Reviews For Build a Lego House
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2020 01:50 am Title: And You're Making Me Feel Like Maybe I Am Somebody

That is definitely not filler. Gonna be interesting to have a date and not know about the kids. Also David Wallace had to already dislike Karen, right? Because otherwise Jim's calling her out would come across as petty. But I'll buy that he does given how you've set up Karen.

Author's Response:

Yeah, I feel like his opinion of her has gone down since the divorce. Something big like that can change a person and their behavior. We saw that Jim was wallowing in everything behind the scenes, but kept his work life professional. Karen could be the opposite: her personal life could be booming, but that could hinder her perfomance at work.

Also yes, she’ll have to tell him about the boys lol.

 

Thanks for your kind words! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2020 03:45 pm Title: And You're Making Me Feel Like Maybe I Am Somebody

Nice to see the repurposing of the iconic “it’s a date,” scene. I’m always up for a different take on that and this was very sweet - his hesitance at calling it a date and her saying to call it what it is. Super cute.
I’m not sure how I felt about the whole Karen thing here. It was super awkward. On the one hand, I could see her being bitter like this, but on the other hand I feel like she wouldn’t want to damage her own reputation professionally and would act a little more sensible in front of David. That said, I liked that you used it as an opportunity for Jim to take Pam’s advice and feel confident in his choices.
I can’t wait for their date!

Author's Response:

You’re absolutely right with the whole Karen thing. It was awkward (I’d feel awkward in that situation), and she WOULD be more professional.

But, who maybe the divorce led her to act out a bit? We’ll never know lol (you’re right, it was a total setup for him to take Pam’s advice lol)

Thanks again for your kind words! d84;a039; 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2020 12:18 am Title: And You're Making Me Feel Like Maybe I Am Somebody

Lots of good progress on in their re-building their relationship here. I like that Jim has the realization that his heart still and has always belonged to Pam. Yes mistakes were made in the past, but there's a new chance here and I'm really glad he's taking it.

Good on him to stand up to Karen's BS like that. Adults acting like childish teenagers are among my pet peeves and it's great to see Jim call her out like that. Well done. Also that it gave him the courage to ask Pam out to dinner. The whole nervous hesitancy was cute to imagine.

Kinda wondering if on this date to the city is when Pam will mention her boys. It'll be interesting to see his reaction to that. However considering the ground that's been covered and the rebuilding they've already done, hopefully it's not to big of a speed bump.

Author's Response:

Well, thank you! Unfortunately, I've met plenty of individuals who act like childish teenagers when it comes to adult situations. I would have called Karen out on her BS as well.

Well, Pam's gotta tell him about her boys before it's too late, right? I mean, it's not like it could be a dealbreaker............right? (just some suspense lol)

Thanks again for your kind words! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2020 03:16 pm Title: Being Solo is the Way to Go, But I've Been Doing It Too Long

This version of Isabel is a whole lot of fun! A good shove from friends always goes a long way... This was a fun update, although the longer Pam draws out not mentioning she has kids the more awkward it’s going to be when the truth comes out...

Author's Response:

You’re absolutely right! She needs to spill before it gets messy. And thanks, I always figured Isabel would be the one to help get Pam out of her shell.

She wanted to date Dwight, for God’s sake lol

Thanks! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2020 10:22 am Title: Being Solo is the Way to Go, But I've Been Doing It Too Long

This is so cute! I don’t know if I’ve read any stories where they’re both divorced and find each other again. I think it’s a great premise. I’m looking forward to reading more, especially when Jim finds out about Pam’s kids. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I haven’t read many either, which is why the concept appealed to me greatly lol. Thanks again!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2020 07:02 am Title: Being Solo is the Way to Go, But I've Been Doing It Too Long

Very cute. I kinda liked that we didn't have Jim and Pam together in this one funnily enough. As much as I love Jim and Pam together, this was a refreshing break. God for Isabel to give Pam a bit of a kick in the pants there. Of course things are going to be interesting when Jim finds out she has the boys, but considering how well things are going between them, I don't foresee to many major problems.

Lovely update.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, he’ll have to find out eventually right? I mean, you can’t hide a big part of your life from someone for too long. Who knows how he’ll take it!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 28, 2020 12:12 am Title: Being Solo is the Way to Go, But I've Been Doing It Too Long

Well that's an interesting twist, and will be very interesting when Jim finds out. Also that's a lot of parenting for Pam. Good luck to her!

Author's Response: Yeah! Single parenting (albeit sharing custody) isn’t easy! I might not have done it (hell, I’ve never had kids lol), but I’ve taught kids from split-custody households where they go from one house to another, it’s not easy whatsoever! I agree, and I hope Jim finds out soon!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2020 04:07 am Title: All I Know Is a Simple Name, and Everything Has Changed

Oh Jim. It sounds like things have been rough, given the state of his apartment (although, Jim wasn’t exactly a clean freak in canon either). It’s nice to see that running into Pam is the motivation he needed to bring some order back to the chaos of his life.
Them falling back into old patterns and easy conversation/texting is great to see. I have my fingers crossed that maybe a trip to Scranton will be on the cards for Jim soon...

Author's Response: Haha yeah, the “maybe I’ll just move in with my boyfriend because he’s kind of a slob too” had a BIG impact here lol! Who knows if he’ll make a trip to Scranton...it’s definitely a possibility! Thanks again for your kind words!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 17, 2020 12:57 am Title: All I Know Is a Simple Name, and Everything Has Changed

So interesting look at this pre-meeting Jim. Kinda let yourself go there a bit didn't you Jim? I mean I get it, a divorce has got to be rough on a guy. However I do love that it's his time with Pam that get his butt in gear to start some real positive changes. The same with their text banter back and forth. That whole we need to be Jim and Pam again thing? Yeah looks like it's well on its way. Yes, short but it seems important in order lay a good foundation for later. Lovely update.

Author's Response: Well thank you haha! I’ve read SO many pieces, and seen it in real life too, how stereotypical that it’s always the female in the relationships wallowing, not cleaning, etc. Men do it too! Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: March 16, 2020 02:30 am Title: First Love Never Dies, Guess I'll See You in Another Life

Nice to see an update! I was a little worried this story had been forgotten... Sorry to hear about the stress/health concerns behind the scenes.
I’m glad, despite the initial kind of awkwardness, that they fell back into a fairly natural friendship here. The Dwight mention/prank was so great.
I’m wondering if Pam not mentioning her kids is going to be a bit of a thing moving forwards...

Author's Response: Thank you! Who knows if her not mentioning will come back to bite her in the butt? But yes, their natural friendship will be forever.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 09:32 am Title: First Love Never Dies, Guess I'll See You in Another Life

An interesting update. I like their banter a lot, and Pam's introspection is great. A lot of the worldbuilding is hard to take in terms of canon characters (Jim didn't know Karen was career driven?) but I'm not in a position to throw stones in that way. It's fun to read!

Author's Response: You’re absolutely right! You would think he would know what he was getting into when getting married, but sometimes it takes people to learn the hard way. Thank you! d84;a039;

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2020 08:40 am Title: First Love Never Dies, Guess I'll See You in Another Life

Lovely to see an update. Time has gone by and clearly this Jim and Pam are in different places in life. However their connection stays the same. Looking forward to seeing how this one goes.

Author's Response: Haha thank you! You’re right, things may have changed in their lives, but they’re the same ol’ Jam we know and love!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2020 08:36 pm Title: Cause Lately, I've Been Waking Up Alone

I find the Karen character development very possible and believable. The line about kids was definitely a gut punch. You don't come back from that. Really can't wait to see what happens now that we've seen their POVs from the run in.

Author's Response: Oh yeah, it’s such a reality for people. I personally know people who have ended relationships because their S.O. did not want kids when they did. Poor Jim, all he wants is a family of his own. Especially now in his late 30s

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2020 07:14 pm Title: Cause Lately, I've Been Waking Up Alone

I mean, people here ruin Karen all the time (welcome! Glad you're here!). I buy Jim and his side of the story more (stupid to drive in Manhattan but people do) and I'm hoping to see some of where they go next after the bump.

Author's Response:

Haha! Yeah I figured people ruin her lol. Thank you for your welcome! It is pretty stupid for locals to drive in Manhattan (I would only partly know, I lived most my life right outside of Philly), but maybe he prefers it? Prefers not having to wait for the subway? Something tells me Jim isn’t much for living in the city anyway. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2020 07:09 pm Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

I like this concept, though I'm having a hard time believing the Roy material, especially him getting that much custody or being responsible enough that she'd be ok with that. But suspending disbelief, I'm intrigued with where you go from here.

Author's Response: Yeah, I can see where you’re coming from. More than likely, Pam didn’t want to argue over custody with Roy. I mean, they already had to go over finances, property, etc., which was probably stressful enough for her, whilst also taking classes and working and such. But who knows? Maybe that could change.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 22, 2019 02:32 pm Title: Cause Lately, I've Been Waking Up Alone

That end note - too funny! 😂 Oh poor Jim. I feel for him. Of course all he wants is a family, that makes all the sense in the world. I can definitely buy Karen as a overly career focused/doesn’t want kids type. Really dying to see what happens next after the “Beesly” now!

Author's Response: Oh of course! Jim would love a family, and not getting the only wish you have in the world would really set the scene of a marriage. We’ll see what happens!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 22, 2019 12:47 pm Title: Cause Lately, I've Been Waking Up Alone

A very plausible series of events to my mind. Okay, now that we're all caught up, the real fun begins. How are these two going to handle everything? I'd like to think there's hope, especially with that line, "my first and only ever true love."

Hopefully not to angsty.

Author's Response:

Oh, have as much hope as possible! Not too angsty, I promise 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 07:23 pm Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

Welcome to MTT! I am so intrigued by this idea and am looking forward to where you take it, that I'm going to forgive you for getting that Ed Sheeran song stuck in my head all day ;)

I really enjoyed this chapter and am definitely looking forward to more!

Author's Response:

thank you for your warm welcome! Oh you're not the only one! The song has been stuck in my head since I titled it, so badly that I've been singing it at work!

 

Thank you again! 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 04:33 pm Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

Oh. My. God. I am in love with this premise! I’m always down for a butterfly effect story, and this one has me on the edge of my seat. Honestly it is sadly realistic that Pam might fall into this bad habit of engaging Roy. Well done and I look forward to more!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! This idea has been in my head for a month now, just took some time to put it down on paper (er, I mean Apple Pages). Thanks again!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 02:03 pm Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

The premise of this story breaks my heart a little. I’d like to believe that after all her growth in Season 3 (& his outburst in Cocktails) that there’s no world in which Pam would go back to Roy... That said, the backstory you’ve set up here makes sense - as much as it tears my heart in two. Looking forward to the reunion with Jim & better things to come for Pam in this universe... Welcome to MTT!

Author's Response:

Thank you for your warm welcome! Oh trust me, I agree that our New Fancy Beesly wouldn’t ever go back to Roy, no matter what happened. Here comes the psychological nerd in me, but we always tend to go to what’s familiar to us. And with her heart broken after putting it all on the line, some familiarity would have helped.

But clearly, me- I mean, Roy never changed.

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 04:13 am Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

Oh, HELL yes. I love a good, angsty, years later meetup. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it done with kids involved, so I’m excited to see where this goes!

Author's Response: Omfg, a review from agian?! Holy guac, thank you! I haven’t seen kids involved either, so I’m happy to bring something new to the table! Thank you!!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2019 12:03 am Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

Love this first chapter. I've been a bit hesitant to read stories like this because Pam is always such a tortured character, but I like how she's strong and aware of her past but also a complete person. Welcome!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I agree, I’ve read a few fics of this trope, and a miserable Pam makes me miserable. I love New Fancy Beesly, and her confidence. But also, she’s been doing this for a couple years now, and sees that a life w/o Roy benefits her so much! And thank you for the warm welcome! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2019 07:14 pm Title: Out of Touch, Out of Luck

I'll admit I was hesitant to click on this one. There have been a few fics like this that put readers through the wringer. But that's on me not on you. Nice way to sum up everything that's gone on in Pam's life to this point. Seeing what Jim has been up to should prove interesting as well.

Author's Response: (omg i'm a noob, I totally typed this originally as a review...) Thank you! I COMPLETELY understand what you mean. After writing this chapter, I sat and went, "Well sh*t, now how is THIS gonna happen, or THIS?" But, I have some plans that will hopefully work? Fingers crossed (as I bite my nails). Thanks again!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans