You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2020 12:56 pm Title: Christmas

I loved Pam's gift. This paragraph sums it all up so well:

I created all these pictures as a way for us to remember something important. That second chances don’t come around very often.” She reached a hand up to hold his cheek. “We got one, and I don’t want to waste it thinking about what could have been, when what we have now is so wonderful. That’s why I’m giving these to you. Because I know how much you would have wanted things to be different back then. But also, to remind you that even though things didn’t turn out the way they did in these pictures, we are now together. Not in a drawing or a painting, but for real. And that’s more wonderful than any picture could ever be.”

Thank you for writing this! It's been such fun to read each day!
A side note, Christmas morning Mr. HonestAndCourageous handed me a white envelope - for a moment I thought I was in a story within a story! Ha!

Author's Response: Well done Mr. H&C. Great minds think alike!

It was a fun project to work on. A lot of the writing was done in the wee hours of the morning sitting in an ambulance between 911 calls for what it's worth. I'm very glad you enjoyed this story so much and chose to leave such wonderful comments. I really value feedback and it makes my day when something I write bring joy to others as well.  

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:12 pm Title: Christmas

Awwwww. I want to say nice things about the real-actor references but it's all swamped by how sweet that present is at the end. So lovely and so very appropriate. A fitting end to a wonderful story.

See? You can write short (ish) ones :)

Author's Response: It took me a bit to think up Pam's present. What would be fitting for her after all these cards Jim has created? I'm very glad my solution in the form of her present was so well received. 

Thank you so much for the review waterfall for this story. It made my night to see the number jump up like that. Likewise for the vote of confidence on shorter chapter stories. As much as I love diving deep into detail, there's a lot to say about getting to the point as well. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:08 pm Title: Chapter 12

Drive safe you two! But of course it was back at the first place he left it. Jim's a romantic and into patterns.

Author's Response: Seemed fitting to have the cards wrap up where they started.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:07 pm Title: Chapter 11

A wonderful counterpoint to the last chapter. Though I always wonder: how annoyed would Pam be by the contrast? Brilliant on the Dwights though.

Author's Response: To keep on from the last chapter, holidays are also about connecting together. I'm glad you got the counterpoint in these two chapters. All the Dwights were a ton of fun think up.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:05 pm Title: Chapter 10

I'm glad Michael didn't leap, but it's an inventive idea (as I said last time). Sorry for Pam about her family, but again in character.

Author's Response: Some things just pan out and having Michael as the one leaping just seemed to work. I was sorry for Pam too. Holidays can be a huge time of stress and sadly such things can happen to even the best of people.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:02 pm Title: Chapter 9

I loved what you did with the Whitman quote and Michael's reaction. Brilliant. Also the card ideas are very inventive.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you picked up on the Whitman quote. I just can't really envision Michael knowing anymore to that poem other than what he knows from the movie so it was fun to play off that.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 01:00 pm Title: Chapter 8

Oh man, Jim, need to tap that thing a lot more to get the bubbles out. But the taps did signal to me the possibility of it exploding so I loved it.

Author's Response: You'd think he'd be more cautious at this point right? It was fun to have him the target this time around though.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:58 pm Title: Chapter 7

I'm so glad you've leaned into the slice of life instead of overemphasizing the cards. It's a lovely technique.

Author's Response: Thank you for that. The cards and holiday season are fun to be sure. But life still goes on regardless of season. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:56 pm Title: Chapter 6

The double prank was a surprise to me and well-executed. Out of jellybeans but really digging this story.

Author's Response: Thanks. Writing a new prank is sometimes hard since there are already so many good ones. Glad you liked this one too.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:54 pm Title: Chapter 5

You do a great job here of evoking a terrible Monday we could all relate to but then imbuing it with Office sensations. Well done.

Author's Response: Monday's are evil things deserving to be slain at all costs. Glad you liked how this Monday was put down.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:48 pm Title: Chapter 4

I very much like the extracurricular activities you have them engaging in. Totally plausible in canon yet unexplored.

Author's Response: Yeah we didn't really get to see a lot of Jim and Pam's dates. At least this early in their boyfriend-girlfriend relationship. It's fun to explore some of that.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:46 pm Title: Chapter 3

As I said in ch. 1, you always do such a good job with the incidental details. This chapter has that in spades. You should be proud of your scene-setting.

Author's Response: One of my favorite authors once said about writing, "paint a picture with words." Glad that approach is working here.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:44 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh ho, so this is a the-doc-is-real fic. I like it. Nice work Jim (and warrior).

Author's Response: Writers strike, doc crew strike, potato-potahato. Why come up with something really over the top when there's an easy out that serves the purpose just fine as to why their first Christmas wasn't filmed.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2019 12:42 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm glad your Jim admits he did the card; that was my least favorite part of the other classic fic. As always, good work on the details around the action.

Author's Response: I was thinking of going the secret sender route, but as you say it's been done, and I think Pam's smart enough to figure things out. That and I think at this stage in their relationship she could kiss a confession out of him fairly easily if he tried that.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 25, 2019 07:00 pm Title: Christmas

A very fitting end to this lovely tale. Pam’s final present to Jim was beautiful. This entire story was just pure sweetness.
Merry Christmas, Warrior! Wishing you & yours all the best this holiday season.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I was kind of stuck about what Pam would give Jim, then thought of all the ways I've seen JAM go AU and her gift here was the result. Thank you for all the wonderful feedback you've provided through this story. Merry Christmas.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: December 25, 2019 11:37 am Title: Christmas

What a lovely ending!!!! Merry Xmas

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to bring to a close. Merry Christmas.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 21, 2019 07:35 pm Title: Chapter 9

So glad Phyllis's gift was finally appreciated! Thank you for that!
And Pam's gift:

So we’ll always get the timing right.

Perfect!

Author's Response: Thank you. It was fun to think up these gifts. Glad you like reading it as much as I did writing it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 21, 2019 04:18 pm Title: Chapter 9

Ah yes, a wonderful use of the give Michael a present he likes as to prevent a Yankee Swap disaster... That seems about right... A nice glimpse into what the office party could look like - probably running a fair bit smoother than any of the years we see in canon...

Author's Response: Michael's energy is like that sometimes. If you can direct it in a safe manner you stand a better chance of it not blowing things up. I figured the office deserved at least one normal Christmas party considering everything else they've all had to endure over the years. Thanks as always.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 20, 2019 12:55 pm Title: Chapter 8

Well now, that’s some imagery I was not expecting in a Christmas fic! Mose is such a joy. Loved the reuse of the jinx. I don’t know it I’ve mentioned this already, but it’s great to see you exploring this rather underutilized/unseen Christmas.

Author's Response: Thanks Jenna. There are really only a few instances in the canon time frame where we don't really know what happens other than during the breaks between the seasons. The big break in S4 is the biggest one where we don't know what happens so it's a lot of fun to explore especially as it was during the Jim and Pam are dating phase rather than engaged or married phase. Thanks for your great review as always.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 19, 2019 05:56 pm Title: Chapter 7

These have been such fun to read - a treat to have one each day, too!
Todd Packer IS such a Monday.... I think the dialog between Jim and Pamin Chapter 6 was spot on. Ch 6 had such a nice energy followed by a calmer ch 7. I'm looking forward to going back and reading this as a whole when you finish. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm very glad you've been enjoying this story so much and that the Jim and Pam banter and other story choices have been working. It's been a lot of fun to write this as well. Hope you enjoy the rest of it as well. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2019 09:33 pm Title: Chapter 6

Very literal take on the geese there - thanks to Dwight’s antics... The prank was a classic (with a twist). Very fun to see.

Author's Response: Thanks. It was a lot of fun to bring this one together. 

Reviewer: Clover Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2019 03:26 pm Title: Chapter 5

Ohmygosh, the mental image of Jim, Dwight, Phyllis and Stanley staring down Todd Packer is such a delight! I'm just giggling as I watch him slither away with Michael! Great scene Warrior! :)

Author's Response: Thanks Clover. I've been wanting to write a scene like that for a while. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2019 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 5

This was the epitome of the Mondayist Monday to ever Monday... Five teal teapots is the perfect gold rings for Pam & Jim!

Author's Response: Kinda what I figured too. Thus needing the power of Teal Teapots of Love to slay such a fiendish beast. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 02:14 pm Title: Chapter 4

I’m slow to review at the moment! Their weekend together has been pure delight. I cracked up a little at “four calling phones.” Very in keeping with the original. Although, I definitely think pointless meetings could have been utilized for a far higher number knowing Dunder Mifflin - 10, 11? 400? 😉 As to the Home Alone inspired pranks, maybe so. They’re elaborate enough. Although, I don’t think Jim ever sets out to cause Dwight any sort of bodily harm...

Author's Response: Not ALL of the Home Alone traps cause harm. There was one where one of the bandits got covered in feathers for example. I'll have to think about it. The nice thing about the meetings being lower on the list is that the pictures on the card are bigger since there's less of them. Trust me when we get to the higher numbers that'll be a good thing. Thanks as always for your review. I'm glad you're enjoying this so much.

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2019 02:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this is super cute.... I will let you off the hook for not updating "Dancing with Shadows" because this is so enjoyable. And I can picture each card in my head so well! Wish I could have a copy of each! Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you. Yeah it's kinda hard for me to get into an angsty head space during the Christmas season. Glad you're enjoying this one too. You can at least get a copy of the first day picture. Check out NobleLandMermaid's online store and go nuts. Happy to have you here for this one too.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans