writing this :)

Author's Response:

Thank you!

I love Pam to much to make her suffer from Michael's behavior... but there were a few horrible moments in the past, and, probably, I'll mention them in the next chapters. 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2019 09:43 pm Title: Chapter 1

Please continue! This contains two of my favorite things - Jane Austen and JAM! You’ve set it up really well here. Your writing is lovely, particularly for a second language. I would never have guessed you weren’t a native speaker without you mentioning it in the end note.
I’m very excited to see where you go with this. I’d be happy to help out with beta-ing if you can’t find anyone. Although, I’m not American so there may be things I miss in terms of spelling, terminology, etc. I can’t imagine that would be the biggest issue for this particular story, given the context of the time period... I don’t have a great deal of experience beta-ing (but, I was an English teacher earlier in my career).
Persuasion is one of my favorite novels. As previously mentioned (but, well worth saying again) I’m so very excited to see where you go with this.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I would love and appreciate your help.

By the way, 'Persuasion' is also my favorite Austen's novel :)  

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2019 04:41 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, please do continue. This is lovely, and you're doing a good job of picking up the language of Regency or eighteenth century novels. I like the setup; interested to see how this goes!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll do my best and try not to delay with updates!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 03, 2019 02:31 pm Title: Chapter 1

It's intriguing to be sure. The changes as to who is who look promising as well. Truth be told I've never read any Jane Austen so I only know of the general plots of her more famous works. So good for me going forwards as I won't know what to expect.

Quick thing on the technical side of writing. Titles of nobility are always capitalized. So rather than writing sir or lord Michael, it should always be Sir or Lord Micheal. Same goes for things like Mr., Mrs., or Miss. Hope that helps for things going forward.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your review and your remarks. I'll try to update the story regularly.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans