Reviews For Life's a Beach
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 09:59 am Title: Chapter 7: Conclusion

"She presented the navy blue cap to him, with the words, Life’s a Beach emblazoned upon it in white letters"

That was a perfect roll credits moment, good going.

This story was a great ride and I'm sad to see it end, but I have no doubt you'll ensnare us in the next one, looking forward to that.

Thanks for writing this for us!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 09:19 am Title: Chapter 7: Conclusion

Very cute way to wrap this up. Always fun to see Jim and Pam just being in love with each other.

Great job throughout all of this. It's been fun to read and watch progress.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 07:50 am Title: Chapter 7: Conclusion

Very sweet. Thanks for wrapping that up! I loved the Dwight moment in particular.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2020 07:46 am Title: Chapter 7: Conclusion

Perfect conclusion! I got such a huge smile on my face when she pulled up with the fishing boat. I love it so much! Great job!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2020 09:04 pm Title: Chapter 6

I just binged these 6 chapters and I have so many parts that I stopped and thought “this is my favorite!” “no, this is my favorite!” “no, THIS!”

It’s seriously all so good. The Star Wars, the phone calls, the conversations at the beach, her hands feeling bereft without him. You have such a lovely flow and voice in your writing and I can’t get enough. Hate to see this one only have one more chapter but already can’t wait for your next one!

Author's Response: Wow! You are too kind :) I'm so flattered you binged this and enjoyed so much about it. Thanks for taking the time. The conclusion is up now!

Reviewer: Wood Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 04:07 pm Title: Chapter 6

I am more than delighted to see that you are still writing Office fan fiction! Keep it up, and stay well during these trying times!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have another idea for a story, so that's coming soon. I guess I'm addicted :) And best of health to you too.

Reviewer: Iris-Dietrich Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 07:51 pm Title: Chapter 6

love it

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 09:39 am Title: Chapter 6

I can understand why there might be some initial hesitation, but then again with the phone conversations and all their history, just jumping right into the deep end like that works too. Vivid and descriptive both physically and mentally. They're clearly well in tune now and that's brought out nicely.

Fun little bit of humor there with then note.

Author's Response: Glad you liked where I took this chapter. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 09:01 am Title: Chapter 1

‘How about a little less talk and a little more action, Halpert?”
A confident Pam, we love her.
Love the Breakfast Club reference too!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2020 08:46 am Title: Chapter 6

Very cute, and nice Breakfast Club reference: that's exactly the sort of thing that would appeal to Michael.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. The conclusion is up now :)

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2020 02:16 am Title: Chapter 5

“Skivvy” means turtleneck here so I was like “what on earth is Jim wearing” until I read Pam’s next line and had a little giggle...
Despite the cheating, this strikes me as a very mature version of Karen. I like that she’s cognizant of the fact that she made the choice to move to Scranton because she liked Jim. All in all, a very measured break up, on both their parts. It’s very nice to have her so cleanly out of the picture.

Author's Response: lol. So funny how words can mean different things in different countries (ie. fanny, stuffed, shag). My dad was a Marine, and talk about a different language! I grew up hearing about skivvies and bogey bait (candy) and grunt work (manual labor), lol. Anyway, glad you liked how I handled Jim and Karen's breakup. Less dramatic I know, but I was going for mature realism. Thanks so much for the great review! Chapter 6 is up now :)

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2020 07:31 pm Title: Chapter 5

I'm happy that Jim and Karen got a somewhat amicable split, but I can't help being upset at Karen on Jim's behalf! Ok, that's a bit of a double standard I know.

Good read, looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Yes, cheating is always wrong, but I hope I conveyed how Jim had been cheating in his heart too, so they are equally to blame. In the end, it makes sense they should break up, right? Thanks for the review. Chapter 6 is up now!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 09:06 pm Title: Chapter 5

The fact that Jim chose to come clean with Karen instead of just letting her affair be his out shows a lot of maturity. Now that there's been a clean break, I can't wait for Jam to finally be together!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really was going for a more mature, less angsty resolution to Jim and Karen's relationship. I hope it worked for you. Yes, on with the Pam and Jim togetherness. Next chapter is up now!

Reviewer: uberkate1013 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 07:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

A little late to the party but I got to read all five chapters at one time! I am loving this story! One of your best yet. They are taking their time, making sure they do it right. They can already tell this is it, it’s for real and forever. The flirty and then sexy banter is great! Can’t wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: So glad you're enjoying this. And I always love banter compliments the most :) Thanks so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 03:30 pm Title: Chapter 5

I can very easily see Jim and Pam ramping up their normal banter to phone sex very quickly. They've had years of practice and now after the day at the beach and all day Saturday on the phone, I'm sure there's a lot of air that got cleared. So it makes sense their conversations would progress like that.

Interesting choice with Karen. It avoids a lot of the normal Jim and Karen break-up heartache. They're both guilty of playing with each other's emotions, but they're being a lot more mature about it here. I liked it. It also sets the scene to allow Jim and Pam to be completely together so that's nice to think about too.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked my different take of Jim and Karen's break up. I hope it seemed realistic. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 03:27 pm Title: Chapter 5

Well, I did not expect that Karen twist, but I did like how they left it, and I'm enjoying your Jim-Pam banter. Nice work.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad I could take you by surprise. And dialogue compliments are the key to my heart :)

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 02:18 pm Title: Chapter 5

Flirty and saucy, what’s not to love!

I really like the way you handled Jim and Karen, it was a very unique take on their break up, and I love that they still had respect for each other, realising they both made mistakes and that it was okay.

The Jim and Pam banter is spot on, by the way

Author's Response: Thank you! And hearing you enjoyed the dialogue between Jim and Pam is the best compliment ever. I'm glad you liked my different approach to Jim and Karen's break up. I think most true adults wouldn't be yelling and screaming, do you? 

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 04:05 pm Title: Chapter 4

The dialogue between Jim, Andy and Dwight was hilarious and very in character- I really enjoyed that part!
I like that there was little bit of conflict before things fell into place with Jim and Pam's relationship.
I think it was also right for Jim to end things with Karen before "moving on" with Pam. They were a couple that *mostly* tried to do the right thing by others, so this seems in character as well.
Great story! Putting this on my bookshelf!
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! You are too kind! And any dialogue compliments are the way to my heart. So glad you're enjoying this.

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 03:41 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oh, I loved this. The goofiness between Andy and Jim and Dwight was spot on!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm a little goofy myself, but I always fear it will put some people off. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 02:17 pm Title: Chapter 4

I'm glad Andy's on board. The impromptu duel was a funny addition, got a chuckle there.

Looking forward to seeing how Karen is handled.

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you got a laugh! Mission accomplished :)

Reviewer: homemadejam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 11:56 pm Title: Chapter 4

(Before the review I just wanted to say I’ve been reading this story as a guest and I have to say it’s one of my favourites)
Okay, so that bit with getting Andy out of the water was golden, I’ve always wanted to know how they managed to find him and rescue him, and you did in in such a ‘The Office’ way.
Jim and Pam on the coach is such a secretly sweet moment, and reminds me of hand holding during Fun-Run. I love how even just a small thumb rub can have such an effect.
An excellent chapter, as always

Author's Response: Thank you! And I appreciate your coming out of the shadows to offer such a wonderfully kind review. So glad you're enjoying this.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 06:35 pm Title: Chapter 4

Pausing in my reading of this to say I LOVE the Star Wars jokes. Classic Jim to confuse Dwight like that. Even better with a sci-fi theme since I'm sure Dwight thinks himself the office paragon on such issues. Great fun. On with the rest of the chapter.

Nice to see them still being honest with each other. Also trusting each other. Pam trusting him enough to show the hurt she felt when he mentioned New York and Jim for being honest enough to tell her that's not the way his life is going now. It sets the stage nicely for the lovely banter in the rest of the chapter.

I also appreciate the fact that as much as they don't want to, they're going to wait to really start their relationship till Jim breaks it off with Karen. Yeah it's not going to be fun, but better to get that over and done with sooner rather than later.

As per usual, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was going for a "Who's on First" vibe with the Jim and Dwight and Andy Star Wars stuff. Glad you enjoyed it, and as always, I appreciate all your kind words.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 05:03 pm Title: Chapter 4

The whole exchange with Dwight and Andy at the beginning made me chuckle.
This chapter was both heavy with emotion, but full of fun. A delicate balance. I think you did a lovely job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad it didn't seem too all over the place emotionally. It is hard to balance that. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 04:41 pm Title: Chapter 4

Star Wars!! Loved that bit

And their phone call.... very steamy.

I can’t wait to read more. I hope things with Karen don’t get too complicated.

Author's Response: I've been a Star Wars nerd for years, so glad you liked that part. Thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 08, 2020 04:17 pm Title: Chapter 4

I liked it! "his hot dogs were smashing into her buns"--too bad Michael didn't hear the narration say that, because that's what she said.

Author's Response: Lol. Some of the silliness I mentioned. I almost wrote, "his wieners," but I thought that was too much. ;)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans