Reviews For Worth the Risk
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 12:04 pm Title: Chapter 14: Meeting Holly

This is a super interesting premise and it’s nice to see it work out without too many hitches in the plan! I’d be interested to hear the story behind why those laws exist, and also find out what happens to people who break them. But congrats on tackling your first multi chapter fic! Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2020 12:46 am Title: Chapter 14: Meeting Holly

That Hooters line cracked me up. “Never again.” Oh Michael...
I love that Pam can see Michael’s sincerity, even in this world. I think she sees the good in him more clearly than a lot of people do, so that felt super in character. It’s also sweet that Pam’s love for Jim has softened him at work, enough so that it‘s noticeable to Michael. Great update!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 05:11 pm Title: Chapter 14: Meeting Holly

Awesome update! This has been a fun story to read!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 06:49 am Title: Chapter 14: Meeting Holly

I'm really glad we get to see this other side of Michael, like the show it makes him feel like much more of a real person.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 07:50 pm Title: Chapter 14: Meeting Holly

Nice chapter to get things moving. Looking forward to seeing how the rest turns out. Your away-from-public-Michael is great to read. I kinda wish we'd seen more serious Micheal in canon, but then again the brief glances of that we do see stand out all the more brightly because of their rarity in canon. It's just nice to see under the facade with how you've written him here.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 09:22 am Title: Chapter 13: The Conversation

In the words of David Wallace, "Well, that kinda worked out." No issues with me here with a Roy and Karen pairing. Just adds another flavor to this AU you've got going. Not everything has to be heartache and struggle. Sometimes things just work out well. That's ok too.

Good description of Pam's anxiety leading up to the conversation. That makes a lot of sense that she'd be really nervous about everything.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2020 04:14 am Title: Chapter 13: The Conversation

Haha, that totally would work with Katy! But you know what, it totally had more of a woah didn’t see that coming factor with Karen which was fun! I’m glad it’s looking like things are going to work out for them - it’s been pretty dubious along the way given the complexities of this world.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2020 08:04 pm Title: Chapter 13: The Conversation

Well, Karen was maybe interested in Canon, encouraging Pam to get on that, so its a possibility. I look forward to hearing from Michael, I really liked his earlier appearances in the story.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2020 07:38 pm Title: Chapter 13: The Conversation

First of all, super excited to see this updated! I love this whole premise. Second, of you're assigned to someone and about to get married, wouldn't your family and friends know? I feel like that would make this a much stickier situation!

Author's Response: You're right! I thought about that, and plan on adding it into the story somehow. Just trying to figure out if it should be its own chapter or not! But it will be explained, with maybe some stickiness lol

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2020 11:23 am Title: Chapter 12: Proposal

So so sweet! I'm happy this is looking to having a great ending!:)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2020 03:46 am Title: Chapter 12: Proposal

Aww, a proposal! Super sweet. As was what follows. I think you did a really great job! Would definitely read again.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2020 03:10 am Title: Chapter 12: Proposal

Yes a recap with the first part of the chapter, but it was nice to see Jim's reaction to this new information.

Nicely detailed once they got back to the house. Lovely scene between the two of them.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2020 06:48 am Title: Chapter 11: Pam Calls Michael

Hey, I just caught up with this. I really like the world building you've done, and this Michael is very sweet, which is a part of his character that I think often gets underdone. Nice work!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2020 03:19 am Title: Chapter 11: Pam Calls Michael

Michael may be an idiot at times, but he is without a doubt the biggest romantic on the show (in some ways) too. I love that you’ve made him this person who defies the rules for the true love. It’s perfect Michael characterization. It’s so great that he’s going to help Pam and Jim. I don’t expect it to be all sunshine and rainbows with Karen and Roy, but at least there’s an actual solution in sight now!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2020 11:09 pm Title: Chapter 11: Pam Calls Michael

I love Holly to the rescue. Though I've got a feeling there might be a few wrinkles in this plan. Seems to me that Roy might go along with it. Karen might not though. So I like that we have a real glimmer of hope here to be sure. I also like that Micheal lost all his bluster and under all that is a genuinly caring guy. Nice writing to bring that out.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2020 03:42 pm Title: Chapter 10: Michael's Birthday Party

Is Michael secretly apart of some underground railway for love? I guess we'll have to wait and see. I enjoyed the chapter, and I look forward to the next one. For saying you've stalled on the plot, I think you're going in a good direction.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2020 08:44 am Title: Chapter 10: Michael's Birthday Party

Ok, I was thinking that a Drunk Pam would basically jump all over Jim and their secret would be out thus Dwight would start to get all important and the like. Kinda nice to be proven wrong.

What's Micheal up to? There are times in canon I wonder if all his Micheal-ness is all an act and under it all is the Good Micheal we see from time to time. I kinda get that feeling here. You've been keeping us all on our toes throughout this story and this is no different.

Really looking forward to seeing where this goes.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 28, 2020 04:28 am Title: Chapter 10: Michael's Birthday Party

“You must keep him busy; I’ve been trying to invite you and him over for dinner for months, but you guys always have something going on.” Way to take a canon element and make me laugh. Such a great inclusion.
Ahh, this is a perfect Pam drunk moment- forgetting herself and kissing Jim!
Another layer of intrigue with Michael there. I did wonder, considering his wife was Holly, if he knew a little about love...

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2020 10:14 am Title: Chapter 9: Date Night

Uh oh, we all know what happened last time Pam went to Chilli's. For the sake of the characters I hope all goes well... for the story? I suspect a penguin on fire rolling down a dry grassy hillside.

Looking forward to it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2020 09:17 am Title: Chapter 9: Date Night

Bringing Volunteer Sheriff Dwight was kind of a fun turn. Yes, he's gullible, but he's also asking the right questions as to why Jim isn't with Karen and who Pam might be. For all his bluster, Dwight is actually quite intelligent in his own way. Makes me wonder what might happen further down the line with that.

Drunk Pam at Chili's could be fun, but also I get a small sense of foreboding. In Vino Veritas and all. Might Pam let something slip? Looks like we'll see.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2020 07:06 am Title: Chapter 9: Date Night

My heart stopped when Dwight showed up, but this ended better than I expected!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2020 03:38 am Title: Chapter 9: Date Night

This was a sweet chapter! Dwight was all sorts of fun. I’m definitely looking forward to your version of Pam at Chili’s now!

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2020 02:42 am Title: Chapter 8: Conversations

Late to finally leave a review but I’m loving this story. Super interesting premise.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2020 01:26 pm Title: Chapter 8: Conversations

The conversation with Roy seems more plausible than the conversation with Karen, especially how's you've set things up. Roy and Pam don't get along. When he walks in on them, yes it's a shock and knee-jerk anger does make sense. As much as we like to consider Roy to be an oaf, he is an adult, even if it takes him a bit longer to get the point.

Jim and Karen here do mostly get along. So it's a bit of a different dynamic for them. Anger, surprise, shock, sure I get all those things. Would she have eventually agreed to the plan? Probably. Maybe after she and Jim talk face to face though.
Like others it makes me wonder if Karen has something up her sleeve.

All this is just making me very curious to see how things pan out. We still don't know what's the penalty for going against your assigned partner. Personally I'm kinda hoping that somehow Jim and Pam will be able to marry each other without having to go through the sham marriages. Talk to a lawyer and find some obscure loophole that gets them out of their assignment. Something like that maybe.

You're still doing a good job with all this though. Like I said, I am looking forward to more.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2020 10:09 am Title: Chapter 8: Conversations

The dialogue was great! I'm surprised both Roy and Karen were so chill about this...is there a plot twist coming up??

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans